(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi tinklebell,

oic. so u stil fasten as normal. i tend to feel very tired after driving. do u? so try not to drive if unneccessary.

Hi ryue,
could it be gastric? i know gastric occurs in the middle of stomach above belly button.

Hi yve,
wow congrats! 13 weeks can already determine its a boy ah. wow!

yesterday, went for my NT scan. all is well so happy. My next appt is 23rd Dec.. so sad must wait so long before can see little one again....
Doc say about 20 week then can tell gender of baby.

poohmum

hi kite,

good thing i dont feel tired. i think it's bec i drive on expressways to and fr work... i only feel tired when i am at work .... my work place is in a super boring area called tuas

twinklebell,
yeah lor.. She was so confident, wan to bet with me somemore.. Cos can see something between the legs.. anyway, will cfm again during the next visit and also during the detail scan.. Maybe should hold back buying blue stuff for now..

dear kite
thanks. think its not gastric. gastric happens slightly below the bra line. anyway, i've called my gynae and he asked me to go see him
im very worried now.

dear tinklebell,
CONGRATS that you are having a boy. im impressed that you gynae can tell the sex at 13 weeks.

Yve - how nice! Congrats! My girlfriedn said her baby is so naughty - stuck a finger at the private so gyne can't tell if it's a finger or a boy! hahahaha.....

yeah. Might be good to hold back awhile first. There have been cases of gender mistakes. =)

Poohmum - congrats. Mean syou're low risk so no need to worry so much. =)

yesterday so quiet..

hi kite,

can try fastening the lower part of the seat belt below your tummy.. not across it. will feel better and safer for preggies

hi ryue,

i also experience cramping sometimes all over my abdomen.. as long as no sharp pain i think shd be normal lor..

do you feel much better these days after crossing week 13? i'm happy that i can SHOP again without wanting to sit down every 15 mins. heehee

the gynae who did my NT scan said that the gender of the bb can be determined as early as week 12.. that is if the bb is in the correct position. yve, u are so lucky to be able to know so early! i guess mine shd be a gal gal, coz neber see anything sticking out.. hahaha

Hi all !
Am back from KL. It was a good trip. Mumz-to-be, who are planning a trip to KL, i highly recommend shopping there, the clothes are so much cheaper and more variety !!

I think Tinkerbell suggested 2 shops at Sungei Wang.
There is also a mothercare shop which sells reasonable work clothes, one outlet i know of is at One Utama.
Miki Mum - by Padini Concepts is also good. Basic items for abt RM100.

I was ok for the trip to KL, but when i returned, i was vomiting severely when i returned to work on Tues

It was so bad, I took the day off and vomitted everything and anything I tried to eat
In the end, Hubby sent me to the evening clinic to get an anti-vomiting jab.
Have been rather queesy the last 2 days, but luckily on MC so can rest at home. Hubby thinks maybe it's the stress of retuning to work after a nice weekend break.

I'm almost into my 12 week, so am praying that this MS goes off soon, otherwise i'll be terrible miserable !!

Has anyone experienced a sudden fluid discharge ?
I was sleeping 2 nights ago, and suddenly felt a gush of liquid flowing out, almost like having my period.
Is this normal ? Am seeing Gynae on Mon so will ask her then ...

Hi ladies - So envious of you all able to walk ard and shop! AM still stuck on bedrest till next Fri. Havent bought a single maternity clothing .. hv to tong till then and hopefully, my situation (polyp) wld hv stabilised ..

My MS now has a clock of its own - it comes only at abt 12.30am (midnite), followed by ano bout of puking at abt 1.30am. Horrid timing.

hi tinklebell: yup, am back :)
actually, didnt buy much this time, cuz i haven't been putting on weight (due to the ms the last 4 weeks!!!) but since my hubby is malaysian and we go up quite often, i will push back my shopping till my tummy shows :)

hey gals,
tread has been bz as usual ya.

oh i'm bk at work this week.. hmm.. am looking good.. i mean my condition.. at least no more sickness! yeah!

K-Ong - I had that too! Was so worried for the next day but I have no pain and no spotting. Was so worry it's my water bag. Seems ok cause I had a scan with my doctor few days later and babies were fine. Then forgot to ask Dr what that was until yo mentioned it now. It doesn't smell bad but is like a clear slightly yellowish fluid right? I grabbed tissue and started to wipe the moment I felt it so saw the colour. Anyone can comment?

one more problem i face recently. i somehow cannot seem to hold my bladder well. when i sneeze or cough, urine leaks out... and i am so embarrassed... anyone got this prob too?

Hi mums to be,
will be going to gynae tomorrow at 11 weeks. what questions should I be asking the doctor and what will the doctor be looking out for? I won't be doing tests for downs syndrome, just hoping all things will be normal.

thanks for your tips.

Hi Lilfeets,
Thanks for sharing your little note on elimination communication. It came to my attention twice recently in the last 6 weeks, 1st was an article in an american newspaper how babies could be off diapers at 3. I forget if it was 3 months or 3 weeks but there were no details on the method. And then a friend living in China said that she gets snide comments from locals about how she 'tortures' her 18 mth old with hot diapers when all other kids have pants split at the buttocks.

I did a google search and read one article last nite. It seems to mean being close to the baby all day. If we're a working mum then we'll have to convince the care taker about this method. I'm all for helping my future kid and saving $$ & the environment. Let me know your findings & thoughts. Thanks

Hi MTB,

do u feel stomach straining like muscle pulling or stretching at ard 10 weeks? uterus expanding?

hi Fondue

I read an american article which says that the first 6 months is critical. I think if we can pay attention to our babies and "train" or "condition" them for this in the 3 months of maternity (I must be thinking I'm super women esp with twins), we can develop a routine but you have to be consistent for conditioning to work. Once I have the schedule etc, I will brief the care giver for the infant care on the timings etc. Of course there won't be absolute assurance that they will follow to a tee but will have to play by ear I guess. I know some centres are aware of this and will practise it if the parents instructs them to. Some centers tell me most mummies do't want them to train the babies so it depends on your carers and your beliefs but the issues here is consistency for conditioning to work. This is of course based on Pavlo's conditining theory.

K_ong - yeah. Please update me on that. had a real bad scare for two days. Once I saw babies on ultra sound, forgot everything liao. hehehee

Tinklebell - I guess it depends on the wieght sitting on your bladder. heard this is common for women in later part of pregnancy or women who had children already. It's called incontinence i think. some women have it so bad, even when they laugh, it leaks. can be helped by strengthing the pelvic muscle by doing the kegle (not sure of spelling). This only works if the pelvic floor is waken by child birth. If it's the weight of your baby 'sitting' on your bladder, you just have to go often to the tiolet or seek medical help I guess. Think it's normla for preggies to want to go toilet more as pregnancy approaches.

tinklebell..

ya do kegel exercise to strengthen the muscle to prevent incontinence... i do it often after birth of my son... helps...

dear cookiemz
yes, me too!! I m almost week 14 and I feel that my energy had came back too. at least i dont feel i need to sleep by 8pm every night.

Hi K-Ong and Lilfeets,
I also felt warm sudden discharge on and off. It's very slightly yellowish, but I do not know what it is. I have never thought that it's the waterbag cos the pregnancy still "young"... I thought it's yeast infection or just some discharge during pregnancy.

Hi tinklebell,
You might be having stress incontinence. To read more, go to http://www.alife.org.sg/en_pregnancy_incontinence.php.

hmm... about training babies... I may not be expert, but my mum's friend's baby started to stop pooing in his pampers at 6 months! The baby will give out signal before he wanna poo. I was told we gotta be very hardworking for the first few months and prevent the baby from pooing in the pampers and it will become a habit.

Hi Kite,

I do feel stomach straining at times, but not often. And especially in this 2nd trimester, whenever i stand for too long or try to carry heavy things like my laptop, i will feel the strain. It is ok, i supposed

Hi Volf,

Continue to rest well and everything will be ok

I am leaving for a cruise tonite till sunday
So I will be back in the forum on Monday. Rest well and have a nice weekend! TGIF!!

kk, enjoy your weekend

i always look forward to weekends... they are so precious. we will be going to chalet with all my in laws on sunday and will be staying til monday. cant wait to end of the day to come

Hi KK - Thanks. You enjoy yrself on the cruise ya?! If you bk in early tonite, can go for dinner onboard the ship (go for Chinese one - better). Next day, book your Captain's Dinner early at the Western rest
Hv fun!!

Good morning ladies

Yeap. I feel the strain even when I eat esp my tummy is buldging abit. Feel like it's hard to breathe even when I walk a short distance slowly to the bus stop and out of breath! I am only like 10-11weeks so am abit surprised. is that normal.

foudn also I can't lift my hands abov emy head to tie my hair. Feels strained and tired out and stretched. probably skin tight eh?

I'm so looking forward to next week. It's my birthday so i can have my fav food - chilli crab again. =P Will eat in moderation though. hehehehe.. Putting on way too much weight.

Bought another 2 dresses last night so have clothes to wear to work for now.

Lyn - yeap. I heard it'a alot of work and I don't know if I can manage that with my two babies at the same time. That's what my MIL said too. Babies will tend to display a sort of reaction when they want to Poo or pee so we have to be really in tuned with them for elimination communication to work. heard it can be done as early as the baby is born to observe his/her pattern. Interesting eh?

KK - have fun my dearand come back safely. I want to go on a holiday too =(

heheh Lilfeets, wish u happy bday in advance!!! **** HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO U ****
I also wish to eat chilli crab soon...wanted to eat that a few weeks ago but my mother barred me from doing so .... think this sun i will have an opportunity to eat that bec it's my MIL birthday and we are going to eat seafood somewhere near our chalet ... prob east coast seafood area !!! ***Yum Yum***

Alloooo gals

Hven been in for awhile. how's everyone

hey gals, i also hv the feelin of discharge before i wake up these few days lei. When i go toilet, juz saw abit of yellow discharge.

Hi Lilfeets
Happy Advance B'day to U too

Tinklebell
Yr MIL let U hv crab har.. soo good. I remember when we told MIL I m expecting. One of the 1st few things she mentioned is CANNOT EAT CRABS.. oh my god... but my mom is okie lei. that day she even cook the flower crab for me. yummmmi

Lyn
my discharge had been improving. phew!! cos u noe i hate to see the gynae on that...hahaha

g'morning ladies! How's everyone this morning?

I went for my NT screening yest. All is well! I thank God for that
So happy. Doc said risk is about 1:3000. Now waiting for results of the triple blood test to confirm findings.

Baby VERY active bouncing and doing somersaults in there. V camera shy oso i think because it kept showing us its backside and refused to lie facing up to let us see its nasal bone! I had to leave the doc's room for a few minutes, talk to baby to cooperate. Then, when I went in again about 20 minutes later, the baby was finally facing up. The doc quickly froze the frame and zoomed in on the face to check. The baby turned away again ImmeDiateLy after that. Very cute to see baby bouncing around and waving its arms and legs everywhere

Oh, and the doc told me that it's a boy! Of course, he did also say that it's early (I'm in my 13th week) and a detailed scan will be better at confirming the gender. I don't really care whether it's boy or girl as long as happy and healthy.

i can't wait to see baby again during my next monthly check-up on 21 Dec!

hi Tinklebell - yeah. It's my fav. My hubby knows I want to eat at Jumbo every year for my birthday treat. So mundane eh? hehehehe... I just love crabs.

Tinklebell / Dor - Thanks for the well wishes. =)

Dor - my MIL ate alot of crabs when she was carrying my hubby. He seems to turn out ok leh.. I guess they don't want to risk us having tummy ache etc..

miz_hopeful - so cute your baby. yeap, talk to baby everyday. tell my babies they have to be good cause mummy got to go to work. hehehe.... How far are you into your pregnancy cause I never see my babies move around or "jump" around. I'm close to 11 weeks now.

sometimes, when I place my arms on mytummes, I can feel two heart beats beating at different times. So cute.

It's so nice and happy to see babies on scan isn't it. To know they are fine and happy inside and everything is well with them.

Am a bit concerned cause alot of mummies at the twins forum told me to go to KKH cause twins are considered high risk for complications. Saw one mummy paid like $50K for her twins in KKH cause her babies was born at 27 weeks only and they have some probe and had to stay in ICU for 3 months. so scary eh , the cost i mean.

I'm seeing a private gyne and think as long as we monitor my pregnancy closely to eliminate any complications, should be fine right? Cause I don't like going to KKH.

a bit confused now.

oh, me starting ante-natal classes with hubby from 16 Dec at KKh onwards. After much research, find KKH's class is most comprehensive and detailed.

lilfeets,

happy advanced birthday... how come eat at jumbo is mundane leh ? Me every year eat at a coffeeshop near my former home ...i love the bbq sting ray there.. we go there to eat every year when i have my birthday for the last 13 years liao... some valentine day or other occassion i also go there... boring hor hehee.. but i really love the chilly there...

kk
ya board early dun miss the dinner and supper

lilfeet,

btw.... i had always follow the twins thread too.. hmm in any case, the case where bb was born so early was TTTS (twin to twin transfusion) normally happen in idential twins who share same sac/placenta... if i din remember wrongly. If different sac lower risk... my fren's sis got triplets different sac and carry past week 30...

but the gynae at kkh is considered v v experienced for multiple birth delivery... Dr Tony Tan. I saw him for my nt scan recently... quite gentle and experienced. Oh btw, he was featured on tv as the one who deliver a pair of twins and another pair of triplet conceived thru ivf in wonglilin's show...

i think private gynae should be fine... if he found anything he cant handle ... he will surely refer u to a more experienced gynae...

Dor, my mother says cannot eat crabs other wise wait bb very "jian3"
heehee. i ate quite a lot of crabs in my first preg and son is quite "jian3"... but boys being boys lah... usually naughtier.

lilfeets, donno whether mil has same opinion. usually, she doesnt bother much with what i do.

anyway, i dont think that's going to change my opinion on eating chilli crab lah ... it's simply too nice :p talking abt it makes me hungry too

you all talk about crab really making me hungry!! yummm.... they're my favourite too!! 2 years ago when I went to Langkawi, I ate crab to my heart's content. Was very lucky that hubby don't really like getting his hands dirty and he always very lazy to 'crack' open the crabs so I got them ALL to myself!! Cheap oso!! thinking of it now makes me salivate!! *slurp slurp* ha ha!

lilfeets, i'm exactly in my 13th week today.
i think should be able to see your twins bouncing about quite soon since you're in the 11th week now rite? my baby wasn't only bouncing, it was doing somersaults too in there i think. Because one minute the baby's head was on the left side of the screen, the next it was on the right. it must have turned around somehow.. heehee.. i think i'm gonna have a rather active baby!

btw lilfeets, did you graduate fr NUS? because you mentioned you did psychology and in particular you mentioned you took bio psych rite? so did i actually... maybe we've met?
If graduate same year la...

Hi Lilfeets,

Ur birthday coming soon? Happy Birthday in advance too!!

Hi Tinklebell,

Do enjoy yourself at the chalet!
So u not working next Monday?

Hi Volf and Poohy,

Thanks for ur advice on the cruise! Hmm, we are asked to check in around 730pm. The ship will depart at 930pm. So will there be dinner then? Hmmmm... if there is, then we shouldn't eat too full in the evening heeeee... u know my tummy always lose out to other people.. get full easily so everytime go buffet sure lose out.. haha!

Hi dor,
I am still having discharge on and off.. but not a lot.

Hi Lilfeets,
Happy Birthday!

Yap, my mum's friend's daughter started training from birth. And also train the baby not to wake up at nite for feeding. If I am not wrong, her baby no need night feeds already from 6 months.
Dun worry too much about your weight... You are carrying twins
So will definitely put on more than us
. Sometimes I think putting on weight is better than not putting enough weight. Last time my cousin did not put on enough weight and she had to drink 8 glasses of milk per day! I will puke on that!

Hi kk,
Wish you a relaxing and great trip on the cruise

I also feel like travelling. I might be going to Penang next weekend
But I feel like going to Laos where I have longing to visit... but my hubby said gotta save $$$ for baby...

TQ, KK
Yes, will be on leave on Monday. i still have quite a few days to clear. but dear hubby doesnt want to go anywhere
scared of bird flu and bombings ***HIAZ*** i really hope to go somewhere for a hol this Dec. Cruise is v nice and relaxing but we have been there quite a few times past few years.

hey miz_hopeful

wah.. so fast u can know it's a boy. So far that's another MTB having boy boy too. cant remember who. U done ur triple test liao.. I m still waiting lei. got another 2 more wk to go. whahaha. cant tahan.
when is ur EDD again? I forget again...hehe

Hi kk,
Enjoy ur cruise trip okie. Take good care of urself

Hi Lilfeets,
hehe my birthday also next week leh! So qiao. Hubby gg to celebrate for me but hvnt confirm go where cos these days me feeling very tired.

Hi miz_hopeful,
Wow ur bb so cute. i m looking forward in doing my NT scan test in 3 more weeks and also can see my bb. Cant wait.

hey ladies,

you know what... now that you guys are asking qns, i am myself wondering whether the blood test i took was indeed the triple blood test! hee.. paiseh

i actually only told my gynae that i wanted the Premier Fetal Screening (NT screening) offered by KKH. According to brochure, it should only entail the unltrasound scan and which costs only $157.

But yesterday, after the gynae's unsuccessful attempts to get a view of baby's profile, he sent me out and told me to go for a blood test. It's to measure the level of hormones in mommy's blood. He did mention that bit.

I oso at that time still very blur, nervous and anxious cos results not confirmed yet that I went without any questions.

Now I'm wondering why the need for the blood test..? hmm...

total cost i had to pay was more too. Total = $315. I was so happy that baby is fine that i just said ok and paid... haahaha... so blur rite.. like gong gong just follow..

kite, if my blood test was indeed the triple test, then yes, they're done on the same day.

dor, my EDD is 10th June
Come to think of it the triple blood test supposed to be done at a later stage rite? I'm only in week 13 ley...

??

KK- Once you check in, can go eat dinner leow. No nd to wait for ship to depart. I usually go for Chinese sit down cos the mediterranean buffet is usually v packed and chaotic. Chinese one - you get a nice table, and they bring the food to you. Set menu. Yumm.. Hv fun hor!?

it's me again..

just checked my invoice for yest's appt... it says here that they signed me up for Premier Fetal Screening Package B.. I thought i told my gynae i wanted package A only... hmm.. now not too sure..

anyways got this from KKH's website..

-------------------------------------------------

SUMMARY POINTS

Ultrasound scan of nuchal translucency (NT) at 11-14 weeks is the single most accurate test for the screening of Down Syndrome.

Package A: Ultrasound scan at 11-14 weeks
Cost = $157.50

Package B: Ultrasound scan at 11-14 weeks + Blood test at 11-14 weeks
Cost = $315.00

Package C: Ultrasound scan at 11-14 weeks + Blood test at 15-20 weeks
Cost = $245.40

Note :

The blood test in Package B measures PAPP-A and free beta-hCG. The blood test in Package C measures alpha fetoprotein and beta-hCG.

-------------------------------------------------

now i'm pretty sure mine's not the triple test thingy la... sorry for the confusion gals...
Really didn't think about it much until you guys asked qn