(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

BTW, for mummies who like to expose their kiddos to orchestra music, other than going to live performances and concerts (which rarely admit young toddlers), can also buy concert recording DVD. Some can be very nice... One of my kids' favourite ones are from the Itzhak Perlman series. Can watch over and over again.

spicegal - hv a fren asking abt the letters from ur photoshoot with Jerica. it's provided rite? u dun need to pay right? is it those foam mats material? or wooden one? :p

MAC sch - they seems to only hv piano/violin. but of cos these are the 2 major instruments. Mandeville hv the flutes, drums etc too.

yes.. MAC hv their sch concert in jun. I enjoyed the mandeville concert v v much.

Mac's Music School Annual Concert

On 7 Jun 2008(Saturday), approximately 150 of our students from 3 yrs old will be performing popular and appealing pieces from Baroque Period to 20th Century composition. Come and enjoy a performance of violin and piano repertoire from different genres, periods and arrangements at all levels.

Date: 7 Jun 2008(Saturday)
Time: 4 30 pm
Venue: MGS Auditorium 11 Blackmore Drive Singapore 599986
Admission: $26.75 (inclusive of GST) Available at Front Counter of Mac's Music School

Poohy - so u going to put S to learn both piano and violin??? or u going to stop his violin n take on piano?

MTDT,

he interested in all instruments. Since piano will provide a good foundation in music theory I am very keen that he learn both piano and violin. The thing abt suzuki piano is can start v young but suzuki method always emphasis the technique and playing more than theory unlike classical. That's why I wonder if suzuki piano is the right thing to add on or to wait for classical piano. He even wanna learn cello, flute, trombone, french horn, drums, the list go on. For J, likely to enrol her in piano in time to come since she likes to play with my piano. But I never let her touch the violins cos scared she spoil it... hehee the small violins are so fragile and go out of tune so easily. see what she likes first... cos it depends on her readiness... forcing wont have happiness mah

Mac concert sounds interesting hor
Btw, the DVD recording for the Mandeville conert is out liao... $50!! so expensive!!! If we all share, maybe can get one

agree - really must see the kid's liking.

DVD recording - is it good? maybe get those more pro recording would be better? :p

MTDT,

yes yes! professional concert recording of course are great! And they are cheap.... 2 for $30 only. Highly recommends Itzhak Perlman's recording on Vivaldi's 4 seasons... its super excellant... My kids watches it everyday including on the car also not sian. I myself love it too... feel very touched with the performance.

MTDT,

cant find the one I have in amazon... but i think this one should be very nice if you like vivaldi's four seasons. It had always been my favourite piece and S loves imitating Perlman in playing it on the violin ;) Are you going to buy from amazon...?? I also wanna buy this!

http://www.amazon.com/Vivaldi-Four-Seasons-Violin-Concertos/dp/B00005NPK1

the one I have is in green cover its Part 1 of a series he did with the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra.

i am ordering some stuff... can combine shipment and send back to sin together. u wan?

violin concertos huh - i am thinking of getting normal one with all the instruments. :p

spicegal - ok ok thanks.

logico - think less than 200 bah. tokomama had a BP recently.

there is another similar system all "LUK"
avail in united sq (beside MACs, at Cold storage entrance) u can beo tat too

I also dunno which DVD to get yet haha :p

<font color="0000ff">Sunflower..</font>

Need another favour from you.. can you help me measure the height of the play yard?

And anyone can advise where to get the play yard besides Cheong Choon... they already OOS...

MTDT,

thanks you can go ahead with your order first cos I will likely need some time to go through and see what I wanna buy... by the time I am done... maybe u recv your order liao :) The DVDs I have consist of all the instruments... some even have harpsichord, piano and harp! But definitely, brass, woodwind, strings and percussion are in.

sunflower, depends on your liking :) or u see if u got a favourite composer that u shortlist from there :) If you like Waltz, the annual New year concert is quite nice cos they will play the strauss family waltz.

I buy most of my dvd from sembawang dvd shop. 2 for $30 very cheap only :)

Mummies heading for June bash this Sat, these are details again:

Date: 1 Jun
Time: 2.30 - 5 pm
Venue: Warren Golf Club, Warren VIP Lounge (it's at main complex, rite beside chinese restaurant)

So even if u have not signed up earlier, just come, cos Paula had ordered for many many pax. Also, I have ordered a Barney agar agar, in place of a cake, for the June babes, cos Paula said the existing cake she has for kell is v v v huge. C ya.

anyone keen in Zoo outing...

lyn
enjoy the cool aircon in the airport.. but i will run like mad cos mandy will sure go wild..hahaha

haven't been coming here for a few days. Thanks for all the info on the Barney stuff. I managed to chiong to Elm tree store at suntec last sun and bought a few Barney books for xin en. Also ordered barney birthday cake and cupcake from Prima Deli. Gg to have a small celebration for her on Sun, prob will ask my sis to go either parkway or centrepoint to get her a Barney balloon.

And my no.2, finally here's her picture!

Taken today, she’s exactly 1 month old today! meaning I’m out of confinement today!! Hurray!! Her name is Zhi En, Zhi as in zhi shi (knowledge).
1452169.jpg

and a recent photo of Xin En with her fav Barney

1452170.jpg

Aishite/Lyn/Dor
see you gals organising outings, me will be keen to join, esp if it's weekdays! Till now, I haven’t had the chance to join any mummies’outing yet! Only met Rodeo, mspiggy and aishite once. But not now, maybe gotta wait another 2 weeks more, cos I'm still latching my no.2 fully, so can't leave her for more than 3 hours. Gotta wait till when she's around 6 weeks when I intro bottle, then I can sneak some time to bring Xin En out. But hor, can't go to the zoo, last time go zoo then xin en kena false measles 2 days later, though may not have caught it there.....

Me feeling guilty cos haven't been brining Xin En out for trips or enrichment activities. I let her continue with JG playclub in term 2 but hor, 10 lessons only go 3 times, my $500 gone down the drain. Not just the money, but I feel really bad for not bringing her cos she enjoys the lessons, esp the music and food session! So now want to try to bring her out more often.

Classes
Anywhere I can bring Xin En for classes for short term, say sign up for 4 classes only? or better still, pay per class, haha. Preferably east side or somewhere accessible by MRT. Want to bring her out but scare to commit to long period cos of Zhi En now. otherwise I lugi my money like JG again.

Pawprint,
Is your home based playgroup still on? May I bring Xin En to join in a few weeks’ time? Pls let me know ok, thanks a lot!!

happymum, yes I have Wed 915am, and Thur 2pm, can choose either
. You'd have to volunteer conducting a segment or 2, pick what's comfy with u
, but dun stress
email mel_tan_st at yahoo dot com pls

just now's PG covered more than usual (we play by ear, sometimes tods not in mood), I was surprised when I jotted down AFTER, haha.
In 2.5hr, we did:
- matching uppercase to lowercase and to related animals: A-E
- matching quantity to numerals and to words: 1-5

- intro: welcome today song/ biddledy bumblebee song/ energyball/ how are you.

- Zoophonics entire alphabet. Letter "H". Magic Box with "H" items.
- Jollyphonics Music and Book. Letter "S". Pictures of "S" items. Finger-trace "S". "Spot" storybook.

- Speedread materials. Alphabet "Nippy Nick", "Tommy Tiger", "Hassan's Horse". Prefix "Fruggles".
- Time "3-o'clock" etc.
- Truck storybook, Body storybook with "Put your finger on" song.

- some stretches/ simple yoga

- snacktime. Intro shapes, sandwiches. (Sawako in Jap/ Mandarin in background playing). Picture Encyclopedia- Cat, Rabbit, Pig. Animals in Mandarin and English.

- San Zi Jing music and flashwords.
- Mandarin strokes "heng, shu, dian, pie, na". Mandarin units "yi- ge/ zhi/ tou".

- Craft. Dot-dot paint to make snake mobile.
- Playdoh. (Jphonics background playing)

Re: Speech,
Really enjoying this period of Kell’s life manz… the way that she is talking and how she string words around. Many times it will make you laugh and laugh and on many occasions, it will make you sits up in surprise. Just last week, she suddenly said ‘Qiqi wants to sit with mummy’. Today, she woke up and said ‘Milk no more already’. Last night she went ‘Qiqi wants pass urine mummy hold hands go toilet’.

TOTO,
Eng for property chat?

Good Morning Mummies!

Pawprint,

Wow! Your PG programme is very impressive and looks fun!
Are you in the education line? Wish my ger can join in.

Happymum,

Congrats! You have lovely girls!
Your lil one one looks so contented...after milk feed? Soooo miss the times when my ger was a baby. Your elder girl and barney having the same hat...so cute!

Poohy,

Thanks for sharing on music lessons and stuff...very imformative!
So suzuki is a method that focuses more on practice? is that why it's better for young children? any other differences from traditional method? and they've both piano and violin? what about for guitar? Cos asked my ger yesterday if she wants to learn piano or violin and she went 'No, want learn guitar.' So sorry for asking so many questions. Am not very familiar with these music technicalities.

Paula,

Thanks for the info on Seimpi.
Hope the parkway one is better man. Aishite, will you be interested in a trial there. Me go find out then let you know lah.

Mspiggy,

Yah...i know what you mean. My ger also can just sing from any part of the song. Both hubby and I are convinced that she has very good ears. But hor, don't really know if she's interested in learning instruments. Maybe she just likes singing...hehe...just like mummy!

Re: Language Growth Spurt
Is there such a thing? Suspect ger just had one this week, cos she's sprouting lots of what i feel are chim words like 'really', 'forgot' and even 'don't disturb' etc. She's even singing songs which i sang to her once or twice long time ago..like 'We are SIngapore' which i sang to her last national day and on and off thereafter. Mummies, I think our tods are really listening. And when they are ready, they'll blurt out everything. So continue to talk and sing to your little ones!

Re: MOtor Skills

Aiyah....this one is my super main concern. My ger's really lacking in this. She can't climb the stairs still and will go very slowly when there is a step. Are any of your tods like that? Saw Aishite's ger that day...and she's very advanced...up and down playground like nothing and can even pick up a rock! Very strong,just like her Strong Woman MUmmy! HEhe.
Aishite, maybe should get your ger to train my ger...haha!

Paula,

Yah yah...i also notice language devt suddenly very fast now for my ger...she's into sentences too...very strange to see a small person talklike that...haha!

happymum,

little Zhi En is really soo chubby and sweet
Congrats.. confinement over.. u can bring the kids out already

paula,

ya its so enjoyable to hear our kids learning to speak and talk to us, imitate us. S was very advanced in speech development and I always take it for granted I guess. J, till now, still at most single words. ocassionally she will say 3-4 words sentences but its rare. And the thing is she still do not communicate with words that consciously. I feel so worried for her but really don't know what to do. Wonder what's wrong... but we still hope it will come eventually.

Mspiggy,
Went for buffet yesterday liao...and my ger's only healthy food's brocolli. She had lots of cakes,cookies and ice-cream...junkie right? Hehe.

Calliope,
Like what Kell’s PD said, when their vocal switch is on .. .they will talk non-stop loh. It is hard to stop kell talking these days when I am out with her. She will do her best to describe things that she saw. Like a bus drove past us yesterday. She said ‘Mummy, you see… bus drives here …’ then you can see that she is trying hard to find words to describe the things she sees ‘fish on the bus … many fish swims in blue … water’ And like she takes time to choose and pronounce every word that she want to use. It is really nice to see that she is attempting to use descriptive words such as ‘a’, ‘many’, ‘big’, ‘small’, ‘here’, ‘there’…

Shannon is superb in GM … really brave lady. Our future athletic of the thread lei!

calliope,

me not expert too.. just a read up a bit here and there cos I wanna see what to enrol my kids in. The suzuki method is just a way of teaching kids of very young age the musical instruments. They seldom focus on musical theory and note reading. In my boy's class, they dun look at scores at all. Indeed, they emphasis more on the technique and playing the instruments and listening. The parents are required to learn too as they believe that kids learn best by imitation.

From what I know, at least mandeville offers suzuki violin, suzuki piano and suzuki cello. I have heard of suzuki method for guitar but gotta find the teacher that teach it lor... I am not sure which school offers it. Classical method of learning usually start at an older age.

Poohy,
Don’t worry! J will be okay … you will really be surprised by her when her switch is on … maybe now, she is absorbing whatever you says, read and sing to her. So very soon, you will hear her talking non-talk liao…

poohy: The orchestra music you play for the kids are the music tracks or DVD showing the orchestra playing? 1 of my personal favourite is Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No 1 in C Minor.

PP: Your PG is really solid!!! 8)

paula: Kelly is really doing well in her speech, can long say sentances 8)

ER started humming twinkle twinkle little stars quite legibly yesterday. Am so happy in his progress. Hope he can sing with the lyrics soon like your tods.

paula
juz want to check whether the no of kids for june bash on 1 jun is confirmed? thinking of getting a small little gift for all..

btw, any particular things that kelly likes? tks!

haha.. chioing toto to talk abt property??? hey the prices r starting to fall.. i am still waiting to drop abit further.. which project r u eyeing??

Peng,

Eh, that one have to check with Ashite lei … Dun need to get Kell anything, really and seriously. Just give her a peck can liao…

I am still trying to find the perfect place loh. Will be viewing teresa 8 next week, it is a town house. I am hoping that the perfect place would be in Bukit Timah but unfortunately, not much estate TOP-ing this year and next. Most would be in 2010. So have expanded our search to YCK, Holland and the East liao. Which estate you meow-ing? Share share lei…

rodeo,

both. Normally on the car, we listen to music recording CD. But recently we bought a dvd player for the car so now they also watch the DVD on the car. In the morning, our alarm clock is switched to 92.4.... so they are woken daily and greeted by classical music lol

The kids and I enjoyed watching the orchestra playing more. 'cos I like to see the emotion and the focus that the lead players exhibit when they play their instrument. And it seemed more exciting

One more thing that I feel stir up their interest in classical music is watching Little Einstein series. My kids loved to watch it and the good thing is the series familiarise them with some of the world famous music and painting. S can recognise some of the songs and relate them to the composers.

Poohy,

Thanks! Parents required to learn. Hmm...looks like I must really start listening to classical! The only one that can sustain me is shubert...think cos it's operatic...I only love the human voice...dunno is ger takes after me that way. As for your ger's speech devt, I can understand your worries, just like I'm concerned with my ger's motor devt. Now we can just encourage and hope they catch up later. Continue to talk and repeat same old stuff to your ger. One day she'll just throw them all back to you. You are really fantastic in gettting your kids into music!

<font color="0000ff">Hi Calliope,</font>
Wah your gal can speak so clearly. Is twinkle twinkle little star in Chinese.