(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

kong - congrats! you are such a brave mummy!

angeline - hang in there... soon it'll all be over...

paula - take care and send my regards to Kell.

dal - are you enjoying your new place? ke ke... I bet J loves the numerous pools...

Dal,
Haha!! See lah, wait so long! I heard from Joan that the population of children retaining in the children from tots to Kindy is extremely high… so, satisfaction must be really strong with the teaching team.

Kong,
Congrats congrats!
Yea, he is a very good PD. During d hospitalization stay, I noticed that he is always among the first to arrive and always the only PD who will make an extra effort to drop by the ward at 10ish pm to check on his patients. And always respond to calls within 5 minutes. So, just hoping that he really can help kell.

Angie,
Flat out! It doesn’t help that hubby is down with hi-fever yesterday and I caught a flu too. Really siong. And I think she is getting sick of medication. I tried feeding her with medication last night and she said, no. I asked her why not, she said ‘coz qiqi is full’. Buay than.

Wen,
Thanks for sharing… my colleague checked with a TCM Dr. and he said it is either the patient is in cold temperature (which she is not) or she is suffering from shocks. My mum’s version is medication overdosed. So now all I can do is to wait for her doc to call and let me know how the results goes.

Toto,
Thanks. How is your flat hunting? Must share share hor.

K-Ong,
Congrats....

Dr Lim is real good lah.. we named him " LOH SOH"... haha... very detailed n long-winded... like ah pek like that.. hohoho...
Whenever i paged for him ar.. or left a massage with him to call me back with chelsia's name hor.. he will return call... and say... "Ting Ting ar... what happen again??"!! alamak... and after every visit to his clinic hor.. chelsia will say bye bye to him... and "dun like see u"... i taught her once... to say " Bye... dun wanna see you again" instead of "Bye... see u"!

Dal,
Shy Boy in JG 2pm sunday? ha... Deborah from JG called jus now saying 2pm Sunday.. got 2 Vacancy... but hor... checked with her what they do there... and after getting to know the bilingual playclub actually doin the same thing as what is done in Schoolhse by the bay leh... very classroom oriented... (as what pauline had described)... so hor... how huh?? i really headache this time! Same tots as MTDT.. LV@RP.. waiting for drop-outs? Think Kelly lor... she need to rest mah... hahahahahaha

MTDT, Celeste,
Haha, both of you really think fast. I told the school to continue to deduct the school fees regardless how long this ‘school holiday’ is. This school is too perfect liao and I have join in their parents support group.

Dal d in-law,
Dun worry, I will bo-loh-soh the school principal… how can she separate the lovebirds? So, you keep him at home for the time being and groom him in kung fu so that he could protect kell when he finally joins her okay? Keke. :)

Celeste,
I think you are left with not much choice but to ctue with KM. (1) it fulfills the reason of you wanting to get out of the house and (2) Chelsia loves the class. So, that could be another alternative for you.

Aiya!!!

But dun you think KM is like doing the same thing thruout almost everyweek?? But think KM is the cheapest way to "escape". so far all other classes are like $50 per lesson... KM is abt $25 right..

Paula,
Is Kelly aneamic? I hope she gets well soon. Think she probably looks green cos she hasnt been eating well lately. It saddens me to think of the amt of medicine she has to take and the no. of blood tests she has to go thru.

Fever is a sign of infection. She prob got some infection somewhere unknown.

Is she still going to child care or attending any other lessons outside? If so, I suggest u take her out of these till her immunity builds up.

KOng,
Congrats! How is Kayley taking to her new baby brother?

BTW, now that our tods r 2, i would like to remind everyone to bring ur tods for Prevnar jab (pneumococcal vaccine) if they have not taken it previously. Only 1 jab if taken after 2 yrs old.

Kong, congrats.

Paula, do takecare and hug hug to Kelly, speedy recovery.

Celeste, any Zoophonics near yr place ? maybe you can try, they hv Sunday class.

Mummies, Zara sales is on now.

Celeste,
The most impt thing is that Chelsia enjoys the lesson. New term new things. For Kell, really can sense her boredom so I dun dare to sign on another term. If you want Chelsia to have fun, then can just sign up as a member with one of the gyms for free play sessions… then you suka suka can park yourself there with Chelsia if GEMIL decides to drop by your house at any time and any day. Alternatively, you may consider ballet? Thought you were interested in that?

Tinklebell,
Her latest blood test does not suggest so. Praying hard that her fever won’t come back … if not, her PD wants her back in hospital tomorrow. He called in the evening and told us that they detected the previous strand of virus in her. We asked why cos’ in the hospital, he said if one kena that virus before, one will be immuned to it. He has no answers for us. So we are now worrying that it will leads to other complications. And even if the virus does decide to park temporarily in her body, it should not last more than 10 days. Now, it is already 21 days. So really don’t know. And we were told that antibiotics and steroids won’t help in countering this virus. Then her godma called up her TCM shifu and we were told that TCM intervention at this stage won’t help much … the most important thing is to clear up the immediate problem and when she is all clear, then starts maintaining through TCM.

So mummies, dun underestimate common cold symptoms … have to be careful.

Re. Alex Toys
BTW, does anyone knows of any similar brands that sell similar stuff as Alex Toys? I know ELC has but limited range in term of craft supplies.

MTDT,
but i asked jezoir if he would like to attend the same school as kell and he said yes. i said another of his friend's name and he said no. so how? haha...

vivi,
i checked out the following:
1. Kinderland at Woodlands Civic Centre - not bad: cheerful classrooms, own private outdoor playground, keyboard music lessons for K1 and K2, but just too many kids! i cant stand it. keke...
2. LV @ Vista Point - not bad but at the mall. they have plans to build their own playground on the 1st floor (they are located on the 2nd floor) but i dunno if confirmed or not. they also have Malay language included in their curriculum as there are a fair bit of malay children. place is neat and clean.
3. Purple Train at Woodlands Civic Centre - forget it. though it was dismassal time but the teacher should have been more diplomatic. she was like chasing us out, kept saying it was dismassal and the place very cramp.

when you moving in? :)

toto,
yeah manz! whenever we pass by the pool, or he sees his swimming suit, he'll say 'mummy, go swimming pool please.' aiyoh! :) but i must say the kids' pool is very simple. no slides or any fanciful water features. just a mushroom with water overflowing from the top. but jezoir is just as happy. :) and he doesn;t like the deep pools cuz he cant stand in them. haha...

paula,
yeah lor. joan was saying that too.... wait for so long! haha.... she said if no one drops out from the sept class then i have to wait till jan next year for the N1 class. but most kids will move from tod to n1 so my chances are probably slimmer then! haiz... joan asked me to try vista point. so i went to lv @ vista point this afternoon. the principal is actually a long time friend with joan, known each other for more than 12 yrs liao! :) nice and friendly lady too. i asked her if it is possible to do a transfer when rp has vacancy and she said yes. but then again if i do place jezoir in vp and he has settled down i wont wan2 move him again. my another concern is if i wait till sept and rp still has no vanancy and vp also has no vacancy - then how? sometimes i think 'forget it lah'. just teach him watever i can at home and send him in from N2 onwards. keke....
jezoir can protect kell even now! he'll tell the person / thing loudly 'go away', 'no snatching', 'no pushing', etc. hahaha

celeste,
if doing the same thing then no point going liao... like wat pauline has said, as long as chelsia is enjoying KM then let her continue. i pulled jezoir out of the 2x/week jg class becuz he seems to be getting bored. hence i switched to bilingual so he can get some exposure to chinese language. :)

Dal,

thanks. I checked out LV @ Vista pt and Kinderland @ Civic ctr. Agree that civic ctr is too messy and rowdy!

LV @ vista pt is not bad also nearer to us. But cant be compare with LV @ RP.

We are going there this afternoon to meet up and discuss the defects. Not so soon.

My boy also kept harping on the swimming!

MTDT, sorry to ask again... was it u who recommended a memory game from Popular with a magnetic board? Can describe? Dunno which to buy.

<font face="tahoma"> so quiet here today......
Pauline : how's little Kelly now?

my own updates:
went for mthly checkup last week. bb weighs abt 1.2kg @ 25 wk. Gynae considered her slightly above avg in terms of weight. She suspects i might have gestational diabetics... going for a test in 2 weeks' time

Good afternoon gals!

Long time no see... Been attending seminar last 5 days. A still in JB. He's enjoying himself there very much. Never ask for mommy or daddy. Missing him so much now
Haven't seen him since last Thurs... Just now called my mum and she told me the cheeky things A did there, makes me miss him even more... He knows how to peel an egg now. And some malay words also.

Paula,
I will seriously recommend Indinine to you for Kelly
It will really help her immunity and get over this episodes of fever faster.
Wish Kelly a fast recovery

KOng,
CONGRATULATIONS!
Wow... can see when giving birth. I can never go through that liao...

Wen, dal,
Still free this week? Wanna go somewhere? Preferably somewhere with aircon
A coming back tonite

lyn,

I duno any specific though I know there seemed to be some piano activities from Mandeville's posters. Only know of the strings conference end of this year

who takes care of the twins when u go for seminar?

we met up with the psychologist last monday and the assessment is sensory integration dysfunction. We are refered to occupational therapy. The top choice recommended have a 6 months waitlist and the 2nd choice is 1 month. Hope to go for the 2nd choice therapist assessment first and in time to come, we can go for the first choice. In such assessment, sharpness is very important so I really hope we can get onto therapy with the most first choice asap.

been reading your blog abt this indinine. Does it help with brain development etc? I feel a lot of anxiety for J... she has been having such terrible and frequent unexplained tantrum/meltdown that it causes me some depression too.

poohy
cld J's meltdown be due to #3 as well? there was this period during my pregnancy when Hx really threw her tantrums...she was crying/rolling all over the living room and it can occur anytime of the day, even during the nite..

steffi,

I dunno leh. It could be. But sometimes I felt my wit's end with her. We had already been very patient with her but the meltdowns still come very often. I guess its coupled with the fact that she is unable to communicate her needs verbally. Slightest or no reason at all, she will be in tantrum again and very hard to comfort her .

poohy,
take care of yourself. I've only fleetingly heard of SID so can't share any insights... is there an online group (even overseas) to help share info?

lyn,
no idea abt piano festival, sorry.

Sch-
today hectic morning for me. Rushed to a new sch (by foot) to register both kids. Next yr they'd go on sch bus together and be gone for 3hrs. I had reservations about Irv adapting well because he's more clingy (whereas Ath never shed a single tear for her entry to Kindy). Am hoping it'd be easier with jiejie accompanying him- their classrooms are doors apart only.

Ahgirl will continue existing sch til this yr... there are certain (fun) aspects better than her new one, but their timing for pre-nursery (Ahboy) and K1 (Ahgirl) don't coincide. Hard for me to rush to-fro.

Ahgirl as usual receptive to everything lah, so excited abt New Sch that she bugged me to bring her in the afternoon to see. So walked all the way there... sooo tiring.

THE PRICK-
And we headed elsewhere after that- took a bus. The bus started moving when we got up, so we sat down immediately at the front (where most preggies/ elderly/ people-with-kids sit). When time to alight, I waited til the bus stopped completely before helping Ahgirl down the bus. We used the front door cos we were closest to it. Besides, most elderly/ kids-in-tow use the front cos that’s where the needy seats are!

There was a bottleneck- two lines of people jammed the entrance and refused to back down for us. We squeezed past finally, and a tall young man on the other line complained, “why must you use the front door?”. I retorted, “because we’re seating near it, I’m handling a kid, hello!”. He responded, “you’re blocking the way!”.

He carried on up, we got out and as the bus went off… he stood up inside the bus and flashed me the middle finger.

poohy
for HX, the peak lasted for abt 2 mths..at that time, pple told me that it's due to both 'terrible 2'stage and #2..hb and i had in fact mentally prepared ourselves that we may have to tahan her for abt 1 yr..luckily 1 mth after my boi came along, she slowly got accustomed to addition to the family and her tantrums/meltdowns also reduce significantly...think u may have to give J more time...

been down with slight flu this weekend, hopefully the girls didn't catch it from me.

Mspiggy,
don't worry too much, take care of yourself.

Poohy,
Same here as steffi, during my preganncy, there's a period when Xin En had alot of tantrums too. I know it's difficult but try to stay positive and cheerful for your 3 kids, esp yr no.3.

Occupational therapy is very important for sensory integration cases, so do go for therapy asap, even if it's not the top choice. Regular and frequent therapy will help alot. I have a student who has a lot of sensory integration issues too, his mum sent him for OT sessions twice a week, and engage him in OT activities at home too, and I have seen him really improve alot.

I know someone who has an OT clinic in Orchard, she's the ex OT of my school. (That's the one the student I mention above goes to). If you don't want to wait/or want another choice of OT clinic, PM me and I can find out for you if there's any slot.

pawprint,

First time I heard of that term is from the psychologist that day. Still dunno head or tail abt it. Its a bit hard to find similar cases online except the terrible tantrums. Cos sensory integration issues can occcur in any of the 5+2 senses or combination, thus each child has a unique combination I think. Plus a lot of cases I read are about older kids.

re: bus ride

some people are just so inconsiderate. Ignore him lah. dun let it spoil your mood.

steffi,

ya we are hanging there and been very patient especially since we know its related to her communication problem and all. Luckily S is a very good boy most of the time. Even when I was expecting J previously, he was generally easy to handle.

happymum,

pm you
Thanks... I felt more relieved to hear we can go for 2nd choice first cos I was a little worried switching therapist later may have adverse effect.

<font face="tahoma"> poohy,
what tests did the psychologist did for J? based on what he said she has sensory integration dysfunction?

checking more for my frd. </font>

mspiggy,

no tests
Only through conversation with us, with her and observing her. The session took 1hr 45 minutes. I think the occupational therapist will be the one to do the tests and assess specifically what sensory problem is present.

mspiggy,

PM u. She is refered by Dr Terence Tan. I was told by Dr Tan that not many psychologists are experienced in dealing with such young toddlers and she is one of those who are supposed to be good in this area.

pp, where was ur camera at that time?? that would have been an excellent front page straits times cover hor!! "the ugly singaporean"

did u show him ur middle finger bac? or yell at him like how i would??

Mich !! how have u been !!! and Bren ??

PP: oh my what an awful experience

some ppl are just plain rude

Poohy : Yah, i also think her behaviour is due to #3, somehow they "know" that mummy is different now. K also went thru a period where she was being difficult and wanted me to carry her all the time, and i cldn't - due to tummy.
*hugs* and hope the OT will help her improve !!

Lyn : thanks ! heehe, can try for one more ??

Tinkerbell : K's been great ! first day, she was initially afraid of approaching the baby, but she's taken to him well, will want to pat pat, and insist on carrying him - of course we dont allow that, but we will put his legs on her lap while seated and she feels so proud being involved !!

Angeline : take good care !! after pregnancy, tiredness comes from sleepless nights !!! *sigh*

Blur : it is a standing mirror - think most hospitals will have this handy !! haahaa, it was positioned next to my Doc so hubby and i saw the whole birth process.

Been MIA for a while cos me started part time consulting work ... quite lite, but the load is pretty much up to me.

A fren took piccies of S last Sat and I luv the way he's so good at "capturing the moment" ... just wanna share with you.

1522944.jpg

1522945.jpg

1522946.jpg

1522947.jpg

1522948.jpg

1522949.jpg

1522950.jpg

aishite

nice pics lei...esp in black &amp; white...classic..

mspiggy

1.2kg @ 25 weeks? hmm,me was 1.1kg @ 24weeks...then last friday was 1.9kg @ 30weeks...cham...4get to ask him if its 'overweight'...now i need to watch my diet..no sweet stuff, icecream,choco,durian etc that will make bb gain weight faster..coz i am going to try vbac...

<font face="tahoma"> ashite,
nice pics! shan is so pretty!

angeline,
i thought was ok just slightly above avg but gynae suspects i might have GD hence asking me to go for the test. trying to control my carbo and sugar intake now

Cutie...
Any site for Zoophonics... if no choice.. i will continue KM... no choice...

Ms Piggy..
Do update us after ur check up ya..

Dal...
No LV... come Schoolhse by the bay lor.. hahaha

Toad..
Nice pics of shannon...

Angeline...
Yours gal or boy huh?

MTDT....
How have u been... I supper busy leh.... so sianz.. but heng my maid come last saturday liao,... so no more late nites for me... trying to recuperate my sleep... sleepless nites n late nites for the past 3 mths...

mspiggy

har...he also ask me to watch my carbo,sugar intake but nv say anything abt GD..hmm...he only say smaller baby have a higher chance of vbac successfully...hmm..but till now i only gain 4kg lei..

celeste

mine is minnie mouse also...haha.can pass down all of celest clothes to baby liao.. your maid cum liao har..good. good....

celeste - wow.. got new maid liao huh...
me same same lah... nothing much. hahahah

angeline - another princess uh. can recycle all the clothes and got excuse to buy more as can be used by 2 kids. :p

Steffi, Mispiggy,
Thanks… the little one is resting at home. Recovering I think but she woke up with a 37.6 temperature today … so hopefully, it’s just a case of the weather being hot! Other than that, I think she is well just that have to deal with her nightmares and nasty coughs! She is hooked on Gogo right now. I really dislike that show and she adores that show… buay tahan.

BTW, does anyone of you know of any good housing agents that specialize in the sales of HDB flats as well as a good agent for condo units? I need to expand my pool of agents … desperately need to move out by this year … for fengshui purpose!

Lyn,
Email me product literature can? I want to read up lei…

Poohy,
Have you considered looking into exploring her with signs language? It might help her in expressing herself and at the same time, the OT sessions will certainly help her in vocalizing her needs.

Ashite,
Really beautiful pictures … Sam + Shan = perfect pics!