(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

poohy,

ic... ya heard St James queue super long. Where is St James btw? :D

I hope to find 1 near my place too.
MOE requirement only need to enrol from K1 is it?

sunflower,

its near orchard road i think. I may let the kids continue in LW if I cant find another that I like
I am not sure leh.... think K1 shd be a must now rite.

paula,

<font face="tahoma"> sunflower,
I saw St James Kindy at Dempensy Rd. Too far for us. Am looking for a one nearby too. </font>

poohy,

LW - have you checked with them regarding curriculum for K1/2?

mspiggy,

ya, me too looking for nearby one. which ones are you targeting?

<font face="tahoma"> sunflower,
for pre-n, initially thought of PCF little steps but too bad AMK doesnt have PCF little steps. so might send him to LittleSkoolHouse at AMKhub. nearest for my mum.

for kindy, still considering either PCF or church kindy nearby

for your area, st francis xavier church kindy is quite near right?</font>

K-Ong..
Glad that things are all well with u.. for bag organisers, jus go direct to sarah even if the BP is closed.. June mummies got special priviledge one.. hahah..

Sunflower...
Stop ur search... go schoolhse... by schoolbus... haha... at the moment i wont consider to let chelsia continue till K2 with schoolhse.. cos they play real hard.. Unless.. chelsia really loves the school n want to stay... by kindy age, she should be able to tell me she want to stay ir want to go.. hahah... decision is hers.. haha

<font face="tahoma"> Steffi,
i heard that too... but it's not cheap either now! my colleague just checked coz his area his little steps for PCF. cost abt $160 per month!!! </font>

hi paula,
re: rainbow fish
so i'll PM u my acc tonite... btw the details are as follows:
The Rainbow FishAlliance Francaise TheatreSat, 06 Sep 2008 02:30 PM
3 ticket(s) at S$17.00 plus Service Fee of S$1.00 per ticket
Subtotal Cost: S$54.00
Seat(s) offered: Section Center, Row(s) B, Seat(s) 16,17,18

You may want to double check the seats again.. if i'm not wrong, it should be aisle seat cos the next section starts from seat no. 19.

Celeste,
Haha… Yea, I love LL’s curriculum but if we compared the dominant four factors in schools selection (1) teachers (2) curriculum (3) teachers-parents communication and (4) school environment, I think LV@RP really edges them out in (1), (3) and (4). In terms of curriculum, each has its own merits. The other think about LV is that they do weave in enrichment classes such as Shakespeare Speech &amp; Drama, MIM and their own and proven phonics program into their curriculum. Also, they also go all out to ensure that their children are being exposed to life in primary schools and have parenting sessions (if I remember correctly) on life in primary schools and etc. So all in all, it is really holistic loh and I really love their teachers and their food menu cos’ I know that she will be exposed to healthy food in school. So unless SOMETHING goes terribly wrong in LV, if not, Kell would be donning that blue color uniform throughout! Haha!

for those moms that have tots in shicida, how do you find the lessons? Do your tots have significant improvement?

Hmm.. i m thinking of sending my 2nd child to shicida, but really worried that it's too stressful for him n mummy cos heard that must do homework.. Thinking of grooming him as he has shown strong language skill despite his age..

Really appreciate your comments.. Thanks!

Pauline ar...

Then u can stop thinking of moving to the EAST!! LV@RP is definitely out of the way!.. hohohohoho...

I tell u ar... those staying in the EAST go schoolhse.. heard frm Nao that her fren commented Schoolhse is similar to the all time favourites JG... haha

poohy,
Happy to hear that J is developing well

Gotta give a big clap or cheer when she got the flashcards right
Sometimes, A will be the one saying out the name of the pictures while I flash. His daddy also surprised that he knows quite a lot of things. But everytime after he finished, gotta cheer and clap.
I am very tempted to buy the little einsteins DVD. I like musical instruments and places of interests... but gotta wait till 3 years old then can let A watch. Recently, he has been watching lots of TV
When in JB, default feeding time is VCD! faintz... Jialat... Now, he dun have much choices, so will not choose what to watch. Now, he will choose whether to listen to which songs in which language, and usually dun want "cheng yu".

Oh yes, from Shichida's book, to enhance speech development, gotta give lots of love from mommy. He never mentions about daddy's love though. Everything also mommy... hahaha... I am tired :p cannot outsource to daddy... Is J still being looked after by daddy most of the time? Maybe gotta change that arrangement. It seems like kids' abilities and development is highly dependent on mommy's love and attention.

KOng,
Gotta explain to her. And gotta ask her permission. Now, I still gotta ask permission from A before carrying B or C, else he will cry "mama carry zy".

Vivi,
Wah.. going to travel again. So nice...

mspiggy,
What is PCF?
Will you consider Star Tots?

<font face="tahoma"> sunflower and lyn,
Now they don't called PAP kindy anymore... it's called PCF

Lyn
Where's Star Tots? </font>

Celeste,
If I moved to the east, I would seriously consider NAFA for her. Haha… but the only concern would be how P1 friendly cum ready they would be.

lyn,

thanks... we cheered and fussed over her when she got them right... and we praised her for her good attention span. I am trying very hard to increase my time with her... but at times its a bit tough as she sleeps after dinner due to exhaustion spending half a day in school. Plus I need to coach S in his violin practise.... the practise can be more than 30min or even more... depends on his progress and concentration. Repeat and repeat... hmm

but I am putting more effort in doing her flashcards session and puzzles. Will be buying a tunnel for her to crawl, a swing to place at home for her cos I realise she loves the swing at the occupational therapist room. Nowadays, I also bring her to JG classes myself... swap with my hb cos last time I used to go with S to his edudrama. Its nice bonding time.

poohy
u mean cc really help to 'exhaust' the kids? i cldnt believe my ears when the principal of a cc tell me that the kids at her centre usually knocked out once they reach home (for full day) or sleep very early in the evening (for half day)

mspiggy,
Oh I see... I thought they are called "star tots" too. $160 per month they are. I am very tempted to send A there. They have music lessons for our toddlers! I have still yet to visit the locations. I think there are 3-4 centers around AMK.

Paula,
I also considered NAFA! A few days ago, just called them. But too far for the kindergarten. Secarly, one day I decide to move to the East too. hahaha...

poohy,
Yeah! I think bringing her to JG classes yourself is a good move too
It will definitely enhance her learning abilities. She's a genius

What about finding some time for her before going to school in the morning? A few days ago, when flipping through one of Shichida's books, the best time to spend time and teach a toddler is in the morning when they are still fresh. Night time should be play time cos they are already tired after a day in school. I am still trying to adjust to that cos sometimes, I do flashcards at night. Morning time is usually very busy. I am wondering how am I going to cope with 3 in a few months' time.

Yesterday, when I was doing flashcards with A, I put C on the carseat and sit beside A. She was staring at all the cards! 15 minutes of cards non-stop! I wonder if she can really see... but I gotta trust her abilities rite?

Paula
after the long nap in school, does kelly still sleep early at nite? i am actually a bit concerned cos my gal will insist on watching one vcd after another, if she slept too much during the day and cant sleep at nite.

lyn
shicida champions mummy's love &amp; effort &amp; not daddy's...keke i would think it's oso a jap culture...most jap dads r not very involved in the upbringing of the kids.

<font face="tahoma"> lyn
really? i didnt know abt Star Tots, heard they are called PCF little steps. Surf the website, they dont have little steps near us.

let me know if you know where's the location for Star Tots. Thanks! </font>

poohy,
What about bringing her to the playground for the swing? She might need some interaction time with other kids... And see how other kids play too... Going outdoor is very important according to Shichida. I always remember that...
I realise that when A stays at home more, he will tend to throw tantrums. That's why I continued his JG this term, and will bring him out almost everyday. I bring BnC with maid too. Though it's very tiring, but I gotta endure... cos I am scared not fair to BnC if they stay at home while I go out with A.

I think yesterday, I forgot to carry B almost the whole day. She cried and cried last nite and only wanted me to carry. She cried till no voice when the maid carried her. Then quiet down when I carried. After thinking through the reasons why she cried, I think it's cos I have not given her the attention for that day. So guilty...

cheri,
That's what I thought too.. perhaps it's the Japanese culture. Shichida wrote a book just for daddy too. hahaha... But I havent got time to flip through that book. Bought and thrown that book for my hubby to read :p

steffi,

ya J is exhausted after sch. If she din nap at 5:30-6:45pm when her classmates go home, she will definitely fall asleep right after dinner or sometimes even miss dinner. She spent around 4-5 hours in school everyday plus 1hour plus of travelling to and fro home.

lyn,

morning is tough cos she sleeps till quite late. At times I dun even get to see her wake up before I leave the house bringing S for his school. If she does wake up, I will try to show her some flashcards... but its v rush for us all
Next time 3 kids, I also dunno how to manage the time. I am trying to work out a timetable routine now.

I used to place J beside me when I give S flashcards when he was young. I am sure C can see

I bring the kids down to playground too... she she can now crawl up those play structure all by herself. But I cut those times down as she is easily allergic to whatever things there... just 2 days ago, she sat on the floor with the other kids and kena an leg of rashes. And with the hfmd back, I constantly felt worried that they will get it from such public places. I really hope she gets enough interaction from school.

mspiggy,
Star tots at Central of Singapore:
Central

Blk 6 Lorong Liew Lian

Blk 410 Serangoon Central

Blk 1 Rochor Road

Blk 134 Ang Mo Kio Ave 3

Blk 313 Shunfu Road

Blk 512 Serangoon North Ave 4

Blk 606 Ang Mo Kio Ave 5

Blk 546 Ang Mo Kio Ave 10

<font face="tahoma"> Lyn,
hmmm.... am confused too!!! seems like the playgroup is called star tots. but the whole org is called edufarm.

definitely not PCF little steps.</font>

Lyn,
Haha… secarly we ended up as neighbour! Keke.

Steffi,
She will sleeps from 12 to 3pm and then will be in dreamland by 8.30pm. She will wake up between 7.15 to 8.00am the next day. When it comes to weekend, she will usually nap from 90 mins to 2 hours (think she knows that weekends are play days!) and will go to bed by 8.30pm.

paula
wah! so gd..sleep so early. For my gal, if she sleeps at 10-10.30pm, i will be so happy liao....she has prob falling asleep at nite, since she was few mths old...

Steffi,
Have you tried establishing a routine? I find that helps cos’ I practice that on Kell since she was a baby. Her current bedtime routine involves a bedtime wash followed by some singing and books reading session, then we will talk a little and we will offer her a bottle of milk at about 8.20pm. We will switch off the light when she is done and she will soon be in dreamland.

paula,

J sleeps at 8 or 9:30pm mostly but she can suddenly wake up later on. But generally there is no problem getting her back to sleep after that.

S used to follow a routine since birth to be sleeping by 9am. But now, as he grows older, he sleeps lesser and will only sleep earliest around 11:30pm. Weekends, he even skipped his 2 hour nap in the afternoon if we are at home. He wanna play with us.

I always envy my colleague whose children all sleep by 8:30pm. That's really luxury leh. But if they sleep too early my problem will be no time to do reading, any coaching in the evening liao. Cos by the time I finish dinner already 8pm.

Wah...

I see youo all... i really peifu leh.. still do reading / flash cards.. in morning in evening..

By the time i reach home after work, i total flat out... only thing i will do with C is PLAY!... Ask me to teach her things.. think can forget about it.. AM LAZY... Daddy WORST... BO CHAP... I leave everything to the SCHOOL.... hahaha...

Poohy,
You were right loh … we spend at the most, 3 hours a day with her during weekdays before she doze off … I have been sacrificing on my soap dramas, my dinner so that I could fully utilize that three hours with her. Will only eat after she has slept but by the time that she has slept, I also want to zzz already! Sigh!

Re: Chinese Language
Finally understand the importance of introducing second language to her when she is young. Her teachers highlighted to me during the recent PTC that she understands Chinese but can’t speak Chinese yet. So, really have been kicking myself for not making that effort to introduce Chinese to her when she was younger! Poor she! I could imagine how she would have felt when she first attends her first Chinese lesson! Totally lost… don’t know what is happening. Haiz!

paula
tried establishing a routine when she's younger..quite diff cos last year in-laws will come knocking on my door at least twice a week and ka-chao her at night...they will stay till around 9.30pm..then by the time i change her diapers and give her milk etc, it will already be 10 plus.

now, we will have dinner at their place instead and thus no more visits from them..but, gal is already accustomed to the late nites....

boi sleeps at 9pm though :p

<font face="tahoma"> Steffi,
i used to stay with inlaws then... ard 8.30pm i will bring wes to my room. always kenna "complain" i force my boy to sleep too early! but i hack care... slowly they come to term. :p</font>

celeste
me too...every nite, i will just play/watch vcds with HX..smetimes i am just too tired and will can fall asleep watching barney with her!!

mspiggy
ya lor, they always tell me...no nid to sleep so early, must let her get use to it..wah pian! and then my gd old hubby told me that boh pian, since his parents seldom see my gal