SSO BABY PROM noted, thx, pls let me know acct # to trsf.
Phonics- just to share my opinion lah...
Zoophonics. Yah the kids tend to confuse the animal with the letter eg. Say Allie Alligator instead of "A". But seems to catch the phonics sounds very quicky. What I did is to reinforce and LINK.
Eg. Step 1: Say "Allie Alligator, Air-air-air! etc".
Step 2: Run through a set of plain letters, say "A! A makes the sound Air! etc".
Step 3: Round off with matching the plain letters to the zoophonics letters.
Step 4: Matching lower case to upper case.
Ahgal was fine lah with me coaching... whereas ahboy only listens if there are other kids around, that's why I organise structured PGs lor. *sigh*
Letterland (some PCFs and Church Kindys use this):
Similar- each Letter is illustrated and linked to an entity.
Eg. G is GOLDEN GIRL. Q is QUARRELSOME QUEEN.
There's a full song for EACH LETTER, a story for each letter and some introduction to related items.
Unlike Zoophonics which runs through all the letters more quickly.
The Zoophonics song does not drill the phonics sounds, it links the different characters- more like, "Allie, Bubba, Catina Cat, Deedee deer and Elephant... Francie Fish and Gordo too... they all go to the zoo" (something like that lah, some errors).
Jollyphonics (Some Church Kindys use this):
Too lazy to type liao. Has lots of books etc. The song goes, "Air, air, ants on my arm... air, air, ants on my arm... air, air, ants on my arm... causing me alarm!".
I have the music CDs for Zoophonics, Letterland and Jollyphonics... end of the day it only covers SINGLE SOUNDS of letters. So whichever route, as long as the kid gets that, fair enough. It's *after* that, that's more tricky... blending sounds and all that.
Ahgal din get the concept til recently, eg. can say "ker! air! ter!" but you need the kid to BLEND it herself to say "cat!".