(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

morning gals

i went for the tmc anenatal course yesterday.. very fortunate to be conducted by mrs wong, though she typically dun teach on sun.. Excellent and very fun.. really informative cos she taught us the exercise that will relieve our backpain and muscle pulls or whatever.. oso teach daddy the right way to talk to bb and all other stuff.. guess every1 in class enjoy it cos every1 keeps laughing..

she is very nice too.. she extends the lesson hours.. really spends lots of time teaching us.. for those who have signed up for the course, i am sure u will enjoy it.. hee hee..

peng,
glad to hear that u find the antenatal course fun...hehe, me looking forward to mine....but will start only in March...
....hoping those massage techniques they teach can let hb learn something....:p

Peng, the antenal class sounds fun. Too bad i dont think i have the time to attend
i dont think anyone will bring their kid along right? always cant find time for myself...hiaz
enjoy your "free" days.

Just wondering whether any of you are carrying a large gestational baby? My boy is considered large for his gestational age.

Peng: Me too, I enjoyed the antenatal course by Mrs Wong. Was at the 7 - 9pm session on Sat (but we ended at 10pm).

Duffybuff: BB's Kingdom is at Kakit Bukit Ave 1, Shun Li Industrial Building. This is where you can get the cot.

Celeste: I got my infant car seat (rear facing) from BB's Hypermart. It's a maxi cosi car seat, and I bought it at a 30% discount, $240. You can sit the car seat on a pre grego pram or a quinny zapp. However, I think baby will out grow this at 9 mths. Will need to buy a front facing car seat then.

Kite: I bought the Avent steriliser, manual breast pump, food warmer, and bottles at a Metro 20% sale. In total, I have 4 big and 4 small bottles. If baby cannot take the Avent teats, you can use the Pigeon S teats. They fit just as well. I am not getting a pacifier. Better not introduce this to baby.

Amy,
hmmzz...thanx for the info...me looking at a car seat that can last up to 2 yrs old....
...actually i saw at Metro...selling at $199...can even convert to booster seat....but donno gd anot ;)

okasan,
Think we will get to keep the detailed scan report also...cos i got to keep my NT Scan report

My daughter has a t-shirt that says "If you think I'm cute, you should see my mum!". Itz a hand-me-down so dunno where it was from. But I quite pai sei when ppl actually looked at me after reading the wordings on the t-shirt. haha!

tinklebell,
I also won't be able to go for antenal class due to the same reason as you. Think no need to go lah huh, since we are not first-timer liao

I am from Feb MTB. I have 2 maternity social evening tops and one shrug to go. Clearing as i am in my last trimester so woldn't be wearing. It's brand new for the 2 evening tops and lightly worn for the shrug. For picture and price pls email me at [email protected] Thanks.

celeste,
I didn't do the NT scan, so din know...hopefully can keep the detailed scan report coz it will be interesting to show it to baby when older

For those who attend weekend antenatal class at TMC, how much did you pay for the fees? Is it $189 for delivering at TMC and $210 delivering at other hospital? Found the fee quite high

starfish,
i think it will be cool to wear as a whole family but a bit paiseh also lah...hehe :p

okasan,
But the NT scan one i got last time the images kinda blur cos they printed on those normal A4 size paper...mine got bout 9 images in total...but some of it i cant make out wat they capturing...think its the thickness of spine or wat...haha
same here! I am waiting to start doing shopping after my detailed scan ;)

sugarbun,
I forgot the lady told me its $179 or $189 liowz. Its a bit exp for 6 lessons but i guess can learn some things from it
And if u join the FBI (FirstBorn Incentive), think got another further 10% discount? ;)

sugarbun,
for weekend classes, it's $189 for deliver at TMC and $210 for deliver at other hospital. not sure how much such classes cost at other hospitals, so can't comment if the fee is high or not....

I'm taking the weekday classes as I'm not free on weekends

celeste,
I see...NT scan is for checking down syndrome right? gynae say I'm low risk, so he says let me decide if I wanna take the test or not, so we decide not to take...

I already buy clothes for baby even when I dun know the gender..haha...I think it's also good to buy some unisex clothes coz next time, the clothes can hand down to the 2nd child who may or may not be same gender as the first mah

363434.gif

dun know today why suddenly feel nausea again..keep wanting to vomit, as if I'm in my first tri....dun know if it means anything bad or not....
363440.gif

really okipoki?? the one at the hawker centre right??? my favourite. even if not cny, i also go there to buy. also, the hey bee hiam is v nice. my hubby finished one whole bottle even before CNY

yup the one which occupy abt 2 stalls right ? my hubby already finished 1 bottle of the pineapples tarts. I bought their loveletters & kueh bakit (something like that)... I didnt get their hey bee hiam leh.

okasan,
yuppies, NT Scan is checking for Down's Syndrome
Me also low-risk but me and hb a bit kiasu so go lor...hehe...so u quite young? Mind me asking how old u r?

hehe, last sat at Metro i was tinking of buying 1 set of Tollyjoy bb clothes one....yellow in color..tot its gd also...cos unisex can pass down to 2nd child...
...but after thinking dont wanna buy yet else i noe i will start my uncontrollable shopping spree...haha

Hi kk,
for ur pigeon steriliser, since it comes with free bottles, what is the ml of e bottles?

Hi Okasan,
Oh really? we will receive bottles as gift. Think i better stop at the Avent 3 big 260ml bottles. Small bottles will see if the steriliser does come w it. Or maybe wil buy 1 to 2 small ones (125ml). This small size okie?
I intend to BF my bb but at the meantime dont think wil buy cos dunno which good suitable. Probably as u suggest wil rent from TMC. how much is e rental price?
Once i start work, i wish to continue BF my bb too, dun wish to stop. perhaps BF once in e morning n once at nite, enuff? Wondering how working mums cope w BF?

hi B2B3M4,
actually what size of small & big bottles u recommend? right now i hv 260ml big ones.
Seems like i can keep e pacifiers but not sure when exactly i can start to give bb?
Do u think its worth to rent a pump or buyin a one is more worth it?

Hi Tinklebell,
Same here! we spring cleaning the hse on sunday, while sat was all out shopping
Got 2 truimph bras and bb stuffs. So far i didnt manage to do alot of cleaning, mostly hubby did. i just help to wipe n tidy up the cupboards n etc.

I m 17wks now, stil cant feel. when can start to feel ah? hehe me trying to feel these few days.

Hi Celeste,
i went Robinsons centrepoint sales last sat, bought some bb stuffs mainly all Avent brands

Hi Peng,
Seems like Mrs Wong very good. Must book her earlier, only avail on wkends?

Hi Amy,
Wow u even bot the bb car seats liao. i m not sure what to look for car seat leh. any advise?
Wow u seems Avent's supporter ah. hehe my hubby n i quite fancy abt Avent stuffs. Me bought Avent big bottles (3 x 260ml), Avent pacifiers, avent milk bottle brush n milk powder dispenser. For pump & steriliser, stil considering, might buy Avent ones too. How many ml is ur big & small bottles? I m glad to hear pigeon teats can fix into avent bottles.

celeste,
me not very young lah...but gynae say below 30 is low risk mah..haha...

me too, only buy 1 se of clothes first...if buy too much, will end up uncontrollable....but am waiting for after CNY, see if got sale or not..if got sale, sure gonna start my shopping spree
363547.gif
363548.gif
363549.gif

kite,
me thinking of getting Avent bottles also...but heard that Nuk not bad also...but wont get so soon....cos i tink for the antenatal class my fren told me they got give some freebies...my fren got 2 Avent bottles as free gifts ;)

okasan,
hehe....okies pokies...
....me waiting for the Taka bb fair...in March rite? ;)

kite,
I mean we may recieve bottles as gift from friends and relatives loh....of course there's chances that everyone will give you other gifts except bottles...but in any circumstances, there's no need to buy too many now...if really not enough, then go out and buy...better than having many extras bottles lying at home, collect dust

okasan, i dont see anyone going into the shop so i also pai seh to go in....scared the boutique assistant follow me everywhere i go

Hi Celeste,
my fren also me during the classes they wil give freebies but only 1 small Avent milk bottle. Think temp not buying e small bottle yet. hehe

Hi okasan,
yaloh since now got 3 bottles, shall stop first. wil go buy other stuffs instead.

btw what r the main things we hv to prepare n buy before bb arrives? best to hv a list of items so that we can share info. but me 1st time not so sure.

okasan,
hopefully can get gd deals...

kite,
my fren both of them managed to get 2 bottles each cos they got extras...hehe...hope when it comes to my turn also got extras :D

kite,
I got a list of things to buy from a thread here. the word document is in my home pc...if I remeber tonight, I'll try to login here and post the document file here...quite a detailed one consist of items needed for both baby and mummy

From my experience, things to prepare...i may have missed out some things...maybe we can add to this list.
For mummy
1) maternity pads
2) breast pump
3) breast pads
4) sterilizer
5) herbs for bathing
6) herbs (for confinement sa red dates, longgan gan, dong chong chao, ginger, sesame oil, DOM ...etc etc ...think better to ask the chinese physician)
7) BB detergent, bb washing powder etc

For bb
1) Clothings, towels, nappies
2) Bath tub, bathing accessories
3) Cot/ playpen, beddings etc
4) Diapers
5) Bottles
6) Pillow
7) Milk powder (depends...first few nites sometimes no milk... we bought some to standby)
8) Nappy Cream

tinklebell,
since celeste has the detailed scan same day and around same time, why not ask her to go with you? at least got company

hmmm...yap, why not??? but i am not sure what time i can leave office cos i gotta cover my colleague who is on leave ...hopefully can go to TMC on time.

Hi Celeste,
hehe confirm Avent bottles they give FOC? i heard its small bottles. Then i think i better dont buy liao. hehe

Hi Tinklebell & Okasan,
Thanks for the list n info. It will be very useful to me n i will make my own list based on that too
Btw i heard Taka bb's department, they give out a whole list of what to buy n not to buy for bb? anyone got the list b4?

Tinklebell,
wow really quite alot of things to buy for bb. hv to set aside time n $ for all these. what is BB detergent, bb washing powder? which brand is better for bb's bathing accessories? thanks.

kite,
taka baby dept got this list...heard it's very detailed...but based on some selected brands loh....can use the list but not neccessary to get the brands recommended in the list...

baby detergent are milder, for washing baby's clothes....normally we dun use our normal detergent to wash baby's clothes....

btw i hv been eating bak gua, pineapple tarts (cant resist, took abt 8) and those small sour mandarin oranges but all in moderate. anything to avoid esp e above n the coming cny goodies just in case i forget until its so delicious that i cant control myself. hehe

kite, i used to use johnson johnson for bathing and pigeon brand washing powder. the washing powder is quite ex...so after 2 mths, we used the normal detergent.

okasan, do send me the word doc for the list...am interested too

kite,
think the word is "moderation" loh...as long as you eat in moderation, shouldn't be a big prob...

but my mum dun let me eat mandaring oranges loh...she said they are too cooling....mandarin oranges are my fav loh..so sad that I can only hold them but cannot eat....

tinklebell,
I'll post the word doc here for anyone interested to download...easier

tonight if dun see, please remind me again tomorrow morning....my memory getting worse these days....

Re:List of things to prepare

What I was told is that dun buy the mike powder first coz you dunno what brand the hospital will give the baby during the stay. Best is to follow whatever brand the hospital gives so that baby dun have to switch brand within just a few days....but unless you really dun like to brand lah.

Tinklebell:
Dr Adrain gave me MC for Friday so that I can go for my detailed scan in peace leh. If he didn't give you then can go ask from him so that you dun have to go back office to cover duties.

BTW, do u all take bird nest? actually, my husband advised me not to take too much bec he says it can cause allergy and even asthma in bb. hmmmm.... anyway, how to choose gd quality bird nest? any recommendation?

starfish, i cannot take MC bec busy at work lah.... my colleague is returning to msia so i am covering her work... hopefully by lunch time, things will be quiet. hope to leave office ard 2pm.... Hiaz...work in Tuas ...superfar from everywhere.

starfish,
do you get the mc in advance or on the day after you finish detail scan then go to his clinic to get the mc?? I heard from some mummies that they went back to the clinic after the scan to get mc...he also told me to get mc from him on my detail scan date...

tinklebell,
what your hubby say is likely to be true loh...I never take bird nest since pregnant coz my friend told me of her experience. she and a few friends who was pregnant abt the same time...all ate bird nest except for one lady. in the end, all babies got some skin allergy except for the baby whose mother never drink bird nest...

then few weeks later, another auntie told me not to eat bird nest, also coz skin allergy..she say bird nest is good for mummy, but does not benefit baby loh...

beside, as some of you know, bird nest is for cooling lungs and better skin complexion...so eat too much bird nest, the baby's lung may be too "cold"...

sometime I wander is it because we have more money, can afford better food, that's why those medical shops tell us to buy bird nest...in older days, our parents where got so rich to eat bird nest? just my thoughts
363605.gif

I agree with starfish that we dun buy milk powder yet....my friend recommend me to collect samples of different milk brands....let baby try out first...baby may not like the taste or may be allergy to the milk loh...so if buy a can of milk, scare will be wasted.....