(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

i love panda - that is one cool looking stroller. is that the per prego prima or pilko ? It looks sturdy cushy enough for new born. Am still torn between the maclaren techno or the graco literider travel system.

wow Josephine, u managed to book the $98 ticket...so lucky! u must be v fast!
i agree it's good to have the maid to learn from confinement nanny but my house is quite cramp already so i dont have much space to accommodate 2 outsiders. so i think at most i will get the maid during the last week of confinement.
Amy, envy u... u can just book and go over the weekend. my hubby must apply his leave 1 mth in advance and moreover, he works half days on sats
so we always cant have last minute plans
i think u will enjoy the shopping there.

BTW, how much your confinement nanny charges?

Celeste, the flies thing was told to me by my ex-neighbour who stayed there for some time. hee hee .... BIG somemore... oh he didnt tell me that the flies were BIG though..haha!

tinklebell, aiyo... my hubby has put in his leave abt one month in advance, only got clearance on Monday. he will be on leave whole of next week, but we plan to depart Wed night, 4D 3N. I will put in my leave after i book the package.

My confinement nanny charges $1800 per mth.
i engaged her thru WOM. She lives in Kuantan.

Josephine,
but light stroller is dangerous too...i saw a stroller topple over inside an mrt train before...thats y got the phobia....so the stroller i got is inbetween the weight of light and heavy stroller...haha..and with 2 cross bars below so it shld be more stable
and tried b4 liowz, not tat heavy yet :p
wah! u managed to book the $98 tix...congrats
...i tried for the Taiwan one but no dates available at all *sigh*

Amy,
its great that ur MIL agreed to let u bring the maid over when u all are at work...that will be a very gd arrangement

i_panda77,
8kg ah....mabbe i never see this model...the one that i bought is arnd 7kg that range
....hmmz, if u always going out by car then shld be fine...for my case i was thinking if hb working and i bringing bb out myself then i would not want too heavy or bulky stroller...otherwise difficult to handle

tinklebell,
haha...my fren emphasized to me that its HOT and there are BIG flies around..*rofl*

allo okipoki

U see Henry in Glen E or Bishan? My next appt is on 14Mar. Went Glen E last Sat for checkup for the 1st time. oh my god.. so packed. Wait for him for an hr and see him for 5mins. so we decide to change back to Bishan Clinic. hehe

I also didnt go for any classes lei.. i hope i dun fret out during labour time. wahahaha. U are goin to deliver at Glen E or MtA. Hv u go for the tour already?

Hey Gers, just to share abt pre-natal massage, i went once at Indonesian Massage shop near Thomson Plaza. Abt $75 for 1hr. I got the membership card, so got 20% discount. It is good. Tel: 64571477. Chk it out if u gals one.

That day, i passed by The Foot Reflex at Centrepoint. They also hv pre-natal massage going at $28 for 40mins. It's very cheap lei. Mayb wan to try...keke

hi Amy,
There is this big fusion restaurant at the basement of MBK. They serve an array of food, italian, japanese, french, etc, and the price is like our fast food price here in our lion city. I like their spinach with the backed moz cheese a lot, check it out

Amy, i'm sure u'll have a great time shopping. In MBK alone, u could spend up to 1 day. best thing i thought abt MBK was the aircon. The outdoor was so hot. U try the cruise cum dinner along Chao Phraya River. I thought that one was quite cool and romantic

Celeste, so u still going Perth?

Pebbles, tinklebell, thanks for your tips. Yes, we will stay at Parthumwan Princess at MBK, so will be very convenient.

Mummies, have any of you experienced some lumps in your arm pits? Asked my gynae and she said could be breast lumps.... they seemed to be growing in size, and can be quite painful when i pressed them.

pebbles,
wow....BKK sound tempting also hor...maybe if i really donno where to go then i juz go BKK enough liowz

tinklebell,
donno lehz....mabbe not bah...since most ppl say its hot and got flies...yikes...i wanna go enjoy not go n hit flies...haha

me just went Metro during lunch break...now got 20% sale till 26 Feb (this sunday).

Avent & Medela products got 20% disc (applicable to blue tag only). Medela Mini Electric Pump $178 (should be before disc)...after disc is $142.40 Hmmm...shld i get?
375327.jpg

But hubby prefer the PIS ...
375328.jpg

anyone knows how much is it? Metro don't have leh..or they sold out liao...maybe have to go other outlet to check

Dor,
I see him in Bishan tho' GlenE is nearer to my home. But my appts are normally after work so Bishan is nearer. Me too ever waited him for an hour but see him for 5mins in Bishan.. guess gotta depend loh.
I didnt sign up for any class either, my sis who used Henry when she delivered said Henry will guide the mummy. I havent really decide which hospital but likely will be selecting Mt A cos I knew alot of "Henry's mummies" delivered in Mt A. I didnt go for the tour... have u ??

The pre-natal massage I went is located at Chinatown just 5mins from Chinatown MRT charged $70 abt 45mins. $28 for the massage is really cheap leh but dont know good or not hor ;p

i_panda,
PIS is selling for around $600+, i checked the pricing before liowz...that time the chesapest i saw after discount is around $620 or $630. Original selling price is $699.

celeste, thanks
375398.gif
. So are u getting any pump?

Just got some advice from my friend, she said the Medela Mini Electric got no power...PIS is better. This pump is effective in maintaining milk supply. Saves time also cos it pumps both sides at the same time. Hmm..$600+ have to reconsider...

hi amy/celest
a good choice for you to stay at PP.
You better dun talk the tuk tuk hoh, becos very dangerous since you are oso preggie.

I normally love to stay at Baiyoke Sky(tallest hotel in BKK. Can go up to the 80th level. There is s rotating rooftop when you can have a spectacular view of BBK city (open view)
But for pregnant ladies, betta dun stay here cos got to take transport out to MBK

Me miss going Thailand so muchie
Used to go there almost every year as I love their cuisine
Wow, really envy
)))

Dear Ladies
Saw in 8Days Magazine :

Babycare Festival at Singapore Expo Hall 5B
10-12 March 2006
Fri and Sat 11am-9pm, Sun 11am-8pm
Admission is free.

Got bb contest for age 5mths to 4 yrs

Free goodie bag for first 1,000 visitors each day (Nestle Corn Flakes, Babies Inc -- Infant Montessori Sch gift vouchers worth $600 and more)

Star Buys :
Save $99 off car seatsm $100 of baby strollers, $100 off reading book sets and $14.70 off diapers purchases!

ms piggy (errr though i hate to call u that), i'm quite keen on the Ameda pump, except whether it is fragile and spare parts may not be readily available. Still thinking whether to get this or Medela PIS. I notice Medela PIS has better resale value. let me think abt it.

okipoki, first time i heard of CL from Batam. (sorry suah koo me)...so $1.8k is the normal rate. yesterday i called 1 agency ...they quoted me $2.2k (but singaporean CL) +15% agency fees ... so expensive!!

i_panda,
will be getting pump but still deciding between avent manual pump or medela mini electric pump...but not buying so early...wait till taka bb fair bah, cos i got taka vouchers to use

pebbles,
the other time i went i stayed at Pathumwan Princess....but the bed is so lousy...the mattress is like so uncomfy...donno izzit i so heng kenna a room that mattress going to spoil or wat

If i go BKK again i will choose Novotel Siam Sq. this time round

pebbles, i also love Baiyoke Sky!!! the rooms are so BIG and at the roof top, it feels like the moon is so close to u
but do u feel giddy at the restaurant upstairs? I heard some of the rooms there are haunted... errr donno how true leh... touch wood but i didnt have any strange encounters there.

mspiggy,

are u getting the Ameda Lactaline pump too? Me interested too. $200+ i can consider..
375407.gif

But the cooler cum storage bag looks a bit big & heavy..if have to carry to & from home to work, will it be very heavy/bulky?
375408.gif

hi panda77,
am still considering to buy Ameda pump or not. not too sure abt the size of the bag, havent seen it before.

if more people keen, maybe can arrange a bulk purchase.

tinklebell - u are not the only one, me too to hear CL from Batam but it was highly recommended by my hubby's friend. SG CL is definitely more ex and u better find one soon cos I heard alot of ppl are looking for CL too.

Re: Pump
I will be getting a Avent Manual Pump 1st before investing to others just in case I dont have milk. Haha....

Re: BKK
Would love to go but hubby objects saying that it will be inconvenient for preggy mum to walk so much (due to shopping) cos I started to have backache. I used to visit BKK every year without fail... heard Aronma (hope the spelling is correct) is not bad & just opp WTC. Novetel is another good choice walking dist to Siam train stn. So envy !!!

okipoki, these few days i've been searching for CL.... called my ex CL but seems like the HP no she gave is no longer in use... so sad
next on the list is my SIL's CL... if cant get, will go thru agent. actually, i prefer to use agent bec they come with proper work permit for the same price. if we get our own, we may have to do the WP ourselves
only thing is that whether those CLs they have are good or not. my previous agent not bad but somehow i cant find her no anywhere leh.... wasted.

Hi okipoki,
I'm also getting a hand-me-down avent manual pump from my SIL first.

My friend did warn me the effort to put in for manual pump.

ms piggy/ okipoki, actually Avent pump is not bad. i like the cushioning the pump provides. For first 1-2 mths can use that first. Only thing is that it can take quite long to pump and of course tiring for the hands

Re: Ameda pump

This was my question to MIM:
"Hi! I'm interested in the Ameda pump. H/e, i receive some feedback that the pump can be quite fragile. I havent seen the actual thing so just to clarify...are some of the parts made of
glass?"

Their reply:
Subject: Re: Moms in Mind Form
Date: Wed, 22 Feb 2006 15:36:30 +0800

No, no part is made of glass. Maybe you are referring to the valves . They are of rubber, but the membrane area is quite thin, so care has to be taken in handling this portion. That's all. many of us manage to keep using the same valve for many months, while some other mothers replace frequently - maybe due to rough-handling.

sam

tinklebell,
wat a pity huh !! anyway, we wont do the WP for them &amp; every 2 weeks they need to x the causeway to have their PP chop. act fast lor as least 1 item clear from ur list.

mspiggy/tinklebell,
i will be getting a manual &amp; my colleague is willing to lend her electric medela pump if i want. true, manual can be tiring but of cos mainly depend on ur supply lor.

Jo, i think just u and hubby also can manage if hubby is good at helping out on household chores. one of my girl fren was able to do without a CL and doing well. It all depends on individuals. But u must be mentally prepared esp if u are first time mum. It can be very tiring esp the night feeds for 1st 2 weeks bec bb's sleeping pattern is not tuned yet... can wake up every 2 hrs or so for milk. Each time u nurse bb, it takes ard 40 mins or so for both sides (bec they drink VERY SLOWLY)... by the time u want to sleep again... bb could wake up again for milk.... worse still if they decided to sleep thru during the day and stay awake at night! my CL told me my boy was a nite hr for for week of his life...haha!

I remembered the week after my CL left, i almost went nuts coping with my bb, trying so hard to make him sleep etc etc to the extent i neglected my own meals.... in the end ended up milk supply ran out pretty fast lor... and that made me even sadder

i always admire pp who could cope on their own. I think i have much to learn in that aspect.

okipoki, ya lor, i always dilly-dally til last minute then panick
so much logistics to take care of before bb's birth... aiyo

mspiggy,
me might juz get the avent manual pump first...same reason as donno will have gd milk supply anot...will prob invest in a gd pump if everything goes well

josephine_tan,
me most prob not hiring CL.....either will be getting a maid to come in before i deliver or wait depend on mom and hb to help me

And also hb's sisters might be popping by once in a while to help out too...so dont really think i will get a CL

Celeste, is Novotel Siam Sq near MBK? Would you recommend i stay there instead?

Tinklebell, i think someone in our thread have good contacts for CL, is it Okasan? Maybe you can check with her?

Jo, if only you and hubby, no maid and no help, i suggest you get a CL. i think can be quite tough without CL, feed baby day and nite, change nappy, bathe baby (you are not supposed to touch water for at least first two weeks), etc.

<center><font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">June 2006 mums-to-be</font></font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="aa00aa">Name</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gender</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mattew Lee's wife</TD><TD>01/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD>02/06/06</TD><TD>Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ryue</TD><TD>03/06/06</TD><TD>LC Foong</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amy</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>LeeIWuen</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>Gordon Lim</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MotherOfAPrincess</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>KL Yam</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeslynster</TD><TD>08/06/2006</TD><TD>LawrenceAng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>muffinmocha</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yve</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>i_panda</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>miz_hopeful</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohy</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>CT Yeong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohmum</TD><TD>11/06/06</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>EVAMTB</TD><TD>13/06/06</TD><TD>KH Chan</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>K Ong</TD><TD>14/06/06</TD><TD>Dr Lim</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>medusa</TD><TD>14/06/06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peng</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starfish</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline Goh</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cyberbabe</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Chris Chong</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teo Gillan</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinklebell</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>okasan2b</TD><TD>17/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC/MAH</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvflower</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>???</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>happysunflower</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Peter Chew</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>spicegal</TD><TD>19/06/06</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>celesteBlur</TD><TD>20/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC/MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>JosephineTan</TD><TD>20/06/06</TD><TD>LawrenceAng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinky pink</TD><TD>20/06/06</TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fondue</TD><TD>23/06/06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chantelle Tay</TD><TD>24/06/06</TD><TD>KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>hidora</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mspiggy</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Selina Chua</TD><TD>MtE</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Volf20</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Suresh Nair</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilfeets</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> <font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>JoyFu</TD><TD>26/06/06</TD><TD>Noel Leong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mum2b</TD><TD>26/06/06</TD><TD>DouglasOng</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>rms</TD><TD>26/06/06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>okipoki</TD><TD>29/06/06</TD><TD>Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MAH/GlenE</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gina</TD><TD>30/06/06</TD><TD>JudyWong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="87ceff">Boy</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kite</TD><TD>01/07/06</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff69b4">Girl</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></font></td></tr></table></center>

Hello gals...
Wah so many posts.. I got no time to read all... :p Any updates?

Josephine,
Me too, have decided not to have CL. I am scared I cannot get along well with the CL and cause me headaches and worse still post-natal depression... and I dun really like some stranger to stay with me. kekeke... I also dun intend to eat all the meaty food. So my hubby say ok
I think in the 2nd month, I also gotta cope, so start to learn to cope in the 1st month...

I have planned:
If nobody helping me to cook, I will order confinement food.
If my hubby cannot cope with laundry, I will call those collection laundry.

As for housework, my hubby will do if I got no time.

hi tinkerbell.. yeah.. finally my hb relented... finally can go for hoildays b4 delivery.. and it will be quite cool there so shd be nice to walk around.. yeah.. i agree with u these days i oso feel so hot, though with full aircon blasting.. feel so "mang zhang" when i am hot..

Yeah.. need to look for maid agency.. but very hard to choose which agency is good.. juz pray for good luck.

how abt medala dual pump?? can pump both sides at the same time right?? but heard it's noisy..

hi jo and tinkerbell
CL is expensive, no doubt, but 1st month quite crucial as it's the time our body recovers from childbirth. so if no helper around it would be quite stressful for us 1st time mums. usually recommended CL know what to do, like cooking confinement food and teaching us to look after babies. of cos we learn from them so that when they leave and we are on our own, at least we wont be at a total loss. For those with mothers and MILs to help, it'll be much better. as for me, my mum not keen and MIL didn't mention that she wud want to help (anyway she is too bossy). if cannotget along with CL, can always send her back
I don't like the idea of a stranger in my house or someone I don't know handling my bb too... but when we need help, we can't be too particular...

hi celest,

PP is pretty expensive I remembered? The only good thing is that shops n eateries are nearby.

Hee, have you guys watched movies in Thailand??? They showed English movies too, nice cinema. There was one time when I went with my hubby in the afternoon, only a handful of audience. While we were sitting comfortably on the chairs waiting for the show to start, SUDDENLY everyone stood up IN A HASTE (one second) infront of us. We thought terrorist attacks or something because basically some even dropped their bags on e floor. Then only we realised the Thai National Anthem was played on screen.

hi tinklebell,
Most hotels have all these "other beings". I once heard Baiyoke Sky apartments, not the hotel, has these encounters
Me maybe too captivated by the spectacular views to feel giddy
Will you go back to Baiyoke sky hotel again?

Good Morning!

It's Thursday already ... that's great! one more day and it's weekend!

pebbles, yes, i love the spectacular view at Baiyoke Sky. It's the tallest hotel in Asia, right? of course i will go back there again... it's a nice hotel. The wholesale area across also sells lots of cheap clothings. Only thing is that it's not near any train station. I also recall that PP is quite expensive but it's the nearest to MBK so that explains it.

Hee.... it seems like our June thread has more bb boys than girls.

morning ladies

anyone bot baby wipers yet? Me saw watsons for kodomo wipers - $1.95 for 70pcs. Normal price (in Carrefour) is $8.80 for 70x3 pcs. So i bot a pack fr Watsons. But wondering whether to stock up more - and duno if kodomo is a good brand (for wipers). 2nd time mummies, any comments?

matched_gal,
suggest u don't buy baby wipes first....coz u dun know if your baby sensitive to it or not....

beside, u can always use water and cotton to clean baby....

re: confinement lady

good to get one if u have no helper at all...don't expect your hubby can help out in housechores coz remeber also that your hubby is also a first time dad...so he also needs to adjust and get use to having one tiny human being in the house...

the first month is going to be lots of adjustments.....with a helper around, at least both u and hubby can have more time to get use to the new challenge instead of struggling to survive finishing hoursechores, etc...

okasan,
i c... yah, maybe i dun buy bb wipers liaoz... was tinking more convenient to use wipers. But u're rite - duno whether bb's skin sensitive to wipers a not... (though it states fragrance &amp; alcohol free)...