(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

peng,
your hubby so good...me touch to hear what u say...ya, agree with u that we should often think of those small little acts by our hubby...

volf, yes my hubby bought me a diamond pendant set after the birth of my son. i like that very much (one of the only pendants he bought wh i like)
i hinted to him many times then finally he bought something lor...

okasan, my hubby doesnt play computer games... but addicted to watching tv or surfing the net ... even when my son yells, he doesnt seem to know what's happening.

<font color="0000ff">re: leg cramps</font>

<font color="aa00aa">What causes leg cramps during pregnancy?</font>

Leg cramps may be caused by the additional weight gain of pregnancy, changes in your circulation, or a deficiency in your calcium intake. Calcium is used to support your bones and muscles along with the developing baby. There is an increased need for calcium during pregnancy, so if you are not digesting enough calcium for you and the baby, you may be experiencing a calcium deficiency.

Pressure from the growing baby may also be placed on the nerves and blood vessels that go to your legs. This pressure or pinching may be the cause of your leg cramps.

<font color="aa00aa">What can you do to treat leg cramps during pregnancy?</font>

There are a few things that you can do to treat leg cramps or prevent them from occurring. Try one or more of the following interventions to help relieve or prevent your leg cramps:

- Exercise regularly; include stretches that target your legs
- Rest with your legs elevated
- Wear supportive stockings
- During a leg cramp, raise your toes towards you and have someone massage your muscles
- Dissolve four tablets of Magnesia Phosphorica 6X in a small glass of warm water
- Acetaminophen (Tylenol) may prove helpful in relieving the pain of leg cramps (do not take aspirin or ibuprofen)

Contact your healthcare provider if your leg cramps are severe or remain consistent. Your physician may prescribe additional supplements or medication.

i_panda77,
u ask abt the online shop right...babytown one...I check the price...the stroller I got from baby kingdom is at $159 but babytown sell it at $179....so think it's not cheaper at babytown....

kite,
my hb also sometimes busy with work...work till 8+pm, reach home nearly 9pm liowz...so its like sometimes weekdays very hard to spend time together sit down n yak
...mi is opposite....even till now i try to do hsework (like CNY da sao chu i also did) becos i noe he is busy with work and i do watever i can to lighten his burden so that when he reach home dnt have to be busy with hsewrk....he mainly only wash the toilet (cos might be too wet and slippery, therefore dangerous for me to clean)...most of the other hsework are done by me. So its like I feel that I am doing a lot already but donno y i seem to feel tat he is neglecting my feelings...tats y feel kinda upset over this. Then i also do things like making soup for him during weekend when i can, cook dinner etc....its like i feel like i've tried doing my best as a wife liowz....but when now preggie with bb he seems to be placing more emphasis on bb rather than me and neglecting my feelings

lyn,
I think ur hb is quite sweet also.....giving u those morning kisses and saying things like "i love u" everyday.....

tinklebell,
haizz...i've already done all that i could....hmmzz, kite's idea seems gd...maybe sometimes i shld heck give him the heck care attitude n sometimes show him a lot of love n concern...haha...hope this works
....hb juz now sms-ed me and said he want to fetch me at 5.30pm for the gynae appt tonite....maybe i juz let him go but i tink i still wont let him touch my tummy.....haha
heyz, loudspeaker seems a gd idea! My hb also can be so engrossed with the PC that i have to walk rite to his front n "scream" at him...haha

volf20,
ur hb is very nice n sweet! i only wished my hb is romantic at least once/twice a yr...but seems like last yr till now no romantic momements at all yet *sigh*

peng,
ur hb also romantic mah...
....and yes i do agree with u....except for the romantic part i am very happie with my hb already..when i am sick, he takes care of me and tries to share watever hsework he can do...but sometimes i juz wished that he can romance me n generate some sparks into the married life

Hi volf,
Wow... Your hubby is very nice...
I think if dun expect from men... we will really be happier
My hubby also never do any housework at all at home last time, but now he does the sweeping, mopping and laundry during weekends
. kekeke.. sometimes he wakes up earlier to do housework and "tabao" breakfast for me while I continue sleeping... But sometimes I also heartache cos he works until so tired during weekdays already...

Wow.. I havent hear before hubby giving presents after giving birth... I only knows my hubby's friends told him not to leave me alone at home with baby after giving birth...

K... I better log out liao... gonna really concentrate on my work... :p

celeste, aiya at least your hubby wash toilet for u bec he is afraid u may fall
.... i still have to wash toilet and do all the housework myself and at least he bothers to pick u up from your work place....good enuf lah hiaz... dont think mine will be there for the apptm. *sob sob* even though he works so near home, refuses to let me drive his car to work... in the end, bec i am so tired of waking up early to catch the bus, i get my own car ... hiaz...depend on them sometimes also pek chek
372940.gif

But since we chose them, like the marriage vows we made "in good times and in bad...in sickness and in health.." we have to love them as they are.

Celeste,
u so cute....dun angry with your hubby liao...maybe he's just as anxious being a father that's why he appears to be placing more emphasis on bb rather than you....afterall, a hubby who cares for the baby is really a blessing liao...there are some husbands who dun even bother to look at their own babies.....

tinklebell,
y dont u consider hiring a part-time maid to come in once a week to do everything? But u going to hire full-time maid already rite?

Aiyo...my hb pick me up from my workplace at most once or maximum twice a week...normally its only once...cos will go bck to my parents place for dinner normally on friday, so hb will pick me up only on friday.....and morning when going to work i neber expect him to send me to work also, he will drop me off at the MRT station and i take MRT to work.....
so my hb not much better than urs...haha
ya lor....u r rite in a sense since we chose them we have to love them as they are...but *sigh*...unless one day i can "kao de kai" and 4get totally bout having sparks/romance in married life then i will not be sad....
kao_sad2.gif

celeste,
who knows...when baby comes out...u will really forgo the romance part....my friends who got children, all become more practical than before...everythin also think of kids first...until their hubby also complain...hehe...

lyn, I wear a bikini to swim. Dun think can fit in a costume.

volf, lyn, peng, kite, tinklebell, your hbs so sweet. my hb did not buy me any v present, was working till late and had to pick me up from care group at 11 pm. he was surprised i got him a present, and he probably felt bad now. nevertheless, i still think my hb quite romantic, in the past, never fail to surprise me with gifts on impt days. will see what he has in store for me end March, our 2nd yr anniver.

okasan
thanks for the info on cramps
i have had cramps since 1st trimester. and it's getting worse, ask gynae he said it's due to additional weight, eating calcium/magnesium supplements does not help (started eating till now still like that). sigh...
i always have the cramps before i wake up around 6am... i think stretching and massaging your calfs helps a bit... i have the crammps every alternate day, and just on monday, i had it on BOTH legs can you imagine! sigh....the sacrifices of being pregnant...

josephine,
poor thing...your cramps are so frequent...so far, I only experience cramp a few times....lucky, my hubby also make it a point to massage my legs for me...he says he heartpain to see me having to carry baby everywhere...scare my legs too stressful...

Celeste, last time i had a part time maid doing ironing but after that, her hub was sick so she cannot come anymore... i did consider those part time maids for household chores but then i dont want to spend my precious saturday mornings waiting 4 hrs for them to complete the job. actually housework is not that difficult to do lah... just that need time to do (wh i dont have!)... usually i do them after work and wake up early sat mornings. worse life than the maids hor ....
sometimes i joke with my mother that i'm better off not married bec at home my mother does ALL the housework... married already downgraded to maid status

raising the leg (rest legs on a pillow) during sleep is more to prevent varicose veins, I think.....for cramps, think massage is more effective...

tinklebell,
ya, esp when we are working...finding time for housechores can be taxing....can't imagine the increase houseworks after baby is born loh...

right now, we keep our eyes close on the dust that are accumulating on our furniture...but when baby can crawl, got to wipe and clean everything in the house regularly....think of it, already make me goosebumps liao....

okasan, after reading your info, i think my leg cramps is prob due to lack of calcium. (i hate to drink milk!!!)

josephine, poor thing... both legs??? oh my! must be really painful.

okasan, after my maid left, i bought this vacuum cleaner called Rainbow... quite easy to vacuum and it really makes the house super clean. easy to use also. also, it sucks the dirt out of the beds...if u look at the water after i vacuum the mattress, you'll be surprised how much dirt there is!

tinklebell,
u got to check with dr adrian loh...may not be lack of calcium coz he got give us supplements loh....I also dun drink milk often.....

cramps can also be just purely pregnancy symptoms, not really coz of diets or lack of calcium....

anyone knows how much it cost to employ a maid? i am contemplating whether to get one, so that i don't have to do household chores.

I checked the MOM website, the FDW levy is $200 per month, but only when we register the birth of our child, meaning, if i get a maid now, i have to pay the current monthly FDW levy of $295? or can i make arrangements now, but register the maid after baby's EDD, given i only need the maid after baby pops?

also, what are your views of leaving baby with the maid at home without supervision?

okasan,
I received John Little mailer...got 20% storewide sale i think
but forgot to check starting when....shld be this weekend bah

hehe, when bb comes out i dont mind forgoing romance....thats y i kept reminding hb that this is the last time we can have 2-person world liowz....haha
I really cannot imagine when bb comes...i am still thinking of going back to my part-time studies...then bb place at infant care...and doing full-time job...then the hseworks..etc...i wonder how i can cope...think of that i feel like crying...

Josephine,
i can "feel" the pain from the way u describe....then have u tried doing those stretching exercises? I wonder if they will help?
As for nitetime sleeping, i neber raise my legs...only raise my legs in the office during daytime

tinklebell,
true also...getting part-time maid to come in means u have to "park" urself at home n wait for the maid to finish doing the hsework...kinda troublesome too.
Aiyo! Me also....last time when i not married, my mom was doing almost all the hsework except ironing my own clothes...tats bout all....ever since getting married i seem to feel that i am very hardworking liowz....(to think my mom still tot i am the same old "lazy" gal)...haha

Josephine - Really "pei fu" having cramps on both legs. Must be super painful, I can imagine that and u have cramp every alternate day !! Wow !!

Amy,
I have thought of doing that...cos i think a maid can really help in releasing the burden, most imptly dont have to rush to n fro bringing bb to infantcare and back. But I still don't feel safe, neither do hb really agree with this idea....

okasan, errrr .... a brand new one cost $3,300... we got a second hand one instead.... last time my friend had a lobang so we got ours for $300.

Amy, you'r right. right now u have to pay $295 for the levy until u have a kid. i'm not for the idea of leaving the maid at home with the child esp if the maid is those in their early 20s with no childcare experience... unless u have no choice.

Celeste,
after baby born, if can do housechores and take care of baby, already good enough...u still thinking of part-time studies!!! cool!

okipoki,
no intention to go for pre-natal massages....just get hubby to massage for me only...

amy,
dun feel safe to let maid look after baby without any supervision loh....so dangerous esp when u dun know the maid well....

tinklebell,
the vaccum is so ex!! think I'll still stick to my current vaccum...haha....afterall, hubby is always the one who vaccum the floor and mop the floor..hehe

Celeste, me too, initially wanted to drop baby at infant care, even paid $1200 as downpayment. but when i fell sick yesterday, i started thinking of some what ifs... how can i handle baby pick up and drop off, go to work, come home, do housework, at night breast feed? i am not a robot and might not be able to take all these... so i tot of the idea of getting a maid.

my mum and mil mentioned they will drop by as and when, but i am not sure how often that will be. i am able to make arrangements to be at home more often, like now, i work from home 2 days a week, so might not be that bad.

i do agree all these taking care of baby logistics can be quite stressful, especially since we need to make all the decisions now.

okasan, ya lor, tonight i will check with him... even when not preg i also got it but like once or twice a year. now, it happened like twice in 1 mth. it happened in my first preg too...so bad that it was painful and had to limp for 1 week in my 9th mth. my previous gynae sent me for some ultrasound (or something like that) of the leg to rule out deep vein thrombosis but also couldnt find anything. true, could be just a common preg symptom...some pp get it more serious than others.

tinklebell, any more lobangs on Rainbow? we saw a demo last week, interested to get one. but the price is $3,300 for E2 model. a fren is willing to sell me the E1 model, second hand, but at $1,200. still ex....

amy,
how abt having a maid but during daytime, let the maid and baby be at someone's house? at least there's someone to supervise the maid....

Amy, ya lor, baby logistics is troublesome. but since u live just next to your in laws, why dont u get a maid and leave bb and maid with in laws when u work? most of my friends have this arrangement. i will also do that too.

tinklebell,
u seeing him tonite...I just seen him this morning...haha....

celeste also seeing him this evening right?

we always have appts on same days...too bad I always see him in the morning, else can meet u two

celeste, what other options do you think are available other than infant care and maid? nanny or baby sitter? still need to pick up and drop off... now i have a part time maid, she comes every sat morning, and we leave her at home for 4 hours, do our grocery shopping, or go swimming, and return home before she completes her cleaning... so maybe this arrangement can stay on... but what abt looking after baby? too bad my mum and MIL are not willing to look after baby... any advice?

amy,
maybe u can check with your mum or mil if they are willing to help u supervise the maid loh...it's different from asking them to look after baby loh...

tinklebell, okasan, i did ask my mil, but i just have this feeling that she cannot be trusted... as in, she say will help out, but end up, just help halfway. not sure whether she is willing to have baby and maid at her place when i am at work. even if she promise me she will help now, what if she back out later? my mum also like that...

Amy, i can check for u.. i got mine sometime back. the one i got is the SE series. only thing it doesnt have is the quiet mode to use a air purifier. we thought $300 is quite ok without that function. we got an separate air purifier and it costs ard $200 plus... so the total amt is still less than $3k plus. if it's $3k, i dont think i want to buy... way beyond budget.

Also, is it legal to have maid and baby at someone else's place? i tot maid can only work for one house...

amy,
ya, it's bad if they decide to back out last minute...coz need to settle the issue of taking care of baby early....esp if going infant care centre, will need to book early...if really no choice, then have to leave maid alone to look after baby loh...but maybe can have cctv to monitor??

amy, actually not legal but if the police charge u for that, then a lot of pp will have doubts whether to have kids. that's the typical singaporean arrangement now... no choice lor..kids are so precious leh...

tinklebell, yes... the E2 model has quite mode, E1 model don't have. would be good if you have some more lobang, as $1,200 is a bit pricy. For $300, i also dun mind a SE series, as long as it does the work. thanks in advance tinklebell.

okasan,
I dont have a choice...i was like 35% into my studies liowz and then now preggie...so i held my studies for 1 yr pending.....hopefully i can continue studying again after popping....*sigh*...dont wish to waste it lor

Thats y sometimes when i think of this will feel kinda stressed...i donno how i can handle in the future

yuppies, me seeing adrian tonite also

Amy,
I agat agat...if i hire a full-time maid there will be only 3 days the maid will be left alone with bb, other times it will either be my mom, hb or me at home with the maid...but when i come to tink of it, 3 days maid alone with bb, if she wanna try anything funny she can do it during these 3 days also.....tats y still toying with this idea and havent put it to action...*sigh*
I did consider getting a nanny also, but must lookout for those "reputable" ones as in u know of someone's bb being taken care of by this nanny b4 and she's gd then u will feel safe putting the bb with her.
But like wat tinklebell suggested, since ur in-laws stay next door, u can hire a maid and bring ur maid over whenever u leave for work?

Me is bo pianz, both my parents working so cant do tat arrangement