(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

tinklebell,

there's a SBI (subsequesnt born incentives) as well for 2nd time parents...so you can still consider....

ya, I was thinking you, celeste and myself, we all may end up around same time give birth at TMC...haven't decide what bed yet...either 2 or 1...not sure if it's better to have hubby to stay with me or not loh....

amy,
me attending the antenatal class at TMC in march

dolly,
how much is the original detailed scan cost at TMC then? my gynae told me it's $90 which is before any discount leh...

hi josephine,

yah, duno y sakae std drop ah.. last time i like there, now dun like liaoz... Anyway, me dare not eat raw fish/meat - haiz, dis year CNY can't eat the fish in the louhei, xian... ;p

dun worrie, u 14 wks niah, my movements only felt from (i tink, if i rem correctly) 18 wks onwards... Some mothers feel it from 22 weeks onwards (i read in website), so hv to b patient & wait

actually now dat i feel movement oreadi, sometimes get abit paranoid y bb move so little on certain dayz compared to others leh...

nay doll, u not kpo.. it's very helpful.. i have also signed up for FBI.. it's what Doll has mentioned.. so it's worth to join.. if u have citibank credit card, use it to pay cos they have promo now.. instead of the usual fee of $138,u pay $98.. so it's really worthwhile..

Btw when did u gals feel the bb kicking?? I got funny feeling sometimes but i am not sure whether it's the bb kicking.. but when i touch my tummy, i dun feel my tummy moving. so maybe it's not.. i am already in 18-19 wks, but feel nothing leh.. sigh..

tks okasan, is the membership immediate? was thinking if i can apply on the day of my detailed scan. will the application take long? for me, i'm interested in the cordlife discount. If it's for 9 yrs, then it's v much worth the membership.

Hi pebbles,
Congrats on ur bb Gerger! i m stil deciding whether to attend the antenatal classess. See how when i m approaching to 5th mths. Me too, i cant eat my fav. sashimi. actually very fast one. now actually must enjoy the pregnancy period hehe wow u stil cook urself often ah, sounds healthy leh. Btw i heard dun take too much ginger leh. hmm...

Hi matched_gal,
ya soups are delicious, spice up my appetite. but if never cook, outside soups very limited. usually what kind of soups u drink?

Hi lyn,
I dun think ur bb is small. Cos using kk's method (8.53+6.5=15.03wks) so its consider big leh since u are in ur 14wks during measurement.
Wow u eat only 1 meal? for me, i just eat 3 meals per day n in between snacks like biscuits/milo if hungry. me too i love fries/potatoes! oily food make me puke!

Hi Celeste,
my detailed scan wil be on wkday as advised by gynac cos need at least 1/2 an hr to 1/2 day.

hi peng,
thats gd u gain weight even got MS. how much weight hv u gained? maybe bcos ur bb is a boy boy, hehe. cos depends on ur hubby's size.

what kind of veg/fish u all eat? i realised i tend to eat less of veg n fish leh. But got take Neurogain, enuff to replace fish?

i_panda77,
detailed scan costs $150 ah? I never ask my gynae...but I know that time my NT Scan costs $90+ at TMC.

okasan,
okies pokies....think I probably will sign up for the FBI since its only $98 and can get discounts off the detailed scan, antenatal classes and delivery charges
think shld be able to save more than $98 bah...hehe :p
Btw, I think there's a higher chance I might choose TMC....cos I saw at Mt. A the 4-bedder wards got 2 beds the space is really cramped....wonder how is it like at TMC's 4-bedder wards...hmmzz

tinklebell,
I wonder if Dr. Adrian can get us 2-bedder wards at the price of 4-bedder hor? I am thinking of going for 4-bedder wards but wonder if can get the free upgrade to 2-bedder? But my fren told me TMC's 2-bedder wards 1 of the bed not so spacious...another one is more spacious...havent actually seen b4 so donno also.

celeste, okasan, must get your numbers one of these days then can sms each other in case we are all in at the same time
What if we all in lab the same time har?

Celeste, i am thinking of 1 bedder ward bec most likely hubby will sleep in. my son can also rest there and i got lots of relatives and i think as usual they will storm down to the hospital.... i dont want to disturb my poor neighbours in the next beds. ***Hee***

tinklebell,

I asked the lady in charge when I was at the first mum congress...she said it's with immediate effect...so I'm going to apply FBI on the day I go for detailed scan loh...like that no need to waste one trip down

kite,
my detailed scan also on weekday...
...in fact my gynae jin cute, oledi gave me the MC for that day liowz....he so kiasu hor...haha :p when i am supposed to see him 1 day before my detailed scan but donno why he so early give me the MC liowz :p

tinklebell,
yeah, sure we can exchange numbers

btw, okasan also going for detailed scan on the same day?
wat time is urs? Mine is 3.30pm ;)
I did think of 1-bedder before but hor me and hb after discussion thought since most prob staying for only 2 days, so juz chin chye lor...haha...and ya, its gd that u get 1-bedder then ur son can rest there with u all

peng,
can check with you...for the citibank credit card promo..it's any citibank credit card? I saw citibank website, only for platinum card holder leh...if can use any citibank credit card, then I also can apply at $98 loh...

Celeste, my appointment is at 3pm. yeh! it's the eve of the eve of CNY, hopefully can chop chop finish then can go off early... my mum's side have reunion dinner in one of the hotels in outram...maybe after that i will go chinatown to walk again and see if there are any last min buys. i went chinatown yesterday nite... not too crowded and weather was good

tinklebell,
haha, then i think i might bump into u again....i am prob after ur appt...cos i tink detailed scan takes bout 20-30mins rite? hehe :p
Wah, i also wanna go chinatown, hb not really wanna let me go, cos he say now so close to CNY sure got many crowds especially friday nite and sat....*sighz*

celeste, ya hor, can be very crowded. hmmm ... i am so excited...cant wait for CNY to come... somehow i enjoy the gatherings, tidbits etc.
Heee ...ya will prob bump into u again. when is your next apptm with Dr Adrian? mine is 26th Jan evening

tinklebell,
haha.....same again with u! My appt is also 26th Jan evening...haha.....:p
I not excited over CNY lehz...must bao angpow again...my 2nd yr giving out angpows...
...haha...lugi business :p

Lyn & Celeste,

maybe i rem wrongly..maybe not so ex. I let u all know when i go for my detailed scan on 2 Feb, okie
361326.gif

i_panda77,
hehe....by the time u let me know on 2 Feb I already done my detailed scan...cos my detailed scan is on 27th Jan...but anyway irregardless of how much still have to pay....haizz....everything must pay...haha

Celeste, tinklebell,

think it's a good idea to exchane hp no. coz we three seeing the same gynae, likely to go TMC...

my detailed scan after you gals, on feb...27 jan, when you all go for detailed scan, me seeing dr adrian...

u two always same appt dates leh..so good...me always a few days later..haha..

still haven't decide to go for 2-bed or 4-bed loh...coz some friends told me no need to waste money let hubby sleep overnight loh....but 1-bed more privacy mah....can chat with visitors without having to worry abt disturbing them etc...

tinklebell,
haha...ya lor...next yr must bring the bb everywhere to say "gong xi fa cai" and get back my losses....juz joking :p

okasan,
so u seeing Dr. Adrian on 27th Jan daytime?

I hope the detailed scan I can confirm bb gender liowz...then i can start buying things

hi tinklebell,
ya you have to apply for the card personally @ the guest relations counter. & :p SBI is for 2nd kid onwards :p

for my 1st bb, i applied on the day of my detailed scan, you just need to bring the receipt & show to the cashier @ the foetal scan clinic. the lady who prepare ur application will advise you. the card arrives ard 2weeks later.

and any citibank card will do,

hi okasan,

i need to go & dig out my receipt for my detailed scan. i remb tat i paid $89 for my detailed scan after discount.

hi Celeste,
for my gynae, so far it has been 2 bedded @ the price of 4 bedded. 3flr 2 bedded rooms r smaller. 5flr 2 bedded r bigger, the gap between the 2 beds r wider..

hi celeste,
wow ur gynac soo nice, give u MC so early, so cute. for me, i took 1/2 of my annual leave leh. maybe i shall go n take 1/2 MC hor since i just told boss abt my pregnancy! hehe

Btw i prefer to take 1 bedder ward, prefer quiet n privacy n also hubby can overnite w me.

okasan, think any citibank card cos i juz use visa card they allow leh.. think dun need platimum card..

hmm.. think i overpay for the my detailed scan and oscar. i rem i pay both together at abt $450!!! how come so much?? i pay directly to the lab not my gynae.. u mean gynae's prices will be cheaper?? But i lugi cos i paid b4 i apply for FBI..

Err.. kite, i actually put on lots of wt despite my ms.. i gain abt 5-6kg up till now. i am already in 18-19 wks.. haha.. my husband and i r quite small sized, so dun think my bb will be big. though i hope so.. but i think my bb is abt 15cm at wk 17-18 wks.. so if u go by your mtd, then my bb size shd be 22wks if i add 6.5cm.. but then i think it depends on how the gynae measures or shape of the bb at the time of measurement

tinklebell,
I always see him in the morning..he opens everyday in the morning

celeste,
I already bought clothes for baby without knowing the gender...just buy unisex ones...

peng,
the detailed scan cost is not paid thru gynae..it's pay direct to the lab....just that my gynae got mention it cost abt $90...maybe the oscar test is more expensive? but $450 for two tests really sound a lot...

doll,
oic...so 3rd flr 2-bedded wards smaller...heehee, think i will be able to see all the types of wards during antenatal class

kite,
if ur boss is quite nice and dont mind...then take MC instead of ur AL....i feel that dont waste AL for now lor...

okasan,
wah, u started buying bb clothes liowz ah....heez, me thinking of buying only 3-4 sets of kaikai clothes for bb only cos my mom says she will help me buy those home clothes...so dont dare to buy so soon in case i see nice nice ones later :p

kite,
me lazy to cook - always go mom's or MIL's place for soups ;p Sometimes they cook chicken+carrot+potato soup, sometimes fishball soup, etc.. Actually my fav is still (western) minestrone soup. Had cooked tomato soup last weekend & added some beef-balls which i made too... Alot of work ah... ;p

btw, r u all planning to store bb's blood cord/stem? Ard how much to pay for monthly storage "fees" if any?

okasan, yup
unless they go & increase their prices :p

celeste, yah coz i stayed @ 3flr last yr while my fren stayed @ 5flr this yr. so could see the difference... my letter for reservation & itz ticked 4 bedded frm my gynae. on the day of admission , will decide if i wan 1 bedded :p

matched gal, i intend to store my 2nd bb cord blood. hehe haven't ask Cord Blood if got discount for 2nd bb but for 1st bb is $1155( include GST), thatz the initial payment since they need to do testing etc + registration fee. subsequent storage is $250 per annum. hmm i am not sure about stemcord pricing though.

Re : Cordblood banking: 3 banks one public and two pte one.

The public one (Singapore Cord Blood Bank aka SCCB) requires u to donate the cord blood and it will be stored free. Ownership of the cord blood, however, is with SCCB. your child will be given piority for stem cells transplant if need be (touch wood) and it will be free. Can call Tel: 6394 5011 to find out more.

One private one here is called Stem Cord. The upfront fee is $750 if u deliver in Gleneagles and $800 if in TMC. In 2002, when i asked ard, the rate was $1700 to $2000. The annual fee they charge is $250. U can call them at 64712002 for the materials if u wish and can arrange for the consultant to answer to your queries.

3rd one is Cordlife: 1. All-Inclusive Plan for Cordlife, one time payment of $1,200 upon registration. Annual storage fee of $250 (payable from 2nd year onwards). If u are delivering in NUH, one time pmt is $800. Contact number is 6238 0808. See this website http://www.cordlife.com/sg/index/index.php

After doing some research, i think most likely i will choose Cordlife bec it has been around for longer time and is highly accreditted.

hee heee... i take it like insurance .. i thought it through for a long time... i think this is more worth it than life insurance... for a life of your precious one... something no amt of money can buy. a perfect match somemore. i just amortise the $250 to 12 mths, it makes it ard $20 per mth... $20 is for one good meal at hawker centre.... i'm sure i can do without that one meal. Didnt get for my first born bec no money at that time.... just my 2 cents worth of thought.

It was so HOT during lunch. i was using an umbrella throughout. But now raining cats & dogs. E weather so weird hor.

Hi Peng,
wow ur bb is really long. maybe ur bb wil be tall tall leh. hehe

Hi Celeste,
yaloh maybe i shall talk to my boss. eh but dun really how to tell him, abit paiseh say every appt take MC. I wil definitely ask my gynac to write a letter of proof. Gynac said she give me a letter of time off.

Hi matched_gal,
wow nice to hv ABC soup (potato, carrot, tomato). yummy. i used to cook soup too but now very lazy. oni once a wk then go back drink mum's prepared soup. maybe wkend i shall boil myself.
Hubby thinking of keeping bb's cord blood cos anything happened (touchwood) can save or used for it. stil deciding. but scare the company wil misused it.

tinklebell, $1200 liao ! hmmm.. they just increase ? hiaz.. coz my fren just signed in november and it was still $1100 + $55 (GST)...

matched gal, i only know the manner of storing is different. stem cord is a litte outdated and the percentage of infection during the drawing of the blood is higher cmopared to Cord Blood.

hi tinkerbell,

wow, thanks!!
Actually i'm planning to deliver @ Mt A, so duno if got any discount for the one-time payment. Thanks so much for the info - will discuss wif hubby abt dis...

tinklebell, ya loh.. i took for my 1st one and paid via installments since 0% interest for DBS card.. i tink i will do the same for my 2nd one also.. so dun really feel the pinch :p

tinklebell,
there is one public one rite? But that one does not collect cordblood from pte hospitals?
But seems quite exp....one-time payment of $1200 and annually $250....must think over it.

kite,
mabbe u take like half day MC only lor...then shld not be tat bad?

celeste, yes, there is a public one. i am not sure if they collect from pte hospitals. i ever heard that they do. maybe u can call them to check. The upfront pmt is expensive bec it includes professional fees to remove and store the cord blood. $1.2k is quite ex... that's why i thought over it for quite some time. but i feel that i can still live with the $250 annual storage fee. i feel that if ever something happen to my children, i will be v sorry if they could be helped but i didnt do my part to help them... just my 2 cs worth of thought lah.

I think for those who are going to deiver in TMC, it is a good choice to go for the first born incentive! My hubby prefers me to go Mount Alvernia as the route is less congested and parking is easier.

hi cookiezm
You can ask to send ya detailed scan to yr place, for me, I just ask them to send to my gynae. Didn't e radiographer tell u the weight of the baby? She told me the weight. I asked her about the length, she said the weight is more accurate to determine after week 20.

The fish oil is recommended by most gynaes. It is Neurogain BP, 30 pills for $31 from my gynae. If you go to some pharmacies in singapore, it costs about $29. If you have good lobang, do share with me okie??

hi kite
A bit of ginger is okay. Me can't wait to put e sashimi in my mouth too!!!! Yum Yum! I normally steam food so it is pretty easy. No one cooks for me so no choice loh. Anyway I oso scare of eating outside economy rice, my mil or mum's food, dunno why, maybe I jus want something light.

hi matched gal
Me normally steam food at home since most of the time we have to eat out due to work. I did feel sudden weird feelings at times but they were not intense.

I am thinking of storing the cord blood too. You can call Cordlife for more info. Storage is about $200 plus per year and if you have the TMC card, then got $50 off. (forgotten if it is every year or just the first year)

Hi Josephine

I think it is still best to avoid sashimi. Better eat cooked food than to regret eh?

celeste, i saw a show on CNA.. the cord blood collected by the public bank is for anyone who is in need of the cord blood. i dun tink there's any cost involve so it's more of donation to the public bank. currently, they dun take from pte but i tink they will do it in the future.

tinklebell,
hmmzz...but juz wondering bout 1 thing.....does that mean if u store 1 kids cord blood, it can be used on another kid if anything happens...*touch wood*...or its like need to store for each kid?

doll,
ya, i heard b4 the public bank one is for anyone in need but i tink cord blood can be used a few times izzit? So *touch wood again*...haha....if happens that kid needs and public bank still has it then can use also rite?

celeste, the cord blood is perfect match for the person whom it comes from. For siblings, it may not be a perfect match but there is still chance of a match. Chances of a match is higher if it comes from the family. If it matches, u dont have to search worldwide for a donor. i ever read in the papers that mummies actually try giving birth to another child in the hope of a match for the sick child... very touching stories. ***SOB SOB***