(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

peng,

little neuro tree is the new name for Trio. They are expanding to have branches in the location Lyn mentioned.

I heard they teaches 3 languages so I wonder is the focus on language or brain stimulation?

poohy,
Little Neuro Tree does what SM does, except for ESP games and they dun have the flat screen TV.
How is J's development? I think SM will really help her. Speed reading and flashcards will help in language development. Plus lots of love from mommy too

Last time, when pregnant with BnC, I was very hardworking in going for SM and JG classes every week till I cannot cope. It's more for "tai jiao" too
One stone kills two birds. I dunno is it my A was slow in development or BnC are very fast. BnC started "talking" and laughing when we talk to them at about 3 months. Last time, A was very quiet till 6 months. I bring them for JG classes too and when they are fed and happy, they will chuckle when I sing to them in class. Perhaps, the "tai jiao" works
When I sing to them at home, they will respond too

muffinmocha & Lyn (owe u this..hehehe)

Y'kidz does hv nursery. not sure abt kindy. will chk for u. Mandy is currently under playgrp A for 18-30mths (2hrs) Mon-Fri $280p/mth. Ratio: 2:10. They hv the nxt level of playgrp B for 2-3yr old (3hrs) and progress to Workgrp for 2.5 - 4 yr old. They based on each child's progress not the child's age to determine which level they are suitable. They are full montessori-based school. Curriculum : Montessori Phonics & Language, Montessori Mathematics, Cultural,Sensorial, Practical Life,Mandarin, Creative Art and Art & Craft

Class : Playgroup B (ages 2 yrs to 3 yrs)

2 Timing : 0930 hrs to 1230 hrs, 1400 hrs to 1700 hrs
Duration : 3hrs
Days : Mon - Fri
Ratio : 2:10
Fee : $360/mth

Class : Workgroup A (ages 2.5 yrs to 4 yrs)

3 Timing slot: 0830 to 1030 hrs, 0930 to 1230 hrs, 1400 hrs to 1700 hrs
Duration : 2/3hrs
Days : Mon - Fri
Ratio :1:10
Fee : $300 or $380/mth

Hey Lyn
Trf Aloysius here lei.. So i might change my mind to be SAHM hahaha.. yest hubby hinting again. Anyway, cant shop for clothes. still can shop for shoes. smart hor.. hahahaha.

Btw, where is kinderland? in AMK ? I m planning for next year. might be moving again.

poohy,
The 3 languages are English, Chinese and Japanese. Heard from my friend, it's one lesson one language. I wonder if the teachers can really speak Japanese. Cos if broken language, the kid will also pick up broken language.
My friends are partners for Hougang branch. Their kids are in SM too. But, they are not going to teach.

Peng,
They are the same. The CEO of Trio is the brother of SM CEO.

MTDT..

The Link u gave on the shicida materials really make my hand itch... The PENalive looks interesting but abit Exp hor... But is it good huh?

Dor!
Shift here! Kinderland at YCK Road. kekeke... It's quite spacious. 2 bus stops away from my place. $1020 - $1250 per term. Not expensive leh... Top up a bit more from JG only. Or rather, transport fee to and from JG plus the term fees, same as kinderland lor... Pre nursery is 2.5 hours.
Oh ya, my neighbour downstairs moving to UK for 3 years and they are renting out their unit. U interested? 3 bedrooms plus the shelter. Master bedroom size like mine with walk-in wardrobe.
kekeke... Wanna go to Armani yesterday, but no time. Anyway, if go, also cannot try clothes in peace.

sunflower,

yes, the idea is similar but its easier to play. You can go to the shop at united sq to try out. they explain very clearly.
I got the set 1 and 2 already..getting the mini set this time.

lyn,

u sticking with SM ah? Any plans to go Trio instead? I am undecided between the 2. As for lesson, I always thought if I were to be more disciplined to do more exercises at home, it beats going to those costly lesson. I read to the children everyday now... hope that's good taijiao also

re: reading and word recognition

I think mummies can consider WordWorld DVDs. I saw the flash, looks good. I am ordering Wordworld, "Meet the sight words" DVD and Charlie & Lola DVDs from amazon recently.

sunflower,

LUK is something like the noddy fun book set and logico concept. btw, its cheaper to import leh.

vivi,

getting what?? Luk, no la.. heehee don't know what and how it plays. must go and beo.

are you getting?

I played with him once and he got it all right. Then tried to do a second worksheet, he bored, put 2 correctly then escaped to play his cars. haha... then after tat, no chance play with him liao.
Does D likes the noddy funbook?

lyn/poohy - for TRIO. the jap classes are conducted by JAP teachers. not local... so their language is good. but but... they are expanding really fast now... makes me wonder abt their new centres teachers quality.

Also I heard they are introducing Malay lang too. so instead of Jap class, can be malay class. think too ex to keep importing jap teachers. haahaha

huh.. i losing track of how many pple want me to buy books for them leh. also dunno how many available. sorry gals... think i dun wan to take order.

mtdt,lyn,poohy,

so for Trio, each lesson conducted in different language.... hmmm if parent also don't understand malay/japanese, how to guide the child for some of the activities??

parents also end up learning afew vocab of jap loh. :p think shd be no problems as mostly are simple activities mah.

From my understanding is 1 week english, 1 week chinese, 1 week Jap, then 4th week back to English again.

but hor... they dont do some the the shichida copyright stuff. from my understanding - no speed reading, no sawako, no linking memory. ESP also only photomemory i think.

<font face="tahoma"> wow.. so happening this morning!
back from my checkup, everything's well! I'm free from diabetics!!!!

baby is growing well... 1.6kg at 29wk. I checked Wes's record at 29wk, exactly the same!

sunflower,
I like your idea signing Pauline as member of SSO.

Dor,
where's Y'Kidz ?? </font>

mtdt, lyn, poohy,
trio also has no energy balls, dot cards, ESP games. they play simple puzzle, pretend play, alphabet/character tracing, Memory training, flashcards, finger training w/ chopsticks, Photographic memory. that also left me wonder whether it's a effective right brain training, since there's no esp n speed reading like what mtdt said.

Wah this morning very stress leh.. all talking abt shicida n Trio... read till I blur.. so i think better dun let chelsia go Trio / Shicida.. haha..

yes attended trials only. i actually like the teachers there compared to SM since apparently i got a brand new teacher in SM. even her voice was shaky at the first few lessons.. hehe..

celeste - read only stress uhh. :p

Mum2b - i see. ya all the old senior teachers "headhunted" by trio.hahaaha but with so many new centres coming up... i also will get suspicious of their teacher quality. probably they spread out the experience teachers n at the same time quickly train teachers.

Hi mummies !! Gosh, hardly have time to come online nowadays - my confinement is OVER !!!
heehee, although my mum wasn't that strict la ... i still cld go out to jalan jalan and celebrate my bday during that one month :pPPP

Baby is a lot more demanding these days, refuses to be put down !!! *sigh*

Oh, mummies who used PIS before, do you have to sterilise the items separately and then assemble them ?What about the white valve/membrane which attaches to the yellow part ? Do u assemble that after sterilisation ?

Paula : wld like to add to the SSO list :

SSO tickets:

1. Pauline – 3 tickets
2. Ashite – 2 tickets
3. Celeste – 6 tickets
4. Mspiggy - 7 tickets
5. Steffi - 2 tickets
6. Cutie - 3 tickets
7. sunflower - 2 tickets
8. vivi - 2 tickets
9. Wen- 2 tickets
10. kissbb - 7 tickets
11. Lyn - 3 tickets
12. zzzcookiemonster - 3 tickets
13. pawprint - 2 tix
14. K Ong - 2 tix

oic.. thks alot for the comments for the trio. Btw, have called them for the trial. No trial now. But can sign up first. If after 3 lessons, can withdraw with the rest of $ refunded. Plus now got NDP promo - no reg fees and $43 discount..

hmm.. sounds like partial SM but at a cheaper rate..

sunflower,

mine too. Played once - the ants book. But think he not interested in the ants. So no interest for page 2.

Alamak the pic for the ants a bit small and the action can *hardly* see

Kong,
for PIS: i'd dissemble the items when washing then sterilise separately. But i leave the white membrane intact during washing and sterilizing. Will lift the white flap to wash.
Then once a week, i take out all parts and wash n sterilize them separate.
Lazy lor... :p

mspiggy,

glad to hear the result is good

muffin,

nope, didn't check out LV@grassroots. Did you?
hmmmm but LV is full and half day, for now I'm looking more to 2-3 hours type so pretty keen on Y'kidz.

kong,

i do the same as muffin. didn't take out membrane to sterilise separately but will wash the membrane thoroughly.
Be careful with the membrane, can be torn or lost pretty easily, once misplaced, the pump can't work.

igenius - heard abt them but din find out more.
but i understand their payment structure is upfront payment for half yr (few thousand). i not comfy with such payment schemes. :p

mtdt,

ya their payment one time around $3k.
The last mother/baby fair at expo, saw their booth.
I talked to one teacher there, aiyo she is so disinterested and sian.

Igenius
Quite disappointed. Salesman said very inappropriate things for people in education. Teacher looks bochap and just going through the motion. So I wrote them off liao.