(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Aishite,
So, have you made up your mind re school? Sending S starting next year?

Where is this NAFA? I go bio first?

nafa really all rounded leh.
art/music/dance all covered.

then weekend just R&R or the most one more Right brain class enough liao. :p

Joy
Not made up mind yet lah ... i easy come easy go....as long as got school, good oledi.

Myself is a classic eg, couldnt speak a word of English till I reached 7, but also turn out ok. Most important is continue to indoctrinate values such as self esteem and knowing the child's position in Christ and continually to provide them a secured, loving family environment. Some turn out to be prodigy at a young age, some later ... come what may, as long as they find their own footing in life, that's what matters.

Aishite,
I thought I could relax but found out that the preschool standards varies quite a bit so decided to search further. Found that some schools even have teacher who speaks pretty broken English. I was quite shocked. And then the good ones, people register soooo early. I can't believe it. I just called NAFA. You know, they said they may not have N1 next year. If have, will reserve it for siblings of students. As for N2 class in 2010, they already have >60 people on waiting list. ???!!! I can only say, it is a very different time now....时代不同了....

Wen,
Got kindy spaces or not? Haha... just in case I moved to the East! Real sian, house hunting will resume after 7th mth... so start all over again!

DAL,
Urgent urgent, check your message! Got GOOD news!!!

Re: Pre-schools
Think i'm one of most laid back when it comes to school, only need to be hygienic and caring...am now getting the jitters with so much talk now about choice of pre-schools.

Re: Teeth
How are your tods' teeth? I notice my ger's bottom front ones have plaque! I do brush for her and use the baby toothpaste, but perhaps not as thorough enough. Must stop procrastinating and bring her to the dentist already.

Re: Food
How are you tods eating? What are they eating now? My ger seems not interested in proper food these days, especially veggies. She loves fish and soup only and ok with meat/egg/tofu, not so keen on rice and breads, only wants noodles and pasta. Veggies are a real headache...sometimes i wonder if she's one of those supertasters who can taste even the chlorophyll in veggies and detest it. How do you ladies do your veggies? Any interesting recipes to share?

Joy
That's a huge and long waiting list at NAFA!
My SIL tried to get my nephew in for 2010 at St James Kindy, N1, also long waiting list ...

I told myself not to panic over this kind of situation .... no point, just trying to follow the herd is not a wise thing, gives unnecessary headache and worry. It's not the school, it's Whose they are that's more impt. Of cos we wanna give them the best platform possible, but creating unnecessary worry is just not the way to go. Remember they still have primary school, secondary school, JC, university ... etc etc, the list is endless :)

Calliope,
Kell still has some missing teeth. On top of the baby toothpaste, I will also spray mouthwash on her tooth brush and she will brush and brush loh. That mouthwash was prescribed by her PD and so far, it works for her.

Kell is on three meals these days. She will be fed with cereal or bread in the morning. Lunch time is usually porridge and dinner will be rice with soup + steam fish or steam pork or steam cod fish. Usually for cod fish, I will mash up the fish meat and then mixed it with shitake mushroom and spinach and roll up into a shape of a ball. She loves this dish. Pork dishes will either be steamed with egg or tofu and usually, I will include carrots and spinach and start mixing them up. For porridge, I will try to add in an egg these days too.

MTDT,
Wah wah … again good lobang … I am interested in the cereals lei … let me know if you are organizing a spree

RE: Rainbow Fish
Sorry, I blur sotong… eh, there is a mummy who wants to sell me the tickets right? Is that still onz? If yes, can email me at [email protected].

paula,

check with you the fees for LV, is it different centres different rates?
do you know for N2, what's the class ratio for students:teachers?

Sunflower,
Yea, different centers different rates. You can view the rates online at their webby...

The current class ratio is 8 students is to 2 teachers. I believe this varies across centers too, depending on the leadership. For N class, it should be 10:2… cos whenever I pass by the N classes, the class size looks small.

Their curriculum for nurseries is as follows:

Nursery One For 30 Months To 3 Years
The Nursery 1 curriculum continues to reinforce the development of expressive language, communication and vocabulary skills. Large and fine muscles development is more actively promoted alongside personal, emotional and social development. Carefully structured as well as emergent experiences occurring through daily interactions, play situations, routines and transitions continue to support children’s language and cognitive growth. The environment promotes learning through active exploration, sensory and tactile stimulations. Children in Nursery 1 begin to acquire increased awareness of numbers, explore sounds and letters of the alphabet and develop interest in books and reading.

Nursery Two For 3 To 4 Years
Emphasis shifts from emergent strategies of the early years to purposeful acquisition and understanding of content, skills and concepts, leading to interdisciplinary learning experiences at the Nursery 2 level. Curriculum reinforces children’s increasing competencies in language as a tool for learning and communications. Reading, phonics and numeracy skills are introduced to promote the children’s emergent capacity for acquiring skills. Physical skills are more sophisticated enabling children to begin practicing writing through manipulative and prewriting experiences. Expectations for personal and social development continue to be prioritized resulting in even greater autonomy and independence, enhanced self-help skills, self-concept and confidence.

<font face="tahoma"> MTDT,
what oz wannabe?! hehehee...

never see this product before leh. how did you get to know this? </font>

paula - i not doing spree lah. :p

Mspiggy - my fren in oz now... then got another fren lobang her to get this for her. looks interesting. :p

mtdt,

saw a brand of puree in Cold Storage in similar type of packing, though not sure if this branch.

paula,

Thanks for the info.
wow.. the ratio is v. small!!

<font face="tahoma"> MTDT,
hehehe... waiting for your feedback! if really good, then will ask SIL to ship back for everyone!

paula
wat is the brand &amp; purpose of the mouthwash? can it be bought outside? i'm keen to get that for N too...always feels her teeth not that clean haha

cheri,
try spitfiz. Very effective leh...get rid of the plague and glamming! haha..
But when first started out, he refused to let me use it on his teeth. So i do it on his daddy and he watch. After a while he allow me to do it on him too...and he say must take turns with daddy...haha...

Sunflower,
Check with Joan got schoolbus or not… cos I know that the population in the school has expanded and rightfully speaking, the bus routes might have more choices loh.

Cheri,
I have to go home and check lei… off hand can’t remember.

cheri,
its available in Metro and some pharmacy. Its a sq pc of tissue like paper that you can use to wipe the teeth. Got grape and apple flavor. X hate the grape one.

Aishite,
I panic! Haha...feeling better today though. Feel like banging my head on the wall for overeacting. Aiyo. Now, praying hard so that I can discern which school is suitable for G's learning style. And also pray for the right environment for her rather than the best school. A bit like "get the compatible guy rather than the best guy"..heheh...

Paula,
Think most popular or reputable kindy's are snapped up. I am letting myself cool down first before I start looking at CC around me. The kindy I registered for G is good but a bit far for her. Think it will take at least half an hour of school bus there, if not more. Else, we prob have to bring her on taxi everyday which is a bit too much.

Teeth
G is not brushing teeth properly...still using baby toothpaste. Do they need to see dentist at this age?

Food
She doesnt fancy rice or veggie at the moment. At one point was ok with veggie. Prefer noodles. Her fav? Fishball!!

Cel,
Hope Chelsis's case is mild and can recover very, very soon...Poor thing. Hope you don't get too tired too. *hugs*

<font face="tahoma"> Poor Chelsia!!! Speedy recovery to her!

Now I also fear even to bring Wes to JG! Last week 1 case from his next studio! Now thinking twice of going this Sat since he just recovered from his flu</font>

I am back in office now... I want to cry liao....

How? How? How?
She dun wan to eat.. dun wan to drink... everything also DUN LIKE... how?

If fever dun go dwn by tonite.. and if she refuse to drink... Dr Lim say .. jhave to admit for drips leh...

<font face="tahoma"> celeste,
her throat is in pain and very uncomfy.. hence didnt want anything. BUT pls give her lots of fluid.... scared dehyration!</font>

Thanks everyone for the best wishes... really need it manz...

Hope hers is mild... n recover fast...

But how to tell is it mild or serious?

12th Craziest Toys Fair at Takashimaya!
Thu 17 July to Sun 3 Aug

An annual event not to be missed. Grab your favourite toys at the craziest price from a wide selection of stationery, plush, toys, apparels and many more.

Celeste,
I heard from other moms that have to try cold things. Even milk have to serve cold. Give yogult and ice-cream if bobian...that is what I heard. Maybe check with pd if ok? Or not to serve too cold but colder than room temp? Coz even at room temp it is very painful on the ulcers. So need to be cold enough to numb pain...

<font face="tahoma"> agree with joyfulmom... give watever they want at this point... really no choice. yogult shd be good... still got milk contents.</font>

haha...

Ya.. PD also say she queen now... give whatever she wan to DRINK....

She jus finish a botlle of YAKULT before i left home jus now

celeste,

Hope C recovers fast.
Give her whatever she wants, her throat is painful so her intake of food will reduce, but continue to offer her favourite drinks/food to her...

Jacq..

Houning Still available... BUT I DUN WANT TO MEET ANYONE OF YOU to pass things etc... especially those with kids at home.. we better be safe... Do u need it Urgently?

Celeste, PD never say serious or mild ah? Hopefully its mild one...my colleague's girl had ulcers all over her mouth and inside of her throat, hers was serious case lor..btw, you also must take care, if not careful, you can get it also..

Cold liquids is the best as it makes swallowing less painful.

wah lau.. tell u all ar... keeping my fingers cross.... better dun give me flu n cough... else how to give cold drinks to her...