(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi lyn,

long time didnt see u ard.
me too i hv gained 2kg since my 1st tri. Now i m into my 13 wks
wow mentioning briyani rice made me feel hungry now. i craved for BBQ chicken wing and french fries. dunno y.

Hi kite,
I have been rather busy lor... :p Now got a bit of time so come in see see

kekeke... I went to get changed just now to go out tabao briyani rice.. kekeke.. but I remembered I dun have my keycard. So now gotta wait for my sis to come home first. For the time being, gotta go heat up curry puffs and satisfy my curry craving.. kekeke...

Hi lyn,
nice to see u around again. So u are into which weeks? managed to get to know ur gender yet?
i cant wait to know mine.

Hi kite,
I am into 16 weeks now. I had a scan at week 14. The sonographer said it's too early to see the gender. She thinks it's a gal, but cannot be 100% sure. She scared I get disappointed so asked me to wait till week 20 then can confirm. hee... not a very long wait to go

Hi kite,
Are you going for NT scan? I was overdue for the NT scan when I went for the scan. But it was very nice to see baby swimming inside for half an hour... kekeke... I saw baby exploring it's fingers and hand and finally putting the thumb into it's mouth... very cute...

Hi lyn,
yes i have went for my NT scan on my 11wks+. Baby was very co-operative n NT scan was done within 5mins n results is low risk. So amazing, can see bb bouncing up n down n can see my bb's nose very clearly. hehe so cute, put the thumb into the mouth, i hv yet to see my bb doing that. my next appt wil be in 14wks+, whereby hubby n i wil b doing the blood test.

Hi kite,
My gynae only do a fast scan. For longer scans, my gynae will send me to the X-ray department of GlenE. My scan was at least half an hour. Forgot to time... kekeke... I was surprised that placenta is bigger than my baby. I get to see baby in different positions. I think baby having hiccup during the scan. Saw baby's backside also... hahaha... My baby's spine looks very nice
. What blood test are you and hubby going for? My gynae will tell us about the blood tests, including HIV, next week.

hi Lyn - Though no cravings, am always hungry every 2 hrs..and I can eat and eat now. V scary. Scarier when I weigh myself....how? Cant seem to stop myself and worried I will put on too much weight...arrgghhh.

Hi volf,
I am almost eating the whole day yesterday. I had 3 curry puffs yesterday... and 1 for supper some more... lol... When I feel like eating, sometimes I will try to resist the temptation and eat some fruits and salad
. That will keep my hunger in check for a while. I am rather conscious of what I eat cos I gotta watch my weight...

Hi lyn,
we wil be doing the Thalaseamia blood test. Have u done that? Dun think its the triple test rite? Triple test wil be doing later. hv u done e triple test?

Hi kite,
So far, I only had blood tests for diabetes. I gonna have that done again next week. Gynae said he will discuss with us other blood tests in the next visit. hee... I will try to avoid all the needles poking... lol...

Me too. Am trying to curb my eating streak by eating fruits...but after a short while, I wil be hungry again. Am v v conscious of my weight and appearance...hubby say am mad.. cos am not fat,but pregggy and am supposed to put on some weight to carry the bb to full term mah... still cant help it...

Hi volf,
I also eat some nuts. Cashew, almond, and walnut.. Can satisfy my hunger also. kekeke... I am also very conscious of my appearance. haha... My hubby like to make fun of me say I looking more like a duck already
Sometimes when going out, gotta spend some time to think what to wear out... lol...

Hi kite,
Nope, I havent had any other blood test yet. I will wait for my gynae to tell me when and what tests.. kekeke... but I will also ask him is it very necessary... lol...

celeste,

its for bb cot..

so sian..my gynae appt is at around 5.30pm...got too many ppl.so still got a long way to go b4 seeing bb.oso,got to do blood test today man..so scary..already got a bad experience d oth time..hopefuli,the doc is good n skillful.. :p

Angeline, u got the same edd as me... heee ...maybe will meet each other at TMC hor :p

re: blood tests
just dont understand why is there a need to take blood so many times. cant they just consolidate and take the tests all at one short? **hiaz** me also v scared to take blood... somemore my veins are quite small so quite hard to take

re: things to get
one good thing to invest in is a good ear thermometer. someone gave me one as a gift for bb 1st mth and i find it extremely useful for bb and whole family.

Hi Angeline,
Hope you will be able to see baby swimming inside later
I also dislike the needles... lol...

Hi tinklebell,
I think it's becos certain blood tests are suitable at certain number of weeks only. That's why gotta take a few times...

lyn, quite sian when i heard that have to take blood... my mood just change

so far, i took blood for HIV, Thalesmamia, full blood count, oscar blood test ..... used one drop of blood to test blood glucose .... what else is there to come??? **Scared**

Hi tinklebell,
I also dunno what else leh... cos I am waiting for my gynae to tell me... kekeke.. lazy to read up... Next week, my second drop of blood for diabetes
And other blood tests as well, I think...

Lyn - yr hubby so cheeky call you a duck. Haiz. Next time tell him that 'you did this to me.. quack'...

Hv you started getting maternity wear? I bot a few pcs, but still wearing some of my normal tops (not the fig hugging types now). If you like funky tops that can accommodate a growing tumm, can try Forever 21 at Wisma. Saw some nice baby doll tops - those that are fitted at your breasts, but flare a lil on the tumm area. Bot 1 the other day. Very pleased with it. Hubby asked why I needed to look funky and sexy when preggy...hahha. I told him 'of course lah'. Doesnt mean preggy means we look dowdy right?! ;)

Kite - some gynaes dont recommend triple tests esp if your NT scan results are very gd ie. v low risk. Mine said no nd cos its very ex.

Hi volf,
hahaha... ok.. next time i "quack" to him.. hahaha...
I got one baby doll top maternity from Thyme as a Christmas present. Other than that, I haven't buy any maternity wear. I just bought a few baby doll tops. So far, I have 4 baby doll tops already. I still can wear my jeans and lower waist pants. I can still wear some of the fitting stetchy tops. When I wear those that have wrinkle pattern, still cannot see I preggie.. kekeke... Think that will not last long from now... When I wear babydoll top, people can see my tummy wor... I went to A/X just before Christmas and bought some stretchy tops
kekeke... my hubby said can wear that if I wanna show off tummy ah. But for now, I still not into the idea of showing off my tummy.

Ok, I will go to Forever 21 and have a look later... I am waiting for sale in Mphosis... kekeke... they have very nice baby doll tops and dresses. Of course preggie must look good la... else later lose self-confidence leh... already got all the discomforts, plus look ugly will be worse... :p

alloo ladies, how's everyone

haven been in for while cos was on MC..keke. Am down w sore throat n flu but am back to my feet now

think now is hving sale everywhere, we shld go n grab all the clothes..hahaha

Hello Ladies,

Long time didnt pop in here...

How's everybody? Gaining weight or losing weight? hehe.. I'm going to my 15 week liao, but still losing weight leh..

No appetite at all, feel like vomiting still.. And the burping is sooooo bad.. Not to mention I got DHA pills from the gynae, then everytime I burp got fishy smell... Make my appetite worse only.. >_<

Anyone started looking for confinement lady? I'm hunting for one now. My mom and MIL are working, thus no one to do confinement for me.

Besides that, I'm thinking to get a nanny to take care of the baby when I go back to work, or hire a maid, or go to infant care. What are you ladies planning to do?

Hi Hidora - long time no hear! Poor u ... try to hang on.. the ms will clear soon. Most of us here alrdy putting on weight cos no more ms &amp; eating like pigs already... hang in thr ya?!

Lyn - u lucky gal can still wear yr jeans! I can wear but cant button- So I give up. Bot a nice mat 3/4 jeans (doesnt look like maternity wear) and ano 3/4 khaki pants..

Hidora: I'm the same as you, not putting on any weight at all, in fact, trying to put on the weight that i had lost the last few weeks !!
My tummy is showing though, so i can only wear my looser bottoms. Tops are still ok albeit tighter around the chest - my girlfriends commented on my nice cleavage!

Yes, there are so many sales out there. I was a Guess kids yesterday, there's a really nice set of rompers (plus mittens and hat, etc) for abt $18. If you gals are interested, at the Forum outlet. However, they only sell it in blue, but it doesn't bother me, i can dress my little girl in blue :)

Also popped by Cloud 9 at OUB Centre during lunch. They have a really comfortable pair of capri pants for abt $59.

Bought some bras from Marks and Sparks too, $25 on sale. I find the fit very comfortable.

OK, that's my shopping contribution for the day !!!

Hey gers,

I am back from my KL trip this afternoon.. Keke spent ard SG$200+ for the maternity wear which tinklebell mentioned. Total bought abt 10 pcs (3xpants, 1x3/4pant, 4xtops &amp; 2xdresses). Pretty worth it !!! Also bought abt 4 pcs of maternity bra each around SG$13.

Lyn, some updates:
I should be around 14 to 15 weeks &amp; my EDD according to my gynae is somewhere between mid June to end June (will confirm nx visit) and my gynae is Henry Cheng. I have yet to decide which hospital to deliver.

hi hi...

wow..today so many posting.. keep it up, gals...

hidora, try to hang on.. very soon it would be over..

for me, it's very funny.. i gain lots of wt in my 1st trim and always hungry, though got bad ms.. but for my 2nd trim, i am not so hungry, juz eat normally.. hope bb have enough nutrients..

yeah.. everywhere oso have sales.. feel tempted to buy bb clothes but since not 100% cfm the gender, dare not to buy..

Btw, saw medale PIS pump for sale, selling at $699, instead of $799.. very tempted to buy.. Any1 has any idea how often we need to pump per day? cos the cheaper dual version cost only $200+ but can only pump 3 times per day.. any advise on breast pump?? tks

i am back but no news yet for me...coz bb v naughty.used the hands n go block there.scan till so long i paiseh..but gynae say 90% is a gal..maybe she shy tts y dun let us see..now dun koe wat colour to buy liao..hb wans yellow to play safe but i was thinking since already 90% might as well get a more girly colour.

the blood test abit painful..but doc quite skillful lah to get it done in such a short while.now i 16weeks..my next appt 20w then will do detail scan liao.haiz,hav to wait till then to koe the gender liao.cant do shopping now..

okipoki, glad u managed to find the place
coz i walked around a few times before i managed to locate it. the clothes there v sweet right? and reasonably cheap. i like the halter blouses which they have.

hey hey .... u tempting me to go there again leh
i dont think i can book a bus ticket over this weekend since it's a long weekend and i dont think my hubby wants to drive there bec he's scared of car thieves.
maybe tomorrow will take 170 morning to JB since i'm on leave...see got anything nice to buy or not

anyone know if there are nice maternity shops in JB?

yeah okipoki, so smart to find the pl. i oso took along time b4 i found it..

yah, tinkerbell, i oso thot of going to JB.. not too sure where got. But heard city sq got 1 shop tat sells bb stuff, hopefully got maternity wear.. u might want to chk out that pl.. keep us posted if u go there.. tks..

morning everyone... forum's been unstable lately and I seldom got time to come in

angeline...

seems like there are quite a number of gals in our thread liao hor.... mine also most likely a gal but my gynae cant confirm... hehe gotta wait for 3 more weeks for detailed scan lor... hope can confirm by then.

I din do the triple blood test...now feeling a bit regret though... hope its ok.... cos my gynae said since i done the nt scan and its low risk... shd be ok not to do the blood test.

tinklebell,

wow seems like u all frequent JB hor ? I havent been there at all.... only been to genting once and that's all i ever gone to malaysia. We dun dare to drive to malaysia after all those scary theft reports in the news....

oh btw, last week we finally decided to book a honda odyssey... its quite a nice car and my mum, siblings enjoyed the test drive... so we thought since prices are right for us already and our trade in car is losing body value, might as well change now. Hope to get the COE this round and our car in 1 mths time.

Hi tinklebell,

Yeah they are really sweet &amp; cheap. Currently, they are having buy 3 got 30% discount. I am afraid the tic will be full over this weekend... Keep us posted if u manage to find nice maternity wear in JB.. Keke !!

Peng,

You too went to Sungei Wang for the maternity wear ? The place is really big &amp; the shop is indeed hard to locate. But so far, between the 2 shops I think V-ky still have the best range.

Hi poohy,

no lah, i dont frequent msia very often... just that over the past 1 year, have gone to kl and genting bec it's the nearest place for a short and cheap vacation. I havent been to JB since 2003 though i always wanted to hop on the bus 170 which plies near my home.

Congrats... u finally changed your car. How much is the Odeyssey now? it's a sleek and nice car. when u collecting it?

tinklebell,

me too leh... thinking of hoping on to the bus to JB.. but becos my entire family never been to JB before... we are abit apprehensive abt where to go, scared later get lost hehee.. very suaku

we were seriously considering between the toyota picnic and honda odyssey. The price diff between picnic deluxe and odyssey basic is abt less than 3k now and ody's omv is higher. That's why we thought the ody is now at a v value for money price.. plus the trade in body value for our car higher at kah motors. My odyssey contracted price at $92.5k or something like dat. As we were the first 50 customers for this round of coe bidding (since the big drop to 9k for cat b coe recently), they promised us a $12k coe rebate (up from the $9k offered by toyota). Thus, if the coe drops again or rises below $12k, we will be rebated with cash. Thus further narrowing the price margin between the 2 cars. I think we got a value for money deal this time ... the ody basic model used to cost more than $110k. Will be bidding coe next week and if we get it, we will collect our car right after chinese new year holidays.

wow poohy! that's really a good price
i'm sure u are looking forward to driving it.

haha! wont get lost in jb one lah. take taxi. taxi there is much cheaper than over here. only thing i am scared is the customs.... if u take a bus there, sometimes there is a mad rush at the customs... experienced it a few times last time. can be quite scary.

tinklebell,

oh ya hor taxi... really must try ... since the stuff all cheaper over there
My hb told me his colleagues drove regularly across the causeway to pump petrol... can save a lot

ya i hope we will get the coe and car this round... we felt so relieved and excited when we finally signed on the dotted line... cos its pretty headache process choosing cars... and monitoring all those prices..

yve,

wat's lunar year ? how do u count it ? Just curious, what does your gal do this days... as in, can she walk on her own, can she be left to play on her own maybe on the sofa for 30 min etc ?

I was just wondering cos my boy is 9 months now and will be abt 1year3mth old when my bb is borned. My mum will be taking care of both him and my new bb after my ML next year... so by that time he will be 18mths old. I just wonder whether he will still be requiring so much attention by then... if he cant play independently/safely on his own, i prob will get him a playpen or something like dat to make sure he is in a safe place when my mum attend to the bb...

poohy,
She was borned on 9 jan2005, so that is monkey year, lunar month 11, day 29.. and today is rooster year, lunar month 11, day 29, even though it is not even one calendar year yet.. She can walk on her own.. climb up and down the sofa.. but must supervise her lor.. She fell once from sofa recently..

Regarding handling 2 bbs, think my MIL experienced lah.. My hubby and BIL are 12 mths apart.. she say she will put angel in her cot while she attend to the younger one.. on thinking now, maybe i should install a gate in angel's playroom (aka MIL room) so that she dun wander around the house on her own.. all her toys are in that room lined with 3 tilams..

yve,

oh ok .. sounds like my 18mth old boy by the time i go back to work shd be able to have a little bit of independent playtime when i am back to work from ML. At 8mths old, he was crawling confidently and standing up and sitting down quite steadily... so i think by 1 year or latest 18 mths, my boy would be walking and running ard without constant fear of him bumping his head into the floor or the wall. I bring my boy to my mum's place in the day. Not much toys there cos i am worried abt making a mess out of my mum's home and would be hard to do up the place as good as our own place.. cos limited space
I wish i can give him a whole room to wander safely like at home. But prob wont want a playpen definitely.. i find it tooooo restrictive liao... its so small. As my boy is the only bb now, all his needs are attended to immediately by us at nite or my mum in the day. I just fear if my mum no longer can devote all her attention to him and he still need attention all the time, he will feel neglected... i feel heart pain just thinking abt that. So really hope he will be able to play on his own safely without feeling my mum's absence from him (when she attend to bb) ...

poohy,

yah..so far onli heard most of us got gal..haven got boy news yet..hmmm...i didn do NT scan...onli do the blood test yesterday..aiya,shd hav done NT n do away wif needles..u got 3 more weeks..i got 4 more weeks leh..my next appt 25th..long way to go man.

yve,

haha..congrats..

poohy,
Since no room at your mum's place, then need to childproof the place lor.. Angel can open drawers and cupboards, and pull down things from shelves and tables.. quite dangerous actually when they get more curious.. imagine she open the fridge and start stuffing herself with the food.. or open the cupboard of cleaning stuff.. *faint*.

need some comments on buying of milk bottles..

wondering should i buy Avent/ Pigeon/ Nuk/ Dr Brown?

coz now got sale mah,thinking of getting some 1st..i intending to breastfeed since i not working. oso, which steriliser is good? pigeon or avent? now reali no idea wat n which to buy

yes... better child proof the house. my bb was around 1 year old when he walked straight into the corner of a table and blood came out of his eyes.... i cried frantically! luckily not v serious. occassionally, he will acidentally hurt himself bec children being children dont know what real danger is.

tinklebell..

that must be so heartbreaking for u !!!! alamak... glad your son not seriously injured... we really must child proof our house!

yve,

ya ya i intend to buy him a playyard so that he can play within a big enough personal area without fear for safety...

any advise on breast pump? Me thinking of PIS.. would it be too extravagant? Would Medale dual electric pump enough?? How often do u need to pump out per day cos the dual electric pump can only pump 3 times a day..

Yes, okipoki, been to KL recently.. yeah only 2 shops and their prices are reasonable.. thinking of going to JB oso but not going so soon..

angeline, not too sure whether it's true.. but heard that u need to consider the breast pump 1st b4 considering the milk bottles cos certain pumps accept only certain bottles..

oh yes, i might be expecting a boy but only 80% cfmed right now.. so sad

peng,
Why is there a limit to the number of times that the dual electric pump can be used a day? yes, PIS very extravagant. Would advise u to borrow or buy a manual pump first..
Regards to pumps and bottles, can always transfer the ebm (expresses breastmilk) from the bottles provided with the pump to those that u use. Like i transfered from medela bottles to avent bottles for storage.

cos i was told by the sales girl that the madela dual pump can only be used for 3x a day..
oic.. is a manual pump good? cos heard that very tiring to use manual