(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Celeste,

I have seen this formula before, shared by another gal earlier in this thread i think. Wonder if kite and the rest remember
I was wanting to ask just now whether any of u still remember this formula. Thanks celeste!

But hor, not accurate for me!! I counted and the number is 27 which is odd and mine is a girl!

did you get the chinese month correct? you must work it out with a calender beside you..

or did i mix it up? Odd is gal & even is boy.. can someone verify.. if not i will need to check with my aunt again...

got another thing to ask... when will the line from pelvis to bottom of belly button appear huh?

KK,
Do you have that line already?

Yah, my conceive month is august. I check with the lunar month and this converts to lunar july

Volf can calculate see accurate or not

Line?? What line?? Heee.. if i dunno, most likely i dun have any line :p

no lah... mine still small... how to have stretch mark.. but i remem last time my SIL show me the line lor.. hehehe...

hi Celeste - am 12wks going to 13 wks tis Fri. I did my NT scan at wk 12 last Fri.

Actually I think difft gynaes choose to do difft scans. Mine chose NT Scan & blood test at the same time. And becos results are gd, I dun hv to do triple tests etc. For kk, hers didnt do NT scan & moved on to triple test. Think these tests are meant to check for abnormalities.. and work well either with each other or separately.

hey - tried the chinese gender calculation. Not accurate for me leh. I got a positive number & am supposed to hv a boy boy leh..

KK - ya, I am also starting to get some hairs on tumm... the line Celeste is talking abt - am also getting a faint line. It's not a stretch mark, but I think all preggies will get it sooner or later.

talking abt the line .... even before i was preg already have such a line bec i expand and contract fast... one moment fat another moment back to normal .. i guess tat's how the line came abt

hi mummies-to-be,
do you knwo if it's ok to drink Chrysanthemum tea?
the sort that you make yourself ? Ie, the flowers soaked in hot water ?

feeling very heaty today ... dunno if it's the weather or just me ... sigh

K_Ong, i drink that almost every day bec i tend to get uclers and sore throats. i drink those 3 in 1 type. sometimes my mum will make the drink fr chrysanthemum flowers. actually i prefer it home made cos not so sweet.

The weather is horrid today. I went out for lunch, after which I got a horrid headache. Felt so sick... brain not working leow.. so not really contributing at work now.

Hi al..

Chrysanthemum tea shld be fine..

I got a sudden craving for pineapple.. can eat abit or not huh??? arhhhhhhhhhhhh

thanks for the info mums ! yeah, i prefer those made at home type, cuz not so sweet
the weather is sooooo hot today ...

celeste: apparently pineapple not good for pregnant women ...

not sure abt pineapple tarts though ....

hi kk, Celeste,

as for the calculation, i cant confirm cos the week of conception was either Aug or sep in lunar. But i think shld be in Sep. So it wil be odd thus boy but my instinct telling me its a girl leh. not accurate?

do u all eat fruit cakes or pies bought from cake shop? recently i ate a few. shld be okie rite?

Kite,

Actually u can count based on ur bb measurement and know whether it is conception in aug or sep in lunar.

The rule of thumb is the week when u conceive, that week is counted as week 2. The following week will be week 3. U go on counting the number of weeks and see which one tally with ur bb measurement week. That will be ur conceive month liao

Previously i also not sure my conceive mth is july or aug, and worse, they are one week after another. Now i know how to count liao

Haha, when i was in my first trimester, cakes were my favourite. Fruit cakes and pies should be ok. They just basically contain raisins rite? The only concern is high sugar content :p But u eating for christmas only? Then occasional indulgence shouldn't be a problem :p

Celeste,

I heard pineapple tarts are ok since the pineapple paste is fully cooked. I remember my mil bought some for me in my 1st trimester but i didn't eat them because dunno ever since when, i dun have love for pineapple tarts anymore.

Pineapples are a no no now. I heard from my mum can only start to eat some in 3rd trimester.

K Ong,

Chrysanthemum tea is ok. I drink that once per week ever since i got headache few weeks ago. But now no more headaches so i try not to drink. When headaches come again (Touch wood!), i have to start to drink again liao.

There is one type of white chrysanthemum. More whitish in colour compared to the yellow type which need boiling over the stove. U can get the white chrysanthemum and just pour boiling water over it. Add some rock sugar and it turns out nice liao
White chrysanthemums more suitable for preggies.

Dun drink barley ok?? Barley is definitely a no no although some preggies still drink and find it no harm. So it is up to individuals.

Today spend a bomb at kiddy palace again. I ran through the hands-me-down from my SIL last weekend and find some clothes rather old. So i got some new ones from kiddy palace today. Spent $370!! OMG! Think i better dun step out of the house anymore, else will end up spending and spending.

need some advice:
Today had been a hectic day for me.. morning brought my mother in law to TTS for check up.. had to walk up n down regarding her results. Come back to office, had to go get X'mas decors / 20 presents for tomorrow's office X'mas lunch. Working in Bugis so went rochor to get the decors then went to OG at Albert court. Cannot find anything there so walked to Seiyu... My colleagues carried most of the stuffs. I carried the light items. Back in the office had to do decorations but did not climb etc. Went to toilet about 6.40pm and discovered undie got brown like coloured discharge.... Do you all think I was under too much stress!!!! I am thinking of monitoring my situation before going to KK A&E.

Poohmum

Hi Celeste,
I am 13 weeks, going into 14 weeks
I had backache at 8 or 9 weeks, then it subsided, but these few days I have been very busy and doing lots of housework, backache is coming back... It might be a little bit different for me cos I have back problems.

Hi Kite,
I went to "guan yin" get a "qian" before I got pregnant
. My hubby wanted a boy cos all his friends have gal gal. But my side, most of my friends have boys. My hubby also wants a boy to "inherit" his star wars... hahaha...
I think it's gonna be a gal gal

Hi K Ong,
Glad that you are fine now
Take care

Talking about diet... I have not put on weight since 3 weeks ago. Dunno is it good or bad. I only eat one main meal a day. I just dun feel hungry... Nowadays I prefer spicy food. I am starting to eat chilli again. I love mee siam...

I was reading up about diet during pregnancy, we are not suppose to take peanuts
which I have been taking in large quantity cos I crave for it - peanut butter, min jiang kuih, etc. Chamz liao... hopefully havent hurt my baby...

Hi miz_hopeful,
I went to Penang for biz and leisure
There are lots of tasty food. I ate the famous char kuay teow but I think it was overpriced at RM5 per plate.
Housework never seems to end. When one part finish cleaning already, the other part needs cleaning already and it goes on and on... I still feel very very tired for this pregnancy. Dunno the tiredness will subside or not...

Miz_hopeful and tinklebell,
Think you both cannot come my house... kekeke... sure think I am dirty bum... :p I used to sweep and mop the floor daily.. but now, I try not to do these chores daily... :p
When my niece and nephews came a few weeks ago, I can even step on rice almost everywhere in the house.

Hi Lilfeets,
Do you know the gender already? kekeke... getting very exciting..

Hi kk,
how to base on my bb's measurement to calculate my conception mth? me stil confuse. Last appt bb measured at 5cm at 11wks+

Yes recently my bday n ate mango and strawberry cakes, yummy. Think wil control. But these days losing wght, appetite not good esp in e evening which is my MS.

Hi lyn!
Wow u went Guan Yin even b4 u were pregnant.
Same here, my hubby prefer a boy cos can follow him do sports as my hubby very active in this.
Well, but my instinct tells me mine wil be a gal. Btw ur last appt, cant see ur bb's gender ah?
hiding e private part? hehe So if tis round urs is a girl, i guess next one u wil try for a boy? cos my pregnancy is not planned one, was a surprise for us (can say accident) so next one wil plan. hehe

hi Lyn - Try not to do hsework leh. You will tire yourself out.. Perhaps hire a part-time wkly maid if hubby too busy to help? As it is, it is v tiring to be pregnant... For me, by the time I get to work, am so tired already. I got a part time maid to help. Next yr, will employ a full time maid to help ... Hope my energy comes back soon.

Hi Good morning!

poohmum, u went to see a doc already? hope u are ok.

lyn, your hubby also a star wars fan? errr ... mine too and both father and son now must watch star wars every night ***faint*** my house is also v dirty lah... i like it neat and clean but i cannot afford the time to keep it spic and span as i would like it to. with my son ard, it only takes an afternoon to mess up the whole place

yipee.... will be on leave in the afternoon ... anywhere nice to go in town?

Tinklebell,

Wow, u seem to be on leave pretty often. Clearing ur leave at this time of the year? Enjoy yourself and happy shopping!

Kite,

So u are at 11 weeks during ur last appointment which is two days ago rite? If i am not wrong, ur conception date should be around 7 Oct?

Yah, previously i also can't eat dinner because my MS always hit at 4pm sharply haha.. now pretty good appetite for all meals of the day
Last nite dinner was around 7pm. I got hungry again at 9pm

Hi Lyn,

I previously loved mee siam too! Because it is spicy and sour heee.. but now no craving already heee...

Oh, me eating peanuts too! i dun take peanut butter though. I use peanuts in my soup, when i boil soup like lotus root soup. I read about peanuts too. But what i read is that only when mummies are allergic to peanuts, then shouldn't eat cos bb will develop allergy to peanuts too. Else it is ok to consume. My mum even fry one whole bottle of peanuts with ikan bilis to go with white porridge whenever i have that for lunch. I think in moderation should be ok lah. Just dun eat large quantities of peanuts everyday :p

Hi Poohmum,

I think u have been moving around too much already, that's why brown discharge. When i had my brown discharge in my week 6, my gynae asked me to rest more and not to put myself under stress. Brown discharge is not a big problem. But if it continues, do see ur gynae ok? The only advice they often give is to take lots of rest, that's all.

Hi kk,
yes i always predict my conception date is on 8 Oct. hehe That is a sat if i m not wrong.
Today i wil be 12 weeks if not wrong.

Kite,

Based on ur bb measurement, it is 5 cm. So that is 11.5 weeks which convert to 11 weeks 3 days on Monday when u went for ur appt

So, u are into ur 12th week around this coming friday
And that almost marks the end of ur 1st trimester!

unlike u ladies who had ms and loss of appetite.. my apettite remains more or less the same even with ms previously.... i can still take all the food i used to take. Maybe that's why me getting heavier.... my weight is abt 47kg now... so sian... hope it will remain there till 1 more month hehee

By the way, i felt my bb movement again. And it happens 5 am!!! I felt it twice. I dunno why my bb likes to move around at that kind of late hours hahahaa...

Poohy,

U are so lucky! Able to take whatever food u want

U are only 47 kg! Dun worry, still can afford to eat.. heeee... unlike me, around 52kg liao.

kk, these 2 weeks will be clearing my leave
just nice christmas season ... got lots of things to see. thinking of going to plaza sing.

aiyo so hungry now ..can near my tummy growling...nothing to eat leh. to think i just ate a HUGE chicken pie this morning.

Tinklebell,

Me thinking of going plaza sing later too!! But weather very hot leh, so dunno what to go or not :p

Now i think i can finish one whole durian swiss roll in one morning. My hubby say i very scary, eat so much hahahaa...

When we went out last sunday, it seemed like i had been eating non stop. Looking for places to eat every 2 hours or so. My hubby say he is eating the same rate as me. When my tummy goes back to original next year, his remains bloated hahaha..

hi kk,
wow me stil blur leh. or can u PM me to explain step by step on how to calculate? paiseh trouble you.

Btw u remind me of Angie choice's durian roll. yummy yummy. Hubby n i went Tampines last wkend but couldnt find Angie choice cos closed shop liao.

so cute. how do u feel when the bb moving around inside u? wat is e feeling like? cant wait to feel it too. starting from which mth?

btw is 5cm at 11wks of normal length? gynac said okie. wondering wat was urs?

hi all !
was a bit queasy this morning, but luckily didnt puke ! eating peanut butter and honey toast now with a cup of teh-Si. Yum !
heeheee

I read abt the allegery to peanuts too, but i think that affects caucasians right ? not for asians ??

went the perfect mums yesterday and bought a maternity bra, it's really comfortable !!! but quite pricey, at $59 !!
it can be used as a nursing bra too, so dont mind investing in it ...

wow, talking abt mee siam, am slivating now !!!

Kite,

Heeeee, are u confused how to get 11.5 weeks?

There is this brand of swiss roll sold at ntuc very nice
When it is on offer, it is sold at around $9.90 for pack of 2. One durian and one chocolate
If i dun buy any breakfast for the next day, i will eat that instead

Tampines angie choice close shop liao???? I still remember it is near one entrance door. Business not bad leh.

There is feeling of water current going from left to right in the tummy heeee... very very soft touch. First time i felt it on saturday also like tat. That time after 12 midnite leh. Now 2nd time is at 5am!!

Yes yes, 5 cm at 11 weeks is perfectly OK! The rule of thumb is to add 6.5 to length of bb to get number of weeks u are in. For urs, will be 6.5 + 5 = 11.5 weeks = 11 weeks 3.5 days.

My gynae say as long as it is 11 weeks x days, it is still considered 11 weeks. Not 12th week yet. Even if it is 11 weeks 6 days, it is still considered 11th week. Got it?

And if u count back from 11 weeks, u get ur conception date which is in oct. It tallies exactly, u notice. So ur bb is growing at the perfect rate

talking abt food, i am soooo hungry now =P

k_ong, i was looking thru those clothes i bought i still like those i bought fr sungei wang best.. cheap and nice. the label on the clothes V-Mum or something like that....to think one halter costs less than S$20 only. next time u go there, i may be tempted to tong-pang u to buy
hee heee

tinklebell: yar! the prices are so much cheaper than here right ?! ok ok, will let u know when i go again, can take orders - heehee

hi kk,
thanks for ur explaination. sound expert leh! i didnt know add 6.5 to bb's length (5cm) can estimate the weeks we are in. so amazing. ur gynac share this info w you? wow!!!
So monday which i saw gynac was 11wks3.5days. Buy gynac said today is exactly 12weeks leh, maybe she estimate one?

wondering where got Angie's Choice outlets?

k_ong, not just the price but the design also very special
i love them so much...wanted to wear but still look too big on me at the moment.

hello ladies - are you gals interested to order beansprout husk pillows for your bbs? Got the contact fr a gal in the Mar thread. A homemaker makes the pillows with cases and will deliver to yr house for $10 per pillow. Pillow comes in 1 or 2 colors & you can opt to embroider bb's name on the pillow case. Am thinking of getting 2. Supposed to help absorb shocks for bb. Placed on bb tumm. Retail stores selling at abt $19 each. If many keen, I can check w the gal and get more details.

Kite,

Ya, my gynae already mentioned the 6.5 thingy in my first appt. That time still a bit blur because sometimes he talk very fast and then we too nervous then never listen properly heeeee... after that become "expert" liao. That's basically how he calculate the number of weeks for all appt so far.

Plus and minus lah.. anyway u are going into 12th week for sure this week :p Sometimes the bb can be 1-2 days growing in advance or lag behind, but the week shouldn't be consistent

Oh, got one angie choice newly opened at upper serangoon road. It is near the paya methodist church. But where do u live? dun think u wanna travel long distance to get angie :p

Tinklebell,

Sigh, make me happy.. i thought sungei wang somewhere in singapore where i can drop by to shop hahahahaa..

Hi Volf,

I check with my mum first. I think last time they make the pillows themselves. They collect beansprout husks from the market seller then dry them and sew the pillowcases up themselves.

Hi kk,
i live in e west, parents live in north. i believe there are other Angie outlets in different area of Spore

Btw just curious at which mth, bb's private part start to form n bcome obvious at which mth?

I am ok now... this morning when i wipe still got a bit of leftovers but definitely no more spotting. I did not see my doc.

Tinklebell think u r right.. I had walked too much yesterday. Gotta take it easy for now.

Poohmum

Hi kk,
Thanks. Seems like their stores are quite limited. Not very well spread.

Hehe i m very curious like when bb's bodies part are forming like e brain, fingers n etc plus the private part haha. me quite a kan zhong person. that time wedding also like that n other relating to big occasions.

Kite,

Dun gan jiong dun gan jiong heeee...

i read that by the end of 1st trimester i.e. 12th week, the main organs of the bb would have been formed already. Other little things like toenails, fingernails, teeth, etc will slowly form after that.

is anyone taking supplements now ?
am 12th week, gynae just gave neogobion - which is huge - in my opinion ... so hard to swallow ...

K Ong,

U only taking neurogain?

Me neurogain, folic acid and multivits. Have been taking them since 1st appt. No addition of other supplements. Probably dun need them.

I read from postings that if bb dun absorb the supplements, they will be deposited on the mummy instead.

Perhaps can ask ur gynae about it to see whether it is necesary to take other supplements