(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Aiyah wish I cld go on Wed too. But I overdid the sun-water thing at Wild Wild Wet yesterday. Now painfully sunburnt and having a headache! Going to skip Ahboy's G today, $50 down the drain! Ahboy says he doesn't want to go to school either... :/

muffinmocha
my ger has been wif Marsden for more than a year oredi. She has her lessons at the Turf City outlet, we're happy so far. Should be continuing till she's much older.

aishite
vivo has art place? where, wat kind?

mocha
we love turf city pool cos it's heated water & sheltered as well. So no worries abt them catching a cold during cloudy days & lessons still can be carried out on rainy days. They hv 2 cubicles for shower, heated water. Very new & clean cos turf city outlet only started late last year, i think.

hv u gone for a trial? their lessons r diff from those of private swim instructors in condo pools etc cos more props & toys. They can slide into the water via those step 2 slide, big rubber mats for them to run & jump into the water etc. Also singing & some simple actions, movements.

cheri,
thanks for the info!
gonna call them up to find out more about the trial.
heard that 90% of those there are expats and they treat asian babies quite differently. do you think so in your past year there?

Cheri
Not quite sure about the type of art cos one of the mummies at Kidsloft was just sharing that Vivo had one. Once I am done with rushing my dateline due tomorrow, I will go and ask more.

Aishite,
Think the arts place is similar to the one that we had stopped over at West Mall. A small section whereby children can do window stickering art?

aishite

haha..but abit over pantang lah...haiz...

paula

dun tink i am joining u on friday coz me tinking of going to catch a movie with hubby as its his off day...he currently doing reservist now...dun koe how long i nv go cinema liao lor...so mus make sure he goes with me b4 baby's out..haha...u going for the ducktour? with who? naomi?celeste? or family? let me koe how is it...tinking of going oso but mus c how...due date getting near....hehe..

enjoy your stay at the fullerton...me heading east to pasir ris as got a 1yr old party to attend.

Pauline,
Wow, 5 hours doing art & craft??!! Kell sure has the energy and passion for this! :) sorry i couldn't make it coz jezoir was still sleeping when u sms me. hehee....
Lots of questions by Kell. She is really matured for her age. :)

Anyone interetsed in Pumpkin patch?

I may wan to get 2 or 3 items.. those who interested please PM me your orders.. Only for muummies in this thread hor...

First come first serve ar...ehehehe will cap at USD 200... Rate will be base on my credit card bill... wont make any profit.. dun worry...

shipping will be by vpost... as in how to split.. i also dun know.. Let me think abt it.. haha

Collection I also dun know... see how... I dun mind delivering if its on my way ..

Angeline, Dal,

We are going for the ducktours in the afternoon. Say about 2pm at Suntec?

Dal,
Yea, 5 solid hours … till yesterday, she was still asking if we could bring her to go and paint dino egg again. Yea, asking non-stop. Her last question for yesterday was ‘Why are we hugging?’ Her teacher also commented that she has been asking non-stop in class yesterday. She said although it is tiring but we should continue to answer her properly so that we won’t kill off her curiosity.

muffinmocha,
Do you wanna consider swimming lesson at Bishan? My friend used to go to Aquaduck. And the teacher came out from Aquaduck to teach in public pool. MY friend recommended me to join them. I think he's a good teacher, seeing my friend's boy at 3 years old can dive already. The timing for the lesson does not fit into my schedule, so did not send A there. And another thing is it's weekday, which means I gotta be the one in the pool every lesson. hahaha... Lazy mommy here :p

lyn,

ask him open a class for us in the weekend?? haha..

muffin,

was with Aquaducks Suntec for a while, find the instructor good. There's hot water shower facilities. Only thing is we were in the early morning slot, so water is freezing cold, worst when comes to rainy season.

<font face="tahoma"> lyn,
if there's weekend class, i'm keen too!

sunflower
ooh, a fren told me once that cos the suntec pool is on rooftop, can get really cold as the wind blows! Lessons still carry on if slight drizzle? any make up lessons?

muffin
90% expats in marsden? dun think so leh...for N's sunday morning slot, 4 out of 6 r locals. The slot b4 us oso more locals. The teacher is oso a local, Wendy! She's v good wif young kids like ours. We dun sense any discrimination at all.

Pauline

u made me gian..haha..but dun tink hb will want to bring her go out on his off days..kelly speech develop quite fast...celest still haven reach the why what where yet...sometimes i oso dun koe wats shes toking...but shes singing alot!! n some a her own made up songs...

Angie,
No problem lah… we keep in touch via phone. Yea, her teacher also commented on that yesterday cos’ she said that she has been asking lots and lots of questions since last week. I thought this is common and normal phrase but her teacher said she is the only one and she seems to be growing very fast. My friend told me that her daughter only starts asking such questions when she is 3.5 years old… nonetheless, it is cute when she asked questions but when it is too much, it is exasperating. How to answer questions like, ‘why must we hugging?’, ‘why the plant cannot come in?’, ‘why daddy is a boy?’… I can still tong her ‘what is’ questions but her ‘why’ list is really ridiculous at times!

sunflower
do they limit their make up classes? marsden only allows max 2 make up classes per term. Usually it would be due to kid being sick cos the sheltered pool means class can still go on despite drizzle. But if u inform them when the term begins which dates u would not be able to attend class due to travel etc, they will just deduct the fees &amp; u pay less for that term. I like this flexibility or else too many make up classes to make up, no time! hahah

paula
K is indeed v advanced in her lang skills...N will ask a lot of 'what is that' now &amp; some simple 'why' questions but not as complex as K's.

btw how do u get K to tell u abt wat she does in sch each day? N refuses to tell me much leh...

Cheri,
Usually when we are on our way back, I would asked her the following questions,

• Did you have a happy day in school? If she replies yes, I will ask her what things make her happy. If she replies no, I will ask her what happens…
• What did you eat in school today? If apples are being served on that particular day, she will reply ‘I eat apples today!’’ before telling me other food items that are being served.
• I will also ask her who she plays with today and she will usually name her friends. If she left out one or two names, I will ask her where are Ting Ting and Edison? She will usually reply like ‘Ting Ting no school today’ or ‘Edison not in school today’.

paula

wa...K reply very good...almost like an adult liao.hehe..tt day she got into a fight with another boy from a older class.coz she go n snatch his toys n the boy not happy, go n bite her hand till quite bad.abit swollen i tink n till now still got some wounds...she will keep telling me pain pain n show me her hand..haiz..the teacher said sorry to us but its oso C's fault on snatching..

cheri, lyn, sunflower,

thanks for the feedback on the swim schools!

we had a trial with aquaducks at suntec before, agree that the strong winds are a concern.
i know the aquaducks pool at Tanglin Village is heated tho never tried before. Marsden Turf City ool is also heated.

On waitlist for a trial liao with Marsden...will see how it goes.

Thanks again!

paula

haha..what u think? Must apply cream meh? didnt koe wat to apply &amp; i let it heal on its own...haha

<font face="tahoma"> Anyone keen?

September Holiday Programmes @ JG

Great news! This year for the first time during the one week September break (1st to 7th), we will be running a number of 3 day holiday programmes, in English and Mandarin, for children between the ages of 3 and 18 years old.

Programmes:

Night Safari
Nursery 1 and 2 (English)

Drama Road to Writing: Meet the Grinlings
Kindergartern 1 to Primary 2 (English)

Chinese Cultural Arts
Nursery 1 to Kindergarten 2 (Mandarin)</font>

<font face="tahoma"> For night safari : (Nursery 1 - 2)

Join us for an exciting three day adventure
as we follow the mysterious sounds and
explore the secretive world of nocturnal
animals on the Night Safari. Shall we take
a tram ride? Or perhaps we could walk the nature trails by the light of
the moon and discover more about the habitat of our exotic friends.
The wise old owl has promised to help us on our quest, so let’s pack our
special night-vision camera and trusted flashlight and let the night-time
journey begin!
Our motivated EduDrama teachers use songs, rhyme, art and craft and
colourful stories to create original dramas that help to develop initiative
and independence in our young explorers, engage their imagination
and creativity, and improve listening skills and concentration, in a fun
language-rich environment.

Venue: Forum
Times: 9.00am-11.00am, 11.45am-1.45pm, 2.30pm-4.30pm
Cost: $180 + GST

<font face="tahoma"> Chinese Cultural Arts (N1 - N2)
Preschoolers are invited to join Huan Huan the Panda as he guides them
around the historical attractions of Beijing and introduces them to the
riches of Chinese culture. Over three fun-filled days our little tourists
experience Chinese brush painting, making Chinese kites and Beijing
Opera masks, bamboo dance, chopstick games, Chinese zodiac paper
arts, as well as sampling the delights of favourite Chinese food such
as dumplings and traditional Chinese fruit lollipops. (Activities vary
according to level).
Specialist teachers bring language alive, stimulating young learners in a
fun, lively, arts-rich environment, using music, art and craft, dance, drama
and stories – an excellent way to motivate children and lay a strong
foundation to learn and enjoy Mandarin.

华族文化艺术课—与熊猫
“欢欢”游北京
本次学校假期,小朋友们将和我们最友好、最可
爱的熊猫“欢欢”到中国首都北京展开一次生动有趣
的“文化之旅”。课程活动设计丰富多彩又具有文化特
色,小朋友们将会分年龄组学习中国水墨画、风筝和京
剧脸谱制作、中国传统剪纸、竹竿舞、筷子舞等,同时
也会品尝到美味中国传统美食。
我们的专业艺术老师通过戏剧、舞蹈、故事和带
有中国特色的手工活动等教学手段为孩子们营造了一个
快乐并充满文化气息的语言环境,激发孩子们学习华文
的兴趣,在快乐中学习。

Venue: Forum
Nursery 1 and 2
Times: 9.00am-11.00am, 11.45am-1.45pm, 2.30pm-4.30pm
Cost: $180 + GST

Call 6733 4322 to register</font>

Aishite, sorry I can't meet up tomorrow. My leave not approve as we are having a conference call at 3pm 2moro with head office. Sian...miss it again. Will join you next round...

MTDT,
Muacks muacks! We will be there! Kell painted the right side of her lion blue and the green side of her lion green when we were at Arts in Wonderland and that attracts quite a lot of attention; hahah… will be interested to see what she will be up to this time round…

paula
i ask my ger the same questions too but she'll not really wanna elaborate much, just say yes or no at times...mayb she'll open up more as time goes by.

Good Afternoon Mummies!

Paula,
Wow! Your Kell is really advanced and to think i am already very impressed with my ger's asking of lots of whats and wheres...haha...and my dad said i only spoke like that when i was about 5! Btw, tried your all-in-one ball recipe. Didn't work cos my ger actually only dug out all the fish and left the veggies untouched...sigh... dunno how else to make her eat veggies.

Re: Readers
Any good readers to recommend to prepare our tods for word recognition?
My ger's still not very keen with letters and words. So far she can only recognise B for Barney and K for her surname.

Calliope,
Yea, my mum also said that I only start talking like this when I was attending primary school… I am a terrible late bloomer. I think it is really the ingredients that go into the formula milk. You tried getting her the Melissa and Doug puzzles whereby the kids are required to piece up the alphabets together? I.e., B E E = Bee. I thought this is really a cool piece of educational toy as it introduces the concept of spelling to them. The readers recommended by Ashite is really good … Kell can read the book by herself with the correct sentences being read out out cos’ each book only has eight pages and the illustrations are quite vivid for the child’s eyes.

Help! Help! Kell is attending a racial harmony cum national day party on this Friday morning and I have to contribute some light refreshments. Any recommendations?