(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

dear volf
hi - yes i did. all 3 of them. oh yes, i forgot to mention i bought anti-strectch mark cream. i asked my gynae if they were a waste of money and he said no. he said his wife uses mustela and he thought it was quite effective. so i went to buy it at Blisse at Paragon. They sell it everywhere though and its standard pricing. 55 bucks.

went to 9mois and swell but werent totally impressed. walked out within 5 mins.

also went suntec - spring maternity and other shops. spring maternity at suntec has a decent choice and work wear quite nice. i think i will go back there next week to try on some of their clothes.

also went to maternity exchange today. was also not impressed. chanced upon a shop named DUNE at Great World today. the maternity dresses are nice and cute. think i will also go back there.

Hey Ryue - thanks for the info. Will go Spring & Dune to check the work clothes out. I bot the aniti stretch cream fr Mothercare at $12 each. Now it's $9.80 after discount. My colleague swears by it.. so have been using it. Let me know if the Mustela brand is gd too

As for delivery, I hope to deliver all natural WITH epidural. The recovery time for natural is much much faster and less painful.. and of course, being vain, I dun wan the 'cut-line' on my tumm leh. Epidural is a must for me. I dun really understand why some women will try to 'tong' without it.. and even swear off it... AND finally still ask for it after the 12th hr of labour. I can't stomach that kinda pain. To me, I rather lessen any pain .. in case I black-out mid-way ..hahhaha

Hi ryue,
My breasts feel very sore in the morning usually. During the daytime is ok. Do you experience that? Breasts being sore during certain times of the day only?
I still can fit into my bras... hahaha.. Only some getting a bit uncomfortable.
I was wearing size 26 jeans... Today I wore a size 28 and it did not drop.. hahaha... still a little bit loose, but can wear already. When I sit down, can see the tummy very clearly. I hope the tummy will not grow too much next week, cos I am going for a wedding dinner next Sunday...

Hi volf20..
same same leh... the fats ooze out when I sit down... hahaha.. looks like I am getting out of shape already....
Yalor.. the breasts look like out of proportion with the body... hahaha... I also feel a bit pai seh... But most of my clothes all tight fitting...
I think that documentary was shown a few months ago. I recorded that already
hee... will go and watch again.. kekeke...

wa... ryue.. you still got lots of energy to shop. Envy envy... I am super duper tired after a while. Today I just to Holland V for tea, then to Centerpoint to cut hair, then I am so tired already... My hubby wanna buy me a watch but I am too tired to shop around...

dear volf
me same same.. dont think i can tahan without epidural. at first i thinking of c-sect, cause my threshold for pain not high. but after some contemplation, the after math pain for c-sect seems quite frightening too.

dont think Dune's clothes are exactly very appropriate for work. most of them are cottony dresses.. but they are very very sweet.. lotsa baby blue, pink colours.. im sure you'd love it. but they do have some plain nice work tops as well.

your 12 bucks anti-stretch cream.. what brand is that? i never really venture into mothercare cause i thought they are more focussed on babys' products

dear lyn,
my shopping spree spread out over 2 days. i was so dead beat yesterday i fell asleep within seconds. i used to be able to shop for whole day non stop.. now i drop dead after walking for 2 hrs. i very focussed. only went to those maternity shops.. never go to the other shops at the mall.

dear lyn,
sorry, forgot to reply on your query on breasts.. no, mine dont feel sore, but nipples quite sensitive. when i walk into a cold place, my nipples will feel painful.. quite strange.

envy envy on your growing breasts.. heehehhe.. hopefully mine will grow sooooon

ryue,
Having a cut is really painful after the anaesthetic wears off. That time I had a surgery and I cried the whole nite after the surgery. I could fall asleep after they gave me painkiller on the drip :p So, if can, better dun opt for C sect...

Hi ryue...
hahaha.. dun envy... they really looked out of proportion now... hahaha... very paiseh when I am conscious of it... hahaha...

My hubby said my waist getting thicker also... My figure not so defined already... So sad...

dear lyn,
ya, agree and noted. my gynae have not discussed my birth plan with me yet..i think he will only do so after my 22nd week. the detailed scan. are you gonna have the detailed scan too?

dear lyn,
i am very concious that my butt and thighs had grew so big too.. sob sob.. my gynae said due to no exercise. but i dont dare to exercise leh, i scared over exert. i used to run a lot, like 3 to 4 times a week, 6km at least and was very slim. now i look like a bucket. sob sob. but my gynae had consoled me that this is good investment for my baby. arent we great or what. heehee!!

Hi ryue,
I am not sure if I am going for a detailed scan. If my gynae said I should go for it, then I will go for it
. Now is one step at a time for me

Hey Ryue - The stretch cream is called 'Massage Cream' & is by Mothercare itself. It says 'to help prevent stretchmarks with extracts of soothing camomile and moisturising shea butter'. So far so gd & cheap
Think MOthercare gives 20% discounts with DBS Creditcards & some other cards.

Yah - agree with Lyn: Ryue - you are so energetic! Even spread out over 2 days .. it's a feat to me! I get tired even after just going to NTUC and breakfast! Hhaha. You know, hubby wanted to buy me something nice on our wedding anni last fri .. and I had to go home after a nice dinner - cos too tired ! Hahh;)

dear ryue
oic.. sigh..im freaking out on the thought of the detailed scan. still another 2.5 more months for me to go before the scan. will be long agonising wait.

Hi ryue...
hahaha... you told your gynae you are conscious of your figure ah? I think my gynae will think I am vain, so I dare not ask him. hahaha...
My butt grew more fats already. oops.. havent notice my thigh though :p. I just swam a little yesterday

I still yet to wear my baby doll tops which I had put aside. Hopefully still can fit on the breasts section... hahaha...

When do you gals apply the anti stretch mark cream? How many times a day? I feel like getting olive oil cos my mum used that last time and it works for her...

dear volf
guess you'd feel more energetic towards week 12. i used to have the need to take afternoon naps every saturday, but now i can "tong" until at night.

Me scared to even step on the weighing scale.. think I look like a whale now ... n I hv been v slim too. Hubby says I look the same, with slight buldge in tumm. Sobs. Feel damn fat.

I apply once a nite, on tumm, breasts (avoid nipple). Suppose to use on thighs too.. but I hve not been doing that.

dear lyn,
yes, i email my gynae whenever i feel distressed. he usually respond to me within a day. thats what i like abt him

why are you not supposed to gain weight? my gynae says it normal to gain weight even in first trimester.

can i chk with those who has gastric...how does it feel like?which side of ur tummy will be in pain? coz i dun hav gastric n last nite my left side nearer to the bottom was abit painful n disturbing..i ate bread but still the same..finalli went to sleep..this morning the pain came back again for the whole day..i was always complaining of hungry to my hb..he told me tt side is gastric..my original appt is this sat 26..now wondering if i shd go tomorrow n ask d gynae..hopefuli nothing wrong wif the bb.

angeline,

me too had been having this pain at my lower left abdomen recently.... but i dun think its anything to do with the gastric leh.... prob bb growing and the ligaments hurts or something...
Maybe u let your gynae knows and see if anything...

finally had a chance to pop by. had my check up last week wed. all is weel , at least i can hear the heartbeat now. feel so relieve.

angeline, i have the same pain so i try to lie with a pillow below the tummy.

volf20, hehe u also supporter of epidural hehe. i wanted epi for my 1st pregnancy actually sweared by it. but the end result was only happy gas for my relief. coz sometimes if too dilated when admitting they dun really allow the use of epi liao. 2nd preggie, headache also. coz i m so afraid of needles & scare of pain also so itz like devil & the deep blue sea :p

lyn, i haven't started on the cream. tink will need to go & get. i tink i will use the clarins oil again.

toking about weight, i still have my 2kg excess from my 1st preggie :p so now is adding on.

I also tot of buying the massage cream from Mothercare... but I felt it stinks. Mothercare has another cream from the brand AVENT. It is selling at $25. The smell bvery nice. I started using it last night only around my tummy.

Poohmum

recently started to hv indigestion and in twice occasions, have used medicated oil to rub on my stomach. Is it okie or wil it harm bb? dun think so rite?

when do we start to use anti-stretch mark cream?

btw, usually wkends, i love to wear my levi low waist jeans but now i cant wear liao
sometimes dunno what to wear during wkends. wkday office i already got maternity office wear, not so bad. Match w shirts w office skirt or office pants.

I bought the Clarin tonic oil for stretch marks but didn't like it. Want to sell it off now caus eonly used it a few times.

am using the shea cocoa butter stretch mark from Palmers now. i prefer cream based than oil based.

Hmm.... My gyne has not once aken my weight at all . said only after second trimester then need to take weight. I'm not really comfortable with that.

I went to buy two pairs of pants from Thyme maternity yesterday. QUite happy now. Price ok. maternity bras on offere there too. Buy one at regular price and second one at half price.

Yeah. Indigestion is really bad. I kept farting and burping whole of yesterday.. *sigh*

Hi Ryue

I went to se ethe JE sinseh nly once. The Gyne she is referring to is Fong Yang, Not LC foong. The one she recommends at gleneagles is Chris Tan whom I also saw but he's really too expensive for me. He wnate dot charge me about $9-12 k for laproscophy for my endo. I did mine for only $5K ++ with Fong Yang.

The reason I am thinking of changing gne is that I feel Fong Yang believes that the minimal is enough already. i don't get any multi vits or anything - only folic acid and perhaps iron pills later on. He also don't take urine test, blood pressure etc which I am worried cause with twins, I want to make sure my weight is good for that early a stage. I'm only 8 weeks and yet tummy showing already. Wondering if I am overeating! Also, his scan is only v-scan. Half the time, i can't even see the picture properly. That's my concern and also, his blood drawing skill really stresses me out considering how much blood testing I will need to be going through. *sigh* in a dilemma now.

Hubby was suggest we try Dr Ho at Mt Al but don't want to seem ungrateful.

Do you think I can jus go for normal facian without those light therapy? I told the staff that I am pregnant now so they said they know what are the items such as aromatherapy oil.

hi lilfeets,

read that u ur hubby is suggesting that u try Dr Ho. i am currently under him and can say that he is really quite good. feel that i am in safe hands under him though sometime when i ask him whether certain chinese herbs are safe, he always reply me with very chiam stuff. perhaps u might like to give him a try and see how comfortable u are with him.

changing gynae doesnt mean u are ungrateful lah. have to think abt ur comfort also mah. now that with twins already is very tiring on u, guess having a gynae that can reassure u will at least set ur mind at ease.

sorry for the abrupted posting earlier. Do you think I can jus go for normal facial without those light therapy? I told the staff that I am pregnant now so they said they know what are the items such as aromatherapy oil to omit.

hi lilfeets

Dr Fong has the abdonominal scan too but v-scan is clearer for those early stages than abdominal scan.

As for the multi vits, docs sometimes recommend after ya first trimester, my sis's gynae gave her after her first trimester too. Folic acid will be good enough. My sis basically vomitted out everything she eats in her first trimester, and she lost weight too but her gynae said no worry, babies will not be affected by mum at this first stage, so multi vits are not necessary.

Hi Lilfeets - Perhaps you shd change your gynae. His relax style obviously does not suit you. Like you, I prefer a more detailed, patient gynae who can reassure me in all ways so that I know I will have a safe pregnancy and delivery
Usually all gynaes take urine test, blood pressure, weight etc. Change if you dun feel comfortable. Thats the most import

hi Lifeets

most imptly is both u n hubby must be confident and comfortable with your gynae cos he is the one who delivers for you. I understand how u feel as i m also in the same dilemma as you. I hv just switched my gynae too and I m in Wk12 now. So change it earlier if you think you want a 2nd option, okie. No need to be pai seh.

hi pebbles
i also went for facial 3 wks ago but it gives me outbreak the next few days. mayb b'cos my hormones starts to change. well enjoy while u can, mayb just dun do the massage part. if not later, when ur tummy is big, u cant even lie straight for 2 hrs.

lilfeets,

agreed with the others.. dun feel paiseh... the most important thing is u must be able to have trust in your gynae. If you are not able to establish that with your current one, then maybe change to another which will be able to let u feel assured. Up to delivery, a lot of trust is required from us in our gynae's ability and professional judgement..

Hi pebbles / volf20

Thanks for your thoughts. I am abit kan cheong I guess. Just a worry wart sometimes.

I don't vomit and eat relatively well though I feel sick at times but no vomit (thank God!)

Pebbles - be careful of aroma therapy stuff cause some oils preggies can't take. Might cause abortion for some. I can't remember which ones. Also, they say no massage for the neck and shoulders during facial. Other than that, facial is fine.

Milo66 - Dr Fong is not impatient. he has very good skills and very patient in ecplaining my questions and all. I just find that he's very "relax" lor. He has this minimalistic view that don't need alot of things. in fact, he told me infant care average will do cause babies only eat and sleep only. I disagree from my child development course I took last year. Just seem to clash in beliefs and I wonder hoe that will affect our cooperations in this pregnancy together. His blood drawing skills terrifies me to bits! It's like if you don't ask, he don't provide answers.

I know Dr Ho is good but his fees are quite ex.. compared to some other gynes. Just a bit confused and lost what to do....

lilfeets,

ic. so far have not discuss the topic of infant care with Dr Ho but he dun seem to be a believer of eating tonic and herbs cause he find that we are able to get the nutrients from daily food. he is alittle like wat u describe, dun ask, dun provide answer type but he does take the effort to explain stuff abt bb to hubby and me during each scanning.

not sure whether he is consider ex. i haven sign up his package yet.

his consultation is 50 and scan 50. each visit cost abt 100.

package wise is 600, including all scheduled visit from 16 weeks to delivery. does not included charges for blood test, detailed scan, med and think the heart beat measurement in the later part.

hope this gives u a better idea

dear lilfeets
think you referring to Prof Chris Chen? You typed Chris Tan and got me a bit blur. hee..ya, i also went to see him. one kind of attitude doctor like as if i owe him a living. the JE sinseh recommended me to see Dr Fong Yang. After a few visits, I insisted she recommended me another gynae and she gave me Dr LC Foong's name card. She said she usually recommend Dr Fong first as his charges are not so steep. But I am not very concious of the costs as I can claim from my company. So I made the switch right away.

i agree with what the others said so far. you dont have to feel ungrateful at all though he probably helped you conceive. we still have many more months to go before the BIG day. This is just the beginning. Not forgetting, u still have to see the same gynae for aftercare after giving birth. Most importantly, you must be comfortable. Like you, I also feel Dr Fong Yang is very "relaxed". He not the kan cheong type, which doesnt suit me either. and his take blood skills scares the both of us to bits too. i think the types of gynaes we choose or we like is very subjective, so follow your heart dear. if you wanna make the switch, now is probably good time, then later.. keep us posted

dear motherofaprincess
what!?!?!! nuerogain is not good for unborn bb's brains? ive been taking it every night
tommorrow i must email my gynae to clarify with him.

mother of a princess...

my gynae had already me to start on neurogain for a while liao... but so far i din do it religiously..... u starting ?

Hi ladies, just went for 2nd scan @ 10+wks... cant do NT scan cos cant see that yet. Uneventful lor, got heartbeat, got 3 blobs on the screen (body, head, hand)... hmmm is foetus supposed to bounce about by this stage ah? Mine din move at all, maybe sleeping?

Hello Gals,

Hi Lilfeets,
I personally think that having a gynae whom you and hubby are comfortable with is very important. Cos you will need him/her from now till post delivery. It's very subjective as to who is good. For me, I like my doc to tell me what to do and not give me 50-50% choices (I met one before). My gynae gave me multi-vits, lots of folic acid, and calcium. Some other gynaes might say it's not necessary, but I trust my gynae
. I think my gynae is more on the KS side, or maybe becos I got history before.
This Thursday I gonna have a blood test for GD cos my weight increased too fast and I am in the high risk group.

This morning, when my hubby put his hand on my tummy, he felt the heartbeat of baby
I also felt the beating heart for a while
It's really amazing. I wonder if any of you gals experienced that??? But after a while, cannot feel already. It makes me imagine is it baby moving around inside me
, and baby was just below my tummy when we felt it. It's so amazing...
It made me more excited to see baby on the scan this Thursday

Hi Ryue

So sorry for the typo. hehehe.... feelign tired out already...*yawn*

Am seeing Dr Fong this thursday again so will see how it goes. Hubby said we should at least visit Dr Ho and take a look to see how things are, probably next week or in another two weeks cause will already have a scan this week.

Milo

Hmm.. $600 from 16 weeks is rather good. Dr Fong Yang charges $600 only from 20th Week onwards and that only includes scheduled visits, some urine test, iron pills and scanning only. Thought that was quite ex.. Heard that Dr Ho requires patients to pay his delivery fee of $1K up front before delivery and not from the hospital bill in total. I find that abit steep considering that we have to pay deposit at the hospital as well.

Ladies - So unhapy with teh maternity bra I bought from thyme .... I'm not used to wearing full bras as i find the middle portion too high up and that is very uncomfortable. However, it seems that all maternity bra are full cup bras with high centre! Also, they are so thin, can see my nipples under my blouse! So rude right? *sigh* It was so irritating that I was scratching all day long. Probably the lace as well.

I'll be going to KKH this Friday to sign up for their ante-natal course with Hubby for Dec. Heard it gets filled up pretty quick.

Oh.. Just started on Anmum 1 chocolate. taste ok but I find it still sweet for my taste. Not too creamy but choclaty which I also find too cholaty. So hard to please right? hehehehe.....

Medusa - foetus will "bounce"?? Hmmmm..... Didn't know /read about that before.....

Ryue - I know LC Foong is good as well. He comes highly recommended.. Isn't he expensive as well? Heard he's like fertility expert. So good.. company can claim. Mine cannot claim for pregnancy.

Good morn ladies

How's everyone?

Hi Lyn
If you r free, do update my detail. Gynae is Dr Henry Cheng. EDD has been brought foward to 1st Jun 2006. So i might hv a May bb..hiak hiak

tmr wil be my 2nd appointment, bb shall be 8+weeks. very excited. Looking forward to c my bb.

Also may i know when does we start to use Anti-Stretch mark cream? for me, not now? dunno when to start to use leh. advise?

Anyone have any idea on what is "Oxytocin Drip" and "Peditine"? is it the same as Epidural? They said Epidural got side effect after using it?

kite,
oxytocin is to induce/ regulate contractions. Usually speeds up contractions.
peditine is painkiller injected in thigh.
laughing gas is painkiller gas inhaled.
epidural is painkiller injected in spine.

Hi medusa,

i m quite confused abt those terms above.
Which one definitely we have to use it and which are optional?

kite,

oxytocin drip is used to induce labour... pethidine is used as pain control jab given on the thigh i think. It takes about 20 min to start its effect. The effect of the jab such as drowsiness can be passed to baby and i think they will give bb antidote at birth...

this is different from epidural.

kite,

all of them are optional! hehee... it depends on how natural and how much pain threshold u can tolerate....

hi poohy,
so if we use oxytocin drip and pethidine, can skip epidural?

Really confuse leh or gynac wil advise or u choose urself?

kite,

i think oxytocin drip induces labour... but it tends to make contraction more painful than the natural labour inducing oxytocin that we produce. I guess its effect depends on different people lah
And its not used for pain control

the pethidine lasted 2-4 hours in effect. The most important thing is its effect passed to the baby... so dunno what kind of side effect that will mean to the labour itself with a sleepy baby inside.

i think these days, if u go for pain control.. normally most people choose epidural cos the effect wont be passed to the baby.

consult your gynae.. i think he will be able to advise u best on the different effects of the pain control... though ultimately the choice whether to use pain control, and whether to use which pain control method is still in your own hands.

Another thing is.. if u r attending hospital antenatal classes, they will brief u on all these different type of pain control and its effect and how they are administered
The experiences that these midwives conducting the classes share can be very enlightening.