(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff"> Wah... Someone STALK me in other THREAD... I so scared n more STRESS now... hahahaha...</font>

wah celeste, who's stalking you?!?! and which other thread? anywhere in MTD2008?

celeste,
read my reply...i found another cheaper site..but need to email and ask got discount bo..So still have time for you to go down bio the set tmrw.

re: trio

if there is no linking memory and speed reading, like not very holistic leh. I always find linking memory very important though my kids dun like to play with it yet.

As for pretend play, that is done in any playgroups who may not focus on brain stimulation.

Flashcards is a part of most brain stimulation class and easily done at home. hmm.. like no incentive to go for trio class hor.

For teacher quality, I also feel doubtful. I guess when a center first started, their teacher quality sure not bad. But as time goes by and teacher left, etc, then quality starts to deteriorate. SM faces the same problem... I am sure at first the teacher quality should be quite good.

celeste - la la la la... :p

poohy - another pro is the multi lang for Trio. :p actually i also hate linking memory and in a way Zav also end up not interested in linking memory. hahahha

wow so many postings on SM n trio.

Linking memory:
Chloe can do 50 cards for LM. But lately, she find it bored...
so i m starting her on new set...Keep my finger crossed.

Kong:
I wash all the PIS parts thoroughly and sterilise after assemble all the membrane n valve. So troublesome to assemble after sterilize.

MTDT,

I think its may be because at this age, they still dunno how to play the linking memory effectively. I struggle with S on the linking memory also. But I think its one of the best memory game and if the kids master it, truly improves memory. I think this is part of the Tony Buzan concept also. I intend to re-introduce to him in time to come when he is more ready.

So r u going for Trio for Zav?

poohy - thanks for the encouragement.
no intention to restart SM now... more of doing home practice

Kite - wow bravo for chloe!

lyn,

thanks for asking
J had shown improvement. Nowadays she is trying to verbalise her request for food. Instead of just using gesture, she now will try to say out her requests at times. Her spoken vocabulary increases a lot as in her ability to name things. We no longer find her eye contact a problem at all. And because the occupational therapist also did not manage to find major concern in our visit to her, my hb decide to defer therapy session to observe her more. We are putting in effort to read to her, give her flashcards, talk to her more and encourage her to talk. In a few months, when its finally her turn to go to the recommended occupational therapist, we will go and get another round of assessment.

In terms of understanding and learning, she is on target. She knows her 1-20, A-Z, phonics. And understand when I asked her to do things for me. Her tantrum problem improves recently as she tries to verbalise her request more often. So I think right now it seemed that her main/only issue I can see is the speech delay and her speech may not be very clear. We are still working on it.... hopefully reading to her more will help. I re-organise the collection of books in my house to make it easily accessible to them and now the kids read much more.

mtdt,

ya actually same here, after I consider Trio and SM, still feels that home practise is the best and most cost effective
At least we can select activities catering to the child's interest.... so now we try to do more reading, more puzzles, matching, flashcards at home. S spends a fair bit of time playing Logico and Noddy fun book set.

Do u intro the Noddy set to Zav? I wonder if its age appropriate for me to do it with J?

poohy - i did intro noddy to zav... but he only wld do selected pages. :p i also only show those pages tat i think he could do to him. he was quite enthus abt playing with the noddy set

then at home, i also do sawako, speedreading, puzzles, reading, threading, spooning, etc. thinking next to intro mazes to him. :p

I think coming into this thread is real stress...

You guys do so mych for your kids.. but i do nothing.. hahahahaha... SO FUNNY....

As i say i will leave everything to teacher in schoolhse..

And on my part i will jus get books as it comes along and play / read with her during bedtimes.. Want me to do flash card with her.. think i do have the WILL... "Got Heart - but No Strength"

Kite, wow Chloe can memorise 50 cards. Great job!!

Poohy, J is doing very well...Jerica only knows 1-10 in both mandarin and english, and some ABCs..

Celeste, ^5, at least I found someone like me...haha...me too am a lazy mummy...

<font color="0000ff">hi mspiggy</font>,
Really happy to hear upon your good results.

Wah, all the tods are doing really well. I really need to sit down and "fan sin fan sin". I'm too lazy on all these. Keep giving myself excuses.

PP/Muffin/Sunflower/Kite : thanks for the tips !!
yah, very troublesome this PIS ... i used the avent for #1 and it was so simple to assemble !!
but i heard so many good reviews abt the PIS that i HAD to try it out ! keekee.

PP : have pics !! i need to resize to post here
heehe, will do it in a bit, i think K2 is going to sleep soon, so i have two hands free :pPP

mtdt,poohy,kite
can u share how u all do ur LM? i think it's a really good technique too. Somehow, i'm more convinced by it than ESP, speed reading etc. I'm doing it wif my ger at home too using the same mtd that her bishan SM teacher uses. But somehow cos of the limitations due to age, need to modify. So not really know if i'm on the rite track.

Any mummies interested in Mandeville's Baby Music class on Friday, 4 pm? It's an accompanied prog for 2-3 year olds. So far, there r 3 mummies, including myself, who r keen on this slot...they need minimum 8 to start the class. Pls call them up at 62501911 to let them know if u r interested. Thanks!

http://www.mandevillemusic.com/

poohy,
I am sticking to SM. There's no pull factors for me to go over to Trio
Though my friends are partners there, but they are not the teachers. Though they are very good, but I dunno how they are going to contribute to their "customers"

I am thinking of sending my two gals to SM too. I am not very disciplined to do everything at home. I only do flashcards and flashcards.
Today, I brought them to the library! Finally A can sit beside me and read through a few books! Phew...
Yes, reading is part of taijiao. In fact, it is very good tiajiao. Before you start reading, imagine the baby inside will be listening and absorbing all the knowledge too
Imagine the baby also receives the images of pictures that you see. Imagine the baby also reading the words that you are reading

mtdt,
tomolo I going Orchard meet friends for lunch. After that, got some time to go shopping before JG. kekeke... Maybe I go Borders beo :p

sunflower,
I dunno... I am still comfortable at SM
I dun really deal with the management... So management sucks does not matter to me. Only the teacher matters to me

mtdt,
Wah.. dun have so many things ah... hahaha... I got no time to chat on the phone with my friends to find out more...

mspiggy,
Congratulations on your healthy baby!

KOng,
I wash and sterilise separately. Then assemble after sterilising. I seldom use it though

muffinmocha,
Oops... what flexi 3 hours? What's the difference? I want daily 3 hours kind.

poohy,
I wanna send my ABC to SM is mainly for speed reading, ESP, photographic memory, linking memory... I dun need flashcards and motor skills development.
Wow! J seems to be developing leaps and bounds now! Well done! Way to go, J! I believe with all your flashcards efforts, she knows a lot of vocabulary already, just dunno how to verbalise yet. I really believe so... Give her some time to be able to speak, then she will become a super smart gal already. Maybe give her some hard food to chew too. Chewing train the tongue and hence speech.

mtdt,
High five! I hate linking memory too! hahaha... A also dun like :p But lately, his daddy focusing on that during class, and his daddy bring him for classes now, so he's more interested now.

KOng,
Wah... your gals are so pretty! Tod K is so sweet...

been feeling quite bored here... wonder what I can do with J at home... i think he is missing school.

poohy, J seemed to be doing really well.
i really think school is doing our toddlers wonders!

mspiggy - so exciting... when are you delivering?

kong - lovely pics of your two kids... envy envy...

lyn, you seemed to be having lots of fun with ECAs... you are one super mum, handling 3 kids yet you can do so much... pei fu! i aspire to be like you!

lyn - i cant meet u today for lunch... but maybe will go borders too. see if will meet :p hahaha u also dun like LM huh. Good tat daddy is more hands on now. My hubby still noe nuts abt SM. hahaha

Cheri - sorry, as i said i really dun understand LM so i also hv no mtd. :p think Kite shd be the person to give special tution here. hahah

Toto - bored??? are there big and beautiful with lots of parks and kids frenly. ;p

Hi all..

Went to United square to look see look see the LUK ... very interesting leh... or maybe i mountain tortise.. haha...

Anyway am getting both the BambinoLUK n MiniLUK from Ivy's Spree...

United Square selling BambinoLUK set 1 n set 2 alone at $233.. SPECIAL PRICE SOMEMORE.. Faintz

sunflower,

think the BambinoLuk is for 3-5 years old. The tile is bigger and of course difficulty is also at that level. MiniLuk is smaller tile and for bigger children (more difficult).

Bambinoluk comes with set 1 to 3 and a controller. The BP price is for set 1 to 3 with controller

re: LM

ya i think Kite should give us a tuition on how to make our kids do LM. headache over that too... I myself cant really remember the story not to mention recite it for the kids. And normally the kids would be messing up the cards.

lyn,

thanks... ya I hope J will continue to improve. In the meantime we will try to read more to her and talk to her
thanks for the tips on tai jiao, will definitely try that.... teach 2 kids at the same time ;)

toto,

ya school helps a lot too. I mean its better than sitting at home. Btw, the school is having rounds after rounds of hfmd chain. J is at home for the rest of 4 days this week... cos the PG class got 2 hfmd case and she got an ulcer yesterday.

it must be so nice for J to meet his daddy

kong,

nice pictures

re: LM

yes, Kite's gal is superb!!! 50 cards at a go..
well done Kite!

poohy,

you got Logico right?
what's the difference between Logico and noddy fun book?

sunflower,

to me not much diff.
Logico got matching exercises, maths/counting, etc I think its abt the same type of activities as Noddy. The main diff of course is the controller is different
Logico u gotta match the answer to the colour button. For noddy is matching to the number tile. I think BambinoLUK also similar stuff

Morning

LM:
Eh...i m not a good teacher leh, dun stress me heehee....frankly speaking, there is no special technique leh. I follow what sensei did in class....Its really depends on your child's interest level, if not, it really difficult to settle down. My ger was very interested in LM. But recently, my girl feels bored and not easy to get her settle. probably i practise e same set with her for too long...Now gg to change other ways, new set or temp take a break...

She is able to recite 50 cards by herself think in 1 minute though i hv never really time her. Yes most important, both mother n child must remember e story well n both must be in good mood. my girl is able to remember e story. sometimes she wil forget 1 card n i wil use e story (maybe 1 to 2 words) to hint her n able to link it back by herself again...and i think she is using her right brain to link it naturally n she can do it faster than me...

U know e Memory board selling at Popular, u can use tat for LM as well...Last time i used to create funny story n played w her...

Sunflower, poohy:
For logico, i didnt use the board, just use finger to point n play....Later stage then wil introduce e board....else she will keep playing w e buttons instead of e game.

toto,
It takes lots of energy. I gonna make it a point to visit the library on Wednesday. Tues and Thurs JG. So left Mon and Fri. Take it easy on Mon and Fri
Maybe some excursion on Mon or Fri. Cannot keep them at home too much. I think my maid cannot cope with the ironing already. hahaha... everyday go out. Soon, I will need another maid to help her with housework. Only problem is no more space for another one... Nowadays, we eat out, so no need to cook and wash.

mtdt,
I will go borders after lunch. Going lunch at Forum later
About 3pm. What time will you be there?

poohy,
When can start logico? I bought a set. The first page of the first book I took out almost torn, but still dunno the logic.
Last weekend, went for lunch with my friend. Her son was playing this tile thingy. Seems interesting. Something like logico, but in tiles form. I think A interested in putting tiles than moving the buttons.

lyn,

I think it depends on the child. S needs coaching doing the logico and I dun let him handle the page (scared he tear it... still gotta pass down to didi and meimei). I had not tried it with J yet... maybe will try it later. Has SM introduce the noddy pages for A? I remember S was doing noddy pages at 2 year old class. But they dun use tile. they zap the page and then make small little cards with velcro instead of tiles.

<font face="tahoma"> good morning ladies

lyn &amp; toto,

K Ong,
Thanks for sharing the pics! They are so adorable!

kite,
Chloe is superb!!! 50 cards at 1 go! </font>

Sunflower..
LUK explained by Poohy liao.

Schoolhse by the Bay..
Am so very disappointed with Schoolhse manz... Chelsia Ganna HFMD on last wednesday right, am still telling Pauline n all.. mite not be frm Schoolhse or KM.. mite be from Barney Rides or Tanglin Mall Supermarket trolley cos chelsia sit on that after KM that sunday..

BUT.. there are 3 cases of HFMD in Schoolhse !! OMG.. I almost faint.. chelsia ganna las wednesday, then las friday another case for the other playgrp.. n this week monday another case frm Kindergarten.. can die hor...

LUK..

The one i saw in united got Set 1 to set 4 ... but the one we saw in webby is set 1 to set 3 only... i dun understand why leh...

celeste - if the 3cases is after Chelsia... then chelsia maybe really din kenna from schhse lah. impt thing now is how r they handling the suituation? all pillows home, no outdoor, clean throughly?

lyn - i shd be there later than 3pm.

Kite - I am impressed. 50cards leh. i cant even do 5cards! so must say the same story everytime huh? think tat's the problem... i cant even rem the story myself. hahaaha logico u also doing huh. wow.

MTDT

need some help from u...hehe..our walking dictionary..saw from your blog that u went Animal Resort before right? is there anything to do there?need to bring anything? me tinking of going this weekend with celest before i pop... thanks..