(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

ya kite..i'm also loss at anti-stretch mark cream.. anyone can help us? i'm currently using moisturiser only.. but heard must chosse something that is more 'oily' then good

kite,

oh yours is a purebreed maltese ah... one of my dog is a purebreed maltese too.. in fact he was supposed to be a show dog.. his father was the all time singapore grand champion jellybean and he cost me a bomb. He happens to be his father's last son before the great champion passes away. I did showed him once... but being a total novice at showing.. i din really persist... gotta upkeep the hair ..tie it all up and then groom carefully etc... his brother and sisters are still in the maltese show ring today...
In any case, I couldnt bear to let him stay in my SIL's house too.. but after weighing that its for his long term good too... and he will still gets to see us often... he enjoys a great life now... my SIL feed him things like cheese and beef which i dun... (me only feed dog biscuits for easy maintenance) and there are 2 other malteses there to keep him company... u know he sleeps on my SIL's bed now.. heehee... everyone loves him and he is my favourite doggie... the shihtzu loves my hb more

Hi Angeline,

Based on some feedback i get, playpen is better. As the bb grows older, he/she can still play in the playpen. And it is good for those having 2 kids. One can put in the playpen, one can put outside, then no fighting hahaha! This is how my sis in law control my niece and nephew who are 2 yrs apart :p

For cot, once the bb grows older, he/she may not want to sleep in the cot anymore. Then it will be a waste.

Hi Kite,

I heard if wanna apply anti stretch mark cream, have to start apply early, else no help. For my pregnant colleague, she does not use any. For me, i haven't used any, and i dun have any stretch mark yet.

I read before somehow some will have the marks, some won't. If have the marks, no matter how much cream we use, also won't help.

So depends on what u believe in :p

duffybuff,

u prob can get mozart's music for your bb
I read that only some of mozart's pieces (not all classical pieces) has a highest level of impact on brain development... its those music composed in a certain era... i forgot the name... in anycase i dun really like those music .. heehee.. a bit noisy to me...

hi duffybuff,

yaloh maternity clothes really not cheap hor. somemore definitely wil keep buying but not sure when wil stop hehe. somemore spore one not so nice as overseas one. at times i thought maybe ppl can organise ordering from overseas and we can share. but e risk is not sure e size is ok anot.

i m even worse than you, i never use anything on my body cos since pregnant very lazy n easily tired out. how many wks are u into now?

Hi poohy,
wow show dog. My dog always slp on my bed too leh but now i rarely let her slp on my bed hehe

Hi kk,
olive oil? any particular brand? hmmm....abit confuse whether to use anti stretch mark cream anot leh cos sometimes lazy.

hi poohy,
ya i heard of that too.. must go search.. thk the cd shop will know.. i bet lots of mothers wud hv asked for it.. heehee

hi kite and kk,
i oso heard from friend that we can apply johnson & johnson baby oil.. it's gd enough for stretch marks.. not sure how true. In fact i already hv stretch marks cos my weight used to go up and down so my size fluctuated quite a bit..ended up with marks even before pregnancy.

ya stretchmarks are supposed to be genetically deposed. that's what i read... so even if u apply tons of cream, also may get. For me I din really apply till later part of my pregnancy... but the thing is.. I did not get any stretchmarks at all for almost 33 weeks of my pregnancy... only got one slight at my thigh nearing labour.. and during labour think also got 1 slight one ... think this time maybe i will get more stretchmark.. since i am eating so much ... will definitely be more fat.. sure will stretch my tummy more .. and my mum got lots of stretchmarks from carrying me and my brother...

i used to use mothercare stretchmark cream... cos cheaper... but my gynae recommended another one for me towards the last month of my pregnancy.. and i din finish it ... so using it now... cos my skin at tummy area itches at time.. after applying it does not itch anymore..

kite,
The dress can be worned till full term, black with some lace trimming at the bodice.. the material is stretchable and best is I don't look like I am wearing a sack! During my first pregnancy, I spent 1K on clothes.. Bought very good and lasting pants from Thyme and pair them with cheaper tops from Perfect mum.. Now I sians of the Perfect mum tops and also they look quite worned out.. so just wan to buy new tops to go with the old bottoms.. I prefer to wear pants during pregnancy cos it prevents the thighs from rubbing and causing redness and pain..
Haiyah, cannot help spending on new clothes even towards the end of the 9 mths.. cos will get very sians of wearing the same set of clothes week after week..

Stretchmark cream.. Just put it on after shower just like u put on body lotion lor.. less than half a minute lah.. Avent cream has a nice smell to it..

hi kite,
i'm now into my 14th wks liao.. today didn't go work cos last nite was hvg very severe headache and couldn't sleep.. so this morning was not feeling too good.. sigh i've used up all my MCs and annual leave for this yr liao..so cham. luckily the yr is coming to an end.. new yr coming
heehee

i'm gog for my check up this thursday and collect the full report for my DS screening and the other compulsory tests.. hope everything is fine. but at least i know my DS screening is normal cos doc was able to tell the results from the scan last wk.

hi yve,
wow u spent 1K! lot manz. But maternity clothes are real ex.

where to get e avent cream, how much? effective? usually where do u apply? i scare if apply tummy, bb wil absorb. hehe

hi duffybuff,
so ur morning sickness must hv over liao? i stil experienced tiredness and nauseous. those colleagues said i look tired always. bo bian just tell them lack of slp cos hvnt announce to them yet. u hv a gd rest okie
me gg knock off soon.

yve,

ya 1k a lot hor... but i know many people spent alot on maternity wear... I am not a particular person when it comes to dressing... i just went to buy 3-4 tshirt material doll-dress like tops for abt $20 each and then I bought 2 pants which can be worn till full terms for my previous pregnancy... total i think i spend less than $300. Cant remember exact liao... but i din buy much... i really hope i can re-use them this round.. but i think those tshirt material doll dress maybe hard to reuse cos a bit worn out from the frequent wearing and washing.. think i will buy another 2-3 more of those for this round.. that's it.

hi poohy,
where u got our doll dress tops from? me also on budget when buying maternity clothes. can really spend a bomb n non stop. sometimes cant resist.

kite,

i think i got those from kidsmall and some from OG...
when are u all intending to start wearing maternity wear ? I think i better go grab a few of these tops... later nothing to wear... me fatter than before from eating so much carbo now.... my weight already rise from 45kg to 47kg liao..
and we are only at the beginning of 2nd trimester...

kite,
those pants from thyme are 80 to 100 each leh.. but very very lasting lor.. now still can use.. and those stretchy pants can continue to wear after delivery when cannot fit into normal clothes yet.. all the spending spread out over 9 mths mah.. :p

hi poohy,
me not sure when i wil be starting to wear, i really dunno leh. cos stil can squeeze into my normal tops except all bottoms cant wear liao, now wearing maternity bottoms. tops stil okie n fine. me now 43kg, i was 45kg at first during 6 weeks but after all the morning sickness i bcome 43 to 44kg.

hi yve,
wow thyme pants really not cheap ah. u really spend a bomb. so average how many dress u hv? right now i oni got 1 maternity dress but cant wear now, only can wear from 5mth or 6mths onwards (me kiasu, buy liao). aiya. confuse which one to buy n which one not to buy.

kite,
haha.. let me stock take my maternity clothes.. i have dug out the bag of clothes, but have not hang them up yet.. I am preparing to wear them soon.. And when I do, I have to tell my boss lor.. Hmm, how to say uh?

dear yves,
i also spent abt 1K on maternity wear!! they are really quite expensive -- esp. those work wear. luckily my hubby is sharing the costs with me
i bought 2 pair of pants from thyme. i like their cutting - very mango/ zara. heehee

dear volf
unfortunately, none of the maternity shops i went retail jacket suits. so i bought myself some bolero in different colours. on top of that, i bought a matching shoe from alegra (a push cart at far east square) for each dress i bought - pink, orange, black and blue). the shoes have a small little like 2cm heel, very reasonably priced and extremely comfortable
i went to dune as well. Dune is at Paragon and Great World. Dont think they are at Plaza Sing. their dresses are veeeeeeeery sweet - baby pink, baby blue, etc. i tried them on and quite liked it, but my hubby thinks that i look like a big oversized present. hahahhah

dear lilfeets
i think your babies not having major movements because you are having twins - and more limited moving space. you can confirm with Dr Fong Yang? im just doing some guess work. but i'm sure your baby is fine. dont worry dear.

haha..tts y me n my hb now in a dilemna over which to buy...hopefuli can find someone to lend 1...but reali no $$ to but both lah n anyway not worth it.. if u all come across any place tt got sale n sell nice good bb cot or playpen let me koe okie....coz i be staying at hm so no shopping yet.. my MS is better but still hav occassionaly nausea loh like 2day..feel slight terrible..now deciding whether to go for the NT scan..

Hi Hi Ladies,

Good Morning, just came back from chalet stay at Pasir ris.... feeling quite tired now. my son definitely enjoyed this stay. have been playing non stop for the last few days with his cousins...even forgo his afternoon nap.

Feels a bit nausea and bloated this morning. tried to vomit but nothing came out. i think must be due to indigestion. ate too much junk food the past few days.

u ladies are still so slim... when i weighed myself during my last visit to gynae on the 9th week. was 53kg
gained almost 2.5kg! that was 3 weeks ago.... should have heavier now cos i can feel that the waistline is EXPANDING!

hi angeline - My solution to all these expenses with new bb is to get some of the items by family and close frens. For me, I've drawn up a table listing items bb needs, and a column next to each item indicating person buying the item for me such as bottle steriliser. You can categorise them by price so that there's a category for everyone. I did this for my wedding, and now for my bb. Helps cos pp will want to buy you something... but you dun wan too many new bb sets etc... you can buy the bigger items like the cot & stroller. For me, my mum said she wants to get a nice cot (bedroom) for her 1st grandchild. My gf said she will give me the playpen (living room) - useful to help watch the child when you are doing hsework...

I've yet to go shopping too cos kana bedrest, but mum told me Robinson, MOthercare all hv very nice ones. Alternatively, you can check the other threads for sale of 2nd hand cots.

MS - Me too. Dunno why my ms only strikes at midnite. Sian. So tired wanna sleep, and still gotta go puke...

Ladies, i am just wondering if u have told your colleagues abt your pregnancy and no one has asked. i havent and i really dont know how to drop the bomb. maybe someone would like to share how u tell your colleagues abt it?

hi tinklebell,

i oni tell 3 close colleagues n these 3 are males cos very close to me as i need their help to carry things n etc. They r very nice n can really keep secret for me. the rest i wil not be announcing, time wil tell when they see tummy growing bigger
i dun like to tell female colleagues as they are very ba gua n 38! got 1 female colleague trying to guess whether i m pregnant cos my dressing n shoe wear changed cos i m a heel n wedges person. Anyway she wil be e last one to know since she is so ba gua. I wont tell her a single thing.

Hi Tinklebell,

I only informed one colleague who is also pregnant now. At least i feel better having let one person know so that we can look out for each other and share experience with each other too.

Another person i tell is of course my HOD. I have to let him know just to be fair to him. He need to plan our teaching load for next year and also, need to tell him when i am going off for maternity leave so that he can get relief for my classes.

Other than that, no one else in the office knows until one day i appear in my babydoll top during our planning workshop. Those observant ones immediately notice. But there are still rather "slow" ones who didn't realise even until now haha!

hi morm ladies

today topic is SHOPPING
think it's one of our favourites..hehe

I have already started wearing them cos really cant squeeze liao. My corlic said my tummy is showin abit already. Oh my, i must b fat..haha. i hven even dare to weight myself yet. Last wt at Wk 12 is 47kg. Now at Wk 14. hmmm i hope the jump will not be much.

I hven used those stretchin cream, only normal moisturier ones. Is that a neccessary? Btw, are u gals signin or hv signed up any classes?

hmmm... most of u still 40plus kgs ...envy envy..i never smell 40 plus since my last pregnancy
**sobs**

re clothes
the maternity clothes esp the tops still quite big right? i tried them and think i look funny. those clothes i bought in last pregancy i managed to salvage them back from pp i lent to... now, i think they look "orbit"... hmmm ... bought some clothings fews back. i like some of those dresses from maternity house. doesnt make u look pregnant and supposedly can wear for 9 mths. after pregnancy can still wear as normal sun dress... value for money.

kite, my office pp also quite 38. so i decided not to let them know first. normally they quite kpo one but surprisingly, they havent noticed my FAT BELLY..keke

kk, i havent told my boss yet. my boss is quite an old man.. nice fellow lah but i donno how to put it across to him. **headache**

Hi Tinklebell,

Talking about 38, there is one colleague in the chinese dept really 38, so she will be the last one i will disclose the news to haha.. i always imagine if she get to know first, soon the whole school will know.

Yah, i feel pretty embarrassed when i told my HOD about it. But no choice lah, got to let him know

hi tinklebell,
hmm cos i m quite petite size weighing 43kg. but guess throughout the pregnancy, i wil gain 10kg as predicted by gynac. which means 53kg, i cant imagine.
me too i also bot an halterneck w rose pattern (quite fashionable ) n a tube w a ribbon. The shop told me they can help me to alter back to normal top if i want after my pregnancy. I stil cant wear them now cos they look big n funny on me. wondering when i wil start wearing.

since ur office ppl 38, better dun tell since they cant tell yet, oni tell a few ones which are true frens n can help keep secret. those 3 i tell sure can keep secret n in work i always work w them n they help me alot. u know the female colleague asked me alot of irritating qs y i never wear heels liao, y i always go toilet n blah blah blah. so irritating n no way i m gg to tell her.

hey tinklebell & kk
no need to feel embarrassed to let ur boss noes. It's a joyous occassion

I also had this 38 corlic whom is super kpo. Think she got winds that I m pregnant and pretend to ask. So I told her : Ya I m pregnant. She still ask me sure or not.. really cant stand her.

tinklebell
well u can try givin ur boss a little x'mas present (if u do practise every yr), then together tell him the news too.

kite, u are so petite. i am 53kg now leh ...wh is what u will be in half a year's time ..hee hee. was 43kg in sec 2 if i remember correctly
i hope after this pregnancy, can lose weight to below 50.

Hi tinklebell,

Before wedding, i was 57 kg. I managed to shed 12 kg within a year and was 45 kg at the time of marriage. Else, i will look extra chubby in my gown hahaa... i always look fat in my face, which i hate

I do slowly gained weight after wedding, and was around 47 kg before i got pregnant. Now 51.8 kg liao. I dunno i can shed off that extra kilos after giving birth leh. Hope so lah, i dun want to be back to my chubby look!!

wow kk, u lost 12 kg in a year!!! that's fantastic! your frens must have envied u. how u did that? just dont tell me to exercise (esp running) cos i hate to. DH has a treadmill at home. bought for half year already but i havent even used it once before i was preg. in 2007, i must make a new year resolution to lose all the preg weight. keke.

ryue - thanks for consoling me. I will go ask Dr Fong when I see him next week.

I told my boss the moment I found out I was pregnant at 2 weeks. Didnot share with anyone else save parents and inlaws. My mom was so excited about the twins so told the whole family liao. =P Colleagues started knowing at 2 months cause my tummy is already showing and I look like 4 months. *sigh* can't hide already since I have to wear maternity clothes cause normal clothes too tight.

Of course you need to be prepared that you may be fired/terminated if you rcompany is not pro pregnancy or if your work suffers from pregnancy and youhave a non-compromising boss. It rarely happens but with the new introduction of the 3 mth maternity leave, employers can get rid of pregnant staff befoe their 7th month and not paythem compensation at all. in fact, AWARE has noticed an ncrease of such cases. sad but true.

I didn't tell my boss about my pregnancy in any special way. it's "Just so you know, I'm pregnant".

I'm only coming 3 mths and I wiegh 65 kgs liao. weigh 60kg before I got pregnant. Scary.....

Hi Tinklebell,

Noooo... me lazy girl, will never thinking of exercising.. the only sport i may do is swimming, and i swim 2 laps i will rest liao hahaha! Imagine i took up swimming lessons from age 5 to 12 and am a certified lifeguard. Lazy me!!

That time i happened to quit my engineer job for teaching. So i took a break to finish up my masters course before having a new start at NIE. During that 9 mths or so, i gave full time tuition. Maybe i walked around pretty often, that's why i lost weight. And i stopped rice intake totally for those mths. I avoided fast food as well because fast food can really make me fat! That's how i slimmed down. Thinking back, i dun really put in much effort. I think it's luck lah :p

have you seen the new milk powder expresso machine? It store the milk powder and at a push of a button, will mix the powder with hot water at the correct temperature of 60 degree (just nice for babies). No hassle of trying to measure powder and test water for night feed. Of course still must shake the bottle to fully dissolve the powder. Not cheap though - $338 per set. They have this roadshow at Orchard road in jan , infront of Singtel. Planning to go see it. anything to help me save some time at night if I have to feed both babies formula.

kk, wow u have a lifeguard cert! i took swimming from pri 1 to sec 4 and still cannot swim properly
hiaz...i think i'm a disgrace to my swimming instructors. i love to swim but i just cant master the sports.

Lilfeets, dont worry ... u'r carrying twins so naturally heavier.

re: milk expresso machine
hmmm .. interesting product but so expensive har. pls update us after u have seen it.

Tinklebell,

As i tend to cough often when i was young, the doctor suggest to my mum to bring me for swimming so that i build up my health system. That's how i began taking lessons at age of 5

But i hated it lah, because every Sunday morning got to sacrifice my favourite cartoon Smurfs to go for swimming lessons instead. U know lah, kids are kids and there are really not many cartoons that i liked that time.

After my lifeguard course, there were other courses i could take, like diving. But at the age of 12, my menses came liao, so find it rather inconvenient to skip lesson every now and then, or at least once per mth. So decided to drop.

hee hee kk , same reason why my mother made me take up swimming. i took mine at Toa Payoh swimming pool on weekday morning every week.

Tinklebell, mine was at geylang east swimming pool. Weekday morning?? How did u afford the time? Need to school leh. Mine always fell on saturday evenings or sunday mornings. Sian.

But swimming really helps. I became healthier after that and no need see doc so often. So next time i must also get my children to take up swimming lessons

mine was part of the school eca program. in pri 1, i was in afternoon school. if it's morning session, then the lessons will be in the afternoon. quite tiring.

hey lilfeets,

me same as u...last time used to weigh 55kg but increase to 60kg b4 pregnancy.now almost reaching 65kg..see the weighing scale oso v sian..

tink my bb realli dun nlike powder milk..tried to drink anmum again dis morning but vomitted all out in the end..ate wanton mee 4 brf oso same..now no appetite to eat lunch..feel so weak..

Oh yah rite, i remember those days. In sec school days, we also have such compulsory swimming program. And it had always been a breeze for me heeeee.. while my other classmates struggled like mad or they simply hated it when it came to swimming days.

Angeline,

Haha, talking about wanton mee. It was my love before pregnancy. But ever since pregnant, i dunno why wanton mee puts me off. I vomitted wanton mee whenever i ate it in my 1st trimester. Now also no crave for wanton mee at all.

I only started to accept anmum milk or any other milk in my 2nd trimester. I would vomit out milk whenever i drank it in the 1st tri.