(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Msnanas, i din know Nan HA gives out samples... i tot they stopped giving out samples recently.

Yes.. that's usually how we hook bb up to a particular brand of FM....
no wonder some companies rushing madly to give out samples...

amy,

My son is drinking 6oz now, about 5 feeds a day, a total of 30oz at least. He finished 1 tin of 900g milk powder in 6 days so which means i need to buy 4-5 tins of milk a month! About $147.50 on milk powder, expensive!

I supposed after they start taking solid, the no of feed on milk will reduce to 3x a day. Usually 2 solid feeds a day (1 lunch + 1 dinner), the other 3x of milk will be 1x in the morning , 1x around 3pm, the other 1x before bed.

msnanas,
those 9 tins were foc fr nestle loh... going to stage 2 in 2 mths. .. wasted if not used.... but now, i am still tbf'g... hope to do so for another 2 mths if my ss can maintain.

wow! can save so much thru the BP! my hub also knows the contact for nan ha but he cant rem how much they quoted him to purchase in bulk.

tinklebell,

Really peifu you, can bfeed till now! Come to think of it, i really feel bad for not working hard about it. If not, maybe my son will be stronger, healthier after drinking more breastmilk and also, can save really alot $ on buying milk powder.

serene,
dont feel bad... everyone goals is different.
this time i manage to struggle thru the difficult bf'g phase bec i challenge myself loh... last time i also BF for 1.5mth only... hee... u can try it next time.
But milk powder is really expensive!!! used be to below $30 during my son's time 4 years ago!!!

serene, wow! brayden finishes 1 tin in 6 days???? power boy! fiona can hardly finish even 150ml of breastmilk wh is supposed to be less filling

maybe i ask my hub to check out how much is BP price for similac is... my son will need to order Grow milk soon once his Gain IQ finishes...will need to contact them soon.

tinklebell,
Yes, my maid told me 1 tin can only last for 6 days, usually need to open a new tin on the 7th day! The bulk purchase out there is safe? I mean it's from the same source, same ingredients? As i've heard some say these cheaper source usually gets the supply from malaysia and their ingredient diff from singapore....? That's why i dun dare to trust though i've read from some of the threads here having bulk purchase on milk powder.

Yes if you can check for me, i'd appreciate. Thks.

The similac stage 1 is selling $30.50 in the market but i got it at $29.50 from a chinese medical hall near my mum's place. In overall, the milk powder and diapers there are cheaper.

tinklebell,
I'm sure by now, you must have lost the few kgs that you had in u earlier on huh? As it's proven that bfeedg can reduce weight real fast! I didn't manage to continue bfeed, that's why my weight doesn't lose....Now i'm beginning to do exercise everyday (yoga, jogging, gym ...) very xiong but no choice!

serene,
haha! it's interesting.... milk powder also got BP sharing! anyway, for us, we get direct fr abbott... i dont dare to buy milk powder fr msia even if it costs a lot less! heard a lot are fakes!
i heard stage 1 got not much discount but normally they give bonusing - so buy 12 get 2 free.

wah... tinklebell, all 9 tins FOC? so good... how come i dun get that.

serene, your bb no longer on BM hor?
no wonder can finish 900 g in 6 days. if i stop BFg, bb jake also will finish his milk faster... hole in pocket....

amy,
hee hee hee .... my hub always got such lobang

serene,
i never lose much wt this mth... still got 2.5kg to go ...tummy still v fat like 4 mths pregnant
the fats dont seem to go away! maybe i belong to the category of pp who dont lose much wt when bf'g

serene, i think i better hint to my hub that with the amt he saves on milk power... better to get me something decent for christmas!!! kekeke

tinkerbell,

U ask from nestle direct and they gave you so many? So good.. got contact? I wanna try ask as well for the bulk purchase. =)
I'm also bfeeding right now, so a small tin is just nice for emergency or outing use.

My son still drinking 120ml leh.. Last week @ wk 19, he weighs 7.6kg only. Sigh, same as previous week.

tinklebell,
Am sure your hub will have the lobang given his profession. Same for Dr Adrian too i guess.

Hey, 2.5kg only to go is very good result already. It just being 4mths from yr delivery. I guess i'm the worst of all mummies here! sigh!
Today's so hazy outside, intended to run at my mum's place but i think can't already! Then i will have to do some exercise myself indoor instead!

Hey, i still cannot wear back my wedding ring and diamond ring...so i hint to my hub..."cannot wear, cannot wear"!!!! Ask him go and change a bigger one (stone also bigger) for me! haa!

Amy,

Yes, I no longer bfeed my son. He's in total FM since age 1mth+. Poor boy, mummy not hardworking enough, no supply!

msnanas,
no lah... last time, my hub met the rep and they knew that i was going to give birth so they gave him the samples to try loh. then recently, the fellow met him again and he gave him another 3 tins to try!
I didnt know they sell in bulk to the public until i read abt the BP here.

serene,
ya ya ... bigger stone too! :p i also hint to hub so many time liao but no effect leh
last time when i gave birth to my son he still gave me a diamond pendant... now no 2 nothing leh
hiaz... we depreciate in value already is it?

Dear 1st time mummies,

jsut got to know that MIL has started my boy on cereal this afternoon while i'm at work! very very disappointed cause i bought the cereal and was planning to only let him start next month and i've been looking forward to taking his picture and seeing his reaction.

makes me wish i can stay home to look after him myself so these things dont happen.

Fi,

Dun feel so bad about it. I guess we all go through this, for those of us who are full time working mums. My mil caught my girl's first flip. I told myself count myself lucky that i saw my ger flipping so many times more that nite

There are so many more things our bb can do, but we may not be the first one to catch it. So dun be too hard on urself ya?

updated...

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Updated as of </TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>June mummies</TD><TD>Love Nest</TD><TD>Career</TD><TD>Sex</TD><TD>BB's Name</TD><TD>BB's DOB</TD><TD>Age (WEEK)</TD><TD>Current Wt</TD><TD>Feeding </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Yu Jun</TD><TD>21-Apr</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>8200 @ wk20</TD><TD>Wyeth Gold S26 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Jared</TD><TD>15-May</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>6895 @ wk17</TD><TD>Dumex Mamil Gold </TD></TR><TR><TD>amy (toto) </TD><TD>West Coast</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Jake</TD><TD>22-May</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>8000 @ wk15</TD><TD>BM + FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>poohy</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Joelle</TD><TD>22-May</TD><TD>21</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM + Enfalac A+ </TD></TR><TR><TD>MOAP</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Ginelle</TD><TD>23-May</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>7400 @ wk12</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>syen27</TD><TD>Pasir Ris</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Brian</TD><TD>23-May</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>7900 @ wk12</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angeline</TD><TD>Farrer Park</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Celest</TD><TD>26-May</TD><TD>20</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fi</TD><TD>West Coast</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Jae Zen</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>6800 @ wk16</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>soh1dful</TD><TD>Yishun</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Darrell</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>20</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM + FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>vivi</TD><TD>Jurong West</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Davian</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>7000 @ wk16</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Belle_mommy</TD><TD>West Coast Cre</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Isabelle</TD><TD>31-May</TD><TD>20</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Duffybuff</TD><TD>Serangoon</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Jeriel Tay</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>6600 @ wk20</TD><TD>BM + Similac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene</TD><TD>Bt Panjang</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Brayden</TD><TD>2-Jun</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>8200 @ wk16</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>msnanas</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Caden</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>7600 @ wk19</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>muffinmocha </TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Jeremy</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>19</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM + Enfalac A+ </TD></TR><TR><TD>dor</TD><TD>Upper Thomson</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>7300 @ wk19</TD><TD>Friso </TD></TR><TR><TD>i_panda77</TD><TD>Bukit Timah</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Josh</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>6100 @ wk9</TD><TD>90% BF + 10% FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Paula</TD><TD>CCK Cres</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>7000 @ wk12</TD><TD>BM + Similac </TD></TR><TR><TD>lyn</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Aloysius </TD><TD>6-Jun</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>7500 @ wk19</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Missk</TD><TD>Jakata</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Kristanto</TD><TD>8-Jun</TD><TD>19</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Spicegal</TD><TD>Jurong Eest</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Jerica Ong Ke Yu</TD><TD>8-Jun</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>4250 @ wk8</TD><TD>Nan1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>jojo</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Vanny</TD><TD>12-Jun</TD><TD>18</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>mspiggy</TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Wesley</TD><TD>13-Jun</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>7300 @ wk12</TD><TD>BM + Frisco </TD></TR><TR><TD>K Ong </TD><TD>Newton </TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Kayley</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>7200 @ wk12</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MTDT</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Zavier</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>7500 @ wk15</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tinklebell</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD></TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Fiona</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>18</TD><TD>7000 @ wk12</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mum2b</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Felicia</TD><TD>16-Jun</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>6200 @ wk15</TD><TD>BM + FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michele Tang</TD><TD>Taipei</TD><TD>SAHM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Brendan</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>4900 @ wk10</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hidora</TD><TD>Woodlands</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Isaiah</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>10000 @ wk16</TD><TD>BM + FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Josephine</TD><TD>Old Airport Road</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>James</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>6000 @ wk10</TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>okipoki</TD><TD>Dover</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>20-Jun</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>6600 @ wk14</TD><TD>BM + FM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stephanie</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Hui Xuan</TD><TD>21-Jun</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>6790 @ wk12</TD><TD>BM + Friso </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fondue</TD><TD>Thomson Hills</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Reuben</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>16</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shell</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang</TD><TD>FTS</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Zhi Yi</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>6600 @ wk14</TD><TD>BM + Similac </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mel</TD><TD></TD><TD>FTWM</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>Zelia Ang</TD><TD>27-Jun</TD><TD>12</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gina</TD><TD>Tampines</TD><TD></TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Yu Xuan</TD><TD>30-Jun</TD><TD>15</TD><TD></TD><TD>BM + Friso </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

since all talking abt milk, I included the milk info gather last time....

Hidora - wow.. think ur baby is the first to cross the 10kg mark!!!! got pic to see? sure v cute!!

fi,

dun be upset...being a working mum, we cannot always be there to see our babies' firsts....

you should let your mil know your intention loh...tell your mil to inform you of any actions she wanna do before doing it...with communication, there's less such incidents happening

serene,
wow you baby drink alot...actually when I calculate, I think I din save much by bf-ing my son loh....think abt the pump, the breast pads, the time pumping, all also need money.....

serene,
don't think boy recognise people slower than girl loh...my boy recognise us but he's still friendly with strangers and can play and smile with them....but he know who to look for when hungry and tired....

re: breastfeeding

I intend to stop when baby is 6mth old...so another 1+ mth to go...just wondering, how to stop? gave him partial bf partial forumla for a while, then total switch to forumla right? then how to stop the bm supply? don't pump out at all and let it engorged?

hey...

who went for GYM's trial over the weekend? any feedback?

BJG - lyn, u joined?
btw, any idea if for the real class, are both parents allow to be present? i heard most babies class only allow one parent.

anybody gave bb the heinz rice cereal already?i just started today..not sure if wat i did was correct.

i scoop 1 teaspoonful of cereal into a bowl.next.i add around 10teaspoon of warmed EBM into it.then i fed bb finish everything.is it too much? or is it supposed to give 1 teaspoon only out of the mixed mixture n throw away the rest??? v blur leh..

angeline,
my boy now drinking abt 2 teaspoon of brown rice cereal mix with 100ml of emb....but we mix a bit of hot water to the cereal then add into the warm ebm (din use ebm to mix the cereal) so all add up to abt 120ml...very watery mixture, can drink from bottle....

not yet give him thicker mixture coz earlier on, he still has the tongue reflex so cannot swallow...but these days, he seems to be ready for more solid food, so intend to give him thicker cereal mixture when he turns 5 mth

if your boy can finsh it, think it's ok loh...no right or wrong..watch your baby's reactions

Good Morning mummies!

Shell, sure, let me know when u want to pick the tin up. PM me. which part of BP u stay in? both serene and i also stay in BP.

okasan, ya, u're right... the misc costs all add up. haha... but you can still keep the pump and use it when u have no 2
i try to use the washable breast pads as far as possible cos disposables r expensive and sometimes it disintegrates when the weather is humid.

Fi, dont be upset ... cheer up
sometimes i have the same sentiments as u ... but no choice lor.

Dear okasan,

Thanks for words of comfort.agree that communication is very difficult with mil.she did it cause baby's appetite is increasing and she know i don't like to give formula (at least she got that right) as i'm still on TBF.

looks like i'll have to start baby on cereal sooner than plan since he's easily hungry nowadays.

okasan,
where and what brand / kind of brown rice cereal u buy? is it the instant powder kind?

When are we suppose to start our bb on walker ? My MIL kept bugging me to get one for my ger so that she can put her in. Personally, I think is too early cos bb still cannot sit by herself &amp; might injure her spine.

fi,

Dont get upset.. my MIL even suggest to start cereal when bb's teeth are out. OMG !! anyway, i plan to start her with cereal soon w/o telling MIL 1st. I bought Heinz rice cereal..

Morning gals!

Tinklebell,
Think i saw yr hub's car this morning. He came fr the direction of Greenrich. Ya i guess in a way, after giving birth, we had depreciated in value from hub's eyes!

angeline,
I've bought the Heinz Cereal too but hasn't use it yet as the nurse in polyclinic advised that it's better to start solid food when my baby is 6th mth old...so i decided to wait awhile. I think there's an instruction behind the box of cereal. I rem it begins with 1 teaspoon of cereal, you can mix with milk or water.

okasan,
You start feeding yr boy with cereal already? Btw, re. the way to stop bfeeding, yes you can start mixing breastmilk with FM and dun let your son latch on anymore, to stop yr milk supply and engorgement, i heard you can buy 'san zha' + something from the chinese medical hall, boil with water and drink it, that will stop the supply. U can check with the chinese medical hall people.

okipoki,

You going to start rice cereal? I bought Heinz rice cereal too but hasn't started yet. Many says better to start when baby is 6th mth old, proven that by then, the digestive system is more development and won't cause any complication.

okipoki,
My mum asked me to bring over the walker to her place this week as she thinks it will strengthen bb's legs' muscles. I kept it in the store, has not use it yet but will let him try on it. You can stuff pillow to keep her in stable.

Serene,
My hub sends my son to his school at Greenridge and to my girl and maid to my mother's house at jelapang every morning. so u go to work around 820am right?

okasan,
To stop BM supply, u can also use cabbage to wrap round the breasts. I also heard abt the san-zha + mai ya tang formula mentioned by serene.

oki,
previously, my boy used the walker when he was ard 5 mths... 4 mths is a bit young cos sometimes i notice that the head support is still not v firm. Some pp say it is not good for kids cos it will delay their walking. Not too sure abt that. But my boy could walk by 1 years old. he enjoyed himself zooming around the house. haha! still remember those days!

Tinklebell,
thanks. guess have to tahan for now...

okipoki,
my mil is opposite from your mil. ha ha..

u all think better 6 months then start solid? but my boy easily hungry these days.used to be 130-140ml 3 hourly, 6 times a day. now after 2 hours hungry liao.

should i give more BM or start cereal. concern of give more BM is that my supply might not be able to keep up. my supply that used to be 140ml each pump, now is 120ml.

MTDT,

BJG allow both parents to go in for normal classes definitely... some people even bring their maid in hehee...

Fi,
I am also thinking of starting solid when my girl is 6 mths old cos i thought it is the recommendation by PDs? But I suppose if bb's ready for it, no harm starting also loh.
I'll see how it goes... havent bought my cereals yet. i am thinking of getting Healthy times organic cereals which missk mentioned previously. But not sure where i can get that.
As for brown rice, my mother will buy brown rice, dry them and grind it herself. she says it is healthier and free fr preservatives.

tinklebell,
Yes! I usually leave our place around 8.15-8.20am...wow yr hub's timing is very accurate ah? U even know that after alighting yr kids, will be 8.20am?

tinklebell,
Yes, the nurse in polyclinic told me is internationally proven and recommended that the age to start solid for babies is 6th mth. She says it's to prevent babies having complications like constipation due to unable to digest properly and alot of other more serious complications...so i hesitate and decided to hold on awhile though my son already got 1 teeth. haa!

I rem reading from a thread here, Healthy times organic cereals can get from one of the shop @ Tanglin mall i think. I must go back and refer to the posting again at my home's pc. I will fw to you. If not, i think one of the mummy here has posted the link here last week?

U mean the brown rice that we bought in NTUC, we still must dry them in the sun?

Re: Gerber bottled food

Anyone knows if once this bottled food is opened, do we have to finish it completely or if unfinished, can we store back in the fridge and for how long?

Tinklebell,
yr mother use what to grind the brown rice.those kitchen food blender can? just put rice inside and grind till powdery is it? to feed by spoon, these grinded brown rice have to cook or can just mix with warm milk?

Serene,
my mother washes the rice first cos rice got a lot of pesticides! (a fact confirmed by my ex maid whose household sells rice!).
That's why i am quite hesitant in getting those ready made brown rice powder... donno if they wash them before preparing. Organic ones r different cos they r supposed to be free fr pesticides and preservatives.
Oic, there is a shop at Tanglin mall that sells HT? Will check that out

Serene and TinkleBell,

I just refered to the thread. Its Brown Rice Paradise at Tanglin Mall is it? It says cost $7 abox, so expensive?

Think i'll go check out this week since i work near there. will update u all my findings. : )

hhmm.. how to type that smiley face, i have to do it manually.

Tinklebell,
Have you gone back to Dr Adrian for the follow up check up? The last time i went back was in aug and he asked to come back after 2mths so i think i will be seeing him next monday. Perhaps i will ask him opinions on contraceptive matter and also his opinion on slimming drugs...