(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff">Is it more worth to get books locally or from www.amazon.com? Apart from Borders, what other bookshops carry a wide range of children's books?

My current "bookshelf" is actually a small carton box that was used to store a toy. Should seriously consider making a trip to IKEA. BTW, can we order IKEA stuff through its website or via phone call?</font>

bbloh -

I get books from various places.
-borders
-tokomama
-amazon
-popular
-pelangi
-expo books sales
-bps on books (just bought another $100! faintz)

For borders sale time - the prices wld be more attractive.

paula

hi. My ger is 5yr old. My boy is 21mth old.
Read that ur ger is seeing Dr H. Tan
My ger went to him.
I rmb she complained to me abt having a 'nut' inher ear, on Mother's Day(when she was 3yr old).
I checked her ear many times. Went to doctors many times. Each time the doctors wld say thick ear wax.
Tried all sorts of ear wax oil to so soften the wax. Doctors tried to 'wash' it out.
In the end went to Prof Tan and he was just talking to my ger and the next thing we knew, the huge wax was out! As huge as a housefly?
Also went to him when my ger had a growth on her neck.
He performed a surgery on her.
Now, she's alright.
Old n jolly man but with a steady hands.

I've few friends who sent their kids to him for various reasons.
One was for thin blood vessels.
The other for speech theraphy.

Wish ur ger well!

Catherine,
Thanks for sharing. Yes, I have heard really good comments on Professor Tan too. He was previously from NUH dealing with the adults and one of my friend’s hubby was cured by him. I like old man wearing bows. Haha. It was a pleasant experience today although the news was not what I want to hear. Confirmed that her adenoids are enlarged and he recommended removal cos’ for her case, she was down with frequent and recurrent infections. Mind in whirlwind now and hubby said that we should seek second opinion from other specialists. But very siong lah, going to two specialists in a day and a series of tests done … she was super uncooperative today because of all the tests performed on her. Professor Tan also removes ear wax from her ears but not very big J

Duffy,
Okay, do mail me tickets and sms me … J Thanks in advance!

Dal,
On our way back today, Kelly asked me ‘why must we drive’? I told her that I have to drive so that we could get home. She replied again ‘why cannot drive bus?’. I told her that I don’t have bus license. Then she asked again, ‘why cannot drive train?’. I told her ‘call jezoir. He is an expert in this area’. She took out her HP and said ’Jezoir, why mummy cannot drive train?’ Then she started laughing before she falls asleep. When we were in Dr. Chia’s room this afternoon, she reminded the doctor ’finish, must give me stickers’. She had a good laugh and said that her memory is real good cos’ her last visit was a month ago and she remembers that she got a whole lots of stickers from her. Joker.

Muffin,
Kinder Clinic used to have a kinder branch in Paragon. But not sure if it is still in operations. I know that there is a Smile Inc in Forum that specializes in kids too.

Rodeo,
Yep, those are the titles. J Still working lah cos’ on track to collect my variable bonuses mah … but kicking myself darn hard after today for this selfish decision that I have made.

Lyn,
Possible long term implications for non-removal would be lack of oxygen flowing to her brain; lung and heart problems and possible face deformity. Actually hor, if a child started snoring at nite or sleeps nosily or with their mouth open, it’s advisable to get them checked cos these are early symptoms that either the tonsils or adenoids have problems.

Bbloh,
The other alternative would be for you to go through book distributors directly. If you are sourcing for titles published in the States or specialized ELT readers, likelihood is that it will be cheaper to procure from Amazon.com …

paula - ooh, July thread also hv a kid with the same issued. She did a sleep test to determine the "oxygen" level that travels to her brain.

In the end it's at a borderline level and they are not removing it as yet. decided to monitor it.

kelly did a sleep test too?

*prof tan - helps to remove ear wax?? so cute. btw i never ever removes zav ear wax leh... necessary??

mtdt,
High Five! Always waiting for borders vouchers to buy more books. kekeke...
"Brown bear, Brown bear, what do you see?" and "Polar Bear, Polar Bear, what do you hear?" A loves these two books very much. Even when not reading the book, he will regurgitate the content in the books while playing with his toys. I also like these two books. Contrasting pictures also for B and C

Paula,
Wah... not removing also got so many problems ah... and lack of oxygen to the brain is very serious for a growing brain wor... Hope things get more settled for Kelly soon...

MTDT,

Thanks for sharing. Actually, I did comb through the websites last nite and in most of the websites, it did state that usually when they reached 5 years old, there could be a possibility of reduction in size. Kell did not go through a sleep test but had an x-ray done as well as some equipment inserted into her both ears to take a look.

Yea, he removed the ear wax. Actually, this is the first time that Kell had her ear wax removed too.

Lyn,
Thanks! Just hope that the second opinion would sounds nicer to our ears.

Paula,
gosh so many tests on K, such a brave gal! Hope u guys get the issue settled.

My Ahgal went for a blood test some time back... so heartache see them draw so much blood.
But she din shed a single tear although I almost did. She kept reassuring herself it's just an ant-bite. As for the results of the bloodtest- if it shows up something in the markers, then it means something is certainly wrong. If it doesn't show up anything, it still doesn't mean nothing is wrong. Haiz. Specialist suggested a chromosome test next yr, but my HB is unwilling. What if it's another inconclusive type of test, what's the point?

<font color="0000ff">MTDT,
Woh! Thanks for the comprehensive lists of book sources.

Paula,
I've never thought of getting directly from the distributors. Will they entertain small buyers like me?
I didn't know that if kids snore / breathe nosily / with open mouth could spell problems relating to tonsils or adenoids. DS sometimes does snore or breathe nosily. I've always thought it's genetic as his daddy's nose is quite sensitive. Hmm ...

BTW, any good vegetarian tingkat (dinner delivery) to recommend?</font>

pauline, Don't worry too much. Kelly is a brave girl, she should be ale to take whatever decision that you going to make for her. She will understand that is doing her good.Hugs...

PP, ya what actually happen to your gal ? Pls takecare.

Bbloh,
Some do, some don’t. Again, depends on which distributor and publisher you are going to. If you need to get books from Cambridge, DK, Penguin, and Cengage, can give me a howler and I’ll see if I can help.

Hmm, what I was told of excessive snoring is that it could be a form of adenoids obstruction… that’s where the possibility of not enough oxygen flowing to the brain might occur.

MsPiggy, Cutie,
Thanks thanks! Any idea if Angie has popped?

Paula, hope Kelly will recover in no time, keep us updated.

Jerica is also down with a bad case of high fever since Mon, her high fever will come back every 4 hourly (after paracetamol) and 6 hourly (after bullet inserting) hovering at 38 or 39, causing me many sleepless nights, sponging her and taking her temperature. Worse of all, this week is busy week for me as I have budgeting templates to rush out despite not having enough sleep and rest. I had to work from home even though I had child mc to cover my absence. Just as I have finally completed 21 spreadsheets, my colleague called to informed that there will be more changes, I told him frankly that I am really too tired and exhausted to think now, going to take a nap and recharge myself.

Its times like this when I wish I can afford to be a SAHM, now that I have to work while my girl is so sick, I feel so upset that she is not well taken care off.

Paula, thanks, this morning at 3am, i gave her the bullet cos her temp reached 39.3 degrees, then at 10am, paracet and antibiotic (went to clinic yesterday night to change a different type), just now at 1pm, paracet again...so far no sign of fever, hopefully it will be gone for good.

Spicegal,
Good good… fever no more… good signs!

Angeline,
Keke… when are you due huh?
I spoke to Dr. Lim earlier. He said, if Prof. Tan says remove, then we have to remove cos’ he is the best in the field liao. But hubby still dun feel quite right. Dunno lah, super tired today. Kept on wanting to sleep in the office today.

Paula, Spicegal
Take care. *Hugs*

G down with flu since Monday. Think caught a cold from class. Now still recovering. Last 2 days quite bad for me coz she was soooooo clingy. I held her until back pain. And hate her whining...but she was not well, so.... Today still whiny but seems to be much better, like no sign of running nose liao but got used to me holding her?

paula

my EDD 3rd sept...so anytime now ba...tink u r mentally overtired from k's visit etc..y not take 1/2 days to go out n relax n tink it over when u r in a better mind?

paula,
can i suggest that you go for 2nd opinion after the 7th mth? rem what the fengshui master told you? Maybe you have a better news come 8th mth! Its only less than 10 days away, can wait bah.

Angie,
Yea, think I am tired. Doesn’t help that her mum was down with a fever after we came home from the hospital. Looking forward to the popping? How is Cel doing and coping?

Wen,
Sayang sayang too. You know…all these talks about enhanced parental packages are not going to help us much…

Ivy,
Yes, yes, I shall do that. How are you doing? So quiet lately.

ivy,
funny that you raise the issue about 7th month.
this month just gives me the creeps, can't wait for it to be over!
my boy's sleep habits have been very odd whole of past week and all seemed to become well when my mil gave my boy an amulet ("fu").
i'm not the superstitious type but it was quite amazing.

paula,
rest well. do take good care of yourself.

paula,
me doing fine other than found a new best fren call wc. haha...

you will be very busy come 8th mth. Find new house, go see doc for Kelly and i am sure things will be much better then. And you and kelly can celebrate with mooncakes and lanterns!

Muffin,
Share what happens? Actually, I do believe in the existence of such things and the older generations will say that children under the age of three can ‘sense’ the good brothers and sisters. We brought the ‘liu’ plant specially just for this month… it is guarding my house and I will wash Kell’s face with it every night before she goes to bed. Had some eerie experiences last festival and I’m not taking chance this time round! Keke.

Ivy,
Lantern, lanterns… where to buy? I want to get her a huge dora and boots lantern!

paula,
i'd like to think that it's just night terrors. he'd wake up about 3am plus and keep asking me to "go there, go there!" or he'd request to sleep on my stomach. EVERY NIGHT for the past week. I'm all cranky in the morning with the disrupted sleep.
he had disrupted sleep previously but not this often that it happens every night.

i shared the episode with my cousin-in-law and she said her girl also had disrupted sleep but all seemed to be ok when she bathed her with the "5-color" flowers.

then told my mil briefly about the episode, and she had an amulet that she got when the 7th month started but didnt pass to us coz thought we dun bother about such things.

that night i put the amulet in my boy's pyjamas shirt pocket and he slept so soundly throughout the night.
i was just amazed.

what happened last festival?

Muffin,
Same same… she woke up and cried and it doesn’t help that she fell quite ill during the same month too. She wanted to be carried out of the room and will only sleep in the hall.
In the beginning of the festival this year, she had a few nites of disrupted sleeps too whereby she will cried in her sleeps and said ‘I dun want’, ‘go away’ or ‘cannot’… but luckily lasted only for two to three days only.

muffin,
tho i am educated but i am quite a believer of these, prob cos i grew up visiting temples and having amulets with me. My house was bless with the 'liu" water and plus got paste door amulets,despite strong objections from my hb cos he say look ugly. But heck lah, safety more impt..Children very senstive one so better play safe.

dora lanterns arh,
dunno where to get. But i always see these in the old neighbour estate like AMK, Bedok centrals. Always have these popular cartoon ones.

muffin, paula

Just to share. i do believe there are times when our toddlers can sense such things. It happened to Mandy when we shifted in recently. for 2 nites, she will cry uncontrollablely at abt 3-4am..cryin "i dun wan , i dun wan, go away go away" non-stop for half hr.. I think she is tryin to say something but cant say out. Luckily at that time, my auntie is with me. She asked me to pray out into the sky at that moment and amazing Mandy stopped cryin and went back to sleep. The nxt day, we did the neccessary prayin. And she is ok for the subsequent nites. It gives me creeps when i think back now.
My aunt also advised me to turn on any light thru out the nite. Dun let the hse in pitch darkness. I hv been doin since then.. and everything been good so far. Hope tt helps.

U gers hear abt the 9 black beans to ward off such things. they say put 9 black beans with them when they go out. Before they reach home, the beans must been thrown away.

ivy,
you're right, the young children are very sensitive...better to believe than to be sorry.
could have stepped on burnt offerings without even knowing...

dora,
thanks for sharing!
at least now i know such things are quite common.
not heard about the black beans one before though.

during this month, when it turns dark at night, i dun allow my boy to walk on his own, will make it a point to carry him all the way until we reach home.
feels so uneasy letting him walk on his own during this month.

What a coincidence tat you people are talking about these stuffs...my hubby and mum just brought Jerica to a master early this afternoon, the master asked us not to bring her out later then 8pm at night during this month and gave us some amulet to burn for drinking and place on her pillow...after so many days of fever, sometimes no choice but had to 'trust' such beliefs..

Then I remembered, on Sat night, we attended a grand-aunt's birthday celebration at 88 restaurent and it ended close to 11pm...then come Mon, she came down with fever...

Dun know whether its due to her being very sick, when I look at my girl's face, somehow I find that she does not look the same, its a weird kind of look...hopefully this episode will be over soon..

Joy, sorry to hear about Gabby, hugs and kisses to you too! They tend to be clingy when they are unwell, just now I also had to cradle and pat Jerica to sleep..

Paula, ya after the 7th month, you can consider moving house...

Ivy, dor &amp; muffin, I do believe tat baby and children have 'sixth sense' to such things, that's why people say when you go and look at flats/apartments, bring baby/children along, if they cry or behave differently, then you know something is not right.

Dor, since Jerica's birth, my mum always remind me to keep the night light on, she also say baby dun sleep in pitch darkness, even until now, ewe sleep with the night light on.

<font color="0000ff">Alamak! We always bring DS out and went home late on weekends. He'd got quite a high fever last Sunday and is cough badly this morning. But I think for his case, it's more of a viral infection.

spicegal,
Does Jerica's case improve with medication? Some people also believe that attending weddings, funerals, etc. is not good as it may clash with the attendees' bazi.

Paula,
Where are you shifting to?

<font color="ff0000">Lantern Fantasy 2008 featuring F8 - Hello Kitty Go Races!</font>
29 Aug - 28 Sep 2008
6pm - 11pm
www.2008lanternfestival.com.sg</font>

Paula,
Kell is such a tall girl and you are so petite, so whenever i see u carrying her, i really salute you! :)

Jezoir must have given her a silly answer on the phone to make her laugh and cheer her up! Haha...

Kell is really advanced and asking so many 'why's. Must ask DIL to help me answer jezoir's 'why's in the future. keke....

Backdate - I think Govt's plan lah. They want to be seen as they are "listening"... react to public views mah. so 1st announce Jan09... then revised to Aug08. all done within 2 days.... u think? hahahha :p

Hope all the kids get well and stay healthy!

MTDT,
You sour-grapes ar... Go get preg now lah... haha...

My Boss told me ytd.. 16 weeks now... if u happen to get preg.. please replace your asst fast.. this one cannot make it! Think all bosses panick now..