(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinkerbell,
wah, then lucky i only bot 1 pack. Dun tink will dry up cos it's air-tight pack. But i've only 3 months' to d-day now, and tink last trimester shd b quite tiring to shop ard for stuff dat's y looking around now...

okie, thanks for ur & okasan's inputs!

re: hypnobirthing

yesterday, i read in Mind your body abt Hypnobirthing.... the article actually interviewed one of my old friends... i have spoken to her personally and it seems that giving birth is just so simple with hypnobirthing... despite her assurance, i'm actually still quite skeptical how well this can work... anyone gone for the hypnobirthing classes? maybe can share some details on that?

morning~
lyn: you same as me, gonna try out alone without CL? ya i think i will get depression too if got stranger/even MIL to manage in the house (as we stay alone). But without enough help, i also worry will get into depression... my friend had CL also had depression as bb just cry and cry and cry,,, first time mum will be helpless. like okasan say hubby also 1st time dad - he also coping along...

Peng: great, your hubby relented! i keep telling my hubby other MTB in June also can go here go there why i cannot go, so he finally gave in haha

jo,
not to worry lah ... u can always "talk" to us (hee hee)...and vent all your frustrations. I guess the impt thing is that u must be psychologically prepared for your bb's birth and chart down a list of things that your hubby should do everyday so that he too will be prepared for it.

Morning ladies

Amy,
Personally I feel that Novotel Siam Sq hotel shld be one of the best locations lor...cos its situated at the SIAM skytrain staion and is only 1 station away from MBK, but its situated at the main shopping district
and also the SIAM skytrain station is the interchange station, meaning u can take the train to north, east or west direction directly

pebbles,
ya...PP not cheap, i think that time when i went i booked the hotel at SGD$140/room per nite inclusive of buffet breakfast, i booked mine thru zuji website...but sometimes i tink wotif website might have better rates but u can only book up to 28 days in advance

Yeah! I watched movies there before....its very cheap...i tink only bout SGD$3.50/pax....if u take those "Gold Class" seats similar to our GV Gold cinema, its only bout SGD$8.50/pax....next time if i go i wanna try the "Gold Class" kind of seats...haha
And the first time we watched movie there also got a shocked, cos need to stand up when they play the National Anthem to respect the king....jin farnie...haha

matched_gal,
I've already got my wet wipes cos when i bought the Avent IQ sterilisier they got promo and free 3 packs of Avent wet wipes ;) but i dont think they will dry up if u dont open them up?

celeste,
dun tink will dry up leh, cos air-tight. Hehe... wah, so gd, u got free wipes liaoz...
Btw, the Avent IQ sterilizer can fit any-sized bottles? Or hv to b Avent specifically?
Me still luking ard for sterilizer...

me envy all of u... we not much spare $ for going overseas now, and plus hubby & i busy wif work... so overseas trip out for us... But if miss this chance i noe i've to wait couple of yrs liaoz... haiz...

matched_gal,
ya...tat time i got it at a great bargain...Robinsons selling the steriliser at $159 then with Robinsons card got 5% discount additional and we got a $8 robinsons voucher discount from the CNY lucky draw...so total is like we paid around $143 for the steriliser and still got 3 packs of 150's wet wipes free ;)
I read up on some feedback on the steriliser, best is used Avent bottles, but according to some users cos Avent bottles are quite wide so the same space can fit most other brands of bottles...but i havent tried yet so cant tell u

Josephine,
Novotel location gd but i checked before...not cheap also..the pricing is bout same as PP

okasan,
me that time after married went many holidays...although most are shorter trips...like hkg, bkk, phuket, cruises, genting and of cos also my HM...cos i told hb if dont travel now when bb comes then will be stuck in SG for a couple of yrs liowz

ya, I was also thinking if now dun go overseas, have to wait till baby older then can go....

beside, now being 2nd tri, is the best time, after which, when in 3rd tri, too heavy to go overseas.....

okasan, now it's just 2 of u so it's easy to just pack and go for holiday... even weekend to msia or bintan is also considered holiday

coming 6 mths soon and hiaz... havent even booked for my trip ... prob finalise it these 2 weeks

Peng, i suppose your voucher not for sale already right since u are going to hk?

tinklebell,
ya, maybe can consider a short getaway....bintan now safe to go? the last time I went there, I was so lucky..the day after I left Bintan, the locals there riot into the resorts....if I stayed a day longer, dun know what will happen....

okasan, i've never been to bintan cos hubby doesnt like beach resorts. should be quite safe since it is mainly singaporean owned.
Hub and i have more or less decided to go to Seoul... but havent booked yet... bec the tour agent i like speaking to is on course and not around until this friday.

re: CL
Finally called my SIL's confinement nanny and booked her... at least one thing off my mind

tinklebell,
wow, u booked your CL too...cool! at least one less thing to worry abt

u just going seoul alone? mar not cold liao, right?

okasan,
Too many logistics to arrange ... very mar2-fun2. I'll be going to Seoul with my hubby, son and in laws... 5 of us... will be booking the 5 day tour. We planning to go during second last week of March. Heard it is start of spring...Temp ard 15deg...moderate lah... can do without thick winterwear. now i feel like a furnance... keeps complaining the weather is so hot.... hope to enjoy some cold breeze.

hiaz... next arrangement on my list after i arrange the tour is scout for a maid. i saw some databases on the net... so many choices donno wh one to choose. headache

tinklebell,
going with in-laws also good, more people to help look after your son...hehe....

me also feeling hot...hubby always say cold, but I feel so hot...hehe....coz pregnancy women's body tend to be more "heaty" hence the feeling of hot all the times

Celeste, yes, maybe will try Novotel Siam Sq. Is the hotel room nice? Is it 5 star quality with swimming pool? Will go book our package tonight. Hubby said we should also go to Baiyoke Sky for dinner on top floor. And will also catch a Gold Class movie.

tinklebell, yeah cos thot noone wants to buy my voucher, so decided to juz go for the hoilday.. so sorry..

err.. if u mgr to find any info on maid, can share with me too.. i m supposed to look for 1 too, but haven't had the time yet to find out more.. tks alot in advance first..

tinklebell, congrats on booking your CL. one thing off your mind huh?

Re maids: do keep me posted too! I also need to have a maid in by mid June, before my CL leaves.

Okasan, there is a citibank promo for Bintan Lagoon, buy one nite, get one nite free. Maybe you can check it out. I like Bintan, very relaxing, can go to the beach and dip in the pool few times a day. Food is also great, though variety not as much as BKK.

Ladies, which travel agency would you recommend for booking a BKK package? Any 3D2N free one N packages to recommend? Will be going to Chinatown later.

Wah...all mummies gg for holiday ya...

I doubt i can go, this few day walking also feel pain over here n there. My mum say dont even hav the idea to go travel

Did anyone feel pelvic pain? yest i feel pain on my right bone, today is left bone...jialat, walk like big elephant like that.

Amy,
U may try city99 cos sometime they have good packages to BKK.

Me too wanted to go for a get away but hubby objects due to me pain here & there.

tinklebell,
me also havent finalise my holiday...haha...jiatlat hor...and i am planning prob going around 9th March....such a tight deadline...

and great that u have confirmed ur CL, now more or less can relax liowz

Amy,
I never stayed at Novotel Siam Square before, the last time i went i stayed at PP
But I saw from internet before it looks quite gd...shld be around 4-5 star hotel rating...so no worries

if u really wanna pamper and is ok with the costs can try the BKK Banyan Tree Bangkok...i saw a package on zuji website, they even include dining at the top floor with full view of the BKK landscape...its bout $700+/pax include of 2N stay at BanyanTree Bangkok and airport limousine transfer and travel via SQ
I saw from the website the rooms are really very very nice!!

hi sugarbun i feel pelvic pain very often, i think it's the bb resting too low...

last night when i was laying in bed, i tried to turn to one side to sleep then the pelvic area like cramp! then i froze for 1 min, it was so painful!

do you mummies notice if you sleep one side,bb will kick more, i think in protest, as there is pressure on the tummy....

now i play this game with the bb everynight.. as he is active. i will press on my tummy once, and he will respond! then i will put my hand on another part of my tummy, and press again. He will respond with another kick too!

hello sugarbun

me too...i'm starting to get pain here&there too (esp back & left pelvic), and even bot a cushion to support my back for office-chair... hmmm, and can't walk/stand for too long now, else feel veri terrible...
Wondering if i can get all my 'shopping' done in time...

hi josephine,
yes, when lying on one side, will feel the bb more active (also mentioned in my antenatal class, but i forgot what's the reason mentioned by the lady). But now that i'm coming to 3rd trimester soon, i'm beginning to feel bb more & more active. Seems like she moves the whole day, sometimes wake up in the night also can feel. Very huge 'thumps' can be felt esp when i have meetings / when watching TV... Seems like she can hear wat's going on outside oreadi leh

Amy, i used to book with J3 travel at China Square. The last time i went, i was in the middle of switching job so i called almost all the travel agents in the classified ads and this one the cheapest lor... hee heee... cheap skate hor. Bangkok Banyan Tree sounds like quite a romantic place too.

Celeste, i also tried looking at Zuji but u need to arrange for tranfer arrangements separately. U need to pay extra for that so in the end, i booked with travel agent cos adding all up, i felt it was cheaper. 9th March is not far away leh... better to confirm earlier so that u can make arrangements.

okipoki, aiyo, what happen to u ..why pain here pain there?

tinklebell,
zuji if u book air tix and hotel separately the need to arrange for airport transfer urself....there is a section under "Package" deals whereby they include air tix + hotel accomodation + airport transfer by default...so u wont have to arrange for airport transfer urself

But that time when i went BKK and HKG i booked separately cos i calculated that its cheaper than i book from tour agency as i went tour agency to recke the prices in advance...hehe :p

Celeste, i saw the package deals but the last time they didnt have the departure timing i wanted but agent had and timing was flexible. one good thing is that everything is electronic and u dont even have to go down to take the ticket right?
So where will u most likely be going? if just the 2 of u can consider Ko Samui or Vietnam too... more exotic.
Ko Samui is out for me bec hubby hates beach resort. Heard Vietnam got lots of cheap shopping areas... my aunt just came back with bagloads of shoes n bags... all <$8 per pc... (haha we thought she decided to open a shop in spore selling that)

tinklebell,
oic...true also...for my case i book thru them if they have wat i want
Actually for hotel bookings, i see that the www.wotif.com got quite gd deals...most of the time cheaper than zuji

And yeah u are rite, that time when i booked i juz print out the stuffs dont even need to go down n collect ticket :p and gd thing can use credit card to pay and gain pts...cos most of those small agency dont let u use credit card to pay....haha....me very "gian peng" hor :p
I think high chance going Taipei, cos hb seems to be more interested in there cos he said more cooling....

Vietnam is a bit "backward"? I feel safer visiting more advanced countries when preggie bah...cos can be assured *touch wood* if anything happens...haha

Celeste, ya lah, Taiwan would be nicer. try the bitter gourd with milk ....very nice
but food wise, u need to be a bit more careful bec the seriously, we dont know how clean the roadside stalls are. Yummy Yummy, taiwan got lots of nice food to eat
making me hungry liao

tinklebell,
Aiya nowadays got backache mah.. Imagine halfway walking u will have a sudden pain across ur back &amp; cant even talk.. quite jialat right. Also, I tend to be breathless as well... oohhh !! Not to mention the stupid cramps !!

tinklebell,
bitter gourd with milk...sounds special :D...hb been to taiwan on work purpose before liowz...so its like this time he is accompanying me only...haha
Shanghai seems gd too....if u were to choose, will u go shanghai or taiwan?

Celeste, tinklebell, thanks for the BKK tips.

Tinklebell, i tot bittergourd is too "liang" for preggy woman? maybe not a good idea to drink too much hor...

okipoki,
me sometimes also feel tired...especially after work go shopping...wah...stamina not as gd as b4 preggie...but well...i still wanna holiday...but go easy on the pace lor....tired then rest not tired then continue walking...hehe

Amy, oops is it? bitter gourd "liang"... if that's the case better dont take too much... i suppose a small amount should be fine. Heee hee ... i dont take bittergourd but i love that beverage. yummy ...slurrppppp....

matched_gal,
that's why now must start to shop around for baby stuff liao...I also told my hubby we must settle the neccessary stuff by end mar coz I scare by then, heavier, will have more prob shopping....

me also feeling more aches here and there these days....walk a bit more, my legs start to feel as if they are going to get cramp anytime...

celeste,
true my stamina also not as good as before.. imagine i used to shop at chatuchak from morning till evening without any problem. nowadays, a short walk i already need to have a rest &amp; sit down so cant imagine going for those shopping trip

tinklebell
last time i booked my BKK room from directrooms.com
precisionreservations.com
one of them got map so that you have a gauge of where you stay. I think directrooms prices incl tax so more reliable.

Go Ho Chin Min la! heard got good food and lotsa shopping!!! see tigerairways offer!!
http://www.tigerairways.com/home/

gals
though it's heavy and no stamina, pls continue to walk/exercise lots.
Surveyed my friends who just gave birth... those who exercise more will have easier and SHORTER delivery time, as short as 20min settle! you wouldn't want to be stuck in labour for 12-24hours right, so walk more... try to walk one hour a week.

gals
though our tummies are heavy and we all feel like no stamina, pls continue to walk/exercise lots.
Surveyed my friends who just gave birth... those who exercise more will have easier and SHORTER delivery time, as short as 20min settle! you wouldn't want to be stuck in labour for 12-24hours right, so walk more... try to walk one hour a week.

matched_gal,
got sale coming...heard taka baby fair coming in early mar leh....but not sure the details....

babyfair at expo and metro warehouse sale at expo also coming in mar....

josephine,
wow, one hr per week = 12mins per weekday, or 9 mins per day. Does it include walking in the office too? ;p Me muz hv alot of discipline for exercise... seems like i'm getting lazier &amp; lazier now

josephine,
ya, my friends who are mummies also told me the same thing...advise me to walk more esp during 3rd tri if I wanna shorter labour....