(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kk, oh yes am taking folic too, from day 1 of pregnancy :)

Just started neogobin today, cuz was afriad i wld puke it out during the morning. i take another at nite too, i think it's a calcium one.

hi volf,
i also heard from my hubby's fren that Bb Hypermart at Kaki Bukit sells cheaper stuffs and his fren recommends us to buy bb car seat from there.

This is what i obtained from the website:

"There are TWO baby stores at Kaki Bukit to check out. The more famous one is Baby Hypermart. Baby's Kingdom is the lesser known, newer one. And I think it is BETTER. We ended up buying our cot here - the service staff was more attentive and knowledgeable than Baby Hypermart and the quality of cots was definitely higher. But don't take my word for it - check out both! (Since they're next to each other.) You can't miss them, once you get to Kaki Bukit.

Address: 83 Kaki Bukit Ave 1, Shun Li Industrial Park. "

Hi k ong,
me at first took only folic acid. But the day b4 i went visited my gynac n she gave me iron, calcium, neurogain and good bacteria stomach satchet(dissolve into 1/2 glass of water), total 4 types plus my existing folic acid which is 5 types which i hv to take every morning.

my gynac said once i finished my folic acid, no need take liao, just continue taking Neurogain, iron and calcium capsules.

hi ladies - am feeling a slight pain / cramp / feathery pulses on my left tumm that comes & go very quickly. Anyone experienced that? Any cause for concern?

kk,
wat did u buy at kiddy place to have spent $370..

Lyn,
Why cannot eat peanuts? I took alot too.. didnt know its no gd... what is the effect?

I know there is this shop call Bellysima at jln Pemimpin that got nive maternity wear.. but i haven go yet.. anyone heard of that?

And my HB say there is a warehouse at UBI selling baby stuffs.. quite wide variety and got many playpens & baby cot etc.. think i will go there one day and get you all the address... hehee

Hi volf,
is it lower or upper part of abdomen? last sun i got sharp pain on my upper left abdomen n mon i went to see gynac and the bb is fine. My stomach is too sensitive liao too much wind n indigestion thats y causes it. Cos e day b4 i took laska n strawberry. think hv to look for the wat i eat.
Hmm if u worried, probably u can call up ur gynac?

if urs is quick n come n go, then its okie or u monitor for another day.

hi..

sometime i got the pain too.. and its always on my left side... think mime is due to too much wind too......

Am in my 15 weeks now... and getting very tired these few days.. dun know why..

Went to watch King Kong yesterday.. sit till my back ache cos its 3 hrs.. so for those who plan to watch it.. be prepared...

Kite : oh issit ?
mmm ... i better ask her if i sld continue with folic ...
u are abt same week as me right ?
13 week this week.

Hi Kite & Celeste,
The pulse like pain is on the bottom left of the abdomen. Sometimes I wonder if its the bb kicking ..but cant be cos am only 13 wk leh. Maybe its the wind lor. Took sandwich for breakfast, mushroom soup for 10.30am tea, and katsudon for lunch. Nothing spicy leh. Maybe I monitor 1st...

Am also very tired these days. Last evening, I puked all the way back home. Reached home - puke some more. Then puke out dinner. Dunno why. Thot my ms over..

Wah Celeste - you can tahan sitting in 1 position for 3 hrs??! Me sitting 1 hr at work already giving my butt - butt ache...

Hi Volf,

i do get the pain too. Sometimes the pain comes suddenly, but last less than 5 seconds i think hahaa.. as long as it is not persistent, it is ok lah, dun worry

My gynae did not mention about stopping intake of folic acid. Think no harm taking also. It is the smallest pill among all. The rest seem so gigantic haha...

Oh, first movement of bb shouldn't be pain like tat :p U will only feel the strong kicks after 6th mth or so. Now the movement should be pretty light, like finger flicks.

Sigh, just now almost puke out. Think i have been working too hard on the computer liao. Got to finish up some schoolwork before the deadline next week.

Dun worry, u will get occasional MS when u thought it is over. That's what i am going through. But the MS won't stay there for long, dun worry

Hi Celeste,

I bought bb clothes, 2 pairs of mittens and 2 bb caps. Sometimes i find the things too cute to resist, so just go ahead and buy them :p

For bb clothes, i find disney and pooh designs very cute. So i bought around 10 sets for 0-3 mths and 10 sets for 3-6 mths. My hubby so shocked at how much i spent haha..

Is king kong nice?? I am quite worried about lengthy shows as i can't sit still. Now even worse. Need to walk about pretty often, else buttocks very painful. Didn't know the show is that long!

Hi volf,
hv to take notice if its lower part. Cos that mon i pointed to my gynac where was e pain and immediately she told me no need worry as its on the upper part (belly button level). She told me if lower part is where bb is, then must take note liao.
Probably the pain is muscle stretching? when is ur next appt?

Me too, my MS usually occurs in e evening time. i puked everything (dinner) last nite n bcome hungry at 12am n hubby prepared milo for me. now feeling very tired at work. feel very slpy.

Hi K ong,
i m just into 12 wks tis wk. Gynac just asked me to continue and finish off the existing folic acid. Not so sure whether wil she give me more on my next visit. Cos she asked me how much folic left, i told her less than 20 and she said finished it, after that no need take. See how on the next visit whether she wil give.

So when is ur next appt n u know ur gender liao?

Kite: i went for my 12th week appt last week :)
next appointment in Jan - now dont have to go fortnightly, once a mth, and signed up for the package too.

Genger - very likely a girl.

Hubby and I are ok with boy or girl, as long as healthy

Hi Kite - Mine is on belly button level - din know it's regarded as upp part

Hunger - sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night feeling super starving. Most of the time, I try to sleep it off. Otherwise, might munch on a tiny bit of bread.

K Ong,

Nothing makes me full nowadays.. haha.. i can still get hungry after a heavy meal.

U can still eat biscuits. I dun like biscuits, so it is out for me.

Congrats on having a little princess! Is it more or less confirmed? Or subjected to change?

Volf and Kite,

Nowadays i just wish i sleep through the nite without waking up. Once i wake up, i will sure feel hungry. last time before pregnant also sometimes like tat. But then can tahan. Now cannot, once hungry cannot sleep well liao

KK: hehee thanks !
not confirmed yet ... still 50-50 la !

i know how u feel !!! well,a ctually i get full really easily, and hungry again soon ! *sigh*
so hungry now ... feel like going out to buy some cakes ...
(cant' stand eating biscuits now, cuz they remind me of my MS period, when i was hungry, ate the crackers, then promptly puked it out

Nowadays, i wake up at 4am to pee too ...
then can't really get back to sleep thereafter ...

so tired at work ...

K Ong,

Last time was, i ate until halfway stop because really feel like puking then easily full. Now is can continue to eat until not much leftovers and no puking. My mum cooked one plate of vegetables when i dropped by for dinner over the weekend. And i finished the whole plate of vegetables!! And also ate other things. But come home feel hungry liao heeeee...

Cakes are really appetising ya? I enjoyed eating cakes in 1st trimester because it is the only food i can take without puking. But i realise cakes are not filling at all. I can eat half a kg cake at one go before i was pregnant and dun feel full :p

Have u all stopped running for the toilet during nite time? Previously got to wake up at least 3 times at nite to pee. Luckily now at most once. And sometimes can tahan still morning then pee :p

Nowadays, I pee only once at nite. Some nites, 2 times. Previously 3-4 times also have. At least there's more undisturbed sleep now ..

KIte - if you go for cake, my gynae recommended staying away fr the cheese cake types cos you may not know how fresh the cheese are. Can cause nausea and ms. How abt drinking soups when hungry? I like campbell type & I toast a pc of bread to dip with it. I love it. Now cos working, I settle for similar soups for nearby cafes .. those freshly made ones like Cedele. Rather ex.. but I think its better than the Delifrance or Hans type. Got pumpkin soup or asparagus soup.. heehee.. am into soups now. Then at dinner, will hv a chinese clear soup

Volf,

U make me sooo hungry!! Hahaha...

i love soups too
But dun have much chance to take those western soups
Now i cook my own chinese soup at nite. When school reopens, dunno how. No time to cook dinner liao
I still prefer home-boiled soups.

Any recommendation for campbell soup? Everytime i buy not nice leh. Then take too much become very scary. Scared of the taste.

hahaaa, so my hunger pangs are normal :p

Just went out to buy soon kuay !

Volf: oh yes, soup is def good too ... just that I had puked my soup i ate from Dome last Mon, so now i have an adversion to soups :p

Hi poohmum,

dont walk too much for now...me last week went shopping on friday nite, sat shopped at orchard from 12pm till 5+pm without resting, then sunday went out with frens for lunchy and walk a bit also....then sunday nite found brown bleeding!!

Went to my gynae and he told me to take hormone pills, am okies now liowz....not even spotting now.....so must remember dont walk too much yet for now hor

heehee. I usually buy Campbell Mushroom or Chicken soup. Then I add 1 tin of water and boil. Then sprinkle some ground black pepper and or oregano... voila! Toast bread to dip. Slurp. Hahha. The ones fr St Michael also v gd. I can finish the entire can myself. There's also the chunky type ..

Actually chinese soups are so much healthier..hhaha. KK - if you have a crock pot, you can throw the food in the pot, add water and seasonings before you go to school. By the time you get back, you will hv nice soup. I used to prepare the black chicken the nite before and put in fridge. Next morn, I put chicken and wolfberries etc and water in pot and go to work. By the time I get home at abt 7+pm, I hv nice soup. Just nd to cook rice (v fast)& fry 1 veg.

Hi Celeste Blue - welcome welcome

K Ong,

We can eat soon kuey ah? Because inside got white turnip and it's liang. Soon kuey is my love
But i haven't eaten that for long time liao

Yesterday afternoon for lunch, i da boleh tahan, and bought fried carrot cake. Some say cannot eat white carrot as it is very liang too.

Volf,

I normally only buy campbell chinese soup series. I love the fish maw soup and corn soup
Also add one can of water, then beat one egg in. Nice
But i dun eat that often. I scared because campbell soup they say contain lots of MSG.

St michael???

Have u tried knorr's before? Or there is one brand called Evon or something like tat. My friend once told me very nice but i never try yet.

HOHOHOHO... i wake up at 530am everyday leh!! I bathe and get ready, and have breakfast, by the 615 am got to leave home liao heeee.. dun even have time to get the ingredients ready :p Unless i cut up everything the nite before like u do. But then, i wonder whether i have the energy and time at time.. heeee...

WOW, somemore fry one veg when u get home?? I think my hubby will kill me, because by the time dinner is ready, it is 8++ pm, i would be very hungry by then, also he need to clean up the kitchen and wash the dishes after that :p

Celeste_Blur,

WELCOME!!

Hihi kk

i also got eat soon kueh lehz, but not frequently lah....i guess as long as eat in moderation shld be fine?

Hi celeste_blur,

Yah, everything eat in moderation is ok
Sometimes we read too much about this cannot eat that cannot eat. But difficult to exert control! Especially if it is our favourite food, rite?

Oh by the way, i am not supposed to be in this thread because my EDD is 1st may heee.. i came in to kaypo and end up talking here everyday.

Celeste Blur - Am 12 wks going onto 13 wks this Fri. EDD is 25 June

KK - See how lah next time. Maybe you can order tinkat catering for dinner next time. May be more economical than eating out every nite. And choose to hv 1 soup. Who will take care of yr bb next time when you go to work? That's ano issue we hv to tackle..

K Ong,

YAH RITE!! Rather than feeling so miserable hahaha...

Volf,

Have u tried those cater dinners? My brother ordered for some time and gave up!! The food is awful and not fresh. I wanted to try all along but due to most negative feedback i gained, i gave up too heee...

My mil will take care of the bb lor
And most likely will drop by for dinner liao. But my mil dun really cook well, so i take the opportunity now to do more own cooking

kk - no worries lah. Nice to have u ard here... also becos you are way -ahd of us, you can advise us based on yr experiences .hahha

Me never tried those catered dinners. Just heard abt them. Maybe she can cook extra for you ..tho not so great?
For me, MIL will take care of bb for me. But, intending to train my new maid (getting in May) to cook for me... see how lah...

Hi celeste blur. welcome...

Hey I ate lotsa soon kway too leh during my 1st trim.. but now no craving for that liao.. so stil safe.. haha..

By the way.. which gynae did u all go to? anyone using Gordon Lim from Glen-E?

Actually you know i was on Pregnl injection twice a wk from beginning of my current pregnancy till wk 12.. now is once a week till wk 16.. and also everyday have to have progesterone inserts in mornin n nite.. anyone got the same situation here?

Think i am too weak and skinny..

Volf,

Hahaha, hopefully i won't wu ren zi di :p
i just share what i heard and read. Sometimes too lazy to go and find out more also lah :p And somemore first time preggie, super blur sotong :p

U stay near ur mil?

Volf: am also thinking of getting a maid, but do we actually have to be mothers first before we can get the maid levy ?
Ie, if we get a maid before popping ?

Celeste,

Funny hor, sometimes we eat a lot of a particular food in 1st trimester, but suddenly no craving for that food subsequently heeee... for me, it is spicy food. Now no more craving liao.

Nope, me under Dr Lim TC. He is moving between Mount A and TMC and i choose TMC. His clinic is at tanglin shopping centre. Basically a one stop centre. i did all my tests and scans there.

I only had progesterone pills for a week when i had spotting in week 6. Then also a jab. After that no more.

HI Celeste - I had progesterone inserts once a day in the early wks of pregnancy. Then later, 1 had 2 separate jabs cos I was bleeding. Am now on progesterone tablets. You must take care & try to move as lil as possible - my gynae's advise. We are considered weak. So nd all these to stabilise bb
Dun stress ya.

celeste,

i cook a few soups:

lotus root soup - pork ribs, lotus root, red dates, peanuts

chokos soup - pork ribs, chokos, red dates

huai shan soup - pork ribs, raw huai shan, wolfberries

corn soup - pork ribs, maize, carrots

Very simple. Just put all together and slow boil

kk - Am lucky or unlucky..hahha.. my parents in law and bro-in-law & his family stay next door to us ..hahah.

K Ong - Err.. I dun know leh. I will go check it out and let u know?
But I think shd be no problem. If you wanna get, shd get 1 2mths in advance of your EDD.. so you can train the maid properly. AM thinking of getting a Burmese one cos they are usually more honest, and hardworking. Indo - a bit stupid for some. Filopinos - I dun trust them (bring home men & all), and nd 1 day off. Will chk and let u know if you are keen.

my face is very very very oily !!! quite depressing, cuz getting huge zits on my chin ...
anyone with recommendation on what pimple cream to use ?
i am oging to see a skin doctor end of the month ...

Oh, sometimes (not too often), i also boil dong gua soup. Also pork ribs, dong gua and red dates.

On Monday my mum boiled lao huang gua soup. Pls note that this can be very very very cooling. So must boil from morning till nite. Ingredients are pork ribs, lao huang gua, cuttlefish and ginger (to remove the liang).

volf: oh yes, pls lemme know if you have any other info. Burmese ah ? is that common ?
was thinking of Indo ... my hubby is malaysia so can speak malay, perhaps can train her ... heehee

Volf,

u would consider that lucky next time because u can just pop by to "collect" ur bb hahahahaa...

My in laws stay one LRT stop away. They just moved over beginning of the year. Last time used to stay at pasir ris, which seems near to sengkang but yet far.

Do u happen to apply the flat with ur in laws? Or u got a resale unit beside them? Such a coincidence heeeee...

For filipino maids, some of them may not want that 1 day off in exchange for extra cash. I think that's what my brother's maid did. I liked his maid - very responsible and fluent in english!

One good thing is filipinos maids understand english rite? Indonesiam maids sometimes only understand malay so we have communication problems heeee...

My second brother just sent back one burmese maid. He cannot tahan her. She smiled cheekily at basically any bangladesh worker downstairs.

So it depends on individuals

hello kk
i didnt go Plaza Sing
just came back from shopping at J8 cos my mum wants to go there....
had my favourite tomato soup at delifrance .... v yummy

volf, i may also need to have a maid. i donno anyone with burmese maid... actually how are their work performance? i dont want an indo bec a bit hard for us to cater to their eating requirements. my ex-fili maid was ok. dont go for those v young ones lor.... my ex-maid was 37 ,... can do most housework ... only thing is that sometimes lazy and slow lah... anyway, most of them when they just arrive v hardworking. after a while the lazy streak comes in. for me, as long as they take good care of my kid, i just close one eye on other things.

re: buying of bb cot
u all started buying bb stuff already? i will use most of the hand me downs from my lao-da if i can find them... only thing is to decide whether to use a bb cot or a play-pen with basnet. fr my past experience, bb does really like bb cot and keeps knocking his head on the wooden railings... but if i use the basnet in the play-pen, he cant sleep there for long.

re: confinement lady
how abt confinement lady? are your mils or mothers doing confinement for u? they are quite useful bec they help u to look after bb at nite and cook for u confinement food. i had one last time but not sure if i want to get one this time. any mummies here have experience without confinement nanny? can cope or not?

Celeste

Ya lor, I think I walked too much.. must try to relax.
I even decided not to go to Sabah for an event that I have to work on. Going to send my staffs.
Decided baby more impt. I am in week 14 and hope all goes smoothly from now on.

Poohmum