(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

ivy
oh, u mean spiffies? i bot that b4 too to clean her tongue when it was covered wif a white layer.

paula
pls check & let me know the brand of the mouthwash. thanks

cel
oh dear, this dreaded hfmd is back again. were C's classmates affected too? she got it from cc?
take care of urself too..speedy recovery to her.

Cel,
When G had fever, I put her in air-cond room at around 26 degrees..just to regulate temp especially like today, it is super hot. Still most importantly must make sure take in liquid and monitor body temp, i feel.

Good Afternoon Mummies!

Celeste,
Speedy recovery to your ger.

As for aircon, so far i don't for my ger cos i believe in the chinese way. Even for myself, i notice my fever gets worse in aircon places. Yet some of my friends who 24/7 aircon type need aircon to keep temp down. Guess it really depends on the individual. Just today, this colleague told me her sis swears by vanilla ice-cream for sorethroat...strange, but that's just how our different bodies work! Must see your ger's pattern, if not best check with PD.

Arghh this HFMD is neverending...
My ger's cc also had a case last week. Now i'd really whack my ger's hands if she puts them in her mouth...yes, she's still doing that...argh!!!

Aishite,
You are really one cool mum! I can be quite a kan jeong spider...most of the time still ok but gets worse during pms...haha...are you ladies like that too?

Paula,
Thanks for the recipe. The everything-in-one-ball one sounds interesting....will try that. Think i should really try making interesting shapes out of her food! Also, what's the brand of the mouthwash?

Ivy,
Spitfiz is really effective? Silly me still have about half box of them unused since i upgraded my ger to toothbrush and paste. Must go dig them out now.

Teeth
I also notice my ger’s upper teeth also look a bit yellowish! Ask the daddy, he says maybe cos he always brushes the lower teeth first, so by the time he brushes upper teeth, no more toothpaste liao! But also notice my ger not so willing to let us brush her upper teeth, mayb that’s why never brush properly.

so that square pc of tissue, is the correct name Spitfiz or Spiffies? Think will go buy and try too, dun want buy wrongly.

Celeste,
Poor C, must be really painful for her, hope she recovers soon. You take care too, take more Vit C to keep yr immunity up.

School
Ya, also think Aishite is one cool mum! I listen to you all talk about nursery and kindy, I also feel a bit jittery, though I should not be, cos Xin En would only be back to spore when she's K2 age! But listening to how you pple describe how the good schools are snapped up make me worry if I can find any kindy for her or not when we come back from UK....

Pauline,
ya, your fish+mushroom+spinach ball recipe sounds good! So everything is uncooked and roll up into a ball and just steam is it?

btw, any news about the scholastic books?

Pawprint,
Sorry I haven’t been able to bring my ger to join your playgroup yet!! My no. 2 is still rejecting bottles despite introducing her to it more than a month ago. During bottle feed will cry and cry, super hungry but only willing to drink a little bit, I heart pain to see her cry like that,and will latch her shortly after her bottle feed. So can’t leave her for long hours yet. Going back to work in 2 weeks’ time, don’t know what to do man….. anyway, really sorry about it, now not sure when I can bring my ger to your playgroup, haiz.....

calliope and cheri,
ha, spelling error hor..
Yes, spiffies works well leh. work for adults too..cos i can see my hb two front tooth very clean after i did on him.

celest,
so the cc is not so good after all! did anyone else in the cc kena?

Ivy...

which CC can guarantee 100% wont ganna any HFMD / Virus / Germs? As long as rate is low... and as long as they do their best in cleaning the plc can liao lor....

I still think chelsia is weak herself .. plus she is a little SWAY.. so ganna lor..

Other kids in same class... Breath same air.. play same toys... also never ganna... so think she weak lah... no choice... Cant blame anyone... But parents has to be more responsible n isolate their kids once they have siblings / or who ever ganna lor... but i bet there are still some inconsiderate ones who jus wanna send their kids away from home.. so... aiya... really no choice.. cant help it leh

Celeste,
I think if C is willing, to let her have icecream/ ice pops, just to get hydration levels up. Ahboy dun like cold stuff much... so if he ever kanna, i wldn't know how to deal with it either. Speedy recovery!

happymum,
dun worry abt it, getting ur #2 to accept the bottle more impt, since u r returning to work soon. lots of gd luck!

vegetables-
Ahboy loves vege whereas Ahgirl doesn't... i think personal preferences.

kindy curriculums-
heard some schs complete Pri 1 syllabus by K2. And some schs target to have kids write simple compositions, do addition-subtraction-multiplication-division, by K2.

Really depends on the parents' comfort level, and IMO, which Pri sch u are targetting. Some primary schools seem to go ahead of the curriculum too, and even if they officially do not, ur child will be in a class of kids... what do you think would be the abilities of ur kids' peers in there?

I haven't considered Pri sch yet... but I do aim to ground my Ahgirl in certain areas by then, whether or not the kindy will. As for Ahboy, he's still on single sounds of letters and alphabet recognition... so I don't think he's advanced, nor is he slow.
I hope!

want to share abit of news...

I brought both kids for PD assessment recently, and though their weights are very healthy (abit more will be overwt, which we don't want either!)... their heights are low enough percentile to warrant investigation. Ahgirl went for xray as recommended, and it shows bone age delay... so went to a pediatric bone specialist for blood test. If everything comes back fine, then she's merely a late bloomer. Specialist recommended Ahboy go for xray too, but we haven't gotten round to it.

Cheri, Calliope,
The brand is biotene. It contains 4 antibacterial enzymes which boost the defense system normally found in your saliva. Together, they help protect teeth and gum. It is alcohol free and cleans and refreshes without burning. But I would advise you to check with your PD hor… cos this is what Dr. Lim prescribes me when Kell was down with HFMD and she refused to me let me brush her teeth. But he assured me that it is child friendly.

Calliope,
Yea, alternatively, you can replace the fish with kurau. It tastes nice too.

Happymum,
Yep, all doll up and steamed! If you have exposed your child to ginger, you may want to marinate the fish with ginger juice first then mixed up with the veges and steam…

Scholastic books… bookseller will get back to me next week. Cos’ they are moving warehouse and I was quite bz these two days to follow up with them. Nonetheless, I have placed orders liao… so’ should have three copies spare for those urgent mummies. Not urgent ones, will collate for spree #2 loh.

Celeste,
I count and count and count, it seems like she kena from KM or either that, Barney ride or MacDonalds? U let me know if you need me to run errands for you cos’ Kell will be seeing Uncle Lim tomorrow. IF DUN WANT TO MEET, I DUMP THOSE THINGS THAT YOU WANT IN YOUR LETTERBOX OR DOORSTEP … you dun open door, okay!

Pawprint,
Kindy curriculum… GUG has a very successful rates of students cruising through P1 and P2 … heard their kindy program very advanced.

celeste

hows chelsia now? wat did dr lim say now? still need to admit? u take care ok? anything u need me buy oso let me koe since i at home...i will follow paula method..hehe...keep us updated...just as i thought HFMD is gone,,now its back again...

Celeste,
Wish Chelsia a speedy recovery!

joyfulmum,
Fishball! Better dun give too much. Best is dun give at all.

spicegal,
Congratulations!

Enrichment class:
There's another center in Hougang opening in September, called Little Neuro Tree. A franchise from Trio. If you gals interested, can go and check out. $600 per term. It should be quite good cos it's opened by a group of mommies and daddies who also send their kids to Shichida and practice parenting through love. Shichida Method getting more competitors

Lyn,
Yea, I know got lots of addictives etc etc in fishball. But had been giving her :p. Anyway, going to try Paula's receipe. My earlier homemade fishball experiment didn't work well. hmph.

Spicegal
??
No. 2?

MTDT,
re an pei na... u nvr know.... a lot of talent management companies might be watching this show...haha....

My previous facial visit was funnier. When we reached, he even said "mummy, go inside to change." Then after I have done that, he pointed to the bed and said "Mummy, lie down and cover." Aiyoh! Yeah, it is really so fun and enjoyable and full of laughs when chatting with them now. Just now in the car back home from dinner, Jezoir surprised me with this "The 2 of us sit behind. One person (ie daddy) sit in front."

Pauline,
I think it is jezoir's interest in cars that spurs him on to learn more things/words associated with this So I just capitalise on it. Haha... No. 2? Well, still need some time lah. Keke...

Haha, Kell also very good with 'becuz'. Hi5 Kell!

Same as Jezoir, also in the instructor-mode now. Will say "mummy, wait for a while then move" when we are playing his trains/ cars/ buses, or when singing he'll say "Mummy dun sing, jezoir sing", and after he is done, he will say "now mummy sing". Haha...

Jezoir is also really into imaginary/ pretend play. He can play his thomas train and pretend he is him, and request I play James. Then pretend thomas train is going to toys r us to buy a car, and then thomas train play the 'imaginary car' by pushing it to james! Or thomas train goes to the playground and plays the slide and he'll make the "whee.....!" sound while sweeping thomas up in the air and down again. At the end of the day I get sorethroat cuz have to pretend to be james, elmo, pooh bear, doraemon, and the panda/shifu/monkey (from kungfu panda), etc. Haha.

Celeste,
Yeah, your shy boy now very talkative liao, but still shy with unfamiliar people lah. hehe.... Initially I was slightly concerned when he was understanding so much yet not speaking much. His JG Playnest teacher made the same comment. Then at about 19-20 months old he suddenly 'opened up' and now anything also wan2 say. Hehe...

Wow! Chelsia ay-sai lah!!! Haha...... hey, that is an asset hor... looks innocent but is a devil instead. :)
When you talk to the teacher, ask her exactly what has happened, ie wat chelsia did and wat the teacher herself did. Sometimes we parents are quick to judge our own kids being the misbehaved ones before knowing the truth, and that really hurts the self-esteem / feelings of our children. Isn't this a common scene - 2 kids playing and 1 cried. Both parents rushed over but the one with the non crying kid will assume her kid has made the other child cry and starts questioning and ask "what did you do?", or 'why u make him cry?" etc...

hope chelsia gets well soon.... and u take care too.

Sunflower,
Thx for the compliment. I try my best and I should thank jezoir for making the job easier for me by trying his best too. :)

Aishite,
You've been very busy lately? Not much postings from you. :) Is S still attending KidsLoft? Maybe we can meet up one day after her session. :)
Well, JZ can be a little monster at times too. When I say "no', he will say "yes". And after a few exchanges, he will then say "no no no no no no no no" and give me a huge grin, turn and run, and stop and turn to look at me, and then give me a cheeky laugh!

spicegal,
thx! so fortunate that this toilet training didnt take that long. :)

Dal,
Now is a very fun stage hor?
This morning, A urinated on the floor. Then he said something that sounds "mama, too bad". hahaha... My sis was laughing at me. A few days ago, I told him "mama is angry". He replied "No, mama very angry". wahahaha...
Jezoir is so cute... Your pretend play sounds so fun.

Dal
Ya lor, been a little busy...all the work starting in July and hv a Beijing trip next week. And then hor, banned from driving cos kenna 4 accidents in 4 months (all self-inflicted one, 3 out of 4 are bang carparks!).
JZ is sooo cute, and i bet u his eyes are forever "electrifying" you right?

Tmrw, keep your hp on, maybe can try to meet up with Paula and Kell, Paula is taking afternoon off to beautify herself :)

lyn - Little Neruo Tree is actually Trio. heard they rename themselves. any news of their exact addresss in serangoon?

Dal - hahahaa so fun to read abt ur pretend play. :p

Pawprint, aiyoh...agree with MT, so many things to worry..now height also of concern.

Lyn, thanks!

Joy, ya...

Dal, your pretend play sounds fun but I agree can be really tiring...haha...imagine having to play so many characters...lol!

Aishite, take care ah...so many 'accidents', good to stop driving for a while.

paula
thanks for checking out the brand. Will check wif my pd to c if it's ok for regular use.

GUG has kindy prog too? they r not just enrichment sch?

wen
yes, we went to baby prom last year too...N had a great time too. We got tix from my fren's dd's presch, managed to get front row. Will check wif her again.

Morning all...

Wah the number of Ulcers in her mouth is horrible... tiny small small one... but hor this greedy gal can still ask for baby bites / puff puffs... and ask for macdonald's Milk = Fresh milk.. So i jus give lah.... what ever she wants jus give... think she feels hungry but jus that mouth too painful to eat... poor thing hor...

Woke up a few times last nite. now i Panda liao... and 5am ask for macdonalds milk again... Morning 5am drink cold milk.. I dun know how her stomach can take it or not.. but no choice as long as she wanna drink.. must give..

Am wondering.. after she fully recover... will she still wan her normal enfagrow warm milk... and how to switch her back to her usual appetite... faintz..

pauline / angeline,
thanks..I dun need anything lah.. i can still go out n buy before i get home from work.. Am wondering hor... shouldnt the PD give mummy MC too.. to prevent the mummy spreading HFMD to other kids.. hahaha

Hey Spice...

I scroll n scroll on top... but didnt read u posted anything.. but everyone start CONGRATULATING you... Why huh??? #2 ar??

Anyway CONGRATS leh... hehe (jus follow)...

<font face="tahoma"> yeah am blur too... didnt see spicegal posting on anything but all congratulating her! hahahahaa

anyway, gut feel tells me it's #2! CONGRATS!

Celeste,
how's Chelsia?? Feeding better?</font>

Sunflower, Celeste &amp; Cutie, thanks!

Celeste, speedy recovery to Chelsia, good tat she still ask for milk, cold or warm at least she take something lah...you must take care and get more rest also...TGIF!

I did not post in this thread lah...Lyn must have caught me in action in the other MTB thread...haha...

Mspiggy...

Chelsia doin ok... can still wan to drink "Macdonalds milk"...

She dun really like super cold stuffs... we bought mac ice cream home for her ytd.. she dun seeems interested...

But fever still there... think its normal right..

<font face="tahoma"> Celeste,
glad she's better.

Wes doesnt like cold things too! i made some sushi over last weekends... he refused to eat them! he's so "uncle" must eat warm food!!!! </font>

Spicegal

Congrats!!!
hehe

Celeste

haha..u still working? got take leave to acompany her at home? ask dr lim lah c if he can give u MC anot...

mtdt,
Little Neuro tree in Hougang is 5-8 minutes walk from Kovan MRT.

celeste,
hahaha.. you just follow...

aishite,
Wah... 4 accidents in 4 months ah... Better rest a while. Maybe too busy, too kan cheong when driving? Better have longer preparation time when going out

paula,
thanks for the update on the scholastic lobang.
will stay tune for more updates.

re: GUG kindy
contrary to the general sentiments here in the june forum, i actually like the GUG curriculum compared to the JG one, after having been to both.
guess the good GUG experience came from having a good teacher leading the class (can't say the same for all teachers).
i'm very happy with their interactive curriculum which allows the tots to explore and learn. i literally look fwd to each class.

the kindy is quite ex tho, in my opinion, premium kindy as they term it.
if distance weren't a prob, will prob sign up at GUG for nursery and kindy.

cheers!

Peaceful but Tiring weekend this week... cos MIL wont be coming over for the next 2 weekends... cos Chelsia HFMD.. we worry spread to my SIL kids.. so hubby call her ask her dun need to come liao.. Hurray...

celeste,
Lucky you!
I totally agree on the teacher making the difference. I have been following the same Teacher through from Babes class to Tots class.

Celeste, now 2 months niah, due in Feb 2009. Wonder why Lyn is surfing that thread? Haha. Good that your MIL will not coming over this weekend, at least you will have peace taking care of Chelsia.

Thanks Angeline, Poohy &amp; MT(I guess you meant to congrats me ah? hehe..)