(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

stucture huh? huh... dunno how to explain. hahhaha :p

i noe they also use animals and items to represent the letter like for P is Peter Puppy. :p

Add me in as well. Thanks.

SSO babies prom
6 Dec 2008 - Sat 10.30am show - Category 1 : S$24.00

1) wen = 2 tickets
2) mtdt = 14 tickets
3) mspiggy = 7 tickets
4) sunflower = 2 tickets
5) Cheri = 7 tickets
6) vivi = 2 tickets
7) kissbb = 7 tickets (including A&B)
8) Pauline = 3 tickets
9) Aishite = 2 tickets
10) Lyn = 3 tickets
11) Pawprint & 1 Child = 2 tickets
12) Cutiezayn & 1 child = 2 tickets
13) Celeste = 2 tickets
14) dal = 3 tickets
15) muffinmocha & 1 Child = 2 tickets
16) Steffi = 2 tickets
17) zzzcookiemonster = 3 tickets
18) poohy = 4 tickets
19) kite = 3 tickets.

TOTAL = 72 Tickets

Sunflower,
In zoo phonics, they believe that children should be first exposed to small letters first as they will be reading mostly in small letters as compared to big capital letters. They also believe that children should be exposed to Phonetic sounds first rather than letter recognition. Their trademark rhythm goes something like this…

Allie, Alligator A A A
Bubble Bear, followed by its phonetic sound
Catherina Cat, “

Then children will be taught how to pronounce short words, i.e., the word ‘car’ by blending the phonetic sounds of ‘c’ ‘a’ ‘r’ together to form the word of a ‘car’. The only thing about zoophonics is that children will be exposed to American English (i.e., their ‘L’ might sound different from a British ‘L’) … but that shouldn’t be too much of a concern as ultimately, when our children ended up in colleges and universities, they will be exposed to American textbooks also. I like their alphabet tracing activities but so far, have not yield much success from Kell but of late, notice that she can write the small letters ‘i' and ‘v’ in a very crooked manner.

letter tracing - actually it's a trademark of montessori. SM class also does tat actually...so not really zoophonics.

i hv fren kids in Zoophonics many yrs till kindy. at K2... the kid still dunno ABC... but only knoe allie alligator Ah ah ah. :p so my fren panic n switch her out of zoophonics. hahahaha :p so i guess a mixture of ways would be good.

Actually montessori also intro phonics first then letter... quite similar but just tat they dun use animals.

I would prefer Leapfrog way...
the A says Ah, The A says Ah.. every letter makes a sound the A says says Ah. hahahha :p

paula,

Thanks so much for the detailed explanation.

actually heard mixed reviews on zoophonics.
One camp - said very good, child can read very well.
One camp - said no good, without the animals, child can't recognise the alphabet...
so I guess this depends on individual kids.

mtdt,

haha.. ya, the leapfrog way ..
I wonder if they have music CD ..

sunflower - buy the fridge phonics toy loh. zav loves tat and learn to recognise playing with it.

then everytime he put a letter in... will sing the leapfrog song for tat letter :p

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">SSO babies prom</font></font>
<font color="0000ff"><font size="+2">6 Dec 2008 - Sat 10.30am show - Category 1 : S$24.00</font></font>

1) wen = <font color="ff0000">2 tickets </font>
2) mtdt = <font color="ff0000">14 tickets</font>
3) mspiggy = <font color="ff0000">7 tickets </font>
4) sunflower = <font color="ff0000">2 tickets </font>
5) Cheri = <font color="ff0000">7 tickets </font>
6) vivi = <font color="ff0000">2 tickets </font>
7) kissbb = <font color="ff0000">7 tickets</font> (including A&amp;B)
8) Pauline = <font color="ff0000">3 tickets </font>
9) Aishite = <font color="ff0000">2 tickets </font>
10) Lyn = <font color="ff0000">3 tickets </font>
11) Pawprint &amp; 1 Child = <font color="ff0000">2 tickets </font>
12) Cutiezayn &amp; 1 child = <font color="ff0000">2 tickets </font>
13) Celeste = <font color="ff0000">2 tickets</font>
14) dal = <font color="ff0000">2 tickets </font>
15) muffinmocha &amp; 1 Child = <font color="ff0000">2 tickets </font>
16) Steffi = <font color="ff0000">2 tickets </font>
17) zzzcookiemonster = <font color="ff0000">3 tickets </font>
18) poohy = <font color="ff0000">4 tickets </font>
19) 19) kite = = <font color="ff0000">3 tickets </font>

<font color="119911"><font size="+2"> TOTAL = 71 Tickets</font></font>

<font color="0000ff">Mummies...

Kindly make a note after changing your quantities...

I see till my Eyes blur...

sunflower - wordwhammer is the 3letters one right? ya tat one dun sing the song. :p suppose to be for "word" mah.. not letters. so no song. :p

been awhile since i post.. how is everyone??? i thot i came into wrong thread... everyone buyin SSO tickets.. hehehee..

can i check any of ur toddlers stop watchin DVDs?? Mandy doesnt want to watch any Barney, Hi-five or any of her favourite shows for sometime now... it puzzles me.

SSO BABY PROM noted, thx, pls let me know acct # to trsf.

Phonics- just to share my opinion lah...

Zoophonics. Yah the kids tend to confuse the animal with the letter eg. Say Allie Alligator instead of "A". But seems to catch the phonics sounds very quicky. What I did is to reinforce and LINK.
Eg. Step 1: Say "Allie Alligator, Air-air-air! etc".
Step 2: Run through a set of plain letters, say "A! A makes the sound Air! etc".
Step 3: Round off with matching the plain letters to the zoophonics letters.
Step 4: Matching lower case to upper case.
Ahgal was fine lah with me coaching... whereas ahboy only listens if there are other kids around, that's why I organise structured PGs lor. *sigh*

Letterland (some PCFs and Church Kindys use this):
Similar- each Letter is illustrated and linked to an entity.
Eg. G is GOLDEN GIRL. Q is QUARRELSOME QUEEN.
There's a full song for EACH LETTER, a story for each letter and some introduction to related items.

Unlike Zoophonics which runs through all the letters more quickly.
The Zoophonics song does not drill the phonics sounds, it links the different characters- more like, "Allie, Bubba, Catina Cat, Deedee deer and Elephant... Francie Fish and Gordo too... they all go to the zoo" (something like that lah, some errors).

Jollyphonics (Some Church Kindys use this):
Too lazy to type liao. Has lots of books etc. The song goes, "Air, air, ants on my arm... air, air, ants on my arm... air, air, ants on my arm... causing me alarm!".

I have the music CDs for Zoophonics, Letterland and Jollyphonics... end of the day it only covers SINGLE SOUNDS of letters. So whichever route, as long as the kid gets that, fair enough. It's *after* that, that's more tricky... blending sounds and all that.
Ahgal din get the concept til recently, eg. can say "ker! air! ter!" but you need the kid to BLEND it herself to say "cat!".

Sunflower,
My mum was just commenting that we parents are spoilt for choices these days. But, you were right, at the end of the day it really boils down to the individual kids and how well the school or the educator makes the lesson comes alive. What we think is perfect might not be perfect to the most important one loh!

MT,
oops i din mean to sound like that... problem with my online communication!

start of the wk and I already nadir energy levels. tomorrow supposed to bring ahgal run around a gym... u any idea where to get non-slip adult socks?
Before I fall off the rock-climbing wall in my $2 socks (in my attempt to show ahgirl how to rockclimb when I *don't*!).

mt
waa u good leh, found the link for the SCO show...but but, it's in Chinese! not sure if my ger will still be keen hahah..she's a kentang leh! they state for age 3 &amp; above, wonder if it will be too chim for our tots.

so coincidental...i was oso thinking of getting the word whammer today cos she's quite ok wif her sounds...is it a boring toy?

Hello

would like to join in for the baby prom as well

SSO babies prom

1) wen = 2 tickets
2) mtdt = 14 tickets
3) mspiggy = 7 tickets
4) sunflower = 2 tickets
5) Cheri = 7 tickets
6) vivi = 2 tickets
7) kissbb = 7 tickets (including A&amp;B)
8) Pauline = 3 tickets
9) Aishite = 2 tickets
10) Lyn = 3 tickets
11) Pawprint &amp; 1 Child = 2 tickets
12) Cutiezayn &amp; 1 child = 2 tickets
13) Celeste = 2 tickets
14) dal = 2 tickets
15) muffinmocha &amp; 1 Child = 2 tickets
16) Steffi = 2 tickets
18) poohy = 4 tickets
19) kite = 3 tickets
20) soh1dful = 6 tickets

TOTAL = 77 Tickets

Zoophonics
Kidsloft generally run the song
1. Allie, Buba, Catina cat, Deedee dear and elephant...
2. Allie alligator A A A, ...
3. matching alphabets

G doesn't really pay attention. She said, Catina cat, Te Te Te...*faint* Quite enjoy the matching game though. Her fav is Ollie Octopus O O O...hmm.. Generally, no whatsoever interest in WORDS..

Leapfrog
Got the Word Whammer and the one on alphabet...she is not really interested too. Maybe this mommy has never learn phonics and speak half-bake English that is why she is not interested too?!

SSO
Wow! 77 tix?? Maybe we can block the whole Cat 1 already...??!! On leh.. Thanks, Paula dear.

wen
i hv the fridge phonics too so was wondering if should get the word whammer now...

i feel my ger is too impatient for those phonics systems that hv one whole song for every letter sound( eg. jollyphonics, zoophonics)...the leap frog one works well for her too cos it's the same tune &amp; lyrics mostly...the way tr G does at sm class oso works for N...guess she prefers the quick way.

Cheri,
Guess maybe if N takes to the fridge phonics... Maybe I don't encourage G. She does play with it but I guess like lots of things, letting her play with it without some guidance doesnt' max the potential? But I kindof feel that the phonic sounds can sound unclear? Or maybe because I have never learn phonics before so some of them sound a bit funny to me....so I kindof just let her play with it but won't count on it to help her learn spelling or reading. :p

wen
not true leh, i oso din study phonics as a child but wif phonics now, kids will learn how to read so much easier...even if they dun get the spelling 100% rite in future, it wun be too far off, cos they will use phonics to break down the word to spell it. dun worry, i'm sure when they start N1 next year in sch, the sch will definitely teach.

Cheri,
Ops..I meant the Leapfrog phonic set - the sound is unclear. Of course phonics is good.
I am looking for montessori phonics teacher for G - when she is older. That is, if the school she is going to doesn't teach it. Still undecided on what to do with her next year. :p

wen,

montessori phonics is a good choice. I am also going to send S to MMI for phonics class. Heard its quite good. At 3.5 years, they teach phonics sound in 2 weeks and then start straight to blending. My 2 kids more or less know all their phonics sound... I am trying to teach them some blending now.

Hello hi paula,

would like to join in for the baby prom as well if possible. many thanks!

SSO babies prom

1) wen = 2 tickets
2) mtdt = 14 tickets
3) mspiggy = 7 tickets
4) sunflower = 2 tickets
5) Cheri = 7 tickets
6) vivi = 2 tickets
8) Pauline = 3 tickets
9) Aishite = 2 tickets
10) Lyn = 3 tickets
13) Celeste = 2 tickets
14) dal = 2 tickets
16) Steffi = 2 tickets
18) poohy = 4 tickets
19) kite = 3 tickets
20) soh1dful = 6 tickets
21) mum2b = 2 tickets

TOTAL = 79 Tickets

Wen,
Yea, I also dun let kell play or learn without me. Guess there are two sides to it lah, pro is they picked up even more things with us around and the con is they mite end up refusing to play by themselves … I also didn’t learn phonics when I was young but guess these days; the educators are coming up with more ways to simplify learning. Phonics is one of them loh… I got three alphabet bean bags from Growing Fun and have been introducing spellings to Kell lately. Quite fun!

BTW, now is also a good time to introduce them to those Sesame Street First workbooks… it contains matching exercises, logical puzzle matching exercises, coloring, circling and alphabets tracing.

SSO Babies Prom

1) wen = 2 tickets
2) mtdt = 14 tickets
3) mspiggy = 7 tickets
4) sunflower = 2 tickets
5) Cheri = 7 tickets
6) vivi = 2 tickets
8) Pauline = 3 tickets
9) Aishite = 2 tickets
10) Lyn = 3 tickets
13) Celeste = 2 tickets
14) dal = 2 tickets
16) Steffi = 2 tickets
18) poohy = 4 tickets
19) kite = 3 tickets
20) soh1dful = 6 tickets
21) mum2b = 2 tickets
22) Ivy = 3 tickets

Total: 82 tickets.

BTW, we are unable to secure the 10% discount via Ivy's contact... so I will just to proceed to call that Ms. Chiu lady at 10pm.

hi good morn..

sunflower,
we been good.. just that now is much much busy with 2 in my new place with no helper... imagine!!! hehehe.

muffinmocha n mspiggy
so wher are you gers intendin to place J &amp; W for nursery? i saw ur post on the church kindy. It's very near my flat at ave 4. We are thinkin to move back nxt yr after the MUP is done.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+2">6 Dec 2008 - Sat 10.30am show - Category 1 : S$24.00</font></font>

1) wen = <font color="ff0000">2 tics </font>
2) mtdt = <font color="ff0000">14 tics</font>
3) mspiggy = <font color="ff0000">7 tics </font>
4) sunflower = <font color="ff0000">2 tics </font>
5) Cheri = <font color="ff0000">7 tics </font>
6) vivi = <font color="ff0000">2 tics </font>
7) kissbb = <font color="ff0000">7 tics</font> (including A&amp;B)
8) Pauline = <font color="ff0000">3 tics </font>
9) Aishite = <font color="ff0000">2 tics </font>
10) Lyn = <font color="ff0000">3 tics </font>
11) Pawprint &amp; 1 Child = <font color="ff0000">2 tics </font>
12) Cutiezayn &amp; 1 child = <font color="ff0000">2 tics </font>
13) Celeste = <font color="ff0000">2 tics</font>
14) dal = <font color="ff0000">2 tics </font>
15) muffinmocha &amp; 1 Child = <font color="ff0000">2 tics </font>
16) Steffi = <font color="ff0000">2 tics </font>
17) zzzcookiemonster = <font color="ff0000">3 tics </font>
18) poohy = <font color="ff0000">4 tics </font>
19) kite = <font color="ff0000">3 tics </font>
20) soh1dful = <font color="ff0000">6 tics </font>
21) mum2b = <font color="ff0000">2 tics </font>
22) Ivy = <font color="ff0000">3 tics </font>

<font color="119911"><font size="+2">TOTAL : 82 Tickets</font></font>

13) Celeste = <font color="ff0000">2 tics</font>
22) Ivy = <font color="ff0000">3 tics </font>

<font color="119911"><font size="+2">TOTAL : 82 Tickets</font></font>
<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2"> NO MORE ORDERS PLEASE</font></font>

paula,

THANK YOU SO MUCH for co-ordinating this
muacks muacks

Its going to be a huge june gathering....

Please advise account for payment

<font face="tahoma"> WOW... cant believe we have so many orders for the SSO babies prom!

Pauline,
thanks so much! Let us know when to make payment!

sunflower

Mandy is in Y'kidz Montessori playgrp at Sin Ming since June. Nanny will fetch her to n fro. SO far, she enjoyed the school. Teacher had feedback to me on her... glad that she adapt quite well.

so are u still workin in town? or move already??

mtdt
lunch next wk or so??? wait for Oki to come back frm her trip 1st, okie

dor,

Glad to hear she's adapting well in school

is it full day or half day?

me huh, moved to the east already, so sad, can't meet up for lunch liao

13) Celeste = <font color="ff0000">5 tics</font> }
22) Ivy = <font color="ff0000">5 tics </font>
23) bbloh = <font color="ff0000">2 tics </font>

<font color="119911"><font size="+2">TOTAL : 89 Tickets</font></font>

13) Celeste = <font color="ff0000">5 tics</font> }
22) Ivy = <font color="ff0000">7 tics </font>
23) bbloh = <font color="ff0000">2 tics </font>

<font color="119911"><font size="+2">TOTAL : 91 Tickets</font></font>

celeste,
cos i see you post me as 5 tics, then i post to update as 7 but before that post happen, you update to 7 liao..hence the clash lah...

how is your girl? better?

Just spoke to Rose. She said that she will have to check with her boss if she could process our orders cos’ we are not from schools. I told her that we are from an influential private playgroup (haha) and asked her to do her best. She said she will call and inform later.