(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

<font face="tahoma"> Celeste,
hahahaha like that also can.

you free you go surf my webstore lor... www.bebe-et-maman.com\store

thanks for your support in advance

Celeste,
Good things must share and in this case, it is good school must share. HFMD is common lah… until the day that a vaccine is developed; our children will still be exposed to the risk.

Ashite,
I will be in HKG in the first week of September for work. Want to join in? Maybe we could bring Kell and Shan to HKG Disney?

Paula
Just back from training a bank, sapped :)
1st week of Sept cant, got another training at beginning and church camp at end of week....aiyah, if it's 2nd week,maybe can :-(

All
I recommend LV@RP also! That day went to peek at Kell, the environment there is super the nice and can!

hello mummies...

tinklebell, wow... ur 3 kids looked so lovely and happy... can tell they are siblings... they look like you... ur eyes... so beautiful!

mspiggy, poohy, hang in there... before you know it, you will be holding ur bbs.. so exciting!

paula, aishite, wow... lots of travelling for the both of you... for me, no more travelling till i complete my US detachment. was looking for some local recipes and got hooked on penang recipes.... over the past wk, i did lots here... cooked claypot rice, fried hor fun, wanton soup... next up - chicken rice...

Aishite,
You no problem lah… I am sure the session went well for you.
Okay, I let you know. I will am trying to schedule my trip to catch hold of the director of that part of the world but he hasn’t reply to my e-mail. If there is delay, I update you. Kell and Ijin mite be joining in this trip.

Tinklebell, thanks! Nice shot of your kids, they looked really lovely! Simply peifu those who have 3 kids, my ideal is to have 2 kids, then yesterday night my hubby suddenly commented that maybe we should consider having 3...I was like huh??..talk about this when I am still struggling my morning sickness of having #2? I ask him 'give birth to so many for what?' Then he ask me, '3 is a lot meh?' Faint!!

Paula, how nice...actually I planned to go HK end of this year, but now pregnant, have to shelf my plans.

Toto, wah...you seems to be having fun cooking local cuisines over there...definitely become a great chef very soon.

Celeste, sometimes the kids get HFMD from outside, not necessary from the school, so you cannot fault the school.

<font color="0000ff">Sorry for the "intrusion" to this thread and I've also forgotten to introduce myself earlier. I'm from the "May 2006 MTB" thread, same as Cheri and Ivy. Great to know more mums here.

Paula,
May I know the type of bookshelf that you're using to store Kell's books? Any picture to show as I'm looking for a child-friendly one for DS.</font>

toto,

wow... yumyum food. when you are back, I shall self-invite myself to your place for lunch

re: LV@RP
yes, they should pay pauline marketing fees!

tinklebell,

Great pics of your 3 beautiful kids!

spicegal,

heehee.. guess our grandparents time, 3 is not alot... :p

toto,
you starting cooking and handling all the housework? then dun need to ask your maid over liao lah. Think you will handle everything just fine! How is J there? Adjusted well?

bbloh
welcome! N's bookshelves r very cheap, abt $10 each from Carrefour...only one colour in wood though but wat i like is that they r stackable so u can always buy more to add on.

<font face="tahoma"> Hi ladies

toto,
thanks. glad you're adjusting well. how's J? wow.. you're a great cook! dont think i will do so much if i re-locate... very lazy :p

Pauline,
K's library so neat! Am looking for a shelf for Wes too. </font>

so qiao talking abt bookshelf too... just shared Zav's bookshelf in July thread. :p

also from ikea..
1639898.jpg

Also spilling out... have a stack in bedroom (For bedtime stories) and some "baby books" are in boxes already :p

Mspiggy,
No neat lah… that pic was taken when we renovated her room when she was 13-14 months old… my house is in a complete mess with her belongings decorating every corner of my flat… Wen and Nao will be good testators as they witness first hand the chaos mess of my house last week!

mtdt,

my bookshelf which I just bought from ikea is same as yours ... only mind is double the size... I need the upper 2 rows to put their puzzles. The lower 2 are for their books. And there is still a box of board books for convenient reading. I am trying to vacate the other bookshelf which I used to use for storing logic games, puzzles, etc. Too much things liao :p Really need to get down to clearing things up before bb come.

I am thinking of buying another one.. exactly like yours to form a room of shelves... still planning.

poohy - i saw the 4levels one. was thinking of tat or this 2level one.

but i gather tat 4level wld be too high (my aim is for Zav to DIY mah)

I also scare he end up being Spiderman and CLIMB up himself! :p

I noe wat u mean... i also dun hv enough space! hahhaha :p his books are everywhere... even my nanny also complaining abit (becos i also put some at her place... and increasingly more and more. haha)

MTDT

wah...Zav's collection alot man..tink Celest's only 20%? haha...i havent even go buy bookshelfs yet...its all kept in my cupboard..haiz..

MT, the bookshelf comes like that (as shown in your photo) or you bought 2 sets of the 2 tier ones? Does the shelves come with doors or can we add on sliding doors to cover up? My place very dusty so if I buy exposed furnitures, a lot of cleaning to do leh... Currently, jerica's books are in containers.

Mspiggy, ^5, MT's bookshelves looks good ah..

spicegal

same lor...my side here very windy but dusty..sure collect dust..thats y her books still inside my toyogo drawers...but i am tinking of going ikea to buy those 2 tier type bookshelfs liao...tink have to keep wiping her books then...MTDT's looks like a mini library...

Angeline, ya lor, my main concern is dust, but if you see from MT's photo, the last column seems to have glass/plastic panel, if can add on the panels for all the sections then can get this book shelf already. Besides books, can use to store puzzles also. Ya, MT bought a lot of books, jerica's collection is only 1/3..

spicegal

oh ya...now then i notice it...hmm,if got panel to slide then will be better....tink she bz today lah..havent online yet...

Tinklebell,
lovely children!

Toto,
Yum, yum...I am hungry.

Bookshelf
I got the same one as MT from Ikea, but more for G's toys. For her to take out and play then learn to keep...quite often, we still have to pick up behind her. As for her books, I had the same design but the one with 5x5 cubes. Used to be my bookshelf but now have to clear almost half of it for her books and toys. This is quite a versitile design as in they keep coming up with accessories. Either boxes (the one that shown in MT pix) or you can fix doors on the cubes...used to have baskets that fit nicely into the cubes too.

Paula,
My flat is no better than yours. Can find G's things everywhere. I am not a good housekeeper. Last night saw a bit of the "Good Housekeeping" programme, I think I probably need some help too..:p But really with a growing kid, I find that to upkeep a place requires frequent reconfiguration. Every few months need to repack and buy new furniture pieces etc....So now getting lazy...and tired...so have to live with some messiness lor

Spicegal and all preggy mommies
Take care and stay cheerful!

wow... so many questions on my bookshelf huh :p

think joy answer most of it. Ya, it's versatile. the latest ikea book, i saw tat now can add doors liao. when i buy, dun hv such option. i only get the plastic box and use tat to keep his jigsaw, art stuff etc.

Ivy - can DIY but i pay to get ikea to send/fix for me. lazy lah. :p

<font color="0000ff">Thanks for posting the pix on your bookshelves. I don't have too much space for the bookshelf and both Paula &amp; MTDT's bookshelves look good. Do they come with a wooden plank behind, or are they "bare-back"?

MTDT,
Is yours the EXPEDIT Bookcase 149 x 79cm, white ($129)?
http://www.ikea.com.sg/catalog/product_display.asp?art=70103085-4053-2-2-611781490-10084897
So we can add our own doors, panels, boxes, etc. to customise it a bit ya?

BTW, any idea if the renovation at IKEA Alexandra completed? The place was quite messy with much of the stuff removed when I went there few weeks ago.

Cheri,
U have any pix of your bookshelf? $10 per set is very economical and good if it's stackable (is it stable)?</font>

K_Ong,
For you!

FOUNDATION CUPCAKES Workshop
Date: Friday 22 August
Time: 7.30pm – 10.30pm

Ever wonder how to make these wonderful and lovely cupcakes (see attached)? This workshop will introduce participants to the foundation of cupcake making and designing of cupcakes (various designs).

Workshop Outline
Participants are expected to work in groups in weighing ingredients, washing utensils etc. Each participant will, most of the time, have their own cake to work on and very often are encourage to create their own designed cakes . During the workshops, you may be required to take down notes and tips for baking. Participants may have to bring along an apron. After the lessons, participants would bring home their own masterpieces.

CUPCAKES
1. Vanilla Cupcakes
2. Chocolate Cupcakes
3. Low-Fat Chocolate Cupcakes
FROSTING
4. Chocolate Cream
5. Vanilla Cream – Strawberry, Vanilla, Lemon Flavour

Participants will have to bring with them:
A note book and pen
Apron
Container

Participants will be provided with:
All ingredients and recipes
All materials needed for the workshop

Workshop Cost - $60 (if you register and pay after Wednesday 20 August)
Early Bird Deal -$50 (if you register and pay by Wednesday 20 August)
Buddy Discount - $48 (if you come with another 5 friends, ie 6 of you, each pay this special rate. Must register and paid by Wednesday 20 August)

NOTE:
This workshop is halal. Liquor is not used.
Prices include ingredients. No additional cost will be incurred.
Payment – Due to risen cost of ingredients, we encouraged our participants to pay prior the workshop in order to enjoy the Early Bird Deal. However participants can choose to pay during the workshop but it is subjected to the availability of the vacancies and the early bird deal will not be applicable for this mode of payment. Once we receive your registration, we will advise you on the payment. Payment can be made via ATM Bank Transfer.
Reservations – Participants who made the payment prior the workshop will be reserved for the workshop on a first-come-first-served basis.
For No Show – Once payment is made, no refund is possible. However we will make arrangement to send the recipe to the participant.
Workshop Confirmation and details will be sent to you via email on Thursday 21 August 2008.
For Registration, please email us, indicating, NAME OF PARTICIPANTS and HANDPHONE CONTACT.
We encourage students to place their bookings early, especially for the more popular classes and reservations will be guaranteed upon payment on a first come first serve basis to fill up the first available date. We seek your understanding and co-operation in this matter.
We also want to assure all participants that we will continue to accept email bookings and payment on same day of lesson, as long as classes are not overbooked

Register Early to Enjoy The Early Bird Discount
Venue of Workshop: 78 Marine Drive (Near NTUC Marine Parade)
For more information on our workshops, contact us at:
Tel: 9858 4883
Or email: [email protected]; or [email protected]

bbloh,

ya its the expedit bookshelf series. I bought it at Alexandra Ikea so they definitely have it on display

btw, the back of the bookshelf is open. Its supposed to be able to act as a room divider if u dun wanna flush it to the wall

mtdt,

I know what u mean... I bought this shelf cos I used to keep their books in the other white bookshelf that have doors. I want open one so that they can get the books as and when they like. The upper 2 shelves are for me to put puzzles, games and toys which I dun want them to get themselves
I love the shelf a lot. I am so happy with it cos now its still quite empty (post a pic next time) cos I had not clean up and put in all the things.... and the emptiness make me feel happy hehee

I used to keep their puzzles in ikea toy boxes but that has grown so much till it deserves a shelf of its own liao. Recently I bought a lot of mudpuppy puzzles to add on... I am crazy about those mudpuppy puzzles... they are really very nice and good quality. And they are normally images of famous children story book and that helps the kids get more engaged with the story too.

MT's bookshelf!

Saw at fren's place too- think 3 or 4 levels version? Really gd, with lots of options eg. purchase plastic box (that fits exactly in the cubby hole), doors, rattan basket (I think).
But I can't spare the space for that, and it does work out pricey if you buy boxes for ALL the cubby holes or worse, doors on all the cubby holes.

Currently I use Ikea Trofast, with the shelves option. It's not as deep as MT's Ikea shelves though.

all the talks on ikea bookshelves

I have ikea bookshelves too but not this range. wanted to expand but look left look right, no more space liao...

poohy,

I had a built-in furniture with doors in boy's playroom, its low 2-levels type.
I removed the doors and it became "open shelves".haha
I read b4 in a montesorri book, have open shelves concept with boxes to categorise the toys, this let the child take whichever type of toys out to play and encourage them to clean &amp; pack up after play too.

pawprint,

I like Trofast too. It is getting more versatile. Can put those trofast boxes or make it a shelf. Or even put doors on the trofast frame. I got 2 of those too.

sunflower,

ya ya I bought that expedit shelf cos wanna emulate the montessori way. I am thinking of buying more eventually cos I just keep running out of storage space.... I hate things lying around, makes me feel very sian to be at home.

i also bought becos of montessori way! hahhaah :p

the 2 plastic boxes are for his jigsaws... also can easily take in/out. :p but more of just take out and never put in by him! hahahha

<font color="0000ff">poohy,
Where did you buy those mudpuppy puzzles from? Any website for reference?

pawprint,
Are you referring to the TROFAST frame and you just add in the shelves and boxes as we like? How do we secure the shelves to the frame?</font>

bbloh,

ya can get from better toy store at taka. I got a few from there and quite a number I got from the bulk purchase organised in the forum not too long ago from justasmallworld. Oh, www.wonderbox.com.sg also have some of it.

MTDT,

ya quite expensive so I keep them on the higher rows of the shelf so that the kids can only play when I am around to supervise them... hehee scared they spoil my precious puzzles.. I like those very much myself and even when the kids dun play, I bring out to play with it some evenings just to see the picture

poohy - hahah i see... u r so cute :p

i saw a series of jigsaw on the "world". each pc is a country and in the shape of the country too.

I think tat's soooo cool. and can let the kid learn geography too. will get tat for zav next time when he is older. hehe

Poohy, huh Trofast now has doors? Ooo, wld love doors on mine!
Hehe just realised the Montessori method not enough to convert me... the one thing I can't stand abt the Trofast is it having no doors!
I guess I find Toyogo less busy on the eye (but Toyogo very ugly compared to Muji's... Muji's very ex and afraid not as strong).

bbloh, yup! Shelf slides in, not permanently fixed.

Joyful,
Yea, the only way out for me to is to move and custom made one playroom for her. There are just too much things. Grandpa and my mum always commented that my flat is self sufficient for any kids to stay in-door for many days. Anyway, really looking forward to a change of environment manz. Actually, I quite like the Flexa furniture at United Square. The furniture grows with the child and we can add on to it at the latter stage. The only concern is that the materials and color used might not be able to blend in with the décor of the house. Hubby just booked a ergo table set for Kell… we reckon it’s high time to train her up with good postures… more packing for me to go!

Cutie,
11am to 1pm. But I would recommend you to drop by during weekdays without any appts so that you could catch the actions live: how classes are conducted and how the teachers conduct themselves. They have done up a magical garden display just for the open house. Quite impressive. And you will get to see some of their past works like robots, big ladybirds made of recycle materials. Creativity and teamwork are emphasize through these works. Their third class will be opening on 1 Sept and I understand that spaces are going out fast. If you are looking at N1 when the child turns 3, can make a reservation first.

Bbloh,
Mine came with a wooden plank. They have a taller version of it but I reckon it is not friendly for the little ones unless we are okay with them displaying their ‘athletism’.

Ashite,
Watashi wa on leave on 20 August. Will be available in the morning. Has tentatively hooked up a hippo bus ride with Dal. Join in if you can so that I can pass you the books and the CD before we resume our jet flying days. Argh!

too lazy to take another pic but this was taken when she was 5 mths old, pls pardon the messiness hahah...the carrefour bookshelf suits us fine as it's cheap, stackable, no doors, hv wood backing, easy for her to retrieve &amp; slot in books. Should hv no problem stacking as i've a fren who has 5 or 6 of these shelves all stacked up or side by side. U can place them vertically too if u wan.

it's diy stuff so for the 2nd bookshelf recently, my hb assembled it tog wif my ger &amp; she helped him to put in the screws, hammer a bit here n there, slot in the panels etc. Quite a good diy session for her

1641945.jpg