(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Hi Ryue,

Yup yup, me at sengkang. U too??

i am interested to know how many live in sengkang. This is a new neighbourhood and always see young couples walking around and pushing prams around!!

There was one time when my friend told me her auntie advised her to stay in Sengkang as she saw prams everywhere and she told my friend SK couples highly productive Haha!

When i was confirmed pregnant, i scolded my hubby see la, cannot go NZ again. haha.. because i always dreamt of going NZ but failed to do so. This yr really determined to go, but another failed attempt sigh.

By christmas time, i will be more than 20 weeks liao. Dunno how tummy looks like by then heeee.. around that corner will need to attend a close friend's wedding dinner as well

Kite,

My melbourne trip was on package. Me and hubby not adventurous type, so we never tried F&E before. The most adventurous time was to leave the tour group behind on our free day and book a sit in coach there to go to philip island hahaha...

Hey, one rock structure fell over at GOR liao. There was a picture that show before and after in the papers. What a pity!

Ur hubby drive? If he drive, not so bad lor. For us, we dun own a car. So go anywhere also inconvenient. Was thinking of getting a car when COE drop sharply recently. But then thinking of saving money for the future, so drop the idea.

Hey, green tea my favourite too! Oolong tea too. I bought yeos bottle packed with no sugar added. And that is my beverage every nite after dinner. Green tea and oolong tea good for health too. But now cannot take liao. i think still can take if in moderation lah

Hmm, didn't get to go HK this time round. So sometimes i am already dreaming of bringing bb to the disneyland there

hi kk,
oic. for us, we prefer self drive F&E cos more relax n can travel n stop at any place

Yup 1 of the 12 apostles collaspe, initally when we were there, there were 9, now left 8.
Yup hubby drives. Actually NZ roads are more difficult n challenging then Aus.

Hmm at least now we are talking abt travelling n this make me feel soothing alot. hehe

Yup green tea can take away calcium from our body so i avoid.

Hi Ryue

Yes am new on this thread. My EDD is 25 Jun 06, at TMC or MAH - hvnt decided. Think am 8.5wks now and it aint showing. My breasts have gone rather big so some tops / tighter dresses cannot wear leow.

Also got no appetite today, and konked out just now. Super tired dunno why. SIgh. Feel like an invalid esp with you ladies talking like you are moving ard normally. AM on a wk's mc - bedrest.

Kite,

Oh, moreover my hubby dun drive in singapore, so i dun allow him to drive overseas. I dun want to end up feel so stressed on my trip :p He only drive when he rent his company car out on weekends.

My hubby's colleague say there were no longer 12 already. Plus this one drop, its becoming worse. Yah lor, i think there were 9 only when the time we went.

Oh, green tea can take away calcium from body?? I thought the reason is it contain caffeine.

hi volf20,

do hv a good rest, if u feel like talking to you, can chat here
cos i understand the feeling is not good esp hv to carry tis kind of feeling everyday. now talk abt travel w kk, make me feel better n forget everything hehe

Hi Volf20,

Do take it easy. i was also like tat in my week 9 or so. Felt super tired, sleep throughout the day, dun feel like working or doing anything. u will feel better coming 2nd trimester
More energetic despite feeling want to sleep at times :p

dear kk
yes! i stay at Seng Kang too. i moved there after i got married. but i cant really stand SK. its so far from everywhere. and compasspoint is a baby town. actually, its not that SK ladies are very productive lah.. its bcos there are lotsa young couples mah.
every weekend compasspoint is swamped with endless crowds. but we still go there because the thought of driving to town puts us off also..

dear kite
like u, i also love F&E. in fact, i didnt go NZ with my hubby. i went with a female friend and both of us did F&E. very brave ya? i agree with you that the NZ roads are very challenging. we took turns to drive. driving around mountains half the time and the turns are quite steep. my fren got caught for speeding 140km/h and slapped with a NZ400 fine.. hahaha.. but on the whole, it was great fun.

tea? i never drink any since i was ttc. now i can die for a cup of dei-si.. but of course i dont drink them..sigh.. so many things cant do/ eat.

dear volf20
im so envious.. seems that many have bigger breasts.. mine still havent grown. my chest grown, but not my breasts
but the thighs, butt and tummy certainly grown. sigh..
anyway, you have a great rest. come chat with us more often

Hi ryue,

Haha, i try to avoid compasspoint on sundays. The kiddy palace turn into market do u realise? But i bought my maternity wear there lor, so not too bad to have a kiddy palace there haha..

The food court there still not so bad. Maybe i seldom eat there lah, so find the food more appetising. U ate before at my rivervale mall? Wah sai, cannot tahan the food here. So for weekend breakfast, me and hubby will take lrt go rivervale plaza buy the bee hoon from the stall with super long queue.

Haha.. i can understand ur feelings.. driving via the CTE is really terrible. Jam and jam and jam. Nothing but jams. Go and come back via other routes still the same. Everywhere got jams. AARGGHH!

Slowly u can drink ur dei si liao lah. Anything in moderation would be fine. Just dun drink everyday lor

Hi kk,
ya wonder when will it drop to 0 apostles? hehe then their tourist attraction will be gone. so sad. We self drove along great ocean rd until Warrnambool, didnt drove further to Grampians. heard grampians very nice too.

Yes green tea can take away calcium fr our body n make our bones weaker. also its very liang so avoid though it can help to slim a person down cos washed away e oils in our body.

Hi ryue,
hehe me too F&E is better. wow u 2 real brave ah cos NZ roads not easy to drive unless u are quite experience esp around the mountains road n the rangs. very dangerous ah. i can remember roads to milford sound n crown range is not that easy. alot of bends n curves w/o barriers.

Same here! we got a fine too but 2 months later when NZ TP posted the fine to our house. we overshot by 13km/hr (limit is 50 at town) and paid NZ$110. The location was at Oamaru, tat day we were driving to watch the yellow eyes pengiun. hehe

Kite,

So i was telling my hubby must visit those natural formations fast, else all drop then cannot see liao haha.. yah i heard about grampians too

Ha.. the places u mention sound familiar. Sigh... talking about NZ make me sob!

dear kk
i thought that kiddy palace like market everyday, not only sunday. i went in once and knocked into at least 5 other people. i saw a fetal sound equipment. you can hear the fetal heartbeat one. but from month 5. compasspoint foodcourt is a bigger nightmare than kiddy palace. i suspect half SK is there at any point of time. i went there on saturday and felt so sick after i had to wait 10 minutes for a sick. after i got to sit down, i had no appetite. but there is a fish soup stall very yummie one. its nxt to the jap food. u tried before. always long queue one.

oh yes, i also love the bee hoon at rivervale plaza. its cheeap and good. yummy. i think i will have that for breakfast tommorrow. the stall opens at 6.30am. on sundays, sometimes we go for the roti prata at kou fu also.. not bad lah..actually i stay at rivervale link. what abt you

btw, how pregnant are u now and which gynae u seeing? i dont see your nick on the list leh.

dear kite
i also feel we very brave. we never knew the roads so tough mah.. we didnt do much research before we went. we just cheong. there was one evening where we didnt find any accomodation cause we reach the destination too late. we had to beg a motel owner for a place to stay. he then gave us a set of keys to a house abt 5mins drive away from the motel and refused to escort us there coz he was mending the motel booth. we went there on our own. it was very cold and dark. no street lights. the 3 storey house was totally vacant & dark. both of us literally hugged each other to sleep in the hse that night, scared to death. it was a major adventure.
oh yes, the $400 fine, we never pay until now. so i think we banned from NZ for life.

Thanks all for your encouragements! Actually am glad I found this discussion thread cos I hv no idea abt pregnancy & most of my gfs all still not married!
kao_babydust2.gif

Just told Hubby yesterday that this is a very gd support gp!
Thank you all.

Hey - talking abt hols, was planning to go Vietnam or HK disneyland in Nov... until I found out I was pregnant
So that will wait then. Maybe might drive in PErth in 2nd trimester...before the baby comes... and then you dun get to go to any hols after that for a while.hahha

dear volf
hi.. im amazed that Vietnam is fast becoming a popular tourist destination. but certainly not advisable now was got bird flu. my colleague who just returned said she fed on tamiflu everyday when she was there. of course we preggies cannot take tamiflu lah..
2nd trimester shld be best time to travel.
after baby still can travel lah.. dump the baby at parent's or in-law's loh.. heehee..

Hi Volf20,

Well not to worry.. we are also not so experienced too haha.. me too like u, there are married friends but all not mummies yet. Just happen to know that one of my ex uni classmates giving birth in feb/mar. But didn't have time to share too. Seldom in contact. So for me, this forum is also the avenue for me to pick up tips

Just wondering are we all around the same age??

i also planned to go Hk disneyland and great ocean park in dec. Went to Hk in 2001 but did not cover the park. We even looked up the price for air tics and accomodation. Too bad my mum say no, so i can't go.

Perth surrounds is a nice region! Southwest scenic drive will be great
Perth city itself is boring lah, but then the surrounds are very scenic

Hi Ryue,

haha.. that's what my mum say last sat. I told her i want to go HK, she say no. Then she say next year then go, just dump the bb at mil's place... haha.. my hubby say na li she de.. heeee....

Hey, who knows.. maybe by then we dun want to go tour liao. just wanna bring bb everyday out shopping heee...

I think by then we might be so attached to the baby.

Any of you planning to breastfeed the kid for long? My colleagues do it for 1-2 yrs, and I must say the results are gd! The kids become super strong and their flesh damn 'teng' one

dear volf
my breasts not very big.
not sure whether can store enuff milk or not. but some say the size of the breasts doesnt matter. not all mothers can produce milk. i think more than 60% of my colleagues no breast milk. ahahha.. maybe we too stressed lah.

Hi Volf20,

But my cousin-in-law did breastfeeding for that period of time and her son kena tooth decay. The teeth not as healthy as the rest of the bbs.

I heard not to breastfeed too long as the bb becomes too pampered. They also won't adapt to milk powder if we were to change to feeding milk powder instead. Did ur colleagues mix their breast milk with milk powder? My mum advised me to do that gradually, and then slowly totally replace with milk powder.

How come our breasts dun get dry up after 1-2 yrs? haha..

Hi Ryue,

I read that breast size doesn't matter leh. Dun underestimate how much milk ur breast can produce. Haha!!

My breasts have also grown, but seems to stop growing liao. i dunno whether they will grow further.

And it is not easy leh.. produce and store breast milk while at work.

hi ryue - not too sure if the size matters leh. But I read that the more you let the kid suckle, the more milk will flow. Apparently, the 1st 3 days flow is not milk - it's colostrum. Very import for kid to take it. After the 3rd day is milk. Try lor.

Hi Volf20,

Wonder whether u all find changes in ur nipples already? Dry and flaky, and like cracks like tat... that day i see rather scary haha.. but got used to it liao.

think i log out liao. Going to have dinner.
Tomorrow will only log in around noon because got invigilation in the morning

Meanwhile, continue to chat

Dear KK
Not too sure if there is a correlation to tooth decay and breast milk leh. Think you do mix breast milk with powdered milk after a while. Dunno when though. But if can breastfeed throughout - can save $$ rite? ;)

Hv not gotten cracks in nipple yet. Do you nd to get nipple cream for that? Saw MOthercare has that.

Hello gals..
Wa... so much to catch up ah...
335448.gif

The thread getting more interesting... Talking about travelling already
335449.gif
. I also planned to travel to the UK in Dec for a few months, but now shelved. My gynae said I can only travel in my 5th month. Not before that cos gotta make sure my pregnancy stabilise. Not after that cos I have two cuts in my tummy already. He's worried about uterine rupture when I get bigger.
My breasts have grown. My lower abdomen have grown too. Today, when I went out, I wore a tight fitting top and I looked so big breasted!
335450.gif
Then the bermudas I wore no longer drop down, now gotta button and wear higher
335451.gif
. I find my nipples look so ugly now
335452.gif

Hee, now we are at travelling..

I'm planning to go travelling in the second trimester.. But havent decide where to go yet.

hi hidora...

btw..wats the taste of a prune juice like?nice?nv drink b4..been puking everyday...so sickening..but it did felt much more better aft each time...haha..

hi angeline,

prune juice is a little sweet and thick. can buy those small bottle ones to try the taste first. dun drink too much at one go, coz can make you run for toilet.. hehehe

going to see gynae tonight.. excited

morning gals,

can we start on light exercise after 1st trimester? how abt swimming/aqua-aerobics or yoga? i'm feeling rather fat and lethargic and my tummy is popping out coz of all the eating & sleeping.

Good morning gals!

Hi cookiemz,
What are the excercises that you consider light? Maybe you can check with your gynae. For my case, I asked my gynae if I can swim. He said I gotta be more careful
But so far, I have been feeling very lethargic and too lazy to go swimming...

Hi kk,
yap also on other famous rock formations along great ocean rd, like london bridge, grotto and bay of island n etc.

Hi ryue,
wow u n ur fren real daring leh, stil drive at nite. we avoid driving at nite in NZ cos not very safe. U went to both islands? south island is very scenic hor. Also we went trekking too. did u? went trekking at Hooker valley walk (2 hrs), hv to cross 2 swing bridge and very windy, lake matherson (1hr+), Mount john at lake tekapo and etc. So far i love queenstown, milford sound, lake tekapo, hanmer springs (went there to soak e springs). ur fav?

we paid the NZ$110 fine cos we intend to go back NZ in future.

Hi Angeline,

Can try buying the Del monte small bottle first. The Del Monte one is sweeter than the Sunsweet one. It's sweet and sour. Not too bad, but dun drink too much.. you may end up hving a diarrhea.

hi kite

ya i went with my hubby to north island when he was there on a business trip few years back.... there's nothing much on north island except the hot springs at rotorua... i don't really fancy north island as i got sick from 2 days of sailing in rough waters hoping to see some dolphins in winter! the other memory i had of north island was of our stay at this chalet sort of accommodation near huka-valley - my hubby had to bathe with icy water (winter) because i had used up all the hot water from the storage tank to clean the bath-tub!!! i guess nz is not really the place for us city-gals lor...

i'm more for the shopping in Tokyo or Seoul....

dear kite,
i love queenstown too. its soooo scenic, every corner you turn. at first i thought queenstown was very big, but turned out to be same size as toa payoh maybe. but i looooove the scenary. on the contrary, i didnt find milford sound that fantastic. but i love lake tekapo. we stayed at an inn by the lake.. we reached there late at night (again, hahaha) and it was freezing. but the nxt morning, the waters was all clear blue and the little church in the middle of nowhere was awesome. didnt go to hanmer springs though.

dear angeline,
if you have MS, you might wanna think twice abt drinking prune juice. to me, the taste is far from nice.

dear dor,
i went Tokyo twice last year! the food was fantastic - sushi, sashimi etc etc.. so fresh!! but erm hemm, if I were to go now, i think i wouldnt enjoy that much cause cant have raw food
but its a nice place. a lot of walking though cause take cabs damn expensive. its ironic. its a place i spent least when i travel cause the stuff are so expensive, i dont buy anything at all, except food! Seoul is nice too, have u been there? a shopping haven.

Hi Volf20,

Regarding nipple cream, so far i did not apply anything yet. Not even anti stretch mark cream. Lazy :ppp

Hi Lyn,

Yah, nipples become dark coloured ya? Pretty scary looking :p

Hi Angeline Goh,

i took prune juice before (not during pregnancy) and it tasted not bad

That time me and my mum drank for fun. Then end up always run for toilet. My brother laughed at us

Hi Cookiemz,

I went for my scan at week 15.4 and my gynae say can go swimming and indoor cycling. So i think light exercise is ok
I heard from hubby's sis that there is yoga class specially for preggies.

Hi Kite,

My hubby suggested this morning to go on cruise. Sounds like a good idea
Another way to relax for my dec holidays
We never went on cruise before, so something new for us.

Hi Ryue,

Yes, i always hear pple say south island NZ is better than north

it's good that u all went on F&E. For tour agencies, a 7 or 8 days trip to south island already cost near to 3K. And 13 days trip to north and south is around 4K!! Imagine two person go hor, will need to spend around 10K liao!!

kk,

so when u going for cruise ? Me just went and came back over the weekend...
Brought my baby with me.... plus my parents and siblings.... Me and hb had been to cruise for at least 4 times... hmm its quite relaxing as in do nothing .. just sit around and eat..look at the sea
This time round a bit more stressful with our baby cos... at times he gets cranky especially when its time to sleep... or when we eat and he gotta watch...
In any case, we should try to tour as much as possible before bb come... once got bb.. so exp... i mean we paid almost $500 for the baby... and when i enquire on a packaged tour to hokkaido.. my baby still need to pay $600.. dunno for wat... i mean my bb drinks our own milk, sleep with us... except air ticket .. i think the agency out to make money..... so we can only go for F&E tours now...

Hi Poohy,

wahhh 4 times on cruise??

Yah, my hubby want to go because of the eating part hahaha...

weekend go more expensive rite?

Yah, when bb comes, expenses sure increase. Putting bring bb to tour aside, when i go out to eat at restaurants, saw those families with kids. Wonder how much they spend on that particular meal! And some kids eat so much! Haha..

hi ryue,kk,
yes south is definitely more scenic. we spent 2 weeks at south island only, 2 weeks also not enough to cover the whole of south but we managed to cover 3/4 of south. hehe told hubby we wil go back to north island in future w bb plus south island
we drove along CHC - lake tekapo - mt cook - twizel - oamaru - dunedin - te anau - milford sound - queenstown - wanaka - fox glacier - hokitika - greymouth - hanmer springs - CHC

wow u went japan twice must be very fun n exp. Hubby n i love nature scenic and relax n peace. During holiday we dun like busy city, dun really go for shopping and etc, we prefer quietness n relaxtion. for me i hope to go The Rockies at canada (heard its more beautiful than NZ!)But then at canada is left hand drive. Not sure hubby wil get used to it. hehe

Thats gd u gg cruise at least can relax, can eat all day round e clock. haha. if i were u, i wil prefer to go wkday rather than wkends but dec holidays sure alot of ppl one.

Hi Kite,

Me and hubby also prefer scenic views. In June, we went to taiwan, dun really like the city and night markets. Still prefer the more rural side of the country.

hi kk / ryue

I stay in Punggol. we're quite close yeah?

I bought a dressfrom kiddypalace too. Price is not too bad when you have the membership card but the quality and variety is not corporate enough for work though.

We bought air ticket to shanghai before finding out I'm pregnant so now had to postpone the ticket to a later date. Will have to go in Feb befor emy third trimester cause Gyne don't allow me to travel when I'm carrying twins in the first trimester. I guess with Bird flu and all now, best to stay in Singapore.

ladies: Anyone thinking of putting their babies at infant care?

yah. i found my tummy sticking out now too. getting a bit concern n was wondering i'm getting lazy n putting on fats around the tummy area or was it part of pregnancy. i dun remember showing so early for my previous pregnancy.

BTW, i have found out the cause of my bitterness taste. Its MSG!!! Everytime after i had a meal with lots of MSG, my tate buds will be off n even the sweetest drink tasted bitter.

Hello gals..

Wah.. you all still on travelling ah... I always like free and easy tour. Best if it's self-drive
cos can dump everything in the car. I am quite used to self-drive tour around Europe
. Two years ago, me and my sis self drive from Italy to the South of Croatia then back and then to Slovenia for two weeks
. Very nice trip
. Hell driving trip was in Spain...

Dor, I am very tempted to go to Japan again... kekeke... Dunno my hubby will agree or not...

Hi Lilfeets,

U stay in punggol.. ya very close.. separated by one expressway only :p

U need to wear corporate wear to work everyday? Kiddy palace dresses formal enough for my work liao

Hi B2B3M4,

Talking about MSG.. i really feel horrible now after eating lor mee just now at food court. Outside food really unhealthy for consumption. I am drinking so much water ever since i came home. Now my whole tummy bloated with water and feeling sleepy somemore

b2b3m4,

me too .. my tummy showing liao... i know i eat a lot lor so maybe thats the consequences.. but 2nd child tends to show earlier... i also wonder whether this is fat lump of spare tyre or the pregnancy... sian i feel so lousy looking at myself

the worst thing is... my face also tends to turn very round if i put on weight.. somehow my face gets a lot of the fat ..
I remember i only started showing at 4th months of pregnancy last round...

kk,

ya weekend cruise more exp... bo bian ... cos my entire family went so difficult to coordinate the leave.. my parents paid for our trip.

for me the places i definitely wanna go is finland to see the northern lights, alaska cruise to see the beautiful animals ...europe F&E to see the beautiful architectures... i only been to parts of France (montpeilier and paris on business trip which i extend to tour ard on company charges hahaha )... with a bb its more difficult cos of the extra charge.. which is like not worth it... but i definitely wont travel without my bb...
rather pay more...

last pregnancy... abt end last year i wanted to go finland on my 2nd trimester... but end up never go... we almost booked liao but i started showing signs of pre term labour... so my hb dun wanna go liao...

Hi KK
Cruising is quite a relaxing non taxing way to go for a quick hol. LIke Kite said, food is good and free flow, and you can just laze ard and do what you like. Am thinking of doing just that maybe in Feb after CNY

Corporate wear - does anyone know where to get good and nice and cheap maternity corporate wear? Still nd to dress formally to work. Not that I nd to now - cos tumm still not showing, but I think it will soon. When did your tumm start showing ah?

Happy Sunflower - wah, you planning to go Japan to eat and shop in 2nd trimester ah? That's very cool. Havent heard of anyone preggie wanting to do that duing her term leh.