(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

it's $5 per person if u pre-register.
Anyone interested ?
I wld like to go and hubby has to work :p
So if you gals wanna meet up, that wld be cool !

Hi Okasan,

actually alot of things i still hvnt look at it. so far i only bought some maternity clothes leh. other than that, like baby car seat, pram, milk bottles, sterilizer, baby clothes (hvnt know gender yet) all hvnt buy leh.

Hmm m i lagging? hehe

<font color="aa00aa">kite</font>,
don't worry...you are not lagging behind...we have enough time to do shopping

so far, I'm already wearing maternity clothes and the only thing I bought for baby is a set of clothes with matching mittens and booties..and I bought the clothes without knowing the gender too....just bought one with yellow colour..unisex mah...

other than that, I din buy anything else...planning to start buying stroller/pram and cot/playpen only sometime in Mar or Apr....else if buy too early, will collect dust...

hi Okasan,

yaloh think later then buy better. too early buy too gan zhong liao. me always like to take my own sweet time to browse n look look then buy. hehe

wow u start wearing ur maternity clothes. I oni started wearing my maternity bottoms, not the top yet (cant imagine how i look) cos i m petite size. Which wks u into now? i m into 14 wks.

to add on...the reason why I bought the baby clothes even when I dun know the gender is coz I have some vouchers that are going to expire..so might as well used it on baby stuff earlier....

if there's sale, the sale will trigger me to shop for baby's stuff earlier than planned loh...else I'll just wait till Mar or Apr then get the bulky items...

<font color="aa00aa">kite,</font>
I'm in week 16 now...but I wore maternity clothes when I'm week 12 if I remeber correctly...coz all my clothes cannot wear anymore....my friends say my tummy look like 5-6 mth...but I din gain too much weight during 1st tri, so I'm not very worry abt looking big...maybe my tummy more bloated with air...

I also like to take my own sweet time...compare prices...only strike when the price is attractive..hehe...

hi Okasan,
wow so nice to hv vouchers. Actually for me, i also dunno what to start with buying. probably 1st thing is buy baby car seat cos definitely wil be using. then follow by baby clothes after know gender. other that than, i stil dunno n hvnt think of wat to buy leh.

so do u get to know ur gender liao? eh usually my frens told me if ur tummy looks big earlier, might be a boy leh. hehe

okasan,
was thinking of buying normal bras but thought spend so much $ buy those bras then end up wear a few mths only...haha....mabbe buy cheaper bras instead...hehe :p

Hi Kite,

Heee, my colleague's tummy looks bigger earlier but scanned to be a girl :p

But what u say make me happy. Because my tummy looks bigger slowly and definitely a girl lor? Heee.. I so scared tomorrow i go checkup and my gynae tell me bb is actually a boy :p

Hi Celeste Blur,

I got cheaper bras from CK. Only $3.90. Pretty comfy. I only invested in bras from perfect mum recently. Really expensive, can be used as nursing bras, but the comfy level really very very high

If u buy maternity bras from perfect mum now, u can change the bras (unused in good packing) when they dun fit u in later months. Just bring the bras and receipt along will do

Actually i personally think may not need maternity bras because we can easily breastfeed at home. Who bothers anyway? I bought maternity bras just to apply for the membership card :p Luckily they are really comfy, else cause regret.

Hi Okasan,

I heard from colleague that u can ask for late delivery for ur playpen/cot if u buy at BB Kingdom/Hypermart. But to me, no point lor. Once buy, i would like to bring it home to admire it everyday haha!

Tomorrow maybe shop around there and see whether got good grabs or not.

Hi Tinklebell,

i think 6 mths still can travel. 6 mth is still 2nd trimester mah
I think my gynae letter to me say i can travel up till 34th week or so

kk, really ? can travel til 34th week... yeh! that's good news! hopefully can plan a trip to australia or tokyo or at least somewhere lah...actually anywhere will be good
(desparate for holidays already!)

haha! i asked my bil if give birth on board the plane does it mean that the child will get lifetime free travel on first class... he says he never heard of it happening before... strange... but the rumour has been heard since a long long time ago. if it's true, i really dont mind giving birth on board the plane

u bought the maternity bra from perfect mum? the strapless bra is it? i feel that it is quite ex..$59 or something like that right?

i saw some maternity bras at OG PP going for $13 something. it's quite affordable. actually, i didnt find maternity bras useful in my first pregnancy. i find the straps v big and auntie looking. i only have 3 maternity bras in my first pregnancy. most of the time when i bf, i just lift up the normal bra lor. u see, i use normal bra... just that i remove the metal thing... it's just as comfortable.

re: perfect mum
just found out if u have maybank card, can get 10% discount. if u get the membership card, will be 15%..only 5% more. kk, u got your card already? til now i havent received mine leh
just the temporary card.

re: spring
i still have a $50 receipt... anyone wants? i dont think i will buy somemore fr there.

re: baby stuff
ransacked the whole store room and managed to find a play pen, sterilizers, breast pump, car seat, warmer. hmmm .... dont think i need to buy anything except to search for where my bb cot is. i look at my home, no place to put the bb cot!!!! maybe i will buy a playpen with basenet instead. jia lat!! i think i will have to dispose off my dressing table and get a smaller one. anyway, it's a white elephant to me.

second time mothers, can bb bottles be reused? i am hesitating whether to. hmmm .... prob will invest in new ones.

<font color="0000ff">kite,</font>
I redeem the vouchers using my credit card points...that's why got vouchers to spend...but one thing bad abt vouchers is that you can only buy from that particular department...if cash, even better

<font color="0000ff">celeste,</font>
normal bra is so much cheaper than maternity bra...maternity bra costs abt $40-$80 loh...but for normaly bra, u can buy them during sale, so cheap...I got 2 normal bra for abt $20 and they give very good suppport for my heavy top

<font color="0000ff">kk,</font>
ya, I know normally bulky items can ask for later delivery...but I'm like you loh...once I buy liao, I want to see it in my house asap

that's why I rather buy when nearer to due date...but I just highlight to hubby that we also cannot shop too late coz by then, my tummy will be rather big, may not have the energy to shop as much as now

<font color="0000ff">tinklebell,</font>
I also heard before that if baby born in a plane, he will enjoy lifetime free flight on that airline leh...

bottles can be re-used if it's still in good condition loh...but since it's rather cheap, why not just buy new ones for the newborn?

Hi Tinklebell,

Me thinking of getting a playpen with bassinet too! To me, i feel that it doesn't take up lesser space than the cot and more mobile. Is that really the case? Cots are mainly wooden and i was thinking what if bb knock her head? Heeee... I think i am being too imaginative liao :p

Yup, i also heard from my hubby that if give birth on plane, the bb get free lifetime travel. My hubby say it is some kind of international rule, dunno why also heeee.. but then, dunno how true it is lah.

Hi Okasan,

After gynae appt, went crazy shopping at orchard area. So in the end too tired to go kaki bukit haha.. later still need to reserve energy to go to my mum's place for dinner.

Didn't buy many bb stuff at orchard. My hubby spent quite a lot on his new year shoes and other stuff. For bb stuff, only bought 3 more bb clothings :p

And made a big investment. Bought a new set of mattress for my mil so that she can stay over during confinement. That cost us $900 for a super single mattress. So in the end, get voucher, free gift and ang pow packets at centrepoint.

How's Saturday so far?

BB doing fine
Keep moving hands and legs during scan. Today not really a detailed scan. Used back the same set of scanning machine, but just to confirm the sex of bb and also monitored the heart, that's all. Can say 100% girl liao, because nothing found between the legs haha!

BB active recently. Kicking the whole day

<font color="aa00aa">kk,</font>
same here...I also need to buy a new mattress for my guest room bed...in case my MIL or my mum wanna stay overnight esp during confinement....

me stay at home today, no activity..a bit bored...
yawn.gif

how many weeks are you now? must be wonderful to feel baby's movements...me can't feel anything yet...

<font color="aa00aa">re: playpen / cot</font>
me also getting playpen with bassinet. reasons being:

1. baby cot comes in wooden design...that is totally out of syn with our current house design, which is modern

2. for the 1st few months, I'll have bb sleep with me in my bedroom...but the bedroom dun have enough space for baby cot...so far, we measure and playpen can fit nicely in

3. many babies I knew of, reject baby cot when older..that makes baby cot a white elephant then...but for playpen, once they dun wanna sleep inside, can convert it for playing during daytime...

4. I love the design of playpen more than baby cots

Today went for my 4th appt this morning. Bb is so cute.... hiding behind the placenta. hehe so cant tell the gender yet but maybe its a girl, but gynac cant confirm anything cos the placenta which looks like a big hump (lol) blocked half of my bb's bottom. hehe. Next mth during the detailed scan, then will define the gender.
aiya hv to wait for 1 more mth after CNY, me now missing my bb.

After scanning, hubby and i went to the laboratory to hv blood test done, it was painless and fast
Anyway i m into my 14+ wks liao
Can see my tummy sticking out cos some of my colleagues began to notice and ask me whether m i pregnant lol

Hi tinklebell,

I m interested in the spring receipt. Dont mind can u email me? Thanks in advance. [email protected]

Hi Okasan,
wow at least u r better off than me leh, i didnt even go to view the playpen or babycot. i think me abit lazy ah or find it not so soon yet. feel lagging when u all discuss baby stuffs.

Hi Okasan,

I am going into my 6th mth (24th week) exactly next Tuesday

Yup! Really happy to feel bb movements everyday. Getting very paranoid too. Once i dun feel bb moving, i would wander what is happening although she may be sleeping heee...

Hey, i support ur reasons (2) to (4). My house doesn't come with any particular design, so cot or playpen is ok. But i do have other reasons like u to go for playpen. My brother's three kids had used the playpen before and it was perfectly ok
Too bad, no hands-me-down so got to get one.

I was tempted by a cot at robinsons when i went shopping after my appt today. Perhaps it was the pink mattress and the mosquito net that hangs over it that makes it sooo beautiful. It really looks like a princess sleeping place heee...

Hi Kite,

Ur bb playing hide and seek with u ya? Haha! Anxious you have to wait for another mth before knowing the gender liao.

Hi kk - how much was the cot you saw at robinsons? Is it the wooden type? I went to BB KIngdom and they were selling the wooden type for $279. Got light brown, dark brown and white ($349). Quite like it cos you can use till till the kid is 5 yrs old and has 4 levels of adjusting. Din buy yet as I've not checked out the cots in Robinsons etc..

Hi kk,
ya my bb really cute leh. She/he is facing downwards showing us her/his beautiful spine. so amazing.
Hubby said bb wants to keep us in suspense. Now i dun feel as anxious as initially liao. hehe
We were smiling all the way during the scan.

hi all mums
356799.gif

got a Qn to ask here: When you went for each appmt, gynae will give u the printout of the scan. Heard fr friends that the scan will fade overtime. How to preserve it? Any suggestions?

356800.gif

Hi Volf,

i didn't take note of the price. Yup, its the wooden type

Yes, some cots are adjustable and bb can sleep till 5 yrs old like what u have said. But how many kids would want to sleep in the cot by then? :p So i am worried if buy cot, it becomes a white elephant eventually.

hi i_panda77,
(me frm april06 mtb...)

although me dont have the print-out (mine is a video form). frenz had told me of the fade print-out, these are what she told me:-
1. bring the print-out to office to photocopy
2. scan it and store in your PC

hope this help...

anyone has any idea whether a milk bottle sterilizer that has been kept for a no of yrs still can be reused??? not too sure hygiene.. if not. will get a new one.. any advise? tks..

gals, are u going to buy 2 bb cots/ playpens, sterilizers etc?? cos was thinking whether i put bb with nanny or MIL, everything oso need to buy 2 so that bb can use it no matter where he is.. but xiong leh..

<font color="0000ff">i_panda77,</font>

I got the printout every time I went for my gynae appt. The printout WILL FADE in short time...you can try to scan it and reprint using photo paper, or you can laminate the original one..that will prevent the ink from fading....

<font color="0000ff">kk,</font>

u in your 6mth...no wonder can feel baby's movements....me looking forward to feeling my baby's first movements...

<font color="0000ff">kite,</font>
don't worry. you not lagging behind...I only chat abt baby's stuff here..but all chat no action...

<font color="0000ff">peng,</font>
I'm only getting everything in 1 set. will be on maternity leave for 3 months...so will be taking care of baby first...maybe when baby around 2 mth, then decide if there's a need to buy another set of baby stuff (coz we haven't decide who to look after our baby when I go back to work)

as for the bottle, if you dun feel comfortable re-using it again, why not just buy a new one since it doesn't cost much? that will give you a peace of mind

Hello gals,
I have been shopping the whole day on Friday and Saturday
. I managed to find a, adjustable maternity pants and a maternity babydoll top. I also bought a nursing bra ($13.90) and a soft wired bra. And also bra extension. I realise the bra extension sold at maternity shops are almost double the price than outside. I got it for $2.90. MAternity shops at Paragon selling the extension for $4.90. At So far, it's very difficult to find non-wired bra. I tried on some tube bra too, but I dun like them... Still looking for suitable tube bra...
I think I will just wear whatever my hubby said I am nice in.
I also bought some nice hair clips to bundle up my hair.

Tinklebell,
I am also looking for bright colored tops. It's not easy... Where do you get your bright colored tops? I feel that most of the maternity clothes are dull in color. I dun really like black color. Sometimes when I see a nice design top, usually it will be black or white. Sometimes, I dun like the quality of the clothes too. I also dun like flowers prints...
I think 6 mth plus cannot travel already. My gynae told me cannot... Unless if you dun look too big... I am also thinking of going to Laos for a week with my hubby

Wow volf... Ok... I will go to G2000 to have a look too... I am also looking for some jacket or cardi to cover the big big boobs.. haha...

Hi missy,
Where is tom &amp; Stefanie boutique? I still yet to visit Mphosis. My sis told me to go Mphosis cos not as ex as those maternity dress and better quality and design...

I am also considering renting maternity wear from Maternity Exchange. I like the style of maternity wear from there. I almost wanna order maternity wear from overseas, but the shipping cost is too high. And I am not sure about the size.

talking about hair clips, remind me of something....gals with long hair now, will you cut it short before EDD to prep yourself for the confinement?

<font color="0000ff">lyn,</font>
the nursing bra that you bought is cheap. where you get it from?

Hi okasan,
I bought the bra from Metro at Paragon. The nursing bra is non-wired and quite comfortable. I also bought a non paded, soft bra from Metro. The brand is Bonds. I find it very comfortable. I think it will be good for our expanding breasts cos the material is very stretchable and flexible that will fit the coutours of our breasts.

kk,
so u actually bought nursing bras and wearing it now already? Ya, i heard that nursing bras are pretty comfy

Hmmzz, guess i will look around for normal bras for now, i tink my current bras can still fit for another 1-2 weeks bah, must quickly go buy new ones liowz....hehe

okasan,
the normal bras u got are underwired boh? I thinking of still getting underwired bras but donno will it be uncomfy anot.

Btw all mtbs,
do u all still feel tired at times hah...me sometimes still feel tired but sometimes energetic...donno izzit i got problem...haha...like this morning, feeling so sleepyz....eyes can barely open now

okasan - I will leave my long hair as it is - not cutting it. At least u can tie your hair up if long. Anyways, I will be washing my hair during confinement. Cant imagine not washing for 1 mth.

volf20,
i support u! I definitely will wash my hair during confinement also...i guess at most i can tahanz 1 to maximum 2 weeks not washing the hair...but i heard got the hair wash powder for applying on the hair rite?

Aiyo- I cant even tahan not washing for 1 day! My whole head will start to itch and I will become very grouchy. Heard abt the hair wash powder..but also heard it worsens the unwashed situation. SIL cut her hair lsat time during confinement and regretted it cos the short hair cant tie up and kept 'poking' her neck...

volf20,
i also wash my hair everyday now...haha...cannot imagine confinement time *faint*. Geez, so i better dont cut my hair too...at least still can tie up.

just had my scan last wk- 80% likelihood of boy. Was advised against Triple Blood test by new gynae (since my NT scan by previous gynae was normal).

My memory quite bad, someone asked feedback abt Dr Paul Tseng (my new gynae)? Quite alright- we only had one consultation with him so far, I switched to him cos he's known for natural deliveries and VBACs (vaginal birth after c-section... cos my first delivery was failed induction leading to emer. c-sect).

H/e, it seems my personal chances of VBAC is very low. Will wait and see how this pregnancy progresses lor- next scan is detailed scan, perhaps clearer idea.

kk, okasan,
re: playpen
i got the same reasons as u for not wanting a cot. i agree the cot can be used til 5 or 6. that is provided your bb doesnt roll a lot when he/ she sleeps. sometimes at nite, we could hear "bong bong" sound when his leg or hand hits the railings, despite us putting the bumpers. my boy stopped using the cot after ard 4 mths. when he was bigger, we tried using it as a playpen but he kept knocking his head on the wooden railings.
then the cot was just placed at one corner to collect dust.

lyn,
i think Spring has quite colourful clothes. my clourful clothes were mainly bought in KL. i went to moms in mind at united square yesterday... they have quite nice and colourful clothes. but i only bought a capri pants bec i feel that i have more or less enuf clothes for the time being.

peng,
yes, i think u will need 2 sets of each item if u intend to put bb with nanny, mil or mum. try to get hand me downs else will cost u a bomb.

kite,
i will try to search for the receipt tonite. i thought i left it on my dressing table but couldnt find it last nite. hmmm ...prob my hubby placed it somewhere else. will let u know. hopefully he didnt throw it away.

re: confinement
hmmm .... i couldnt tahan not washing hair lah... somehow during confinement, will perspire a lot leh... i find myself so smelly despite bathing once a day... but i bathe with some herbal stuff called " da feng chao". u can get them in prepacked form from chinese pharmacies.

medusa,
wow, tats great....ur first is a gal and now a boi...hehe, bery gd combination
. I also didnt do Triple Test, that day gynae only drew my blood for HIV test, cos he said since I did NT Scan already so no need to do Triple Test.

tinklebell,
u mean playpen is better than cot? We were thinking if should get playpen or cot, but playpen the height is not adjustable rite? So have to bend and carry the baby?

Medusa/Celeste Blur: that's quite different from my Gynae. She went ahead with my triple blood test even though NT scan was normal ... well, i guess no harm being on the safe side ...

Is the detailed scan at 20 weeks for abnormalities too ? or is it a routine scan?

Celest Blur: in my 13th - 14th week, i was quite energetic, but now 16th - 17th week, i feel really tired. I wake up every morning at abt 6plus and toss and turn in bed ... *sigh*

K_Ong,
me quite funny as in some days i feel energetic some days feel tired. Maybe because I dont sleep a lot...probably like only 7 hrs on average every day...hehe

Juz wondering, how many hrs of sleep do u gals try to catch everyday?

celeste, it depends on your individual likings.
the playpen comes with a basenet. ur bb can sleep there til ard 3-4 mths before they become too heavy for that. u dont need to bend down. one thing is that the basenet for playpen can only be used for bb until at most 5-6 mths. cot is more stable and can be used til they are much older. what i did to my play pen after bb is older : i bought those 3 fold matresses, place it at the base of the pp, then put the original pp matress on top. but ya lah, have to bend a bit to put bb inside the pen.

tinklebell,
hmmz, so tat means when u put 3 fold mattresses then even when bb is heavier also can sleep there till like 2-3 yrs old?
Was actually tinking of getting both playpen and cot but thought that its a bit waste of $ also.

re: playpen/cot

my boy is still sleeping in his white wooden cot now at 9 months... i forsee he will sleep there for quite sometime to come.... he will crawl all around the cot in his sleep... but becos of the bumper, generally its quite safe. Unless he stand up and fall... and knock his head on the area without bumper...

I like the playpen becos side not wooden but I find most playpen too small for my liking...

me too still debating whether to get a playpen or to get another cot for my coming bb... my boy will still sleep in his current cot .. cos i wont want him to feel he lose his cot just becos a sibling came ...
He is only 1year3mth old when bb is born... so still can sleep in his cot for a long time to come.

Good morning gals!
Tomolo is holiday again! Yeah!

Celeste,
I still feel tired sometimes, but energetic sometimes. Just that my legs get tired very fast lately. I need some breaks in between shopping. Usually before I go out for the day, if it's going to be a long day, I will sleep first.. kekeke.. So I arrange to meet people in the late afternoon usually...

Mphosis has babydoll dresses... Not really maternity dresses. I have one Mphosis dress and it look pretty nice on me now
I just wore it last Saturday to go shopping with my hubby

Volf,
I will also wash my hair during confinement. Will wash with herbs on alternate days
. I also think tying up the hair is better than short hair...

Medusa,
Congratulations in expecting a boy boy...

Celeste, i have both playpen and cot and my bb doesnt like both
he screams each time we put him there. in the end, he ended up sleeping on a mattress on the floor!

playpen/ cot,
depends on bb. A few of my gf's bbs are still sleeping in cot fine. But for my #1, she was always waking up cos too small for her liking (she likes alot of space to move about in sleep)... we switched her to single size mattress in play-yard. Easier for us so we get less disruptions in the night.
I'd be using her old cot for #2. See how long he can last in it lah.

I have 2 playpens at IL's and mum's, will be selling away when I get round. She doesn't sleep in those either, she prefers 3 single-size tilams on the floor! But the playpens are gd for safely confining (she will watch VCDs) when ILs or mum is busy. When maid comes, I won't be bringing #1 or #2 that often to their places, so will be selling away the playpens.

Alot of items are really dependent on individual baby. Eg. Bumbo seat. Most of my friends' bbs outgrew it very quickly. My #1 at 15mths still loves it tho she can get into it and out of it by herself. We leave on the floor for her as her special "armchair" lor.

medusa,

me too thinking of buying a single size mattress in a playyard for my boy... can allow him to sleep and turn and crawl more comfortably in the night.

my bb din really like his bumbo when he was abt 6 mths old.... he keep wanting to get up... guess he is too active ... difficult to constrain him. As long as he is awake, he is moving non stop here and there... and that's why he love it so much since the day he learn to creep and crawl... more independence gained ...

<font color="0000ff">celeste,</font>
I'm getting those bra without under-wired...heard my friends said if got under-wired, will be quite uncomfortable at later stage....anyway, I manage to find one at Metro as well which give good support and has no under-wired.