(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

rodeo,

felt sad to hear about what your boy said. Its really the agony of being a working parent.

Paula,

the national geographic series is great indeed. My kids loved them very much. I like the ridby series too ... they are comparatively interesting compared to Ladybird readers.

peng,

I had been looking for this type of tricycle last time. I saw it at kiddy palace... but they dun have it all the time leh. One in front and one at the back. Now that J also knows how to cycle, we dun bother liao cos really got a lot of vehicles at home.

Spicegal,

congrats!!!

toto,

good to know JAM are setling well in their new home.

sharing Joelle's recent photo... She had improved a lot recently and had not meltdown in tantrum for a month already even when she was sick. She had a love for reading and learnt to read simple 3 letter words phonetically and some sight words recently... But there is still a lot to teach on phonics...

2185825.jpg

Sunflower,
My pleasure.

aishite,
How was your day? I am still trying to set up msn from here..hehe...

Poohy,
J is so pretty with her long hair. I always love to see little girls with long hair, straight or wavy. Mine won't let me tie hers up...so sian..no hair clips too. So have to let her hair goes *wild*.... I am also not allowed to tie up my hair!

<font face="tahoma">rodeo,

felt sad to hear abt this... guess it's time to change before she tries something funny again. cant imagine she dares to pinch your boy's toe. she thought there'll be no mark on the toes.

Poohy,
J is getting prettier each day! </font>

Rodeo,
Terrible maid! Pray that you can get a good replacement quick. Heard lots about how maid tends to change attitude after 1 year...Yesterday just heard from a friend who changed maid because she was getting really rude at her and asked for lots of leave etc. she got someone from Myanmar. According to her, learns faster and is more humble.

Sunflower,
so which school is X going now? Can share?

rodeo,
i seen maids picking up kids when i was picking my son. They was scolding their charges... behave like they are the employer!...
Example of what they scold:
1) Faster lah, always so slow!
2) Aiyo, why now then you wan go toilet, so troublesome?!
3) Quick quick, wear your shoes (with a black face and harsh tone).
4) Harshly pull the child's arm to drag them home .

your kid's teachers was good to feedback you you, at least you know what is happening.
Good luck in finding a new maid!

aishite, joyfulm,

He's in mindchamp, on a full day prog.
I started him gradually, slowly increasing the hours each day for the 1st week and by the end of the week, he attends the full day. Initially hb and I were still dingdonging about starting him in school, how he will "survive" on his own etc, he surprised us by adapting pretty well and fast
fingers crossed !!!

He's a very shy boy and takes a while to warm up to his surrounding. I was glad the teachers and staff were very supporting and encouraging, building up rapport with him and he is ok with most of them now. The teacher has feedback that he is more chatty nowadays
that's a positive sign to me. And all the teachers and staff know he has a very accurate alarm clock ;) he knows when papa/mama will pick him up and once the clock strikes, he will 'chant' for papa/mama.... haha

rodeo,

that's terrible. should change your maid, even your boy has feedback to ask xx go home!!
It is really good that the school teachers feedback to you on what they saw.

hugs hugs, hope you find a good maid real soon!

sunflower,

what do they do in minchamps? I am interested in it also... especially if they have a slightly more academic focus. Are the teachers friendly?

Thanks for all the posts. Ya, I really xim tia that ER has to go through all these becos I have to work. But really no choice. It's impossible for me to not work.

mspiggy: That's what I thought too! So there won't be any marks! When I ask ER to show me how, he pinch himself really hard. Ask him if it's painful, he said yes. Ask if he cried, he said no.

Joyfulmum: I think it really depends on luck. My neighbour just had a myanmar maid and she sent her back. The maid say don't want to look after kids. She should already know she's looking after kids.

Ivy: Yes, what you mention is very real. I have seen other maid do that to the kids too. So I sup my maid is prob the same. And yes, I was grateful the school called me. The person even told me she felt my maid was not loving to ER. Apparently, the school asked him if the maid loves him but he did not answer.

poohy,

I doubt if they are more academic focus than other schools. Thus far, the teachers I've met are friendly. But S &amp; J are in LW and doing very well, why are U considering to change?

rodeo,

your maid very 'scheming' to inflict pain on places where its invisible and on her charge who is so young!!! heartpain for ER. hugs hugs to him

ivy,

Tampines, near my workplace.
ya, their fees are on the higher side. there are no further enrichment fees as they have their inhouse enrichment prog which are inclusive.

they have open houses though I don't know the dates, if you are keen, I can ask them.

morning dear mummies, just popping in to say a quick hi and catch up.

Rodeo : oh dear -i'm in the same boat !! my helper decided to quit and walk out on me last Thurs !!! drama man !!! had to quickly go home and make sure everyone else was safe :p
then now she has supposedly found a new employer, i gave her a week to find, and the agency called to ask for more time to complete paperwork - i feel like i'm being taken for a ride, and that i was/am/alwayes too trusting ! arrghhh, anyhows, am glad she is out of my house now, it appears that she was neglecting k for a while, and i can only pray that she didnt' do any more damage that what we can see

in other news, the kids are generally fine and happy - i seriously need to consider working part time - dont think i cld do a drastic SAHM (i'll prob end up selling both away or put them up for adoption if i spend 7 days with them :pPP )

sunflower: Ya, I am worried his xiao xiao xing ling will be hurt. How much is the full-day fees for Mindchamps?

K Ong: Huh, your maid just call it quits like that? So how do you manage without a maid now? Sigh... it's not possible for my work nature to be part-time basis + I'm bringing the whole piece of bread home.

Just yesterday I was telling hub, I feel guilty not being able to stay at home with ER. And guess what he replied :"How many mothers can stay at home with their kids now?" Grrr...

Thanks for all the compliments mummies. I am coping fine at home with baby Jerilyn. Jerica goes to cc during the day so its 'peaceful' when she is not around...haha..as for my new maid, my mum and I cannot tahan her already...will be sending her back to agency come end of my confinement, have decided to do without a maid, will engage those auntie to do weekly house cleaning instead.

Dal, welcome back to working life.

Rodeo, sorry to hear abt what ER has to go thru, its really not easy having to juggle between work and family. Think its time to change your maid, her behaviour is not acceptable.

Poohy, Joelle's such a pretty girl now, i like her long hair! The white dress is pretty too, mind sharing where did you get it from? I am looking for a nice white dress for Jerica to wear on my brother's wedding in May.

Sunflower, glad to know that X is coping well at school.

Paula, agree with Dal, can do books rental? haha..

<font face="tahoma"> rodeo,
after reading all these posts, i actually rush home just now during lunch time. coz my baby Nat will be with her alone for abt 1 hr coz my mum went to fetch Wes back from sch.

we have no choice hence need their help, yet they take us for granted at times when we are too trusting.

K Ong,
must be tough on you during that time.

Ivy,
congrats! didnt know you're expecting #2

thanks for the well wishes, due late march..hitting 37weeks this friday!

ya, i agree maids are problematic, i had 2 last yr before i gave up and sent X to cc..
Am gog to give it another go cos getting a maid that i seen and know, hope she will be good to me! but she will be home alone with bb after my ML, praying hard hard things go well.
Actually decided on infant care but done so much readings that say infant is best at home for the 1st 6mth or even at least up to 1yr old. cos cc environment lots of virus and no one to one care.
pray hard hard for me too hor...else poor didi will have to go infant care. :p

<font face="tahoma"> Ivy,
you may consider installing cctv since baby will be home alone with helper.

some helpers are really good like my cousin's. it really depend on our luck. </font>

ivy,

wow, few more weeks and you'll see your little bb!! so exciting!!

if worst case scenario and no maid, beside infant care, have you consider nanny?

spicegal,

Its great to have bonding time with little baby, how's J with her little sis?

rodeo,

its 980 after subsidy.
did you go for their open house?

Ivy, good luck in finding a good maid. So fast you'll be popping, have a smooth delivery.

Sunflower, Jerica likes to 'disturb' her mei mei while she is sleeping, other then that, she is quite gentle with the baby. She is more jealous of my mum carrying and feeding the baby then me, cos I think she is closer to my mum bah..haha...

spicegal,

good to hear she's good with baby. perhaps she wants her meimei to be always awake and play with her

hi csk,

Welcome

Is your gal born in june too?

mspiggy: Agree tat should installing cctv. I'll be doing that b4 the next maid arrives. Yes, they just take us for granted and de chun qin che. I was so fedup when the school called to update me yesterday cos I have let the maid went for off on Sunday after she requested for it 2nd round despite agreeing on no more off days request last Nov. She is not sup to have any off for her 2 yrs here. And this is the feedback I get in return for the kindness/trust given. The school told her they will call me. So when I call home, she herself complain about the school to me even b4 I said anything.

sunflower: Hmmm, that's quite steep indeed. Nope, I did not go for their open house that time in the end.

spicegal: It's best without maid if you &amp; your mum can cope. I thought of sending ER to CC but I don't have fixed working hours to be able to pick him up on time everyday. Then there's dinner + all the household stuff which I'm quite sure I can't handle singlehandly. Even with a maid cleaning the house everyday, my hub still complains. If I'm planning for another bb, it will make even more sense to have a maid. So even thou maid are problematic, I have no confidence of coping without any family support. Good to hear that Jerica is accepting Jerilyn well.

Ivy: So have you chosen your maid already?

<font face="tahoma">
spicegal,
great that Jerica is accepting mei mei well.

rodeo,
my agency told me that's the problem with phili helpers. at first agree to have no off eventually they will change their mind. </font>

mspiggy: Sigh... that's y I considering getting Indo this time round. But really scared they duno any english &amp; have communication problem 8(

actually the maid i am getting is a familiar face, it was a fren's ex-maid. She went home and used up $$ and hence need to come back to work.

I really sworn off getting maids from agencies cos none of them are truthful to you, they just wanna make your money. And also the recent quality of maids hor...is very jialat! or maybe i was really sway?

Did consider nanny but there are no recommended ones in Sengkang area, plus i will need to rush two plcs if place at nanny, pick up baby then pick up X or pick up X then baby..super mad rush, esp hb is always flying.

Hence its infant cc or maid.

<font face="tahoma"> rodeo,
Indo also has another set of problems. i also send my 1st maid back after my confinment. totally cant make it... guess she never work before but bluff her way thru even in her CV.

Good luck in your maid search. </font>

rodeo,
which area you staying? If you have 1 kid only, can look for cc that open till 9pm? Cos our kid is 3 already, they adapt well to full day cc. Household chores, leave it to the p/t maid, dinner arh, order tingkat?
Its always better to do without a maid, they are often our source of agony.

for the past yr, thats what i did too, work, then eat something along the way, then pick up son from cc. Then make him slp, and i will do the simple household chores. (hb is excluded fr the pict cos he is always flying and when he is home, he will only wash milk bottles at most!).
Then the more complicated task like changing linen, washing toilets are left for the p/t maid!
Actually i think i can continue with this routine with another kid but everyone tell me infant care no good for babies hence i decided to give maids another try!

Perhaps you wanna try it out, mummies can really do alot of incredible things out of love for our little ones!

Rodeo, ya luckily i have my mum to help out with some housework during the day. Hope you can get a good maid soon. Really worrying when your maid is creating problems for you. My new maid is Indonesian thus the communication problem, she sometimes understand and sometimes dun understand what we are telling her, I think she is just pretending at times, talking to her can vomit blood as she does not answer you and just stare blankly at you. A real blockhead.

Ivy: I am staying at Tampines. Office is at Tg Pagar but I don't stay put in office all the time. Are there CC that open till 9pm? As I am considering having another bb either this yr or next cos ER seems quite lonely so prob have to resort back to maid.

Wow, kudos to you for handling all alone &amp; doing all these when pregnant. At times, I even think that no hubby is better off than 1 who don't help but gives unconstructive criticism. He really piss me off during such moments.

rodeo : i heard there are some good CC ard TGPgr area - maybe u can research on that ?

I am also considering sending the baby to infant care - quite irritated with helper issues - in my case, she thinks she can get ang moh employer - so i wish her luck - and just 2 days ago, the agency called to ask for more time to complete her "paperwork" - but now i dont trust them anymore - what if she cant get a new employer and she's just buying time ?

rodeo,
more and more cc are extending their hrs. the one x goes to is opened till 9pm but i strive to bring him home by 7 for bonding time.

maybe "tong" a while without maid then only look into hiring one when you have 2nd baby. Sometimes it take a couple of mths before you chance upon a good bio or a good maid for transfer.

KOng: Well, the problem is I am not always stationed in office. I may be out for meetings or discussions. So it's better for CC to be near home. Actually has thought of this option but hub is not supportive. He says it's not cheaper, still have to settle dinner, housework, he thinks I can't cope, etc. When my maid was off for the day &amp; toys were over the house, he's already complaining the house is messy. He's obviously not keen in helping out so doubt this option is feasible.

Hmm, even thou your maid went back agency, you still have to pay for her levy right? I rem there is some clause for mine that employer has to pay up to X days of levy even if send maid back to agent.

Btw, anyone knows if we can just send the maid straight home even thou she has not completed her contract? Any 'rule' that state must let her transfer?

<font face="tahoma">For my agency, they informed us before hand that must send back to agency, cant terminate their WP first.

You might want to call your agency to check first. </font>

rodeo : yup, i;m still paying her levy - employers are responsible for her levy for as long as the WP is issued under our name.

go to www.mom.gov.sg on domestic helpers - termination.
we are responsible for her repatriation. as long as your give her notice of termination and pay her wages to date, you can immediately cancel her WP and repatriate her (at your own costs) within 7 days of cancellation.

it was out of the good of my heart to allow her to look for an alternative employer - and be minded that while she is looking for alternative, you are resposible for levy, bond, etc ... so if she MIAs, your bond is forfeited.
quite scary now that i think abt it ... but no choice, i agreed to ...

anyhows ... noted on the cc issue ... problem is, most places will expect u to pick up by 7pm ... not sure if they mind staying open till 9 ??

oh, to add on, of course there are various factors to consider, if she has worked enough to pay back her agency fees, and how much savings does she have - i know of ppl who insist that the helper pays for air ticket home if they have not worked the full 2 years -

sigh
me too having maid problem.. sigh.. my old maid is leaving.. so got a replacement maid to come in first for handover, but replacement indo maid is jialet.. as what spicegal has said, its really communication problem! in fact my mom talks to her in Malay.. all my previous maids who took care of me since young could understand my mom's malay, but this one i dun noe which part of indo she is from or she is juz pretending or simply deaf.. She juz can't hear or understand what we say.

I am now trying to convince my old maid to renew contract, but then she is also another kind.. told her that i am willing to give her paid hoilday up to 1.5mths.. She came back to tell me she wants hoildays from mar to sept, 6 mths break with me paying govt levy and her salary.. its abit too much.. faint..

Happy to say that my boys will be going to cc next wk.. Hope they can adjust well. At least, i am not so worried when my old maid goes away, leaving the blur new maid to do juz hsewk.

K Ong,
haha, when you chanced upon a messy hair, little makeup woman carrying a thomas the train bag plus a toddler, with a big tummy in Sengkang, you know thats me!

rodeo,
men usually talk more than they do. Maybe you gotta pass the maid handling task to him for your new maid then he realise how difficult maids can be.
Erm, messy house hor, must close 1 eye lo. I usually let X play then keep after he slp.

I've just called the agency to enquire about sending her back. Told agent few reasons on why want to send her back. Wierdly, they can't ans me immed if can just send her back, say will call me back. She has paid off her loan liao, but she has got no salary with me now, cos she's sup to get paid 24th, but she took her whole salary last Sun on 22nd liao. For airticket, what I understand is if employer want her to leave b4 contract end, employer pay but if maid break contract, then maid pay.

Peng: Your old maid has changed. No point getting her back. My fren's previous indo maid also bargain with her for unreasonable terms when the maid wanted to come back to work for her &amp; found out my fren is keen to take her.

Ivy: I can close 1 eye to messy house, it's the other half that can't.

Termination of Services

When you no longer require your Foreign Domestic Worker's (FDW's) services, you should ensure that all issues arising from her employment (i.e. outstanding wages, compensation claims) have been settled with the FDW before cancelling the Work Permit.

You should give your FDW reasonable notice of her repatriation. You should repatriate your FDW to her town or place of origin within her home country when her Work Permit/Visit Pass expires or is cancelled or revoked, unless she is transferred to another employer.

You should also bear the full cost of repatriation and ensure that all outstanding salaries or monies due to the FDW have been paid before her repatriation.

Repatriation and Security Bond

As the employer, you are responsible for repatriating your FDW as you brought her into Singapore.

To ensure that employers do so, a security bond must be executed with the Work Pass Division. Under the bond, employers are required to post a security deposit of $5,000 per FDW in the form of an insurance/banker's guarantee.

This deposit may be forfeited if you breach any of the security bond conditions, including failing to repatriate your FDW upon cancellation of her Work Permit.

rodeo : extract from mom website.

i believe the agency is checking to see if they want to offer you a replacement or even offer to get her a new employer - instead of sending her back. but do note that as an employer, if you dont want her services anymore, u have the right to terminate the WP and send her back.
Like i mentioned, we are responsible for repartiation - which means paynig for air ticket.
however, some contracts do specify that if it is the maid who breaches the contract, she sld be the one paying for air fare home.
Also, if you have paid her her salary already, chances are, she will say she has remintted the monies back and thus has no monies to buy her air fare home.
if you and the agency are on good terms, maybe u can try to ask them for a replacement ??

Ivy : aiyoo, am sure you dont look like that la !!! haahaaa

Mummies whose kids are in Kindy : what do you normally pack in their bags ??
sorry silly qn !!! i have been putting an extra change of clothes daily, and the teacher this morning told me that her bag is TOO huge :p heehe ,me bad mum.
so i took out her change of clothes - and now her bag ony contains her water bottle, one extra underwear and a pampers.
is that sufficient ??

KOng,
Packed in kindy bag: 1 pull-up diaper, 1 tee, 1 shorts, 1 brief, 1 pair slippers. 1 slim pencilcase.
Slippers cos he peed and soaked his socks and schshoes- came home in shoes from the school.
Tee and shorts are thin and light, rolled tightly, not fancy clothing.
He carries own waterbottle round neck, and a jacket over uniform, and his schoolbag. Doesn't carry the schoolbag very long either, once in the sch, the teacher puts the bags on their chairs while they assemble for singing.

Rodeo,
feel for u and ER... hope everything resolved. Maybe solution is to work on the hubby too... :p will a staged breakdown work on him? Sometimes guys need a high-voltage jolt to see the light...
If the sch feedbacks abt the maid, it shld be pretty bad. *hug* to ur boy.

Shopping Queens *kowtow*

- Anyone rec me online site/ thread to buy Boy Briefs and Girl Panties?
Preferably the kind with FULL printing and not just 1 small picture printed on it. Those small picture type comes off in the wash!