(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Burmese maids are generally more honest and hardworking. They also can speak Mandarin which is a plus for me cos I cant speak Malay. Cant converse with Indon maids. But guess it also is luck when it comes to maids. I had a part time hrly burmese maid before - she was very honest and I felt I cld trust her. Jus a bit slow cos v meticulous in cleaning.

BB stuff - havent bot a thing leh Tinklebell.Waiting for Robinson sale in Jan. Me got no hand me downs cos this is the 1st bb in my family.. and hb's side also expecting ano bb..

Hey Tinklebell - is it nec to hv a confinemt lady? My mum said she will cook for me etc.. but was wondering if we shd look after the bb at nite ourselves leh. Wondering if I can cope with mum cooking and maid with chores...

Pooh mum - tatz gd. Gd to rest at home ... am also forgoing a trip to Phuket with company cos think bb more important....

Hi K ong,
me too tis week is my 12 wks, next mth Jan wil be my next appt n then wil know e gender. Btw how much is ur package? hmm i hvnt sign up for e package yet, it wil be 4th mth onwards which costs $600.

Wondering e rest of the mummies here sign up liao, how much?

Eh since its 50-50 confirm of gender, how did ur gynac determine from e scan? my gynac saw something sticking out but its pointing straight so i guess probably its girl but gynac also said 50-50. If pointing upwards in e air like Volf's bb wee wee, then its boy. hehe

Me too always feel tired at work. My fren recommends me to eat cream crackers n told me so far her gynac said this biscuits wont cause vomitting n i bought 1 packet keep at office.

Hi kk,
lol u so gan zhong on congrating K ong.
u so cute. usually i wont feel hungry at nite until i vomit every single bits of my dinner, then i wil drink milo. only milo helps me dun vomit leh.

Used to pee many times at nite but nowadays only once or twice or slp all e way. try not to drink water b4 slp.

Dong Gua soup very liang rite, got anything to do w melon, all consider liang. But dong gua soup is 1 of my fav, nice n sweet.

Hi volf,
since e pain is located as e same level as ur belly button, then ur bb is safe. cos my gynac pointed n touched n showed me where my bb is located, which is lower part of abdomen. HTH

Eh i dun think i can take creamy soup else wil vomit. But i love chinese clear soup. u boil chinese soup urself? basically i used to boil soups myself alternate days using slow cooker. but since got pregnant i dun hv e energy. i love lotus root soup n other qing dan one, like ABC soup, si shen, liu wei soup....

Got once i craved for those New moon shark fins can soup n shared w my hubby. yummy.

Hi kite,
I m/c twice before already... after the second m/c I went to the guan yin temple and pray lor...
My last appointment cannot see the gender, too early already. I am only 13 weeks now, going to 14 soon. Last appointment I was only 11 weeks.
This pregnancy was a surprised. Did not plan for it
Wanna rest a few more months initially

Hi Volf,
I cannot stand my house very dirty lor... But now better already, can close one eye sometimes. I am still very tired...

Hi tinklebell,
I have a collection of star wars toys! I put them in the storeroom.. kekeke... No place to display them...

Hi Celeste,
I read that there's mold growth on the peanuts cos they grow just underground. The mold is no good for baby. I roughly remember this, cannot remember the details already. I read already, I will avoid peanuts from now.

hey ladies..

was reading all your posts for today. such a lively discussion

i was out whole day shopping today!! spent another $350 at Spring today making my total expenditure for maternity wear to date $490.. woohoo! hehehe.. it's so fun to have a reason to splurge.

anyways, can't reali 'talk' much now. suppposed to be asleep cos i'm leaving for cameron hihglands at 6am tmr morning.. just dropped in to say hi..

take care ladies. will catch up when i get back on sat yah?

ta ta~~

hey miz_hopeful...

so envy you..i cant go anywhere...thinking of going to malaysia to stay with my grandparents for a while but hb dun allow say dangerous.unless someone accompany me..now nagging him to go cruise..got those promotion in Jan/Feb for the DBS/POSB cards..

volf, if u have a maid and your mother is doing the cooking for u then dont need a confinement nanny. only thing is that u may not be able to rest well at nite. hopefully, if your bb sleeps during the day, u can catch up with your sleep. actually, i learnt a lot of things fr my confinement nanny even simple things like how to use the sterilizer, how to put on diapers, how to bathe bb, how to carry bb the proper way. even if u attend antenatal classes, somehow, it's not the same in real life. if your mum has been taking care of kids the past few years, she may be able to share some valuable tips with u.

****HIAZ****** feeling so tired... am starting to take maxalon pills again.... the MS feels terrible
and i have an irritating cough for 3 months already and it never seems to go away. cant take many types of medicine also

I am new to this thread..I am now expecting my 1st child..currently in my 13 week and EDD is Jun 06..

Can I ask, how much bird nest can a pregnant women take? My mum tells me can take 1 piece every week from now but my pregnant friend tell me can only take 1 'nior'..cannot take too much..

Can anybody advise me?

Hi lyn,
me too my this pregnancy was a surprise for us.
Dun do too much hsework. I m also very Jie Pi one but after i got pregnancy i just leave it to my hubby or just leave it. No choice. Our health is more important.

Hi miz_hopeful,
Wow u bought more from Spring again? care to share what u bought?
anyway enjoy your trip. Nice to take a break.

heez, seems like here got 2 Celeste hor.....mabbe you gals can call me ahblur next time....else a bit luan :p

Me also on duphaston in the beginning, cos I actually had a d/c done in June 05 before, so gynae was kiasu asked me to take duphaston to be safe
Was on initially 3 tablets a day, then gradually changed to 1 tablet a day by week 9

Actually can be off duphaston liowz, but cos I went to walk (shopping) so much that kenna bleeding, so eating duphaston again...*sighz*

volf,

me too din hire confinement nanny for my first. My mum cook for me and help me take care of the bb in the day. At nite, me and my hb take care of bb ourselves.. i think its pretty ok.. just that u will be sleep deprived at nite cos bb drink every 2 hourly. Normally it depends on individual bb but mine took 30-45min to drink his 30ml of milk and burp... by the time he sleep... 1 hour later, he cry for milk again. But we did cope quite well ... just sleep a little in the day lor. For household chore, mainly done by my hb but i helped with hanging the clothes and sometimes vaccuum the floor... first week i cant do much cos my stitch was too painful for me... 2nd week when the stitches was removed... i cant do anything

Down with the cough. Have cough mixture from the doctor. don't worry. it's safe for infants as they give this to babies for cough. taste terrible though.

Was referred to a Orthopedic and a physiotherapist cause I experience "nerve" kind of pain at the hip and lower spine. Both doc said it's normal as hormones is causing muscle to relax and stretch but I need to do exercise to stregthen them while my tumy is still not too big and I'm not too heavy. Bad news is that it may get worse since I will be piling on more weight compared to you ladies here. need to watch posture etc and go for physio session weekly. expensive but thank God I can claim part of it from company insurance.

Otherwise, pretty fine. Didn't buy more clothes this week cause colleagues and all started to bring me their maternity clothes and even gave me their baby clothes.

Will be doing my NT scan and triple blood test by Dr Fong in 3 weeks' time. he said he will do the NT scan for me instead of going to TMC. I don't need to do both test but hubby and I decided we want to be kiasu and do both, be on the safe side.

spicegal - I take bird's nest every week. I think it deends on how much weight you are piling on as well. I mean, if you are overweight or your baby is way too big, you might want to cut down on intake. bird nest is high in protein i think. I take it without sugar.

kite: didnt really ask the gynae in detail, but she looked bet the legs and said probably girl, but not 100% confirmed, so i guess we can only know ltr on during more detailed scans :)

my package is $600 from 12th week onwards.

Lilfeets, ok..maybe I listen to my mum and take every week for 2 months then see how..if baby too big then will cut down..so far I have only put on 0.5kg, initially put on 1.5kg, but lost 1kg during my last check-up.. ;p

am feeling a bit strange today, like very bloated ... and at the same time also very hungry ... dunno what is wrong ...

Spicegal,

U are taking 1 piece of bird nest per week. Me taking 2 pieces of bird nest every fortnight. So roughly the same

Bird nest should be taken in moderation too, as it can be quite liang for the bb and may cause asthma and cough in bb if taken too much.

Miz_hopeful,

Guess u did not catch this message cos u are already on ur way to cameron haha.. did u enjoy ur trip??

Yes, of course we have reasons to splurge on maternity wear haha.. i have spent $600 so far.

Kite,

I think i have to get pants from spring maternity liao. I saw the demi capri u girls bought. I like the cutting too
But can only wear on weekends because i can't wear those type of material to school.

My track pants are getting tight now. The elastic bands making marks on my tummy area liao.

Perhaps i will go shopping later. See how

Volf,

U have more reasons to shop as u have no hands-me-down hahaha.. but gotta spend a bomb. Hands-me-down are good at times, but when u dun really like the design pple pass down to u, then u are in a dilemma take or dun take.

Kite,

Ya, dong gua pretty liang so dun take often
But we are on the heaty side, so sometimes drink not too bad. I dun wanna the headaches to come!!

Just to make sure we boil long enough. Got to boil from morning till nite.

Hi k ong,
Oic. So from the scan, u cant see anything rite, based on gynac told u? cos she gave us e scan, can see something sticking out but probably its ger ger. confuse? cant confirm too.

Hmm probably got wind inside ur stomach? try to eat little and drink warm water.

Hi kk,
yup the demin capri is casual for wkends. Actually got demin jeans too (long one) and different colours too, u can try it out. $65.90 for capri, jeans is $75 if i remember.

so long i never drink Dong Gua soup liao, quite missing it now n the taste but dun dare to drink cos i m a Liang person.

347276.gif
Hello gals!
347277.gif

<center>
347278.gif
<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">June 2006 mums-to-be</font></font>
347279.gif

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="aa00aa">Name</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gender</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dor</TD><TD>01/06/06</TD><TD>Henry Cheng</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mattew Lee's wife</TD><TD>01/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ryue</TD><TD>03/06/06</TD><TD>LC Foong</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pebbles</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD>05/06/06</TD><TD>SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celeste</TD><TD>06/06/06</TD><TD>Gordon Lim</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>MotherOfAPrincess</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>AdrianWoodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>muffinmocha</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yve</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>duffybuff</TD><TD>08/06/06</TD><TD>KL Yam</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>miz_hopeful</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohy</TD><TD>10/06/06</TD><TD>CT Yeong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohmum</TD><TD>11/06/06</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>K Ong</TD><TD>11/06/06</TD><TD>Dr Lim</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>EVAMTB</TD><TD>13/06/06</TD><TD>KH Chan</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peng</TD><TD>14/06/06</TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline Goh</TD><TD>16/06/06</TD><TD>AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvflower</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>FongYang</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>happysunflower</TD><TD>18/06/06</TD><TD>Peter Chew</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinklebell</TD><TD>21/06/06</TD><TD>Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chantelle Tay</TD><TD>24/06/06</TD><TD>KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teo</TD><TD>24/06/06</TD><TD>SM Chua</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>hidora</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>TL Heng</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Volf20</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Suresh Nair</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lilfeets</TD><TD>25/06/06</TD><TD>Fong Yang</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>rms</TD><TD>26/06/06</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>kite</TD><TD>01/07/06</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>medusa</TD><TD>14/06/06</TD><TD>Dr Yang</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milim</TD><TD>04/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>spicegal</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>snoep</TD><TD>15/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>okasan2b</TD><TD>17/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fondue</TD><TD>23/06/06</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>~TBC~ </TD></TR><TR><TD>Arieslim</TD><TD>~TBC~</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></center>

I think it's time to add the exciting column - Gender!
Do update me again please so that I can update the list...
Thank you...

Good mornin gals

welcome to the 2 celeste

hv been reading the posts but yet to post lately. i m simply lazy. keke. tomm is my nxt appt
cant wait to see my bb. Hope to get to see the gender as well as i m going into wk 16 soon.

yest i woke up to pee at 4am and cant sleep till the morn. now i m a zombie. so sleepy now.. yawn. I have been burping these few days. think my tummy always get bloated easily. Anyone still get this after the 1st tri?

Hi Celeste Blur, spicegal,
Welcome to the thread. Do you wanna be in the list? If you do, could you please update me your EDD, gynae and which hospital? And gender if you know already?

Hi Dor,

i am in my 20th week and still burping loudly happily away haha! My tummy not bloated, just burping pretty often, in fact after every meal :p

Do you gals still have sore boobs? I read somewhere that sore boobs will subside... but mine still very sore especially at nite and early morning...

Spice gal,
We have the same EDD... 6 june... That means you should be in your 15 weeks.. today.. not 13weeks leh...

I went to my gyna on 28nov n bb measure 6cm so doctor say 12wks4days.. so by today should be 15 weeks rite?

Anyone bought the doppler to listen to the bb heartbeat? Is it good?? can we really hear the heartbeat as that heard at gynae's place?

K Ong - I've checked: If we want a discounted maid levy, we nd to be mothers first or have elders older than 65 yrs old staying with you. For us, if none of the above, we pay the std maid agency fees (S$295) &amp; salary for maid (depends on Indo, or Filopina, or other nationality). If you hv elders or a younger child, it will cost u S$200.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/ProceduresAndGuidelines/WorkPermit/ForEmployersofForeignDomesticWorkers/GeneralGuideonEmploymentofForeignDomesticWorkers.htm

Am still looking ard for either an Burmese / Myanmar or Indon maid.Havent decided yet.

KK - ya.. cost me a bomb soon. Going to fren's place this weekend to see what I can salvage. She got nice expensive taste... so hopefully, I dun have to buy so much. Maybe black work pants
Many frens with kids recommend me not to buy so much now.. but to buy as and when I nd cos my body shape etc will change as time goes by..unless you buy the baby doll dresses

Lilfeets - hope you are ok...rest more?!

Poohy - ok. Tks for your advise on confinement maid. Will prob do without them now.
Can save $$. Looking for gd Malay massage lady now... heard must book soon.

hey lyn n kk

everytime after a meal, my tummy will sure get bloated into a small balloon lei and my burping automatically start. Now i m takin 3 meals a day cos my appetite is back. Or is that the problem, shld i go back to smaller meals? U gals still hvin 6 meals a day not??
But even w/o meal, also burp... oh my god :p

Lyn, ohh i still hv sore nipples on &amp; off lei. now i can even feel my tummy tightening and feel uncomfortable. these days, i couldnt get a nice position to sleep. sometime i think it's the bb positioning too. this way cannot, that way also cannot... so tiring lei.. whahahahaha

Hi lyn, to add on..my gynae is Lawrence Ang, fm Thomson Women's Clinic, most likely I'll choose TMC to give birth..should be able to know the sex of my baby next month.. ;p

Hi kk, I have not start on bird nest yet, my mum is telling me can start now..cos I am into my 13 week..will go and get a slow cooker this weekend to cook bird nest... ;p

Hi kk,
My boobs is like too heavy n sore when I sleep. My nipples not so sore already
347296.gif

Hi Dor,
I eat bit by bit
Now I am munching steam sweet potato
347297.gif
I just had milo horlick with bread and biscuits half an hour ago
347298.gif
yum yum...
Sleep on my right also pain, sleep on my left also pain. Then sleep on my back, back pain.
347299.gif
I use pillow to support my breasts sometimes...
347300.gif

saw gynae last night... still can't see the gender of bb leh.. so disappointing. now have to wait till 20 wk detailed scan to check for gender.

re: sore boobs
i din experience soreness, but they do feel heavier now and i need to use extensions liao

Hello Dor,

Me find it difficult to sleep too! I guess it will get worse. Now tummy is still manageable. Wonder what will happen when it gets bigger and bigger. I try not to sleep on my back because it will be a strain on the back. So i try to sleep on my sides. Problem comes. My breasts will be sore and it is like pressing on them hardly when i sleep on my sides. But luckily so far, able to sleep well throughout the nite

Yup, i still eat many meals per day. In fact more meals now. Get hungry easily. Last nite i cooked dinner and me and hubby ate at 645pm. After we finished dinner, we had a gathering with his friends at changi. I ate another plate of fish and chips and that was only 8pm!! Not forgetting drink a huge glass of guava juice as well. Wahh, my appetite has never been so good at all before pregnancy hahaha..

Yup, my tummy tightening too and can feel that it is very hard when i press on it heeee...

Hello spicegal,

i got this mini slow cooker to boil my bird nest. The pot very cute, my mum gave me

No problem. In fact most would start intake of bird nest 4th mth onwards when the bb starts to absorb the bu from the tonics. U can take ur own time to start on the bird nest routine

kk, wow, your appetite is soooo good ... mine used to be good but now declining

btw, how many strips of bird nest and how much rock sugar do u have to put to cook the bird nest? and how long is the cooking time? i'm thinking of getting a slow cooker bec will be quite useful.

Tinklebell,

What i do is

(1) Soak 2 pieces of bird nest in warm water for 2 hours. Remove any dirt from the bird nest if there is any.

(2) Put the bird nest into slow cooker together with three-quarter mug of hot water.

(3) Also put 4-5 small pieces of tonics (i think it is yang shen pian) into the cooker, together with rock sugar.

(4) U can also try putting in a few dried longans.

(5) Boil for 2 hours.

hi lyn &amp; dor,

i tried sleeping on my sides but my nose gets very blocked when i turn to my side and i wake up a few times during the night. so far the most comfy position for me is to sleep on my back... but gynae recommended sleeping on sides from now onwards.

Tinklebell,

My appetite too good until i worried when school reopen, where do i find the time to eat???? Somemore school canteen food yucks! Heee...

Oh yes, slow cooker is very useful. Try to get a small pot for bird nest. Then easy to handle and wash too
I dunno whether they still sell those very mini slow cookers. My mum bought hers few yrs back.

lyn: thanks for updating ! the list is growing !
i think my edd pushed back too, but will have to go home and check the new date ...

hi lyn,

we shd be able to see bb gender by now.. but my bb not cooperative leh, gynae scan here and there say can't see... maybe i shd go scan with another gynae juz to check gender.. hahaha.. my hubby sure say i siao and waste money :p

btw, i signed up the antenatal package oreadi.. $620 for 10 consultations, starting from wk 16.

Cookiemz,

Ur situation same as mine lor. My gynae scanned then say dunno boy or girl, will tell me next appt. That's why i only get to know the gender last friday when i went for my detailed scan. It was week 19 then.