(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi hi.. actually i haven't asked my gynae abt when to monitor the bb movements.. cos i only heard from a friend who juz gave birth (she din feel the movement for a day so rushed to hospital. True enough, the bb is entangled by the cord and luckily can be saved by c-section).. But she is supposed to be due anytime at that time..

But i think it's good for us to constantly monitor now that bb got move a few times a day. I think it helps us to feel relieved that bb is active and happy in our womb..

Tks hidora for the information.. I have tried to sleep on the left by putting a pillow under my spine, but somehow still prefer to sleep on the back.. No choice, got to slowly adjust to the left.

Hi Mtbs - I just need to vent. One of my male colleagues whom I havent seen in a while said I had put on weight everywhere except the stomach. Some men who dont have kids can be so insensitive with their comments - urghhs ! And I only put on 5kg at 20w which I thought was normal.

Lyn - yes would like to join MTB, pl update that I'm having a boy. Thanks

lyn,

gynae say no fruit juice for me as they contain sugar.now my hb oso dun allow me to eat fruits even though gynae nv say so..mus ask next trip liao..:p

peng,

yalor..mus ask oso when shd we start to monitor my bb movement..so scary..coz my bb didn move the entire yesterday n nite.tried many ways tt used to hav her moving but fail.she onli moved once or twice..today,she onli moved a few times more but its v 'weak' loh..last time,she used to move quite frequently n kick quite strong..now still worried..was thinking sun where got gynae open..thinking of going kk24hr family clinic but hb say wait ppl thot i crazy!so upset when heard tt.told him the 'danger' of bb playing wif u/cord,he sort of like 'yaya' but not worried.say i shouldnt read too much from forum etc..felt like strangling him.ask him to read up of bb stuff,books,mag,website etc but he dun wan..say no time..yet,he still got time to go to those football n 2ndhand car website everyday w/o fail..sometimes,i reali worry when bb out,can i cope anot...sori for my long story..so frustrated wif him.

anyway ladies,

for those who wana stock up diapers,theres a promotion going on at carrefour..pampers fir n dry(box type) M96/L80/XL72 is going at 2 for $71.40.$35.70 each.normal price is $39.90.
mammy poko oso 2 for $32.90.$16.45 each.usual price $18.80.oso,2pcs of pull-up pants will be given freee for every pkt.i onli koe M44..oth size i not sure..

Good Morning!!

Peng, i also heard of bbs strangled by umbilical cord. it's so sad bec most of the time it happens just few days before edd.

We managed to spend some time yesterday to inquire abt the tour. But the agency told us that for the dates in March, it's still mainly unconfirmed departure. So, i dare not book bec so far, only 2 pax going on each date. They have not put up the advertisement for March departure. Needs 10 for confirmed tour
I'll probably enquire again in 2 weeks' time. I'll prob go for the Korea 5 day tour bec it's more relaxing. if not, HK will be my next choice.

Wow, u ladies are so "on" for your bb shopping spree. i havent done much though. i wanted to buy another stroller but my hubby said "necessary meh?"..urgghhhh This weekend we'll most likely be spending time rearranging the rooms. I need to shift the study table to another room and to dispose off another one. Can call salvation army to see if they want right?> i havent tried that before. but i think since the table is still in good condition, i should donate it. I have need to scout for another bed for my son and maid.

morning ladies,
I juz went to weigh myself last nite....I've put on a total of bout 3.5-4kg and i am only about 22 weeks.....suddenly like ballooning...scary...haha...but hb like quite happie cos he said tat means bb is growing well *faint*...donno wat logic is tat...haha

pebbles n okipoki,
yeast infection?
Okies, will ask my gynae again this thurs during my appt...cos when i asked him last time he said its okies....as long as no itch, pain or what then nmind *sigh*

peng,
went chinatown last sat to look around for tour package, was thinking of going taipei 4D3N Shopping + Hotspring Tour.....but its so exp! *faint*....If i wanna fly by SQ it will be about $1050 including taxes for only 4D3N but of cos stay at a better hotel. But I still thinking if its worth it to pay so much
If i take JetStarAsia it will be bout $660 - $700 but I wonder is budget airline suitable for preggies since the flight will be bout close to 5 hrs long
Still at a loss as to whether I shld go ahead for the trip anot

Gina,
hihi n welcome
I first felt very slight bb movements around week 18....and it started getting obvious i was around week 20
But I read that average will feel the movements from week18-22...so dont worry too much bout it ya?

Angeline_Goh,
wow....u started buying diapers? I havent bought other stuffs except for the steriliser and 2 sets of new tollyjoy bb clothings (which i got from robinsons during sale...hehe)
But I did look at diapers prices....wah...NTUC was selling the Pampers newborn at $19+ i think and only 36 pieces per pack....pampers really exp hor?

re: diapers
Pampers (esp Pamper Premium) is expensive but it is quite good for nights. It wont leak and bb will be more comfortable. I know of some pp who only use Pampers Premium but i feel that it is too expensive! I think Mummy Poko and Fitti is not bad too. Occassionally, my son uses the Mummy Poko pants for his nights. He seemed to like that v much. For day use, can try Pet Pet. Cheap and not bad. Even NTUC Brand i feel, is not too bad. When i buy, i only buy those with cloth-surface. Those with plastic surface are not so good bec it can result in nappy rash due to poor ventilation.

For a start, dont stock up too many of newborn size. After 2 weeks, may be a bit too small.

tinklebell,
so that means dont have to buy newborn sizes liowz...cos i tink hospital will provide a pack of pampers newborn diapers n i think it shld be enuff to last for 2 weeks?

hidora,
haha, ur bb v cute

hmmm, muz add that statement to my daily devotion also... ;p

wow, the pillow looks like a slope. Thanks for the pic!

kite, hidora, gina,
u all v lucky leh... can get to c bb moving during scan... mine move very little during scan, but move so much when out of camera view...
Tink i shd change my gynae timing oreadi, hehehe ;p

kk,
today my bb movement timing 'haywire' liaoz... hehehe, she v quiet even tho i reach ofc liaoz... and she didn't wake me up at 4am - end up i slept rite thru'
... But was rolling right to left many times in the nite tho ... Hope i can get used to the left-side soon - if not, will consider the pillow dat hidora recommended liaoz ;)

okasan,
u went bb hypermart&kingdom oreadi? Could i ask u whether there got sell bassinet? If yes, izit cheaper than other places?

Wow u all bought quite alot of stuffs, me stil yet to buy. Wil drop by 1 of these days.

Diapers:
eh my fren also told me newborn no need buy or buy 1 pack cos very fast they cant wear liao, say hospital wil provide? me not sure want to buy at least 1 pack of newborn diapers?
after newborn over liao, need to buy what type of diapers? starting fr 1 mth one? which brand better?
My fren also said no point using cloth nappies cos too messy liao.

BB Clothings:
hey i got problem buying bb clothings. dont know which size to choose leh. any advise??? how many sets is preferable? cos i know very fast worn out one....btw my colleague giving me some hand downs clothings for my bb....not sure what kind.

celeste, kite, hospitals usually provide one pack. but used up v fast. one day, the newborn can use up to 5-7 pcs of diapers (depending also on how many times they poo poo). The pack can only last u a few days. U should still buy a few packs for home use. But dont buy too many "newborn" size diapers. What we did previously was to ask relatives to give us diapers as gifts instead of buying things we dont need.

Tomorrow is valentine's day. i have got anything for my hubby yet. any idea what to get???? What do u all normally give? All the things i could think of, i have already given him in the past .... and worse of all, i dont think he needs anything new

gina,
i might have felt first movements yesterday! but not quite sure lah.. hehe.. felt like fluttering and it's on and off in the morning, then again at night. felt wierd :p
btw i gain ard 3 kg now compared to b4 preggie. was worried that this is not enough, but doc said bb is ok.
so all 2.2 kg goes to the bb? my bb weight was only 200 gr at 18 wks leh? (which my gynae said is ok)

joy,
wah ur colleage is so insensitive.. don't take it to heart, just ignore it..

shopping for baby:
i also started to hook over shopping for little clothings
but haven't bought anything else though.. is it necessary to have baby bouncer? also, when should we stock up on baby sundries and bathing needs? so many brands out there, not sure which one to buy leh..

kite,
i bought some newborn clothes, as well as the bigger ones 3-6m.. so when it turns that the bb is on the big size or grow big fast, i won't be wasting a lot of clothes. hehe.. is this kiasu?

tinklebell,
ur hubby is like mine, that's why everytime i shop for bb clothes i do it without him..

Celeste, wow the Taiwai trip via SQ is quite ex hor. We went via China airlines last time. costs $1k plus inc taxes but was for a 7 day tour. U want to go to hot spring? very smelly leh... my son said "chouchou egg smell" heee.... i dont even dare to drink the boiled water. besides, the hot spring water is very hot... i dont think preggies can go right? The journey there is ard 4 hrs. i havent taken budget airline before but fr the comments my sil and bil made, i think it should be ok. the price difference is a lot. Shopping there should be fun and since the weather is so cool now, u dont really feel the heat at the ye-shi.

Hi Mum2b,

Ur bb is 200 g at 18 weeks.. mine is 295 g at 19th week. Seems like our darlings belong to the small size group heee..

I bought clothes for my ger... 11 sets for 0-3m, 11 sets for 3-6m, 10 sets for 6-12m.. i think i am more KS than u :p Just cannot resist those pretty bb girl clothes out there.

U must be excited over ur bb movements ya?

Hi Tinklebell,

I won't be getting anything for hubby. Every year, i very lazy to go shop for presents for him :p My hubby say no need to give him, because i have given him the biggest gift he wants this year, and that is our BB!
He has ordered a cheese cake for me from coffee club though

Hi Kite,

Ya, i heard my colleagues say they gave up after using cloth diapers one day. They end up used disposable ones. I do have cloth diapers as hands-me-down from my family, and that depends whether my mil can tahan washing the cloth diapers everyday. If she can tahan, then she can go ahead to use the cloth diapers

For simple white clothings, i have hands-me-down so i didn't buy for that. What i bought were nice ones which bb can wear when i bring her out

Hi Matched gal,

It's like that! My BB sometimes also go haywire.. sleep more in the day... active at nite... sometimes opposite hahaha..

I went to BB Kingdom for bb purchases and they do have bassinet. Same for BB Hypermart. I ordered my playpen with bassinet from BB Kingdom, but requested for late delivery in april. It cost around $129 if i didn't remember wrongly. The playpen also comes with mattress.
Price wise, i dunno cheaper or not, but seems to have more variety than outside.

Some information to share..mostly advice from experience mums...

Diapers :
Try to buy pampers premium/good quality diapers for new borns cos their skin is very sensitive and prone to rashes..after the 1st month or so, can switch to cheaper brands...cloth diapers much too messy and needs loads of washing..ok if you have CL but have to buy at least 2 dozen pieces..

BB clothings :
Buy approx. 8 sets new born clothings...the rest can buy 3-6 mths and 6-9 mths..try to get more tops cos bb will vomit milk quite often, more change is needed..need to get more mittens & socks too (around 8 sets)..anyway bb clothings are very small..easy to wash and dry..if you have quite a lot of hand-me downs..just have to buy some nice ones for going out

angeline, i oso like u. haha.. couple of days ago, i ate lingzhi and after that had cramps on the very night.. the following day, notice my bb kicks very weak, was very worried cos not sure whehter lingzhi good for bb.. monitor for 2 days, still not much movements.. So my hb said juz go n c dr to have a peace of mind. After examination, bb is ok, but maybe i am sensitive to lingzhi, so had stomach cramps..

Hee hee.. actually i have been seeing the dr more than the usual monthly visits.. cos everytime i feel cramps or something werid, i juz pop in to c the dr.. spend abit of $ but at least u feel more reassured hee hee.. cos sometimes i got so worried that i cant sleep properly.. As my hb said, first child, spend abit more never mind.. most impt is that bb n mom r ok..

sure, celeste and tinklebell, no hurry on booking of trips.. when u gals more or less cfm, then tell me. tks alot.. yeah, celeste, think as what tinkerbell said, can't go for hot springs, think too hot for bb..

tinkerbell, i totoally understand what u mean. really run out of ideas what to buy for hb for valentine days.. Plus i have not given him any gifts since i m preggy.. his birthday, 2 weddings anniv etc.. the worst thing is that he has given me gifts for every impt dates.. he already bought my valentines day.. feel very gulity.. but really too tired to go shopping on my own .. sigh.

Re Pampers Premium, TMC having sale. But NB and small size sold out. They might have stock this week. Can check with them. The NB is selling for $12.50 (min two packs). Small size, $18.90. You can also mix and match, i think.

Amy:
u mean TMC selling at the pharmacy rite? same pricing as outside? cos i got the FBI card, got 10% discount, in this case, can go TMC n buy.

peng, same here, my hubby never miss any impt dates, anniversaries, valentines, birthdays, christmas, i always have a nice gift from him. also feeling guilty, cos most of the time, i din get him anything. for this valentine cum anniversary, we are going away... still thinking of where to go...

Kite, yes TMC pharmacy, but cannot use FBI. Please ring to check stock, as I was there yesterday. They say stock will arrive this week. Me also thinking of buying Pampers Premium S size, will not get NB size, as small size is good for 3 - 8 kg. Also, heard baby normally outgrow in 2 weeks.

Peng, my hubby also never forget to get me anything during those anniversaries , v-day etc. but somehow those things he buys, i normally dont quite like. so this year, he ask me to choose something but i dont really need anything so i told him to sponsor my holiday
i think it is more practical lor.

normally, i will get something for him but this year, i just dont have the time to buy anything and after so many years, i have run out of ideas what to buy

hi kk,
Thanks for the info on the bassinet
I planning to go dis wkend... hope got time ah...

re v-day, tink hubbies will understand if we dun get them anything. I also feel v bad leh - i din shop for anything for him dis year
haiz... But spending time together more important, i guess

celeste_blur

i onli bought 2pkt each..coz my hb's fren who jus had a bb oso encourage us to buy when cheap n store.anyway,it wun go bad.haha..yalor..pampers n mammy poko abit ex..aft promotion,ard 37cent a pcs..

tinklebell,

which 1 is pampers premium? they got so many range..i oso blur blur abt each..is it 'fit n dry'?

peng,

wah,ur hb so good..mine haiz...dun koe wat to say..whos ur gynae btw?how is his charges like?haha,maybe i can go to urs inbtw for a piece of mine..

Re : Valentines Day
Me so far never plan anything....thinking maybe later after knock off can go Swensens and buy the ice-cream cake...looks yummy...and only $13.50...hehe :p

tinklebell,
hmmzz...so i guess mabbe when the time is nearer, i will buy 1 pack of newborn diapers and mabbe another 2 packs of those S size diapers...

ya lor...the trip via SQ is so exp.....and ya i also know i can't go hotspring but they 1 day tour they provide got include this...i lazy to go totally f&e but this 4D3N trip got 1 day if f&e and 1 day is guided tour so i guess its quite gd....but i wont go n soak inside the hotspring, maybe go there look see see lor

As for budget airlines, i tried Valuair before but only short trip to BKK, quite okies...but i was tinking for Taiwan the journey kinda longer then i thought no inflight entertainment system i will be so bored...hehe :p...mi troublesome person hor :p

kk,
u bought so much clothes for ur bb liowz! *faint*...i only bought 2 sets and its on sale...2 sets for $10.90 onie :p

peng,
ya...cant go hotsprings...*sigh*....i wonder will i tink and tink end up 28 weeks liowz cannot go liowz...haha

Angeline_Goh,
actually juz curious...how long can we keep those diapers for?

celeste_blur

i oso dun koe..anyway,its not food stuff.i guess it wun go bad easily..oso,now already mid feb,soon june liao.. i onli use average my fren tell me needs ard5-7pcs a day..lets say 7 pcs..

1day - 7pcs
10day- 70pcs

i bought the M96pcs-so shd be ard 2weeks finish 1 box n then 2boxes is onli enuff for 1 mth bah..maybe can get those who hav bb b4 to help on these..

Angeline_Goh,
I am planning to use cloth diapers for the daytime and only those disposable diapers for night time, so I guess i might not need so much....hehe, if not enuff make hb go on errands n buy

err.. heard that shdn't stock up pampers so fast cos ur bb might be sensitive or dun like particular brand.. so u shd buy a packet first to c whether bb can take it. If not, u got to change brand..

Angeline, my gynae is Caroline Khi, TMC.. She is really very nice and caring..Though I have already signed up package with her, non-monthly trips have to pay.. But she is real nice.. She noes i am very gan chong.. so she usually tries to give me discount. either won't charge me for consultation fees or scan or both, depending on situation..

Yeah.. all of us r fortunate to have nice hb.. haha.. if not, we won't be giving them a child.. haha.. that's the nicest gift a woman can give to her hb..

Angeline, pampers premium is the one with green packaging. It is not fit and dry. There are 2 other ranges if i recall correct - one in red and the other in orange packaging. The green one is the expensive one.

It's true that u need 5 to 7 pcs a day... costs a bomb!!! but it's for the convenience. Using nappies is quite troublesome bec u have to wash and scrub to remove the stains.

Celeste, true, it's easier to go with the tour groups...dont have to crack your head where to go lor. Actually fne is easy if u are only going taipei. The hotels have those day tours wh u can join. u can get around Taipei easily by train (not sure what they are called in taiwan but something like or mrt)... tours in taiwan always like to bring u to jade factory or take a look at crystals, ling zhi, bee pollen etc ... u can skip that if u go fne.

Celeste Blur, me too, CL will be using cloth nappies during the day, so at night, maybe 2-3 pampers will do.

Today topic is on pampers? so fast ah!

Me today dread going to work, nowadays having monday blur on Sun nite, so chiam hor... so stress at work.

Hi matched_gal,

I was at the antenatal class last Fri as well. Found the first class quite boring ler :p Was wonder why they never give notes. Think the booklet itself not enuf info :p Now looking forward for the second class for some hand-on exercises.

For those who have attended TMC Mrs Wong classes, is it true that they give the books written by Mrs.Wong? Can we buy those book from bookshop or TMC? What are the titles? and How much?

Celeste, Amy, nowadays confinement nannies v fussy one... i know a lot of them specify that u must use diapers. i also thought that i could use nappies instead of diapers last time but my CL keeps telling me that i shouldnt use nappies blah blah blah .... in the end no choice but to use diapers.

Pebbles n okipoki

Re yeast infection

I had some colorless discharge, which is thicker and longer than my usual discharge a month ago. The discharge lasted for only two days. Informed my gynae and did a test. Found out it was Group B Streptococcus. Hence, at delivery point, I will need to have some medication inserted in my drip to prevent spreading this to baby.

What is Group B Streptococcus?
Group B Streptococcus, or GBS, is one of many different bacteria that normally live in our bodies. Approximately one third of adults 'carry' GBS in their intestines and a quarter of women have it in their vagina. Most don't know it's there, as the bacteria don't usually cause problems or symptoms. However, in rare cases, GBS can cause serious illness and even death in newborn babies.

More info available here: http://www.babycentre.co.uk/refcap/1647.html#5

For mummies who have colorless discharge that is thick and gluely, please do not ignore this. Just to play safe, remember to inform your gynae.

tinklebell, hee hee... my CL was recommended by a colleague. She strictly uses only cloth nappies during the day, which is good. I have already prepared two dozens of nappies for her use.

sugarbun, we do not get free copies of books by Mrs Wong even though we signed up for her classes. Mrs Wong's books can be purchased at TMC pharmacy. It's selling for $15 each. 10 percent discount now. The titles are childbirth, breastfeeding and childcare.

Was at Mrs Wong's second class on Sat. V fun, we practised breathing techniques, and watched a video on the various drugs/anesthesia available to us during child birth. Mrs Wong taught all hubbies how to massage their wives.

Last night, asked hubby to massage me. He said more tiring then his swimming work out.

Went swimming yesterday, baby kicking actively after my swim. Last nite, baby very active... just abt bedtime, he was kicking again, hubby and i used sign language so that baby will think we are sleeping...

tinklebell,
Sounds a gd idea....if going taipei maybe i take the f&e one, then prob i will book a day tour at those hotel tour helpdesk over there
Then rest of the time will go explore ourselves....but now hoping will have promos on the air tix.....if can get cheaper then shld be going..cos i still find that paying $1050 for a 4D3N trip to taipei like kinda not worth it....*sigh*
As for CL, wow...nowadays they r kinda exp and they still lazy to use cloth nappies ah...*faint*...i might not be hiring CL, was actually thinking of getting those part-time maids to come in twice a week to help wash stuffs...then hb taking 2 weeks leave to help me and my mom might be helping mi on and off also...

sugarbun and amy,
I think if we sign up for Mrs Wong's antenatal classes will get her books lehz...cos I remember hearing my fren said she got her books free one....hmmzz

i also signed up for Mrs. Wong classes but hvnt attend. But i already got 3 of her books liao cos when i signed up the FBI card, they give me 3 of her books for FOC. I have started to read her 1st book, simple n easy to read.

1st book: About Preparing for pregnancy
2nd book: About Breastfeeding
3rd Book: About Your Child after born..

sugarbun, maybe you can browse thru the books. I got the breastfeeding and childcare one. I think it's quite useful.

celeste, i am in Mrs Wong's class, and did not get free books. instead, she asked us to buy. the free books might be a thing in the past...

one thing i dislike abt her classes are there are no notes and no proper handouts for us, for the price we pay (i paid $210 for her class cos i am not delivering at TMC).
poor hubby has to take notes and participate in the exercises, multi tasking....

ah ha... the 3 books comes free with FBI card. so good deal for those delivering at Thomson. Yesterday, Mrs Wong also showed us the rooms. Quite lovely. Kite, you will definitely enjoy your stay there, esp the delicious soups that they will serve you to stimulate breastmilk flow.

kite,
maybe those 3 books from FBI are the ones my fren mentioned bout....cos i remember she told me she got Mrs Wong's books free...and she did join the FBI also...so maybe its these 3 books bah

Amy,
Hmmzz, then i must be mistaken, maybe its like wat kite mentioned.....my fren join FBI and got the 3 books free

Amy, can i pls chk with u what's the sign language to tell bb to sleep? Where can i find out more abt this info? tks

want to train bb now to sleep at nite and wake up in the day.. haha we usually tell bb to sleep at 9.30pm except for wkends.. true enough, bb has no movements after 9.30pm till 8.20am everyday except for wkends.. not too sure whether it's true or juz cos in the wkday i sleep like a log so din feel the movements haha..

hi sugarbun,
yah, no lecture notes exactly like the slides leh
But informative, though can't write down everything... Guess the topic on nutrition most of the tings we noe liaoz... hehe...

eh, btw, wat were u wearing last Fri?
I was in jeans & striped top... ;p