(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Dor

I bought mine at NTUC pharmacy and I am sure you can find them in normal pharmacy as well. Most babies store also sell them. I bought the small one which cost about $7 per tube.

kk

I think it's still good to do the aminocentrisis test regardless if youwant to kepe the baby. it gives you time to do reasearch to find options for helping your child if he/she really has DS. You can also start planning for enrollment for special school as these have an terribly long waiting list. At least you know what avenues are available and what you can do to help your child get the best first start in life to smoothen the journey.

Sorry.. not to dampen you but i'm an over-preparer so I like to plan very much in advance and know my options.

kk,

dun panic first... agreed with others.. just go and hear what gynae said. most likely its not accurate. your gynae din suggest NT scan for u prob becos he thinks u r definitely belonging to low risk group...

re: infant care

lilfeets, babies inc is quite good i heard though exp... it includes gymboree and kindermusik classes. If I were to put my bb in infant care, i will not hesitate to go to babies inc or likes... cos i want quality and care... i dun want those infant care that are shorthanded and my bb come back with nappy rash etc.. my mum told me the infant care at her house downstairs even speaks those crude languages in front of the children.. this type i really cannot stand.

agreed to expose bb to little germs etc to build up immunities... my son seldom get sick though i only breastfeed for 1 mth.. prob becos right from 1 week old he go shopping centre everyday with me... exposed to all kinds of germs liao hehee..

for infant formula, my son is on enfalacA+ till now. I dun really intend to move him to enfapro as i feel the infant formula though more exp is better than the step2 follow on formula. EnfalacA+ is my PD, GP and gynae's recommendation. that's what they give their children. anyway its the most expensive infant FM around liao... (exclude those HA formula of course)... btw, some bb may not be able to take the enfalacA+ cos of its iron content which seems to cause some bb to have constipation i heard.. so it depends on individual bb also...

I dun really believe in using FM to help bb sleeps longer at nite ... my son was on FM from 2 mths onwards and he still wakes up 2 hourly for feed... hehee.. he got reflux problem so we dun feed him a lot at one go too (even till now he mostly take 125ml feeds in the day...
But when he reaches 3 months .. he himself decided to sleep through at nite. I leave it to him.. if he choose to wake up cos hungry ... i will still feed him.

Lilfeet, u called all 75 infant cares in Singapore???? wow... must salute to u! Oh u having twins...congrats! Wh infant care has gymboree and kinder music? sounds quite interesting.

kk,

maternal serum testing is the same as triple test. that's the test name used by kkh. I saw their phamplet when i was a kkh patient last time...

lilfeet,

amniocentesis carries the risk of losing the bb.. it may be low but the risk is there. Depending on personal belief and convictions, if a parent decide to keep the child no matter whether DS or not, then i really feel dun do the amnio test to endanger the bb for no solid reasons. In the meantime the parents can still research and prepare for the coming of the child in case DS. Its actually not that hopeless to have a DS child.... maybe u can read Glenn Doman's book on teaching special children... to gain insights into this area. If given the right brain stimulation the DS children can also attain a high level of intelligence... i had not tested it but some parents with such experiences in other forums attest to it... in any case... me too do not wish to bring a DS child to the world if it really happens though i am a christian. But individual have different belief and convictions...

Hi Poohy

yeah. babies' inc is my first choice but with twins, my cost willdouble so I have to be realistic as well. Since the travelling journey is far, we don't drive.. so will really need to explore othe roptions as well. I do love the place though.

yeah. I know.. Just a thought we are considering but not sure yet. i will see ow it goes with full breastfeed for three months first to see the babies' feeding routine before thinking of the formula thing.

Most of my colleagues give their babies similac. Not sure if this is any good. So many brands!

What about diapers? I like Pampers premium but i think ti will cause me to be broke if i use that exclusively! will cost me about $300 per month for my twins! Any other brands you can recommend that is pretty decent - perfer cotton ones and not too ex? heard Dryers is cheap but ventilation not too good and cause some babies to have nappy rash....

KK - You should just go hear and then see if you require further tests. Lots of mummies I saw on this forum had negative results but after amino, results were fine so they can enjoy the rest of their pregnancy. Beats worrying and feeling sad throughout right?

Actually, amino pain depends on your threshhold and skill of your gyne. my neighbour who did it said she expeirene no pain at all. Just important to have complete rest for a few days to a week after that.

keep us informed of the results yeah?

tinklebell... yeah.. Told you I am an over-preparer.. hehehee.... I really called all of them and kinda interview them over the phone etc before shortlisting them for me to visit tomorrow. After that, will do my maths and calculate which ones i like and can afford. Want to leave a buffer to provide for other stuff my babies may need so may not be able to choose the ones I like best cause they cost so much. I guess I need to be realistic cause my cost in everything will now double =P Hopefully, double the blessing and joy too! hehehe

poohy - The only issue I have with babies' inc is that they only take in infants till 2 years old. After that, I will need to source again for a good centre for child care. I am trying to find one with similar standards that has also child care so my kids won't be so distrupbed at having to change environment again and make new friends. I believe that stability is very important to children.

re: diaper brand

my bb uses pampers premium all along from birth... my mum uses it so liberally ... hehee.. one wetting only she changes... i think even if i got 2 babies still will be the same... and next year.. really got 2 to handle liao hehee... anyway pampers premium is the best and should be used initially for newborn bb i feel... i had not exposed my son to any other brands other than NEPIA which has material as soft and cottony... its pretty affordable too ..
I know of twins mummy using it ... can order in bulk. I think i will ask my SIL to use pampers premium and nepia when her twins are borned next june too.. I am going stock up a lot.... hehee

Hi Ryue

For the JE sinseh, do i hv to see the doc together with my husband u think? are they open on sat and sun?

Hi kk

Dun put urself too much stress now. Do read up the www.babycentre.com on the triple test result
(think they call them Multiple Marker Test. Hv copied a short write-up here. They are more details inside the web.

What can the multiple marker test tell me?
The multiple marker test (sometimes referred to as the triple screen) can tell you if your baby is at an increased risk of having certain birth defects and genetic abnormalities. If you choose to have this test, it's important to understand that a "positive" or abnormal result doesn't necessarily mean that your baby has a problem. In fact, only about 10 percent of women with abnormal results have babies with birth defects. In general, an abnormal result means only that you may need further testing, such as ultrasound or amniocentesis, to know for sure.

On the other hand, a negative or normal result is not a guarantee that your baby is healthy but it does mean that your baby's chances of having certain birth defects are much lower. And that's why a lot of women opt to take it. Current research indicates that this test will detect 75 to 85 percent of neural tube defects (such as spina bifida and anencephaly) and 60 percent of Down syndrome in babies of women younger than 35, and 75 percent of neural tube defects and Down syndrome in babies of women 35 and older.

take care

HI

I have also hear abt doc Fong Yang. anyone got the details abt him or has him as a gynae? Is he considered an expert for IVF?

Hi kk,
dun worry too much okie. hugz. Positive doesnt mean there is a high risk. go for further tests and see how.

Hi Ladies!

Thanks for all your encouragement

Anyway i cannot make myself worry all the way till next tues. Got to get on with work (still have one big presentation tomorrow) and life.

Perhaps everything will turn out just fine. Just have to see what the gynae say and what options there are.

I am not so fussy over which brand of diapers so long as it is cloth and not plastic material and holds urine reasonably ok. my logic is that afterall, it will end up as waste in the dustbin. So far, my first one had tried pet pet, pampers, drypers, mummy poko, pureen, NTUC, EQ, Fitty. So far, i feel that Pet Pet is good value for money. Pampers premium is good for night use. Now that he is almost 3, he wears diapers only to poo poo so i use the cheapest (NTUC brand) if possible. At nite, he uses Mummy Poko pants bec it doesnt leak.

Lesson learnt - have to teach no 2 to poo poo in 1 mth after he is born if not, will end up spending a lot of money on diapers.

tinklebell,

ya agreed gotta teach elimination communication early... but me dun really know how to do it... even though my mum tried with my son... not persistent cos when my son dun want to pee/poo... we dun really persist. I know some people definitely will wait till bb poo/pee before they bring them out..

Poohy, but it's good u keep going thru the cycle with him early even though he doesnt want to pee/poo... the strategy is to recondition them to pee/poo when they hear certain sounds. We tried last time but didnt persist and now, my son, 3 years old already can only poo standing up. he can sit in toilet bowl for 45 mins but nothing comes out!

Hello gals...
Hope you gals are doing well
I have been rather busy to log in and follow the thread. You gals are so advanced. Now on childcare and how to potty train already. I haven't even shop for maternity wear.
I gonna see baby later

Hi Lilfeets,
Next time must "qing jiao" you about childcare already

Hi kk,
Did you discuss with your hubby and find out what does he think about the test result? Maybe you both will be able to work out what you want

Alvy- I am seeing Dr Fong Yand. I know he does IUI and IVF. How his success rate is, i really don't kow. In fact, noticed most of his patients are already pregnantwomen. No comments on his skills for that though. Like I said earlier in my posting. he's a good doc and very patient and caring. Won't ask you to spend $$ unecessarily but I find him too relaxed to the point I think he's not doing enough. he has never taken my wieght or height or even blood pressure though I am already 9 weeks. No harm seeing him though. he also never ordered any test for me at all. I gues I had seen prof Chris Chen already so i know my history and records. no harm trying but his waiting list is long and hard to get appt.

tinklebell- how does your son poo stading up? =)

poohy - I have been hearing about this training but wonder how this is done. cna you elaborate on this elimination communication.

Lilfeets, he needs to wear diapers... stand in one corner quietly (will chase anyone away if we are near him) and poos. One good thing is that he knows when he is going to poo and will tell me ..i want to wear pampers!

lyn - not expert but been calling around. I know what I am looking for and so shopping around lor. What I ike may not be what you like. For example, one mother refused to put her babies at babies inc (which I thought was fantastic) cause they let babies use realy shot glass for drinking water and feeding off real bowls which are breakable. This is the montessori method. The mom is afriad of the children breaking it and hurting themselves. So to each his own. I like the idead as I feel it's realistic.

Tinlebell / poohy - So what do you recommend. I thought of nepia but some mummies compain that nepia diapers absorb very little urine and it leaks if baby pees alot at one go. I will get pampers premium but wonder if i can use a cheaper substitute for day use cause really throw away even though just pee a little so wastful if we're using pampers. Interested for new borns. nepia laso always out of stock for newborns and small size.

tinklebell - so cute! he wears diapers to poo. Hmm.. You planning to potty train him? How doe sone potty train children I wonder/ I am glad infant care does that for us. hehehehe...

dear kk
hi. sorry to hear.
but dont worry unduly. worrying is like sitting in a rocking chair - it sets you back and worth, but gets you no where.

like what most had said, triple tests are not that accurate. In fact, my gynae does not want me to do it cause he said its only 60% accurate and if the results are not good, you are compelled to do amniocentesis. I can imagine your concern now. If I were you, I would have brought forward the appt and discussed the options with my gynae. He shld be your best advisor for now. take care dear, and dont worry too much now. God Bless.

dear Alyy
Hi. For the JE sinseh, they are open from Wed to Sundays, from 615am to 4pm. If you would like to go on weekends, I am afraid you would have to be there by 530am or latest 6am. Otherwise, you might not get a chance to see her. I am one of those whom reaches there at 5am every other Saturday. It was a torture, but well worth it. She told me she saw many patients whom failed at IVF or MC, and then managed to conceive naturally with her. I trust her a lot.. Dont loose your faith..

Lilfeets & Pebbles on this thread is seeing Dr Fong Yang. Yes, he is a fertiliy specialist. the JE sinseh will recommend you to see him if you cant conceive with her drugs after 2 to 3 mths. I went to see him couple of times. but be warned of his take blood skills... errmm.. he is not very skillful when it comes to that, but on the whole i think he has a great personality. the reason for my change in gynae is bcos i cant stand his nurses. i m seeing Dr LC Foong at Glenealges. He is also recommmended to me by the JE sinseh.
Alyy, since you've conceived before, im sure you'd be able to conceive again. i wish you luck and keep the faith!

Dear Lilfeets
I am your admirer! you are really a great preparer!! i have not even thought abt who shld take care of my baby when he/she is born!! heehee!! shall worry when the time comes. afterall, i'd be home for 3 mths.. im actually looking forward to that break from work!!
anyway, good luck for your scans tonight. fill us in ya!

to all, how i envy those SAHM moms. i'd never be one as i m an only child and i need to make sure i work so as to be able to support my parents if they need me in future. and also, i am not the stay at home type. i'd get crazy. the other reason is i think taking money from my hubby for shopping purpose (other than for baby) would be tall order. hee!! quite a valid concern, right..

hi alyy

The JE physician is open from Wed to Sunday, 7am to 4pm. If you know ya hubby has no problem, then you can go alone. There maybe some negative remarks abt her, but I personally feel she is a very nice lady and it was her who gave me the confidence to go for ivf.

I took her med for a few months and you have to be diligent in ya vists n med. Anyway, med needs not be brewed, they are in convenient sachets.

Better to rest for a few months and build up ya body, cross my heart. KKIVF is the cheapest. I think you were in theIVF/ICSI thread before eh? I am under Dr Fong Yang after a few years with KK and other gynaes.

Let me know if you need more info k?

KK - Hugz. Hang on. As Kite said, +ve doesnt seem confirmation of DS. Hear what the doc has to offer next Tues yah?

Rest - Hey, can someone confirm that the amniocentesis test is NOT compulsory for all preggies right? Just realised by SIL went for it this morn, and wondering if it is becos of her age 34 yrs old, and if becos her 1st child is slightly autistic?? I dont think she went for the NT scan at all. For me, my gynae scheduled me to go for NT scan in Dec cos he thinks am low risk, and sent me for a blood test for haemoglobin etc. That is the triple test? Hubby & I went for blood tests previously, and results were gd. Nothing abnormal.

ryue - I share your sentitments for SAHM indeed! I don't think i can ever ask my hubby for money. Not comfortabledoing that. I mean he gives me an token allowance monthly but I am not good asking for money. I like having my own money to spend as I wish. Don't feel so guilty if I splurge on a nice dress or something. I guess I can't do that anymore now that I have two babies to plan for.

i need to think of infant cares etc earlier cause Ilearnt the lesson from my colleague who procrastinated. She waited so long into the confienment before looking and was frantic at the last moment before finding a centre that has a vacancy to take her baby in. some centres even have a year long waiting list for people's babies so i want to make sure my kids have a place. I need to go back to work after 3 months! A bit kiasu I guess.

Kk - I did't like the JE sinseh as compared to Ryue as I wasn't comfortable with her. A few of my friends who saw her got the same comments as I have.. You have edometriosis, PCOS, adenomysis etc etc.... She will always refeer you to Prof Chris Chen and Fond yang but stressed that she did so because Chris Chen's scanning machine is better. Actually, not true cause Chris Chen uses the same v-scan as other gyne. The diff is that he's very professional and through withhis check, I'll give him that much. He's also very details.

The reason i saw Fong Yang was because I could not afford Chris Chen's fee for a laproscopy for my endometriosis. My GP suggested a normal gyne as this is a common procedure. I have to saw that his skills are not bad cause I can really feel the difference after the op. How good he is on being a fertility expert, I really don't know cause not alot of people go to see him for IVF. You can see comments on the thread on Dr Fong clinic. Most can't answer the IVF question but I am sure he does it. He's ex-SGH and gave talks on fertilty then. Just that the comments on him being good as a gyne is always from peole who are already pregnant. You will need to ask someone who has done IVF with him. In fact, I'm giving him one last chance to change my mind tonight when I see him before deciding if I want to change gyne.

Oh.. I agree with Ryue on his blood taking skills. he terrifies me. Not good at it at all. feel like a dead pig being poked all over just to draw only 1cc of blood!

Honestly, even with the best fertility expert, they will tell you that success in IVF is 50 % luck. I have a colleague who had IVF done by Prof Chris Chen and stil did not conceive with him.

Why don't you try KKIVF. They are much cheaper and usually good with complicated cases since they are the women specialists. You can choose to see Sheila Loh , head of dept I think. Have good comments on her from the IVF thread.

volf20 - i heard of some gyne who will suggest preggies to go for aminocentrisis if their patients are above 30. My friends Sis was asked to do it cause she was above 30 when she got preggie but yes, it's not complusory as a routine. Usually suggested if youare int he high risk group or if your tiple test, NT test comes back with unfavourable results.

the one you and hubby went through is probably for thelesemia test. Just to make sure your baby doesn't have a genetic blood disorder. That only happens if you and your hubby are carriers of the gene. if only one carrier, then it's fine.no risk of your baby becoming a Major. Either born as a carrier or normal. If both are carrier, then 50%- 75% of baby having the disorder. it's a life threatening disorder for Major.

re: elimination communication

me no expert in it... dunno much also ... this is the area i am weakest in so i really cant share much... cos i never bother to research it.. hehee i just leave this to my mum to help.

re: sahm

ya lor i wont wanna take money from hb though i dun think it will be a tall order.. hehee.. i just feel it will limit the income supply ... besides we are highly educated and earn much much higher salary these days... if i stop work at this point in time... it will be a huge opportunity cost leh... my salary even higher than my hb. anyway i think if we can .. working would set aside much more money for rainy days especially with the rising costs in singapore... else it will be so tough on our hb.. and our children may have limited resources.. anyway its really a nice feeling being able to splurge on our children...

and its also not easy taking care of bb whole day... that's why i always pei fu my mum ... who take care of my fussy little boy all day long... hehee... really been such a great guide to me..

poohy, u seem to like working... hey hey ... i dont... i am quite a laid back person and am not career minded... but i dont want to waste my parents money sending me to uni.

i think i am lucky...hubby earns double wat i earn even if i dont work, it's not going to create a big impact on our financials as most of the household expenses are borne by him anyway... (heh heh just dont let him hear that) just that i will have to cut down on my shopping! Anyway, i totally agree we have to save for rainy days and not forgetting retirement. a perpetual Sahm is out of the question for me. i dream of doing part time work which i like or business ventures which interest me. or volunteer work with church or support groups. money is important but after i became a christian, my thinking has changed... money somehow fades being the focus of my life. i dont really want to be its slave.... just my own personal viewpoint. frankly, i really salute mummies who can juggle both career and home.

tinklebell..

far from it... i hate working... but bo bian... i work for the sake of my mum and my baby... wanna give him the best. me too .. never a career minded person.. think my salary may have been even higher if i am career minded... i think i am too laid back liao... my brother always say i am a big time overpaid overhead in my company...
hehee..

i still wanna be a sahm.. but its really tough... i mean who would not want to be there to see all those special little moments our children can give ... instead of spending whole day working.. coming back for 1-3 hours to see them sleep. but i know its going to be too tough on everyone if i do that... hehee...

poohy, u are a v considerate wife ... am sure your hubby sayang sayang u
he'll appreciate your hard work for the family.

i have been very very poor more than two thirds of my life...so i dont really know how to enjoy luxury things. but i know very well that i enjoyed my family togetherness with my parents, in laws ... i hope my children will enjoy my company too.... when i shop i also buy cheap cheap things....i feel happy when i get value for money things.... used to work thru school holidays to earn that extra pocket money for the next term ... maybe that's why i hate to work. hey hey.

tinklebell / poohy

i know what you girls mean. I thought of staying at home too but then, do't want to blame my kids for losing my job in future. Also, might consider if it's only one child but with twins, I don't think it'll be fair on them if I stay at home cause I'm quite a perfectionist. It's not good for them to grow up with such high expectations on them.

In any case, with greater expenditure these days, need some extra cash for those classes our babies want in future and they are really not cheap. As my hubby and I are mainly english educated, we will definately need ot send our kids to chinese/mandarin classes etc so that will really cost us. Think should carry on working andbe able to splurge on my kids abit more.

Having been in a situation of not having enough while growing up, I don't want my kids to grow up not being able to have what they wanted or the activities they wish to learn. At the end of the day, we chose to have them so it's our responsibility to give the best we can without neglecting them emotinally.

tinklebell,

like u .. i was v v poor in my younger days... till i started to work for abt 2 years and got breakthrough in my jobs

when i was younger, like u, i gotta work for my next term 's school fees... when my classmates in university were busy studying for exam, i will be busy looking for part time job... cos very scared cant get a job and cant pay school fees next term. Then gotta teach tuition at nite ... cos not enough to pay for the school fees.. hehee.. it tough .. cos no time to do those final year proj... in any case... i know its tough to grow up in a family where finances are v tight... so i try to work as long as i can ... so that my children dun have to go thru the same fate...

Anyone of u constipated during pregnancy? Am so bloated cos kana 'stuck' for 5 days leow. Tried all ways - tons of fruits, fruit juice, water, prune juice, fybregel. Nothing. Help.

ya ... me constipated until kenna bleeding and piles! *pai seh* everyday i take at least 5 servings of fruit to help elevate the prob. i heard walking or exercising more can help elevate constipation donno true or not.

dear poohy,
ya, i think so too.. my hubby makes much more than me, but i can forget abt asking him for allowance.
dear lilfeets
wah.. i must tell my hubby that he not performing to market standards.. i never get any allowance!
but of course i'd make him pay for all the outside food we eat and all!

dear Alyy
yes, i forgot to tell you that you must bring your hubby along also. i agree with lilfeets that her diagnosis is quite standard. but she did not say i have endometriosis though. she only say PCOS, which I really have. And yes, she will also ask you to see Prof Chris Chen, someone whom i cant tolerate. He will say his machines are better..

Tinklebell - ok. I eat more fruits ..argh... Feel that the more I eat, the more it gets stuck. Tumm is getting bigger cos of that and not becos of bb!! Sobs.

dear volf, tinklebell
poor thing. i had constipation in the beginning as well. mine got better with prunes and prune juice, which i hate! ya, probably some light exercise will help. otherwise, talk to your gynae and ask him to dispense some stool softeners. take good care!

what fruits u eat?? i eat a lot of papayas. i think your prob is that piece of rock stuck there .... u see, once u manage to push out that piece stuck there, the rest will come out easily ..hey hey.

I hate prune juice too. Think they taste awful. Now no choice. Sobs. Will try again. Tried yoghurt just now... but obviously bb din like it. Me puked it all out. Sigh.

But sad to say, i started having piles when i had my first bb and it did not go off after pregnancy. Took Daphlon last time it worked for a while but the piles came back again. If the constipation is bad, better see a doc.

Was wondering if it's ok to eat peanut paste soup and black sesami paste/soup during pregnancy ?

Suddenly got craving for it :)

volf20 - I also had tha problem until i started dirnking anmum 1. hehehehe..My hubby only use 3 spoonfuls every morning but it helps me go daily to the loo. Once a day is better than once every five days! Alos, tummy not pain, just like normal need to go. Not sure if it works for all though.

then again, I started to increase my fruit intake alot. I eat like an orange and an apple at lunch everyday and also papaya and bananas from time to time.

poohy

yeah . Me to. Always having to give tuition when I was in JC to get extra pocket money and all. I'm always working throughout school hols while friends are enjoying holidays. I guess it's all worth it cause it makes me stronger.

Ryue - my hubby pays for all the bills at home and he still gives me a token sum. I don't demand it from him but we were both brought up that way. I use the money he gives me to buy stuff for the house and all lor. If he goes grocery shopping with me, he stills pays as well. As he's paying for my hospital bills now, I told him he does not need to give me money for the next few months. I mean, need to be fair and considerate to hubby as well right?

Alvy/Ryue - It is common for most women to have some degreee of endometriosis and PCOS. It's part and parcel of being a women and as long as you menstrate, you will have a certain degree of these. So i think he diagnosis is not very true in that sense. It's very easy to be "correct", i fyou know what i mean. There's no harm in trying her out i guess if you feel comfortable. I just aren't with her.

It's not true his machines are better. It's the same darn machine for v-scan! BUT, though the man can be insufferable, he is very detailed and through. He's also very good at what he does if you look at his accolades.

Thanks all for your advice for my gross situation ;( Will try all that..including Anmum & prune juice. Hv been eating apples, oranges and bananas, and fruit juice, but no use. If all else fails, will go see Gp for stool softener lor. Sorry for grossing all out. Pai seh.

volf20 - nothing to gross us out with. We all suffer from it one stage or the other! As advise by one of the ladies, don't use 4 tablespoon of anmum 1 as advised cause alot of people LS after tkaing thsat dose! hehehee.. It's either we're stuck or it comes all in one go.hahahahaha

K Ong -think sesame / peanut paste ok - eat in moderation lor. Dun like 3-5 bowls at one go. For me - I dun really hv much appetite. I eat only when hungry.

volf : heehee, i just had half a bowl of sesame pasta ! now feeling too full ... ahhh, regret !
tummy produces more gas these days ... so trying to learn how to cut down on food intake and spread it out over a few hours ...

lilfeets,
my #1 uses cloth diaper, and Petpet/ Drypers for day & night after discharged from hospital- she's not prone to nappyrash unless ill. When older, switched to Mamypoko for night cos holds more pee (as she slept longer hrs).

I use Pampers Premium if she has diarrhea cos thinner (more ventilation), better quality materials (less likelihood of worsening nappyrash from diarrhea). But it's really too thin/ doesn't hold enough for normal use, cost-wise. It's gd for putting in diaper bag for outings cos it's thin/ less bulky.

ECing,
the hardcore EC is to keep bb bottomless, so you can identify pee/poo cues quickly. Such that can watch the face, and know bb is GOING TO pee/poo. I tried for awhile but simply cldn't read the PEE cues, just ended up with pee puddles everywhere. :p

the half-baked version I managed ok is, when she STARTS to poo, can tell, and immediately whisk her to sit on traditional potty (I have western makes and the traditional vase-shaped potty- I rec the traditional cos it bends the knees closer to chest, thereby aiding bowel movement in bb). However, when bb is more mobile, will refuse to sit on potty and rather cruise/ stand while pooing.

Nowadays, she loves sitting on trainer potty on adult toilet, so far working well. She nnngs along with my ngging encouragement, LOL. Today, managed to put her on it before she soiled her diaper

i'm back from my NT scan.. everything is okay so i'm not taking the blood test for DS
except the doctor pressed so hard on my tummy that it feels bruised now. he even used the scanner to bump my baby a few times into moving! so rough!!! well.. i think bb didn't like the doctor as well so it refused to cooperate.. bb kept bouncing around, using its hands to cover the nose and crossing its legs.. took us more than 30 mins to complete the scan but i enjoyed every single minute looking at bb
heehee

doctor said can't see the gender of the baby coz of its position, have to scan from below than may be able to see.

hi poohy,

my appt is supposed to be tomorrow afternoon with tony tan and not today! i only realised that i had gone down to TPS on the wrong day upon registration!! luckily the nurses and doctor were nice enuff to slot me in.. paisay man..