(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi kite...
Wow... I did not know baby will be surrounded with pieces of food we eat...
I dunno the gender yet. My hubby is hoping for a boy. For me, no preference. My MIL likes gal. My cousins predict that I will have a boy cos I eat lots of alkaline food. "Guan yin" also says I will get a gal. And from the birth calender, I gonna have a gal. hee... dunno who's right...

Hi all... Thanks for all the advise...

Aiya.. my appetitie actually change.. last time I dun like to eat sweet stuffs but now.. i can go out and get candy & chocolate for myself.. and previously i cant live without chilli.. but now... the sight of chilli make me puke.. even i go out eat noodles I will order one without chilli.... real funny... and now i love fruits... which i dun touch previously... really weird right? haha

People say cannot take Rojak cos the Shrimp paste is very "DU" (poisonous).. next time baby skin not smooth and nice... and for orange they say next time baby will have lotsa flam and bad lings... this really worrry me....

Lyn,
My EDD is around 6June06 but I intent to for C-Sect.. so have to be weeks earlier... dun know why.. My Gynae is Gordon Lim from Glen E.. Anyone using him? I am still deciding wjethter to go Glen E or Thomson.. ANy suggestion? What about your EDD? How many weeks are you now?

jus something to share.. during my early pregnancy, when I gor very bad MC, I will drink a bott of chicken essence.. and that helps me to relieve my MS.. dun know why.. and my fren who weeks also say that helps for her.. so for those that have MS .. maybe can giv it a try to see it works for you all..

Another thing to ask...

Is it too early for me to have backache now? I cant sit too long now a days leh.. dun know whether is it normal...

Any do you think we can go for Special Massage at this stage?/ really miss my massage... any to recommend if can do massage...

Hi Lyn,
hehe i didnt know the tiny bits are the food too til she told me. How many wks are u in now? i m coming into 12 wks.
Hey same here leh. My hubby hoping for a boy cos boy boy can follow him n play until crazy w him. Me no preference as long bb healthy.
Dunno leh y my MIL and my frens said i m hving boy by looking at e gender chart but dun think very zhun leh, even gal i also like. Wow u stil go Guan Yin ah to find out e gender ah. seems like we 2 very anxious abt gender. But what is ur personal instinct? hehe

Morning Ladies!

Who are planning to watch chicken little? Me and hubby caught the cartoon before going for our cruise. The cartoon was really cute, short and sweet
It has been a long time since the last time i kept myself awake throughout in the theatre haha..

Hello Kite,

Happy to know everything's fine with u and ur bb!

Yup, u are able to know the gender of bb by 4th mth
So that is ur next visit?

Hmmm, that thing up or down ah? No leh, the gynae who did my detailed scan said he can see nothing so it is a girl heeee... does what ur gynae say refer to earlier stage to determine gender?

Anyway my bb girl very naughty, always never open the legs wide enough for us to see. Hopefully it is really a bb girl heeee...

By the way, all the pregnancy charts dun work on me. All say me having a boy.

Hi Celeste,

I can't sit long too. My buttocks will be very painful and i myself will become very impatient. So i prefer to walk around

As for massage, u may like to check it out with a gal Annie in the May thread
I think she has been going for massage.

Yah, i also heard that oranges cause phlegm in bb. But strictly speaking, doctors dun discourage the intake of oranges. Pregnancy books also encourage taking oranges. Just take in moderation lor. And if u are really worried, stick to apples

Hello Lyn,

Guanyin very accurate.. u may get a girl heee..

Lyn/KK: thanks for your concern. Only had discharge for that one day, and it was the day after i had really bad whole-day sickness, so i think sld be fine. :) Am feeling fine now.

Miz_hopeful: when your MS went away, did you feel very very hungry suddenly ?? I seem to be getting better these days (in terms of MS) and i'm sooo hungry ! Tummy seems to be growling ever so often, and i'm afraid to let it go hungry cuz i dont like the feeling of the stomach acid juice being relased.
Just wondering if hunger is a good sign that MS is over for me !??

Hello K Ong,

Taking about hunger. I have been feeling hungry very easily recently. Have been eating about every 1-2 hours haha.. especially when it is holiday time for me. Seems to be eating non stop!

And worse thing is, if hunger strikes me and i dun eat, acid will be released and then it will make me feel very unpleasant and sick

hi K Ong & KK - Me too. Hungry every 2-3 hrs. For now, soup or toasted bread satisfies me. If I dun eat, I will feel v sick and tired. So I eat lor... Hope I dun become a big fat pig.

harlow there again ladies

k ong, kk..

YES! when my MS went away i became hungry constantly.. been eating and eating and eating.. the first thought that enters my mind the minute i wake up is what to get for breakfast. hee hee
perhaps your MS is really coming to an end. yeay!

and just like what kk said, if i get hungry and i dont quickly eat anything then i will get that unpleasant MS feeling again.. so i try to eat many many small meals every day.

i'm not too worried about the weight gain either. the book 'what to expect when you're expecting' says that on average we're supposed to be gaining abt 1 pound per week from 2nd trimester onwards. that's about 500g a week and approx 2kg per month. i think we're quite safe if we're eating smaller portions many times a day rite?

hi lyn,

did you go to penang for a holiday? how's the place?

i know what you mean about the housework.. it never seems to end rite? i am glad the festivities are over for me though. cleaning and preparing the house for many guests at one go is really not an easy thing so i do empathise with what you have to do to prepare for christmas. but don't you just love the feeling of looking at nicely done up house after a good session of cleaning and rearranging etc etc?

heeehee... my friends say i'm a clean freak!

Hello Volf,

I cannot imagine leh.. now i have already gained 4 kg. If my bb only weigh 2-3 kg by the time she is borned, the rest of the weight goes to me leh! But i cannot stop eating leh. If acid released, i burp, my throat and chest will be very uncomfortable. I think it is what they call heartburn, ya?

Morning Miz_Hopeful,

Yah rite! When i feel hungry on the bus, my nauseous feeling comes back and i feel like merlion again hahaha... it is quite bad over the past 2-3 days

i wonder if school reopens, how leh? We can't possibly have time to eat as and when we like mah rite?

Hi Good Morning!

So good to hear that all your MS clearing... BUT mine seems to be starting
feels quite nausea and bloated all the time. Although i feel nausea, i also keep feeling hungry and have special cravings for nice food. but after taking them, i tend to vomit after a while
just like yesterday, i craved so much for bak gua, took 1 pc and after that vomitted out everything. Feels terrible.

I got a call fr gynae last nite. thank God the test results for my oscars ok

Tinklebell,

Maybe try to avoid oily food. Ba gua is pretty oily :p

I realise a lot of preggies can't go for spicy and oily food. It makes their MS worse. Just the opposite for me actually. I go for spicy food previously and oily food has no effect on me.

miz_hopeful, i am a clean freak too.. cannot stand dusty floors and dirty toilets. i have invested in a good vacuum and air ioniser to make me feel better and i feel really happy after vacuuming the house. just on sat i did a bit of spring cleaning. the house was very clean.... but it only takes a day for my son to mess it up
**hiaz**

kk, i happened to walk past mei zhen xiang yesterday and my bak kua craving came ... couldnt help it ... i just want to sink my teeth into it
i've somehow become a carnivore ... used to hate meat and only take fish and veg... now, it's the opposite.

Tinklebell,

I wonder how i am going to clean up my place next time. Yesterday my 3 nieces and nephew dropped by with my mum. Aidoi, they messed my place up every minute. I have to go round, bend down pick up their rubbish. They eat, they throw wrappers on floor. They open all my drawers and play with all my fridge magnets. Tiring!!!

went for my scan yesterday and learnt that my twins are faternal (ie. non identical) so lower risk. babies are fine and healthy. one of them was boucing (twice) and waving. so cute. Will be doing my NT scan and triple blood test in a couple of week's time.

back/pelvic hurting lately so seeing a physiotherapist to help.

kk, u need to train your gal right fr young. we used to have a maid who treated my son like a prince ... after her contract ended, we found it difficult to retrain him to be neat

Tinklebell,

Same same.. i became a meat meater when i was having MS. Now back to my veg diet heeee.. but i still dislike fish. Never ever i like fish haha... but i make myself eat at least twice per week, be it fresh fish, or through other means like fillet, fishballs, etc.

Tinklebell,

My nieces and nephew terribly spoilt. Have maid too. So it might not be a good thing to have maid in the home to do everything for the kids. Now after they play, they dun keep their toys because there is always someone to keep for them. Bad bad!

kk, i still cannot eat veg, esp green veg. just the look at it makes me sick
but i try to compensate by taking more fruits.

kk, having a maid has both good and bad points. basically, i felt grateful i have another helper to help me with the housework everyday. but having to live with another stranger can sometimes give u headache simply bec of diff cultures and habits. i left my maid with my mother while i am at work... but my mother is not exactly the easiest person to live with so u can imagine where all the problems come from.

Hi kk,
wow seems like alot of u catching chicken little. hubby n i went to catch Harry Potter, very nice show.

Yup gynac said know gender next mth in Jan which is my next appt. excited. Hubby n i like either boy or girl but he prefers boy cos boy can play until crazy haha chase here n there. But of coz if gal, he wil also love cos our own child.
Most important, healthy is e key word.

Btw our this pregnancy is not planned one, can say accident. hehe so shld be contented liao.

Eh, actually we saw something sticking out. but gynac said cant confirm. cos sticking downwards is girl, n upwards is boy. ours sticking straight cos cant confirm. Anyone got idea esp those who know ur bb's gender? how ur gynac determine? but i guess its a girl.

Btw gynac gave me quite a no. of vitamins yest since i m approaching 12 wks. they are:
- Neurogain
- Sangobion (Iron)
- Calcium Lactate
- Lacteol Fort
wow so many plus folic acid. i eat until i burped.

Tinklebell,

Yah i know it's like tat. My mum is the more chin chai type, so she never pick fault with my eldest brother's maid. They are getting along very well in fact. The maid even come to clean up my place yesterday.

But for my 2nd brother, his mil is the particular type. So my brother has changed his maid for dunno how many times liao.

But when it comes to employing maids, it really depends on luck. My eldest brother always seems to get maids who are really good and responsible. But for my 2nd brother, not so. The maids were always up to some tricks.

tinklebell: hahaaa, yes, i got craving for bak kua too !!! and char siew and siew bak ... but am having second thoughts cuz it is so oily ...

hang in there ... take loads of fruits to keep your fluid level up.

to the other mummies w/o MS, yeh ! hope it stays this way and that we can eat more to gain weight soon ! I lost 3 KG in the first trimester ...
was a bit worried.

unfortunately, now i have another problem - acne !
i have really big pulses on my chin and it's making me depressed, even my colls commented ... *sigh* My Gynac says it's like that and will pass, but i think i wanna go to the National Skin Centre for a second opinion ...

Anyone can recommend a good skincare product for acne ??

kk - ya. It's scary. Can try to eat more healthy food? I make a conscious effort not to eat stuff like creamy pasta cos more fattening. Go for soups or fruits or healthy sandwiches? Hey, but you are 19 wks already.. so the 4 kg is abt right right?
Dun worry lah. Ask your gynae to monitor yr weight for you? Was supposed to ask my gynae last fri to help me do that.. but after seeing bb and hearing the gd news, I forgot..hhaha. Will ask on 30 Dec when I do the detailed scan. Now, am trying to stop myself fr eating maggie mee. Ate so much when I was hungry in btw meal leh.

Hey kk - i also hv motion sickness. Feel sick when in car or bus. Cant drive now.

Kite,

My hubby dun allow me to watch harry potter

Now i am waiting for wallace and gromet. But it will only be screened from 29 dec onwards and i still have 2 free tickets. I dunno whether to catch other movies or not. There are new chinese movies but dunno nice or not. I dun wanna sleep again in the cinema haha...

My hubby same as urs. I know he like boys, from the way he play with my nephew. But he say girl also good, because still our own child
Who knows, our girl may play wildly with him too haha...

For us, we have let nature takes its course but never expected pregnancy. They always say stress and other factors can reduce the chance of pregnancy. So i have always thought we can't be that lucky :p

I read from some postings that at earlier stage, difficult to tell boy or girl accurately because in both cases, there are protrusions. It is only during the later stage that the protrusion withdraws and disappears for girls

So many pills??? I am still only having neurogain, folic acid and multivits only.

Volf,

The gynae commented on my 4 kg leh! Haha... i dun think it is overboard lor. Basically if 1 mth gained 1 kg, a lot meh? Heee... and my weight only starts to increase after my MS down down. I remembered i lost 1 kg before due to MS cos really can't eat much and no appetite at all.

Oh, i always have my weight taken and urine test too for every visit. So the gynae knows my weight gain profile on every visit

Talking about maggi mee. I realised i can't take instant mee at all now! When i take it for breakfast, i will be full throughout the whole day. ANd worse still, dun seem to digest. When i feel like vomiting in the late evening, i can still vomit out mee leh!! So uncomfortable, so i tell hubby no more maggi mee for me liao. My hubby say maybe due to the preservatives or other stuff in the mee. And strangely, if i eat other types of mee like wanton mee, nothing will happen. It is always instant mee.

I even feel sick on the LRT, let alone buses hahaha.. and also on MRT... i tell my hubby i rather walk sometimes, then to take transport, if for short distances.

hi volf,
usually what does the detailed scan check for? guess i m now approaching 12 wks so detailed scan not so soon? me too i got motion sickness. nowadays i hardly drive, always let my hubby drive or i drive during wkends, get tired easily.

hi kk,
i prefer english than chinese movies, find english more worth the $ hehe.

i think most hubby like boy cos boy more active n playful plus my hubby very active in sports one. so he wish got a boy can follow him do sports too. girl also can follow him but he scare girl bcome rough n tomboy hehe. even if first one is a girl, probably we wil try for a 2nd boy.
he said if its a girl, he is happy too but if its a boy, it wil be a bonus. LOL

eh 11 wks considered early to determine gender rite? oh really? the protrusions wil disappear ah? so amazing. dunno leh, we saw something sticking out but maybe its a girl hor. gynac say 50% boy 50% girl, cant confirm leh. hehe shui yuan ba.

yaloh dunno y so many pills. got one is good bacteria for my body. probably bcos my stomach very sensitive, easily get wind n indigestion or diarrhoea. sigh.

kk - You cant take maggi mee.. I cant take prata & all the wonderful spicy stuff. Sob. Also oily food. Sure puke & feel indigested one.

HI kite - I think the detailed scan checks for all abnormalities for bb. They look at the brain, face, nose, hands, legs etc. Usually done in 15 wk-18 wk I think. Hv not done mine yet. Doing on 15wk on 30 Dec.

Hubby dun allow me to watch Harry Potter. Said its very dark and creatures ugly. Scared bb scared by loud sounds and turn out ugly. HB v funny - even ask me to eat more clear white stuff instead of food with black sauce. Said he wants bb to look fair & nice... hahha

Volf,

Haha, we are all made differently. Only unhealthy food attracted me previously. Anything spicy increased my appetite. My favourite was once laksa! But now no more craving for such stuff liao, which is good lor

Kite,

True true.. i told my hubby HK movie industry really down liao. Even sometimes hollywood movies can be a letdown.

Yah lor, my hubby dun like tomboys leh heee.. when he saw my niece putting one leg up on the table or sit on top of the sofa, he will scold her :p

i think 11 week is considered early. All would say 100% accurate for gender known in week 20, although earliest to be known is probably around week 15-16.

Can understand how u feel about the pills. I look at 3 pills in the morning already feel very sian. Imagine u have to look at so many of them!!

Volf,

Ur hubby same as my pregnant colleague. She even told me she never eat black chicken tonics as the bb will turn out dark haha... i just take it with a pinch of salt as the tonic can be very bu and good for me lor
And most preggies who took black chicken soup actually give birth to bb with very fair skin!

Kite,

Like wat volf has mentioned, detailed scan involves everything. It is still basically ultrasound scan, but more advanced system. Can zoom in until very close, such that we can see heart with 4 chambers pumping, eye-to-eye socket distance, nose tip, lips (my bb constantly moving her lips.. no wonder i feel hungry all the time hahaha), hands, legs with toes clearly seen separated showing the 5 toes, etc. Every measurement is clearly interpreted and the measurements to be tally with the number of weeks bb is in to determine normal or not. This is also an extra confirmation on the gestational age of the bb

Oh yah, my bb was always seen admiring her little palm. We dunno why she loves to admire her palm so much hahaha... always raising up her hand and put the palm above her eyes :p

Then in the detailed scan, comes to one part when we actually examined the blood flow in the bb. The heartbeat too. With sound effect!! My hubby say very scary hahahahaa... i almost jump out of the bed, because the sound so loud hahaa.. think they purposely set the volume to be pretty loud. My bb heart beat at 150 per min. And surprisingly, my heart beats at 90 per min!!! The gynea say mummy must be very nervous too hahaha.. and indeed i was!! Of course nervous over first detailed scan mah hor?

Oh yah, in the detailed scan, the gynae also measures the amount of amniotic fluid in our uterus, whereever is thicker, whenever is thinner.

As for brain, the gynae will identify parts of the brain, measure how much fluid in the brain, etc etc.

All pretty interesting. But sometimes the gynae use medical terms which i dun understand heee... but he label everything in the scan photos. Next appt then i can get the photos
I only know terms related to the heart as i teach that to my sec 2 students heeee...

Hi volf,
thanks for e info on detailed scan. Gynac hasnt tell me about that probably stil early. she only told me next mth my hubby n i wil be doing the blood test. by then i wil be 15 weeks. Ur hubby so cute want ur bb boy to be fair fair.

btw u mentioned during ur NT scan last wk, u were 12 wks and u managed to c ur bb's gender? so wondering did u see something stick out but pointing up or down? lol me very curious leh. some frens told me if gal, there wil be 3 parallel lines or 3 holes. hehe different gynac analzyse differently.

Hi kk,
Thanks for the detailed explaination on e scan. seems ur detailed scan sounds very interesting n fun. ur bb so cute. How long does e detailed scan takes?

my hubby said girls tend to be more guai n quiet. like yest we observed that those baby boys tend to be very playful keep pushing the shop door n walking up n down ,very active n we keep luffing at their actions. for girls, we observed they wil stand quietly n very straight besides the mummy or daddy while boy wil run here n there.

since our tis pregnancy is not planned at all, we wil plan the next one if possible. ideal wld be 1 boy 1 girl.

so far so long i hv never drink bu soup cos heard to avoid temp til 2nd tri. Durians is good n bu, shld be taken during 2nd tri. love durians.

Hello Kite!

Detailed scan is done around week 19-20. Probably u do it on the appt after next

My detailed scan took around half an hour. So tiring lying on the bed. Legs very tired after that, no strength for long shopping haha.. different bb took different time. Some took 45 mins. Must ask ur bb to be cooperative, ya? :p

My gynae did have a difficult time trying to look at the heart. Because the bb always turn here turn there but never once it gives a best view of the heart heee.. but at least can see 4 chambers clearly defined which is very important and it is pumping hard and strong. Then the gynae will also see where the blood flow from the heart leads to.

Ya, girls are more guai and boys are more active. But depends lah.. my niece real naughty leh and very active :p She can laugh and laugh the whole day :p

Are u planning for the gender of the bb as well? Heee.. there are some methods to do it, but wonder reliable or not. For us, we dun really care. I once told myself it is good if i can get all girls hahahahaa.. cos boys are very naughty.

Tonics best taken from 4th mth onwards when the bb will start absorbing. I believe no harm taking tonics now, but seems like wasting money because nothing goes to the bb. Especially expensive tonics like bird nest :p

Doctors always say durians have high sugar content. So i didn't dare to take durians. Durians bu ah?? I didn't know that!

kk, so u r already 19 weeks? 4 kgs dont seem a lot wat... i weighed myself on sat already 53.7kg! was a bit upset at my wt gain. that's 3.7kg in 3 mths
**sigh** donno how am i going to lose all these wt later on.

dont take durians lah. in my first pregnancy once i started taking durians, i put on a lot of weight!!!!

Hi kk,
hope my bb wil cooperate ah. hehe but at this moment, i m very curious abt my bb gender, cant wait to know leh.

actually we planned to hv 1st bb next yr cos we just got married tis yr, but come to our surprise, bb pop out hehe and thus that time i blur until like sotong cos all not prepared. if 1st one is girl (since we never plan), 2nd one wil plan for a boy. cos my hubby n i want a boy and a girl (2 children) despite whichever come first. cos girl can follow me while boy can follow him lol no need to snatch

yes durians is bu one but of coz eat moderate like twice a mth or watever. not too often cos heaty too. Its good to eat during 2nd tri if u want ur baby to be strong. Avoid taking during 3rd tri, cos it wil cause bb to be heavier n bigger.

i crave for cordyceps leh, love e smell but can be taken after 4th mth?

hi Kite - Yes. Somehow gynae managed to show me the wee-wee sticking up. Think my bb quite exhibitionist ..hahah. It was a side view and I cld see his spinal cord. He was lying down with it sticking in the air. Very obvious.

Tonics - ya agree only take in 4th mth onwards. Otherwise, bb dun get any of the bu.

Durians - very fattening. Try not to take so much. Heard pp put on a lot of weight when they took it during pregnancy...

hi volf,
ur bb so cute, show u all his wee wee sticking up in e air. i guess mine is a girl since the wee wee is sticking straight, not up? confused leh. but gynac cant confirm, say 50% 50% leh.

oh ok didnt know durians fattening. hmm wil eat moderate since its my fav food and heard its bu one.

Tinklebell,

Today should be my 20th week

Ok lah, urs also around the same mah... around 1 kg gain for 1 mth
For second pregnancy, will weight gain be more??

Durians also heaty rite? But if take sometimes like kite hor, very shiok heeeeee...

Last time when my dad still around, we took durians often. But ever since he passed away in March, we never touch durians liao

Kite,

Yooo, u so anxious hahahahaa... that time it only keeps me in suspense, but i am not really that gan jiong like u heeeee...

Hmm, i am never prepared for a bb. I take things as they come. SO now super sotong. I am only waiting for advice, advice and more advice. Me lazy to read books also :p Just to relax as much as i can during the school hols. I put all books aside haha..

I think if we only have a boy and a girl, they can feel pretty bored as they may not have common interests and topic to talk with each other. My hubby say 3 kids is perfect! Actually i dun mind as long as can cope and each pregnancy is smooth.

I think can take cordyceps. Shouldn't be a problem
My mum use cordyceps in black chicken soup and other tonics.

hi kk
yes me very curious cos 1st pregnancy mah, everything so excited.
i guess every mum wil feel e excitement since 1st time.

even b4 we got married, we dream to hv 1 boy 1 girl. ideal for us

Kite,

Guess we will start to put on more weight once 1st trimester over. I didn't gain much in my 1st trimester. The weight gain only comes about when my MS dies down in my 15th week.

Recently i went for my appt two weeks after the previous one. And realise i have gained 1 kg in two weeks! At this rate, it will be 2 kg per month. By the time bb is borned, i can't imagine how much weight i will gain!

Volf,
how mani wks are you now?

Wow.all of you mentioned NT sca & detailed scan etc.. when are those scan done?

I remeber my gynae told me a detailed scan is done only at wk 18-24 leh.. and will do blood test and triple test at wk16. and a dun know what antenatal CTG at wk 36... is that right?

And some more i think the detailed scan cost $150. Think my this Gynae quote ex hor.. but i am very comfortable with him... so will still stick to him... haha

Hello Celeste,

NT scan can be done as early as week 12 or even 1-2 weeks before that. Majority having detailed scan around week 19-20. I didn't have NT Scan then.

I had my blood test and triple test at week 15.

What's antenatal CTG?? Week 36.. so far away.. no wonder my gynae never mention. My gynae never say things in advance :p

My detailed scan cost $180. Blood and triple test around $190. Mine more expensive! Yah, being comfortable with gynae is important. Anyway plus and minus, there are not really very cheap gynaes around

another thing.. for those curious mum who want to predict the gender.. my aunt teach me a method that is so far proven quite accurate..

1) Note down the chinese month that you conceive.. (eg I conceive in Sep. so its chinese 8th month).

2) Then Add the chinese mth and 49. (eg. 8 + 49 = 57)

3) Then use that figure to deduct your chinese age as at the time you conceive. (eg. 57 - 31 = 26)

4) If its even number then its a gal gal... if odd then boy boy...

you all can try lah...haha

maybe KK you try and see accurate or not leh.. since you know yours is a gal liao... hehehe