(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

medusa,
wow....seems like u found a great maid
actually its gd if the maid is introduced by someone u noe, cos its like can be more assured of her character

btw, do u have the URL for the maid experience thread u mentioned?

okasan,
yes, i heard about all these kind of stories....my mom was telling me one of her fren's maid befriended those indian rubbish collectors that collects the rubbish for the truck every morning and then bring the man back home...so scary....i think she caught the maid in action when she happened to pop home of the days and immediately sent her back to her country the next day

K_Ong,
I measured mine oledi 35 inches!

Re : Maid
Anyone of u planning/hiring maid intending to give ur maid day-off? I am thinking of indicating there will be no off-days but will pay slightly more to compensate...cos worried that she will go out during her off-days and learn "bad stuffs"

Celeste, i have also heard abt stories of maids and rubbish collectors... seems like the maids like them more than singaporean men bec they are generous... after first meeting can give handphone as gifts some more.

For me, i wont say no if my maid wants off days. I also need a break fr them. Previously mine had 1 off day per mth. Max i am willing to give is 2 per mth.

re: waist size
didnt measure mine ... probably cant take the shock...haha!

afternoon mummies yippee after lunch already!
barang barang got sale! we want to go and buy the papasan chair after work!! it's nice for adults/ new born bb to laze/sleep in i think!

yeh! few more hrs to go and it's WEEKEND!!!

we thinking of going to bird park this sun ... managed to get the corporate bird park pass

k ong,
so cute..u and hubby measure your tummy every night...it has been a long long time since I last took out my measurement tape

hey hey someone just posted that Take bb sale starts on 2 mar!!!

June MTB, let's meet up on Sat 4 March 2.30pm @ Crystal Jade Taka for tea and shopping. Hubbies are welcome too!

josephine,
some update on today gynae visit. I check wth gynae abt the feeling of tear n pain. He told me in fact we will experience more twd the end of pregnancy cos of stretching of the tissues that hav nvr been stretch before. Imagine, our uterus tend to be so small and now it grow so big
He assured that pain feeling will not be there aft one week of our delivery.

okasan: haahaa, yah, cuz he was making fun of me saying now i can wear his clothes
so bad horrr
haahaa

josephine: sounds good !
wld it be very crowded though ?
does anyone know how good the sale is ?? I have NOT bought anything at all for baby ... think i sld start making a list ...

oh, mummies who wanna wear their existing bottoms during pregnancy, can consider wearing a tube top ard your hips to cover up the zipper part (cuz wif your bigger tummy now, can hardly zip up the zipper right ??)

I was surfing online for a belly belt but felt that it looked really awful. They also sell a tube elastic band that can cover up the zipper portion, but i decided to improvise when i got dressed this morning. Took an old black tube which i didnt want anymore and gave it a good stretch so that it cld fit over my hips. So basically I put on my trousers w/o zipping them up, and slipped the black tube material over my pelvis to cover it !

heh, my colleagues all thought it was a good idea

k ong,
that sound like a good idea...but prob is I also gain some fats on my thighs, so my old pants all cannot wear...

josephine,
ya, I also saw the thread where someone say taka baby fair is on 2nd mar...but so funny to be on thur...dun know realiable or not...me waiting to see if there's any update on the fair thingy on their website....

K ong, sounds quite easy to improvise... will try that soon. i also have the belly belt but has not put it to use yet. it looks ok if your clothings are of same colour, otherwise, does look a bit weird.

K_Ong,
I am prepared to let my tummy grow to 42 inches...haha...
....but now jin farnie...do u feel that the tummy feels hard hard one? Its not like last time flabby flabby kind of feeling.
wow....but wearing a tube top over the normal pants wont the tube top go "out of place" when u sit down or bend down or anything like tat?

sugarbun,
me now on and off will feel that tummy is tight tight...like the skin stretching like tat
sometimes a bit uncomfy but not painful or wat *sigh*

Josephine,
the taka bb fair starts 2nd of March? Thursday? Seems a bit funny, but anyway i tink newspapers will have the advertisements one or two days before the fair?

Celeste: yah, is ok, for sake of baby, can "lose" our figure for a while

I need to buy new bras !!! will be going to Tangs ltr to see if there are any good underwire ones on sale.

Also, just wondering how many of you drink Anmum and how fast do you consume a tin ? It says recommended 2 glasses a day, and one tin has 19 servings. So that means one tin will last us 10 days ??!! Scary ...

What abt fresh milk ? If i drink anmum do i still have to drink one glass of fresh milk a day ?

K Ong, i bought Anmum but have yet to try. Ah... two glasses a day ah? Will we put on weight with too much milk anot? I also drink fresh milk, half glass in 2 days.

Yippeee... Baiyoke Sky accepted my booking. Will be off to BKK 1-4 Mar, so cannot meet you all at the Taka Fair. Do keep me posted on any good deals!

Tummy size-
aiyah yest went Ikea, then bohliao, used Ikea paper measuring tape to measure my waist. It's the FULL length of that darn tape- 38 or 39inches. Jialat. I'm not measuring again!!!

Hi k ong

It is also stated on the tin that you have to consume it within two months. Me found that the colour of the choco anmum milk looked funny after abt 2 mths, I drank and got tummyache
Hehe, if you dun want put on too much weight, take calcium tablets.

Hi k ong
I have been drinking 2 to 3 mugs of annmum since day 1 of my pregnancy and I did not put on any extra weight. only put on 2.2 kg by 5th month. now in my 22 week and hopefully will put on a little more weight by next check up in mid march. also starting to consume calcium tablets every other day given by my doc. find the tablets very yucky... but will try to take it coz need lots of calcium when carrying bb.

I didnt drink Anmum, instead I took HL milk cos I dont think I can stand the smell of Anmum. I guess should be ok since I am drinking milk also.
Anyway, I have been consuming the supplements my gynae has prescribed (multiv & calcium). I just measured mine last nite 36" at week 22.

For those of you looking at Nuk sterliser, I just got a mailer from Isetan Tampines that it will be on sale @ $99.90 from $159. This is the 6 bottle steriliser with 4 free bottles of 125ml and 250ml. Dates 6-12 Mar.

Got back from gynae appointment today. BB doing fine Gynae gave a short "lecture" on labour symptoms and also drugs that could be used when the time comes for delivery. Wonder whether should use epidural or not. Still considering...

BB very active recently. It is no longer normal kicks. Can feel that the whole tummy very tight and the bb seems to take up the whole space. And when she moves, it really stretches the whole tummy area. Pretty fun actually!

Also being offered free samples of friso formula milk for bb. Got a free "My Journey" diary. Very cute It is actually a book for the bb. We can stick pictures and also write feelings in it so that the bb can keep the diary as a momento in the future

376504.jpg

Hi K Ong,

i took anmum milk but sometimes lazy so did not even take that for several days heee.. sometimes i only take it at nite. Morning eat bread already very full, so i didn't take the milk in the morning. I didn't know got expiry date and it is only for 2 mths?? i bought the big tin somemore

Just came back from IMM KidsMall. For those who are interested in getting the Avent Storage Bag they have abt 20packs left selling at $16.50 each. If u are a Citibank or HSBC credit card memeber, u are entitled a 10% discount.

Yesterday I went for my check up. And it is the 1st time, my urine test came back that I am having diabetes.. so sad... now avoiding all sweet stuffs. I am now 25 weeks. Anybody out there also have diabetes? I need to go for glucose test on Mar 17, to confirm if the diabetes is still around.
However, heard the heartbeat of the baby yesterday.. so got consolation. Doc say baby very ative cos heartbeat very fast. hehehe. Anyone feel baby kicking below the abdominal?
I do and that is the only place I feel. Think cos my baby is currently breech...

Poohmum

Hi Poohmum,

One of my colleagues was down with gestational diabetes because of family history. Other than that, it is not really that common for preggies to get diabetes actually. Nevertheless, we have to watch our diet. Dun worry, just control what u eat and i believe everything will turn out fine
My colleague was told to watch her diet and she avoid chocolates and other sweet stuff. Her gynae did not give her any insulin jabs. She successfully controlled her diabetes condition.

My BB is always kicking on the right side of my abdomen, next or above the belly button. Ocasionally on the right too and also around belly button level. Hmmm, last time she may have kicked below the abdomen level but seems to shift up automatically already.

amy: have a great time in BKK !!!

medusa: haahaa, u are so funny !

pebbles: oh, issit 2 mths ?? oh dear ... i bought choco and vanilla sommore, and interchage when i feel like it. ok, i better finish up one tin at a time then !

Gina: why does your calcium tablets taste funny ?

Anyways, i bought some wacoal bras from tangs, on offer at abt 16 - 18 dollars. i find them very comfortable !
the saleslady at the dressing room (lingerie section) called esther is very good. she picked out other cuts and sizes for me to try. that's what i call good service and "going the extra mile" !

FYI, there is a small maternity range by this brand called lovable. The nursing bras are quite comfortable, you girls may wish to check it out ! abt 60, which is almost the same price as the bra that i bought from spring maternity (which didn't fit very well after i bought it

ok girls, going out for dinner now !

hi poohmum,
i also feel baby kicking below the abdomen (v near to cervic/v actually). And true enough when i went for checkup yesterday, my baby is currently breech..

kk,
wah.. i also have family history of diabetes (my dad is diabetic). kinda worry if i will get GD also
somemore during preggie i tend to like sweet stuffs.. btw, will gynae do blood test for diabetes? every consultation i did urine test for diabetes n protein but so far so good..

poohmum,

my baby also kick me below the abdomen...but during scan, my baby is head down, so I also dun understand why I only feel movements there...maybe his punches more powerful than his kicks...haha...

k ong,
u drink so much milk each day? do u know that there's a limit to the amount of calcium we can absorb each time? so if u drink too much, wasteful loh...I always believe that everything should be taken in moderation coz taken too much of good stuff will cause imbalance as well

since u already drink 2 cup of anmum, should be quite enough...for me, I only drink HL milk occasionally coz I seldom drink milk....but I eat more food with calcium loh...

K Ong,
I also drink Anmum 2 glasses a day, once in the morning and once at nite. Usually i only make wth half the recomended amount, so one tins can last for me for one month

Hi KK,
Which week r u now? I m 28th weeks and BB weight 1.13kg.

Hi poohmum,
I did urine test every gynae appointment, the nurse told me if 3 consecutive time show +ve for glucose, then will hav to go for the glucose test. Perhaps u hav intake something high in sugar content before ur appoinment, that's y the urine test show +ve. Dun worry too much, try to watch ur diet n avoid sweet stuff.

KK and poohmum,
I also feel BB kicking below abdomen and on the right side of my abdomen. My gynae told me BB in breech position now and in fact it's normal to be this position at this point of time.

Hello gals!
Sorry, I have not been posting lately... Have been very busy...

Wah.. now the topic is on GD and baby's kicks...

My gynae is afraid that I will get GD cos both my mum and dad are diabetics. My gynae is a bit more careful. He will ask me to do blood sugar test every alternate visit. Quite "siong"... gotta pay $25 for that test everytime... I am trying to control my diet cos I have cravings for sweet food...

Now, every visits I need haemoglobin test too... Another $20... If haemoglobin too low, will need jab.. another $20.. expensive hor?

My baby is also in the breech position now
I think it's normal for this stage. I do feel "earthquake" when I play music.. haha... My whole tummy will move - top and bottom, everywhere... Sometimes, when I am out walking, I can feel baby kicking my bladder, I think.. cos when baby kicks, I feel the sudden urge to urine...

Hi Hi Everyone,

I'm new here, just heard from a friend about this thread. My EDD is 10 June @ TMC. Hope you ladies don't mind me joining when we are almost half-way through our pregnancy.

Cheerios!

What do u all mean by "breech" heee... i never heard this term before.

My bb was head up when i was in my week 27. Yesterday i went for check up and my bb is head down. i wonder whether she will turn all over again. Seems to be very active and playful. i am now in my week 30
Going to Week 31 this week

Hi Mum2Be,

I didn't have any glucose test so far. So far urine test like u, so far so good

Hi Okasan,

Like u, i dun take anmum very often. Now maybe one cup at nite. If i forget to drink, then i will miss it. In fact everytime my hubby will ask me whether i wanna drink then he will make for me, but i dun have that urge or liking to drink it heeee....

I take lots of soya bean milk in replacement.

kk,
"breech" means the baby lies horizontally... the head not up nor down. I guess yours is safe since it is already in the down position.

carebear29,
welcome to the thread, do share with us your experiences...

carebear29,
Welcome~!

so your's a boy or girl? maybe u wanna add in more info like your gynae as well? so lyn can update u into the list of june MTBs

okasan,
ehh haha is it ?! Oh well thats what my friend defined when her baby refused to engage herself by lying horizontally as breech. Then she went for c-section abt 3 weeks ago. Hahaha wrong infor from her ;p

hi Mummies! My home laptop was crashed that was y so long never post in this forum. Wow so many posts to catch up!
376710.gif

Thanks for everyone's concern, i have recovered from my diarrhoea n wind. Dunno y recently i have this feeling right under my right breast. The feeling is abit like "Ma2 Bi1" (numb) n last for a few mins, then after that it wil go away by itself. Hmm not sure what it is, anyone encounter b4?

Babycot/playpen:
Still considering. Still doing research/feedbacks on both items.
Playpen gd to save space. But if transfer my bb to mattress on the floor (cos i got keep a dog), so not so good. aiya stil deciding. but bbcot seems bulky n scare bb reject when older. If buy playpen, wld not want to transfer bb to slp on mattress on e flr or shall i buy a normal bed w mattress for bb permanently for long term use? but like tat might as well get a bb cot hor? hmmmm....

Stroller/Pram:
We did consider the size n weight of it. Esp. whether can fit into car boot n etc.

Breastmilk Bags:
what does EBM stands for? Issit essential to buy it? convenient n good? how much? y we need to use milk bag? cos usually we wil pump into milk bottles provided n then that's it?
Thot those glass bottles from TMC can be only used once as heard from colleagues? the glass bottle wil be given to ur bb after u give birth at the
hospital n then finished liao can throw away?

376711.jpg

Welcome carebear!

Cot/playpen:
I now have two playpens and one baby cot. The cot is for baby to sleep at night, and playpens are for baby to take afternoon naps, or to put baby inside while the caregiver is unavailable.
Will place one playpen at MIL, one at home. Just nice. Heard from my fren it's good to allocate diff sleeping locations for baby, cot is at night, playpen is day, so baby is able to diff between day and night, and will learn to sleep thru the night when in cot.

Breastmilk Bags:
EBM stands for Expressed Breastmilk. Bags are convenient and cheap, no need to sterilise, pump st and store away.
Do consider getting at least one pack if you are serious about breastfeeding.

Lumps in Armpit:
Just checking, any mummies developed lumps in armpits? heard these are breast tissues... i have two on my left side and one on my right. seemed to be growing slowly in size... very annoying... hopefully will go off once i deliver... read in another thread that the lumps are still present during the breastfeeding stage... hmmm...

Hi Okasan and Okipoki,

Thanks for enlightening on the positions of bb. I hope mine will be successfully engaged when the time comes. My colleague who had just given birth had a sister whose bb not engaged even in week 33 or so. I am not sure when must our bb really be engaged. Anybody know about this? My colleague's bb engaged in a pretty early stage. By the way, her bb girl weighs 3.18 kg. Pretty huge ya?

Hi Kite,

If u buy a normal bed with mattress for bb, when would u put bb onto the bed? Must have some kind of prevention such that bb won't fall over?

I bought a bed for my mil, who is staying over for confinement. So that bed will be for my bb when she grows much older in her schooling years. Meanwhile has to make do with playpen and then mattress on floor.

kite,
if u have dog, then get baby cot loh...safer and u can convert the cot to bed next time....

kk,
3.18kg is quite ok lah...I have 2 friends whose babies were 4kg when born...that's really huge

amy,
I dun have lumps in armpit...maybe u wanna check it out with your gynae??

okipoki,
actually your friend also not wrong when she said her baby is in breech...as long as baby not head down, is considered breech loh...breech itself has a few types...including transverse...

kite,

me too..these few days i keep having this kind of 'numb' feeling.mine is oso under the right breast area.esp when i am sitting down.the 1st few times didn reali notice until now..u be seeing ur gynae soon? coz jus saw mine n my next appt is end mar.let me koe if u koe wat is it..thanks

Amy:
u mentioned motherswork sell playtext milk bags, may i know how much issit? Hmm where is motherswork located? inside got 100 bags rite? i consider breastfeeding my bb, so wanna buy 1 pack to keep.

Gina/Josephine:
Hehe our classes same day but too bad mine different timing as both of u.

okipoki:
The goldwellness seems good leh. However, i m interested in the post natal massage instead but no price stated in the website. Wondering need to book in advance for it n any person to recommend?

mspiggy:
wow U r from perth, born there ah? wow so lucky! so nice to go melbourne self drive in mar, very relaxing. How i wish can go back again. I also luv relaxing n less crowded places. dun like those those congested countries.... How many days u gg, n wat is ur self drive itinerary? very nice to self drive there leh, esp along great ocean road hor.
376855.gif

Confinement:
My mum doing confinement for me, she wil cook confinement food and take care of my bb. My mum very very nice, she told me just BAO a Angbao for her can liao.

KK: Yes, we also need to buy a bed for her too. But mum said ask my dad to go over together w her. Alamak! see how.... So u actually buy a bed liao. During the delivery of e bed to the hse, mum told me better not stay inside the hse, ask me go downstairs cos movement of furniture inside e hse not so good when i m around.

Housework:
Maybe i will employ a wkend cleaner n pay her hourly cos dun want make my mum too tired taking care of me and my bb.

Celeste:
as for flies in aussie, mostly can be found in the outskirts but not in e city. esp weather is hot in summer, u wil see alot of flies, quite irritating. Colder weather, dun think will hv.

Bittergourd:
Its very "liang" one. i think one of the reasons which causes my stomach to hv wind. so be cautious. my mum already advise me not to take this but i secretly eat it cos my fav.
376856.gif

Josephine:
hehe my hubby n i always bring my dog for strolls at ECP but now lesser. We always love to walk to the Bedok jetty, very fun to see ppl fishing. nowadays seldom liao since i got pregnant, maybe shld do that again. Cos once i was during my 1st tri, we walked til e jetty, my lower abdomen pain ful so i avoid. but think shld do that again.

Metro Warehouse sale:
got sell bb stuffs anot? cheaper rite?

Sugarbun:
i also got pain when i slp on my left position. After i switched to right side, the pain gone.

Sleeping:
me too i hv been feeling tired lately. Initially during beginning of 2nd tri, i was energetic, now tend to feel tired n slpy.

k ong:
my tummy measurement is now 34inches
I drink 1 glass of Anmum daily but once in e morning only cos i cant stand milk but hv to force myself drink. I used 2&1/2 scoop for 1/2 glass of milk.

Kraft cheese:
anyone taking kraft cheese? hmm my fren told me if i dun like milk, can take this.

kk:
breech is bb's head up and body at e bottom if not wrong. what do u mean by bb engage?

Angeline:
hey we encounter same thing. yes esp when i m sitting down or lying down on the bed, i wil feel this Ma Bi feeling. How long does urs last? mine only like few mins then gone. My appt wil be on next monday wil ask gynac abt it.

376857.jpg