(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Mummies heading to Sentosa this Fri, paula and I spoke and given there's 2 cars, we think it best if we stick to Sentosa, for convenience reason.
***************************************************************************************************************************************************
Sentosa get together
Date: 16 May 08, Fri
Time: 11 am
Venue: Vivo taxi stand (exact location to be printed later), 2 cars will pick up everyone there

We are going to have a picnic and given Paula and I are driving, we will shoulder the world of logistics on our shoulders, leaving you free to handle your tots' needs only. This is the list so far and pls add on for items that you deem important that's otherwise missed out:

<font color="0000ff"><u>Paula</u></font>
1. Kuehs
2. Drinks for mummies (tots' drinks will be handled by their mummies)
3. Elmo tent (for tots)
4. Beach ball
5. Sandplay toys

<font color="0000ff"><u>Aishite</u></font>
1. Sandwiches: egg n cheese for tots (n rojak ingredients for mummies: tuna, lettuce, cucumber, egg, cheese or anything I can find in my fridge)
2. Watermelon
3. Sunblock for tots and mums (it's different brands for the 2)
4. Sandplay toys

<font color="0000ff"><u>What's missing and pls provide if you have</u></font>
1. Couple of mats will be nice
2. If anyone has One Degree 15 membership, lagi nice, we can just go there and nua. The wooden platform there is great for tots to jog.

Go-ers:
1. Dal + J
2. Paula + K
3. Aishite + S

Paula,
haha..... kell must be having a lot of fun seeing mummy head gong gong! what was the most difficult question she has asked, and most embarrassing one? kekeke....

I guess Kell's maturity is gained from her maximising all the learning opportunities presented to her, be it during tough or happy times. Smart gal! :)

Haha.... though she mixed it up, still sweet of her to sing to you!

Jezoir too. When I wished my mum Happy Mother's Day, he also said happy birthday. haha....

Sentosa Outing - i'm fine with the idea to switch to beach club. :)

aishite

Morning! no wonder i find it very familiar..haha..nice nice..i got too many body wash at home for me to clear..haha..got lactycd? gerber etc..bought too many..ops

Mummies heading to Sentosa this Fri, paula and I spoke and given there's 2 cars, we think it best if we stick to Sentosa, for convenience reason.
***************************************************************************************************************************************************
Sentosa get together
Date: 16 May 08, Fri
Time: 11 am
Venue: Vivo taxi stand (exact location to be printed later), 2 cars will pick up everyone there

We are going to have a picnic and given Paula and I are driving, we will shoulder the world of logistics on our shoulders, leaving you free to handle your tots' needs only. This is the list so far and pls add on for items that you deem important that's otherwise missed out:

Paula
1. Kuehs
2. Drinks for mummies (tots' drinks will be handled by their mummies)
3. Elmo tent (for tots)
4. Beach ball
5. Sandplay toys

Aishite
1. Sandwiches: egg n cheese for tots (n rojak ingredients for mummies: tuna, lettuce, cucumber, egg, cheese or anything I can find in my fridge)
2. Watermelon
3. Sunblock for tots and mums (it's different brands for the 2)
4. Sandplay toys

What's missing and pls provide if you have
1. Couple of mats will be nice
2. If anyone has One Degree 15 membership, lagi nice, we can just go there and nua. The wooden platform there is great for tots to jog.

Go-ers:
1. Dal + J
2. Paula + K
3. Aishite + S
4. Angeline + A (sandplay toys + pandan cake)

Angie
For Sentosa trip, no need to bring sandplay toys lah, Paula and I are bringing these cos we drive, otherwise your bag will be super heavy.

Happy belated Mother's day to all...

so where did everyone go yesterday?

MTDT
Ours was dinner over at my place with in-laws and troops heading over. Everyone cooked a little bit lah. I can't tahan eating out on Mother's Day, did that last year at Tung Lok and the experience was awful. My own parents are overseas, in India I think, so me didnt celebrate with them lor.

Dal,
Haha, so far, her questions are quite manageable. She went through a week or two of ‘why’ stages but luckily it stopped because ‘why’ questions are more challenging to answer lei. That time she asked me why did I place my shoes on my shoe-racks. When I told her to take out her shoes, she asked why she must take out her shoes.

Angie
Enough lah, last time when so many of us went to Changi Beach Club (8-9 tots I think), we had 2 sets too. Much more than enough to go around :)

spicegal,
let me know when the 2nd round starts..

hee, vacancies, i meant at your co lah...i know that LV is for staff only.

Was serving in my church sunday school yesterday and this was the conversation that transpired between me and a six year old, whose age group I was teaching. He's a real cutie

He: Teacher, I have more than XXXX amt in my savings account!

Me: What do you plan to do with it?

He: I am gonna save it until I grow much older!

Me: And what are you gonna do with that $$ when you grow much older?

He: I will buy things for my mummy, and for my girlfriend also.

Me: starting to laugh: And what do you plan to buy?

He: hmmmmmm .......... I CANNOT buy a sports car....

Me: Why?

He: Because a sports car only has 2 doors, so who am I gonna fetch, my mummy or my girlfriend? (Scratching his head, as if the decision is a matter of life and death)

Me: WIDE OPEN EYED and WOWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!

Hi all...

Can someone post some pics on the gathering last friday? sound so fun...

Chelsia may miss class again today.. cos Fever leh... dun know why her fever come and go... Think gonna bring her to see doc lim tomorrow...

BTW... did anyone of u apply lotion to the tots at nite? Chelsia got very dry skin on her body n face n hands n legs... maybe due to she sleeping in aircon rooms at nite.... Anyone got any suggestions of a GOOD CREAM for their age?

aishite
hahah wat a precocious boy indeed like u said! dunno if his mum should be happy or sad hahah

celeste
i've tried many creams/lotions for my ger too as she has very dry legs &amp; u can see lines on them. CB, gaia, QV etc all tried...so far the best one is Mustela one for eczema prone kids to me...can get from taka, robinsons etc.

Good afternoon mummies!

Hope you all had a great mothers'day!

Though i had a good mothers' day, am still gonna say, 'CC's fantastic!' Haha. Cos i din send ger to cc the entire of last week due to one case of hfmd and her neverending cough/cold. Was dead tired trying to keep her occupied..Haha! Btw, anyone knows the incubation period of hfmd?

Aishite,
Wow! Your gathering sounds fun! Wish i could have joined you girls. And the bakchang and kuchai kueh...from kimchoo and yongs??? ...mmmm...my favourites!
Am going to library this wed@4pm. You keen?
As for the six year old...wahlamak...kids these days, really dunno how to react to them sometimes.

Celeste,
My ger was using this cream when she was much younger for sensitive dry skin. Found it not bad. Now she doesn't need it though. Name's topicream and from kinderclinic siglap. Can't remember how much though.

Re: Running nose
My ger's nose been running for the longest i can remember. I kept her away from cc for one week, only managed to 'cure' her cough but she's still sniffing away. Any of your tods like this? Is it some kind of allergic reaction?

Re: No,dun wan
My ger's also at this stage. Nowadays she'd even tell my mil 'bu yao' when ever mil wants to carry her...nothing to do with me hor...haha! She's also been asking lots of 'what' but in very broken, very cute english.sounds like 'wha-sa-dis'. Her mandarin sounds very 'jun' though...once again, cc's fantastic! haha! Hmm...somehow think it's easier for them to pick up chinese language strctures cos without all the complex grammars of english???

Re: Barney cake
Anyone knows where else to get barney cake other than from prima deli?

Re: Running
My ger's finally running and she likes to play catch...made a very tired but happy mummy!

Calli...

Thanks... will be making a trip to kinderclinic siglap to visit Dr Lim tmr.. so will ask him abt the cream...

As for running nose... think its due to sensitive nose... My gals also got the same prob.. and after much investigation... my mum says she got golden nose... hse mus be clean clean... too ducty she will sneeze...

Chelsia like to as WHY WHY WHY WHY recently too... when she sees other children cry, she will walk up and ask " WHY WHY WHY WHY"... when i call out for her... she will come to me and ask.. WHY WHY WHY WHY...

Think she picked that frm me.. cos whenever she called "MUMMY".... I will asked " WHY WHY WHY"...

Good afternoon!

Still can't confirm my sentosa attendance this Fri yet. Intend to break news to the project mgr tomorrow during weekly meeting...hehe....

aishite: Most likely I will go your place then tonbang your car to vivo (me + maid + ER). I will ask my maid to fry beehoon. What time u leaving from home? I got meet-parent-session till about 930am.

Hmmm, 6yo boy got such fan nao ah! Actually hoh, I think they pick up all these from TV drama serials! I still rem my initial shock when my 3yo cousin negotiated with me saying "If you give me this, then I give you that". And hey, that happened >10yrs ago!!! So I'm sure kids nowadays has 'progressed'....haha....

Calliope: ER still having running nose &amp; cough for very long too. At least 1 month I think, with about a week 'recovery' in between. He's been having quite a lot of discharge and I tot he should be recovering soon, but no ley, still sniffing &amp; coughing away 8( Taking medicine don't seem to help either. I still let him go for his daily playgroup though cos he's still hyperactive. His school did not ban him from going.

celest - hahaha... why why why. :p

but it's true... think pick up from u.
last time i always say "nah" when i give him something. now he also will "nah" back! faintz!!

Oh, share this incident that happened yesterday.

Hub scolded my dog: Kopi, die ah, anyhow urine!
ER uttered: Die!
I asked ER: Who Die?
ER replied: Papa

I was speechless, duno want to laugh or sigh. Already told my hubby not to anyhow say negative strong words but no avail, so see what happens now.

rodeo!!!!

I LOL in office when i read ur post.
Who die - Papa! faintz!!!! :p

yes - he will say
but not "give" or watever.. it's "nah" hahaha :p

another one is "there"
where is xxx.... thereeeeeeee

Calliope
Wed 4 pm library is good. C u at entrance!
I will be punctual and text u if i m gonna be late.

Rodeo, Angie
You gals have picnic mats? We are sourcing around but can't find any. I used to have disposable table cloths but think I dumped them too.

MTDT: Me &amp; my maid gave this blank face when he replied 'papa'. I told my hub about it but he just laugh and brush it off. This is IMO quite serious!

Btw, do your tods get angry/irritated when you don't understand them (be it on purpose or becos we just dun get it). ER can't pronounce some words correctly/consistently. If we hear wrongly or repeat the 'wrong' word back to him, he gets irritated and his reply gets louder and louder.

Last Sat, I bot a stalk of flower for my mum and ask ER to give it to ah mah when we reach ah mah's house. It went like this:-

Hub: Who is the flower for?
ER: Ah Mah
Hub: For who?
ER: Ah Mah
Hub: Is it for Ah Gong?
ER: Ah Mah (gets louder)
Hub: Not for Ah Gong?
ER: Ah Mah (shouts)

<font face="tahoma"> hi ladies

re: sentosa outing
i will probably ring Pauline when i reach to check your exact location. i also dont have picnic mats. </font>

Aishite,

I have a large foldable straw mat. Can pick up from me if you need. Alternatively, i ever saw roll-up straw mats selling at Daiso, $2 each, very cheap.

Mummies attending this Friday gathering, could you vote for Sentosa or Changi Beach Club? Both have its pro and cons lah but I am thinking more of hygiene issues (tots need to be cleaned up after sand play and etc) because of HFMD. Paiseh lah, apart from super sotong, I am super duper kiasi cos Kelly kena HFMD last December and it is not easy to recover loh, cos depends on the kid’s antibodies and kell’s immune system is super weak one.

Ashite is worried about transportation issue. But could we make plans as follow?

I picked up Dal (Jurong West MRT?) and Angeline (Farrer Park MRT?)
Rodeo to bunk in Ashite’s car…
We meet at CBC?
After a day filled with fun, I will drop off both Dal and Angie.

Paula
I anything also can, let the tribe decide! U staying near spicegal or not? Can pick up the straw mat from her (was thinking if we go CBC, no need mat oledi, they have tables and chairs there)

Paula: Actually, ER still has cough &amp; running nose and I don't know if he will recover by this Fri. I'm keeping him off waters. Mummies, let me know if anyone has any concerns.

I guess CBC is better cos the weather seems to be quite hay-wire recently. Today, it's sunny one moment and pouring another moment!

If we go CBC, do we need to eat there &amp; do away with picnic? Don't think they allow us to bring outside food.

Alternatively, if the weather turns out bad that day, can come to my place. Only thing is I have a noisy silky terrier at home.

Kids now a days have very good memory..

I still rmb i was telling Pauline.. i showed chelsia my ROM pics.. n inside it, there is this pics of my dad... ask her who is this... she stare blankly at me.. (cos she never met my dad at all... he passed away in 2003..) Then she replied UNCLE.. I told her.. This is not Uncle... this is Gong Gong.... and where is gong gong? She stared at me again... Then i tell her" Gong Gong no more.. Die Already"... (I used the word Die cos felt that easier for her to learn.. hahahah)... Then after few hrs... she took the album to my mum and when my mum turn to page and ask who is this... pointing to my dad... she say GONG GONG... mum asked Where is Gong Gong... she replied "Die Ready"..

Then Pauline was telling me she may not know what's the meaning of "Die"... But hor... Last weekend she went home... saw her Barney helium baloon lying half flat on the.. she point to it... and say.:" Mummy... barney die ready"... SO DARN FUNNY LOR!!!

So.. Anyone here tried YUGUO...

Really good or not?? And TUI NA meaning Massage is it? Will the tots Kuai Kuai let them Massage??

Spicegal: Thanks. Btw, thanks for that overseas spree link. That website really sells a lot of stuff. Just burnt a hole in my pocket buying their stuff...haha.....

Celeste: I heard it's quite good. My customer ever mentioned it to me when I ask if he knows good TCM for kids in the east. He said a lot of kids go there to see but be prepared to wait in long queue. Yes, Tui Na = massage. Err, duno if the tods will guai guai let them massage cos i never try b4.

Hi Celeste,

Yes, tui na means massage. But most of the massage is on the palm the kids of course it depends on what's wrong with the kid. Sometimes the doctor in Yu Guo will ask you whether you want medication, you can reject if you doesn't want. Tui Na will cost $18 not including medication.

My boy is a regular in Yu Guo. He got slight asthma problem or shld I said sensitive airway. So he gets cough &amp; cold very easily. Furthermore, he is "heaty" base and likes biscuits.

So when he catch a cold or cough, he will be on western medication and tui na at the same time. He will get well faster and I don't really like the idea of taking too much western medication. I do find that if I bring him there reguarly, like once a week, he will not fall sick so easily. But the waiting time is very bad. I try to go on weekdays night. but Friday night is also quite packed.

btw,

some kids can "guai guai" sit there some will scream thru the 15 to 20 mins during the massage. There are lots of story books and some toys for the kids.

For my boy, if he cannot sit thru, I will give him his pillow and pacifier. But sometimes he will still be kicking or climb up &amp; down. Luckily till date, he did not cry or scream during the massage.

celeste

i didnt apply anything to celest body now..very lazy unless she got rashes etc..her fever till now haven stop? quite long liao rite? since last friday? u wana try yu guo har...but u must be prepare to go there a few days in a row lei.coz tt time i brought celest there for her phlegm,the tcm said have to bring her for 7 consecutive days...abit 'siong' for me so i stop after going for 2 days..

calliope

haiz..my CC sos much so for their 'paranoid'..now got 3 cases liao.last wed,friday &amp; today another 1....all at Nursery &amp; today's at K2 level...faint...tink 2morow i dun bring her go CC for 1 day...

aishite/paula

i dun tink i got picnic mats...sorry...anyway, i am fine with both places.u all decide on the venue.i anything..haha..since P is coming to fetch me...
i am oso worried abt the transport issues as CBC is abit too far out for those who dun drive..not even by mrt...anyway,still have to depends on whos going on friday...

Hi Mummies, enjoy yr Friday outing. Heading to the airport in a short while,really can't bare to leave them.
Okie, talk to you all when I am back.

Rodeo,
I am okay with the cough and running nose. Dun worry. J

Celeste Kuah,
If you are worried about the queue, you wanna try that Econ medical centre in the West? That sinseh in Econ said that she was the disciple of the Yu Guo’s sinseh mentor too. Kelly guai guai sat through the last time because Econ has this mini television and toys to keep her distracted. I will be bringing her to Eu Yen Seng instead … I more assured of the quality of their medication lah…

Re. Thank you, please and sorry.
Lately, Kell has been saying quite abit of thank you and please in appropriate settings. Yesterday, I brought her some sand cum water play toys. When we reached home, she played with her toys and after 15 minutes or so, wanted me to bring her to the toilet so that she can have her water play session with her new toys. I refused and told her that we will have our water play session after dinner. So, she threw her mini tantrums at her room and I told her in a firm tone that it is not an acceptable behavior. I will leave her alone to sort her out. Look for me when she is really to talk. After 5 minutes or so, she walked to me, sniffing back her tears and says ‘Mummy… soreee … hug hug…’ I hug her and told her it is okay now but it is not acceptable to throw tantrums when I have explained to her. Then I told her I love her. She replied ‘luv you too’. My heart melted and that once, I questioned myself for being so harsh on her.

Good Morning Mummies!

Celeste,
Yah,think the cream was from a certain dr lim. He was recommended by my gyne. Saw him only once or twice then decided to switch to the one downstairs.

Re: Runny nose
My ger doesn't really sneeze,maybe once or twice in the morning but her mucous will be running the entire day. So not sure if it's allergic to dust or what. ANyway, dunno how to keep house super clean also cos am just next to the highway, plus she's still sleeping on the floor. Still haven't figured out how/when i should move her to a bed.

Aishite,
I've a large groundsheet, those army sort and a smaller plastic mat that i can loan to you. Can pass them to you on wed.

Angeline,
So far my ger's cc's cases seemed more contained at the infant care section, 4 cases. Only 1 case from the kindy 2 fridays ago. Am starting work soon so hoping it'll go away, if not real headache man...dunno who/where to turn to for alternative care.

Paula,
Which Eu yen sang doctor is good? Am also thinking of bringing my ger and myself and hubby even for 'tiao yang' purpose. So far we have been taking their off-the-shelf medicine and find them not bad, especially those for coughs.
Your Kell's so sweet and very auto. I have to tell my ger to say sorry then she will to me.

hihi...

Thanks Everyone for the reply on YUGUO and TCM..

OK am set!! I will faithfully bring chelsia to YUGUO...

Blur,
I intent to bring chelsia in on weekday evening too... from your experience... which day do u think will be a better timing.. and must go there before 630pm to take number right?

<font face="tahoma"> good morning ladies,

Re next fri outing:
if you gals going CBC, dont think will join in already too rush for me. </font>

Celeste,
Mon-Thur night is good (Yu Guo close on wed). It open at 6.30pm in the evening and close at 8.30pm. So anytime after 6.30pm is ok.

Alamak...

My Mum jus called... she send chelsia to schoolhse at 230pm after measuring her temp and it reads 36.7...

Lucky she waited outside .. and when chelsia went in cry cry cry as usual for the start... teacher measure temp.. say 37.6.. cannot pass their 37.5 line... ask my mum to standby... they will let her cool down n measure again in 5 mins... now worst.. teacher jus came out with chelsia saying she need to go cos now 37.9... haha... so funny... like unwanted goods like tat..