10-12 mar
expo hall 5b

Metro warehouse sale
23-25 mar
expo hall 5

taka baby fair
3 mar (to be confirmed...)

okasan,
i dun tink i'll go to the expo/warehouse fairs leh... tink squeezing amongst big crowds i can't tahan liaoz... maybe i'll wait for the taka fair (if not too crowded)... hehe... but thanks for the info

hi okipoki
i have yet to go for the tour. For wkdays is at 2.30pm. Sat at 11am. Yest i called them, they said got slot for 25th Mar, juz now called, it's fully booked.. wahhh.. so I already secured one slot on 8 Apr(which is my wk 32). They only take 5 couples on Sat. So u better booked fast.

okasan thanks for the update. If the take fair is 3mar then i will organise a June MTB meetup session at Crystal Jade for high tea ya! if it's the next weekend on 10 mar then i'm on holiday can't go for taka fair sob sob...

matched gal, wah you calculate very exact. Must be long walks more beneficial for bb and you. Don't count the walking in office la... I go for walks from East Coast mc walk all the way to the hawker centre, then the reward is the dinner lor...

josephine,
hehe, i c... muz b long walk... guess i better start motivating myself oreadi(!). Don't want to end up wif long & difficult labour
Yikes, so many things to do & so little time... Muz set aside time each weekend liaoz... else sure end up full of excuses...

josephine,
ya, good idea to organise a meetup...me also hoping taka fair can come soon....can't wait to stock up baby stuff...

matched_gal,
for exercise, u dun need to purposely set aside time....what u can do is to try to walk more whenever u can...for eg. instead of driving/taking transport to market, try walking there if it's within walking distance loh...like that, u dun feel stress that u need to do a lot of things

Jo, tigerair quite cheap, too bad the returning flight from BKK is 10 am. Too early...

Re: Meet up at Taka Fair
Will be fun! We can have tea at Crystal Jade.

okipoki,
try massage ur back with tiger balm...see if it helps...or put those hot bottle pack on ur back

Josephine,
i am definitely walking more than 1 hr a week.....haha.....i tink almost everyday i will walk for at least 30mins - hr liowz

If i happen to go shopping that day will walk even more ;)

okasan,
yeah..tats wat i do...rather than take feeder bus back home, i will walk home instead...unless very tired then i will take the bus home

so taka bb fair is next friday ah...so fast!

OH, so that's the taka bb fair u girls have been talking abt all these while..aiya ..i thought was this mth so last weekend i told my hubby taka got bb fair and we actually went there (malu).... no wonder i was wondering why the fair was so lousy.... nothing much one...kekeke

tinklebell,
there's 20% sale at taka this month...but it's not baby fair..taka baby fair in mar

Celeste,
ya, easier to put exercise as part of our daily routine

375968.gif
Singapore Expo
375970.gif

Baby Care Festival 2006
10 Mar - 12 Mar
Hall 5B
11 - 9pm

Metro Warehouse Sale
23 March - 25 March
Hall 5
11am - 10pm

Times Book Sale
13 Apr - 16 Apr
Hall 6B
10 - 9pm

BookFest @ Singapore
10 Mar - 19 Mar
Hall 4 & 5A
10- 9pm

375969.gif
Suntec Singapore
375971.gif

Food & Beverage Fair 2006
16 Mar - 20 Mar
Hall 403 - 404, level 4
11 - 10pm

IT Show 2006
9 Mar - 12 Mar
Levels 3, 4 & 6
12 - 9pm

Natas Travel
24 Mar - 26 Mar
Level 6
12 - 9.30pm (1st day)
10 - 9.30pm

World Book Fair
26 May - 4 June
Level 4
2 - 11pm (1st Day)
11 - 10pm

Hi Josephine and matchgal,

My pain is terrible. When i try to sleep on left side, for the first time i make a turn to left, the pain is really jialat, that's y i still prefer to sleep on my back, but hor i scared i will get severe back pain soon. Now i can understand why mummy walk penguin. But my friends or colleagues who pregnant before never tell me they hav pain lor. That's y i keep thinking something wrong wth me???

Anyway will be seeing my gynae tomolo morning. Will ask him whether i m okie or not.

sugarbun
don worry i feel the same sensation as you. like muscle tear like that, then after that i don dare to move, and try to check whether bb still kicking normally after that... my friends all got experience this pain le...

check with you gynae and let us know?

hi tinklebell, think i prefer indo cos used to have one.. plus cheaper hee hee.. age wise hopefully got kids b4 so that she can understand how a mom feels..

for those who have backpain, can ask gynae for a gel..its called fastum gel. i am using it.. i find it very good.. my hb will apply and massage abit.. the pain goes away.. so might want to consider..

for me, I sleep on my left or right side, but feel more backache than I sleep on my back....also when sleep on my left/right side, my hand will be numb after a while, but if sleep on the back, no prob....weird...

do you all use any pillows to support your back when sleeping sideway? heard my friends say they used a lot of pillows till their hubby got no place to sleep....but I have no idea how to place pillow to make myself comfortable...

sugarbun,
no worry, it's normal to have pain and aches...afterall, we are carry additional "load" everyday

wah.. so many postings.. no time to catch up. keke

by the way, bought a oak cherrywood baby cot + spring mattress and peg perego stoller over the wkend - cost me $1k altogether.. bought both at baby hypermart.. so now hv to slowly stock up the rest of the necessities..

going KL with hubby tomorrow.. so see if bb's clothes cheap or not.. if yes, may stock up some :p

just went for my routine check today.. aiyo bb refused to turn around to face us.. only showed us his back... haha

Morning ladies !!

Celeste,
can use tiger balm meh ?? I dare not apply any medical oil etc. anyway, as wat peng has indicated probably will check out with gynae on any gel for backache.

morning ladies

okipoki,
I remember reading in this thread someone mentioned can use tiger balm lehz...and i asked my gynae before also...he also said can use

but of cos for safety purpose although can use....but i only use it when i feel quite painful otherwise i juz ignore it

but these days my lower hip bone pain not really there anymore...feel much better

GOOD MORNING
376183.gif

YIPEE!!! IT'S FRIDAY

peng, oic, u prefer indon. my mum prefers Fili bec they can handle pork and dogs lor... and my previous maid was Fili... i wonder how long beforehand do we have to apply with the agency. I have not much idea on this bec i got my previous direct and agent only coordinated her trip to spore.

re: back pain
I also used Fastum gel previously... it works. I think Tiger balm sd be ok right? I know some of the heat rub contains asprin... not sure if fastum gel contains that as well... if u are allergic to asprin then better not to use rubs that contain that. some pp tell me pregnant cannot take too much asprin ... but then for my previous pregnancy, gynae prescribe that to me for 3 mths to thin the blood... very confusing.

Okasan, you'r right. I feel that tugging pillow or blanket at the sides while u sleep helps. if i can remember before i sleep, i will do that.

Re : Sleeping
juz wondering if you all need a fair bit of sleep everyday? Me seem to need at least 7-8hrs of sleep a day and sometimes still feel tired....wondering if its normal

celeste, i saw the databases - majority are not christians leh... if restrict to just christian then not much choice left already lor... and all of them whom i know cannot speak english when they first come(even though they put "can speak english" in their resume) ... and a few i know lie abt their age (18 only but in resume they put 23 bec 23 is the min age to get here)... hiaz... better to personally interview them if u can.

But on the other hand, i find them more humble lor.

actually salary diff now also not much. indon 280, fili 320.

celeste,
for my case, I can't sleep too much, else will not be able to sleep throughout the night....

but as we go into our 3rd tri, it's norm to feel more tired...afterall, we are carrying heavier load everyday liao....

tinklebell,
geez....so i guess fili are better? But i heard most ppl say fili one very "smart" as in they may try funny things one? I also donno....but i tink if i hire i will choose those married with kids and mabbe around 30+ yrs old one...i dont wanna get those young young ones scarly come here donno how to take care of kids or do hsework

Juz wondering, izzit that those whom have worked here for a number of yrs before will require more pay?

okasan,
wah...then cannot imagine now i oledi need sleep, later stage tink i will sleep even more *faint*

celeste,
Hmmm probably will try tiger balm if the pain gets worst.. if not i will need to wait for my next appt with gynae.

gers,

re: maid.
yes fili maid are really smarter & if u have older ppl stay in ur house, they are very good at creating conflicts between u & ur mum. i hv a bad encounter with my ex maid who uses my facial mask etc while i am working. caught her red-handed when i went home suddenly (took MC)

celeste/ okipoki, ya true... fili are "smarter" also in the bad sense. :p actually both also can make u very pek chek... so last time i just close off one eye lor. if i can choose, i rather not have a maid but my mother says she cant cope bec other than 2 grandkids, she also has a dog which needs to be walked at least twice a day
(all thanks to my brother who adopted the dog fr his friend ...then pai pai pi gu and leave all the handling to my parents)

i also prefer an old maid, preferably ard 30.

celeste, i heard fr my SIL indon maid (donno true or not) that in the villages, if they dont get married by 26, then they are probably left on the shelf already. and it is taboo to be labelled "left on the shelf" ...so many of them will rush back before 26 to get married... once they have kids, husband wont allow them to go overseas to work bec indon men are more conservative.

I actually wanted to get a nanny but my mother keeps saying i cant cope with 2 kids at night...(but maid also dont help u look after bb at night wat????) "xiao kan wo"... hiaz... anyway since cost of maid and nanny is ard the same, i think i will prob choose a maid unless i can find a good nanny.

okipoki,
as long as u dont apply everyday then shldnt be a problem one
or if u r worried maybe u can give ur gynae a call and check with him if u can use those gels or tiger balm boh

wow...so scary...and i heard of cases the maid will wear ur clothes when u r out working...they try on for fun and maybe even wear it out...*faint*

tinklebell,
ya...i tink if 2 grandkids and a doggie + hsework all these, ur mom really needs a maid to help cos handling 2 kids oledi jin tired....cannot imagine having to do other stuffs

so it seems like not easy to get indon christian maids...*sigh*....my first choice i guess will be a nanny if i can get one bah...next choice prob a maid liowz.
btw maids dont help look after bb at nite one ah? If i hire a maid i will tell her priority is bb lor...other stuffs can wait...so hopefully she will concentrate on the bb n take gd care

morning ! yes, some of us wld be approaching 3rd trimester !!! when does it "start" officially ah ?
i'm already counting down to the day when i can start my maternity leave ... heehee

getting some leg cramps these nights ... wah very pain, but after a while it will go away ...

also, got a sharp pain next to belly button, esp when i'm doing too much during the evening, ie, cooking and cleaning up ... so must rest more ...

celeste, not that they dont help u take care at night ... but you bear to let them take care? initially i did let my maid take care, but after a while i feel that bb's bonding with me is impt so i took over the night feeds....bb very sensitive one... got one stage i was v busy with work ... my maid spends most of the time with my son... i overheard him calling her mama ...was so so so sad for a while... after that i told myself no matter how busy i am, i must finish my work early and go back home to spend those precious time with him.

if u r not fussy, i am sure getting indon christian maid will not be difficult lah.. just that not many to choose fr lor.

celeste,
thanks for the advise.
actually, regardless anything can happen as long as a stranger stays at your house.

k ong,
if i am not mistaken, 3rd tri should starts from week 28 right ? gers, correct me if i am wrong

recently, I went to see gynae, and my edd showed in the ultrascan result is one week earlier liao...does that means my EDD changes? or I can just ignore and stick to the original EDD?

din notice the change in the EDD until recently when I look at the ultrasound scan pic....maybe will ask gynae the next time I see him...

Re Maids, i think i will start looking around in March, as i prefer indo christian.
any recommendations for reputable agencies? i also heard diff agencies charge diff rates. any advise?

BTW, i booked my flights via zuji online. now waiting for confirmation for hotel. decided to stay at Baiyoke Sky. hope can get a room...

Amy, congrats, u finally booked your holiday!! Baiyoke sky is v nice hotel ... go to the roof top to moonwatch with your hubby at night.... it's very romantic

tinklebell,
u r right also.....but i guess as working moms...most prob the only time we can really bond is during sat and sunday

i think its really difficult to working moms to balance the bonding and their job....

Now i am worried whether how i will return back to my p/t studies after bb has popped....imagine bb wont be seeing me much if i work + study....dont dare to imagine that *sigh*

okipoki,
i think 3rd trim starts on 28 weeks
and i am 4.5 weeks to 3rd trim! So fast

okasan,
i think u can stick to original EDD, cos like my gynae now also never tell me my EDD liowz...cos i tink it will keep changing...so the EDD is like only a gauge bah

Amy,
congrats on booking the trip...
....hope u enjoy the trip ;)....Baiyoke sky got very nice scenery...remember to request for higher floors hor

Indo maids-
my maid (still doing paperwork for her, heh) is Indo muslim but she's worked in SG b4- she told me she's fine with eating pork (she volunteered!), and is ok with handling dogs (I told her I need someone who can bathe my dog, clean up dogpoo etc).

She won't be sleeping with my kids- #1 in her own nursery, #2 will bunk in with me due to newborn's frequent nightfeeds. I haven't decided whether she'd do nightfeeds for #1, at present #1 hardly nightwakes, but this may change with introduction of a new sibling ;) . HB willing to help with nightfeeds too, but I'm thinking he might do better helping me with #2.

medusa wow ur maid eats pork and can take care of dogs? u'r lucky cos not many of those i know willingly do that. so i guess it will be important to ask them if they are willing to do these at the point of interview. if they yearn for the job badly, i suppose they will just accept.

All sorts of personalities around ...last time my grandma has an indon maid who will wake up very early, put a white cloth over her head and pray... bec we have different religions, my grandma finds it very eerie but dare not ask her not to do it bec u know lah...religion is a sensitive thing to talk about.

Medusa, how long it takes to hire a maid? how much it cost in total (other than salary and levy)?

me too, won't need my maid to look after baby when i am around, cos prefer to bond with baby after work and during weekends. hubby also voluntereed to do night feeds.
maid just need to help with housework.

what else do we have to state to maid at time of employment? working hours and duties?

tinklebell, wow... i guess living with someone else needs lots of adjustment.
just gotta pray that i will get a good maid...

Amy,
mine is introduced, so I didn't go thru agency (so I can't "switch" maids, if I terminate/ she quits, I have to pay her airtix home). DIY paperwork is easy IF u do in correct sequence (or else big headache!),
- basically person applying go to NY poly online to pass the EOP (Employer Orientation Prog ~$30), wait 1 working day,
- same person must go to MOM online apply WP (Work Permit for maid ~$10?), wait 2 working days receive the IPO (In-Principle Approval),
- buy Insurance (NTUC Income online ~$150 I think? Covers compulsory Personal Accident Insurance and the Security Bond), buy 1-way Indo-SG airtix (deductible from maid's salary but must state so in contract), mail it to maid waiting in Indo (mail can take as long as 20 days!),
- draw up contract (outline duties, rules you want her to abide by, wages given, off-day given, any wages given in-lieu of off-day, etc).

Indo maid min. salary $280, Fili more. Levy $200 after subsidy (children under 12yrs, aged also qualify). Discouraged by MOM to let maid sleep in living rm, or sharing with adult of opposite gender, so gotta think abt accomodation. Pay for toiletries, food, medical fees (incl. compulsory 6mthly checkup), transport (if she follows you around lah)... I'm budgeting $600-700 TOTAL mthly.

The Maid Experience thread has alot more info., like certain rules you may or may not want to impose- handphones, eating our food w/o permission etc. And some agencies recommended/ or to steer clear of, hehe.

engaging good maids sometime depend on luck too...my relative used to have this indo maid. she will bring men back to the house when no one is at home....their neighbours spotted a few times seeing men enter the house, so warn my relative abt it....so terrible...

also heard horrible stories like if u scold the maid, she not happy, she may spit into the coffee she made for u, etc....

Thanks for the info Medusa. If we use an agency, do we still need to attend the NY poly course? Hmm... will read up more on the thread.