(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

shawny17,
my gal allergic to egg white, thus the egg free jab

fates,
ya loh..sat i also not free...

yes, we went to the zoo on vesak day. it is SO crowded..X was amazed with the elephants! haha..

anastasia,
she was ok with hardboiled egg yolk.Few days ltr i added hardboiled egg white into her porridge, rashes break out ard her mouth and body even b/4 she could finish her porridge!The egg white i added inside is not more than a 10cents coin size!

Tried giving her again 1 week ltr and still rash lor.So confirm allergic.

littletot, I still recalled hubby feeding Amber half-boiled egg when she was ard 6mths old. The poor lil girl had immediate reaction within 30mins. In the end she puked everthing out. The second puke was like a waterfall, it was terrible. Recently fed her very little so quite really tell it there's any reaction but it's nevertheless a positive sign.

We will try again in a mth's time.

Just wanna share an incident with u gals. Happened last Thursday. Was trying to blend food for my baby's dinner that nite using a hand-held immersion blender. There was food stuck at the blades of the blender, so I unconsciously stuck my index finger up the blades to remove the food while my the other hand was still pressing the power button.
Usually i would use a spoon but dunno why this time round so absent-minded. Hubby was shouting 'Don't do that!' but too late already.
The top part of the finger already kenna 'blended' too...
Hubby was feeding Ethan dinner then, so got to abandon the poor boy's dinner and rush to the ER.
Spent 3 hrs in the ER, and got about 12 stitches. Surgeon said it was pretty mangled but good thing that it did not injure the bone, was only a flesh wound. I must say that it really looked very gross. Thank God that I was only in pain the next day, and after that life was pretty back to normal. Finger is on the road to recovery now, but still gotta wrap in dressing.

Hubby has all along been harping me about my carelessness in handling sharp objects, so I guess I learnt my lesson well this time round.

Sorry for my long-windedness, thought it might serve as a reminder to everyone while in the kitchen.

<font color="0077aa">Hi CP! The accident sounded real scary!! :| Wishing you speedy recovery! Take care ya!

Hi mommies, do ur babies stick to u like glue? I read babies usually experience separation anxiety frm around 18M. Mine who's just turned one less than 2 wks ago, already displaying S.A. about 2 months ago! He won't have me out of his sight whenever I am home!</font>

CP...
aiyo...very scary leh...if it was me, i prob faintz right away! You better take care as you are all alone in a faraway plc.

bello,
mine stick like superglue! haha...some of the mummies here seen how sticky Xavier is to me..i also dunno why? But my sis say most of the time, he is only cry cry for 2mins when i leave the house, then he will be back to his toys and playing with my family members. Maybe he is trying to make me feel guilty?

matsu,
I'm waiting for your reply for the jshopper spree. Pls read your PM and emails and reply me asap.

Shawny17
If u know matsu, can u pls SMS or call her and ask her to reply me? I need to clarify something from her and I'm not sure if she's still interested in her stuff or not.

matsu,
I am not sure if u are still interested in your order or not, so if I don't hear from u by 12noon, I'll cancel your orders ok?

bello, Amber's sticky compared to Ashley(as in during the same period). But still I am able to leave her at home for a few hours without much fussing from her. Maybe it's because she's used to the other 2 caregivers - my mum and helper.

But night-time's a bit difficult. Hubby and I went out to catch Spiderman 3....Amber woke up from her slumberland @ 11pm and cried incesssantly till I returned.

<font color="0000ff">CP,
Hope you'll recover fast. I'm also using a handheld blender and was always wary when washing the blades as I've cut myself once. Needs to remind ourselves to be careful during handling. Maybe we can make an effort to switch it off before lifting it from the mixture or jug.

Re: "Sticky" baby
My boy has also started to be extra "sticky" recently. Usually, he'll happily play or let my mum carry when I leave for work but these few days, he CRIED, stretching out for me to carry him. But my mum said he'd stop crying shortly after I'm out of sight. Maybe it's another stage of their development. But I really have no time to do my own tasks or prepare his meals when I'm at home.</font>

shawny17,
did u give both egg white and yolk together? I gave hardboiled egg yolk for 3 days to make sure no reaction then add hardboiled egg white.Therefore i know it's egg white that she's allergic to.Will tey again in a few mths time .

just checked with my mum, she only gave the egg yolk for Amber to try. So my apologies, haven't let her try egg-white yet. My mum says best to give later...especially since she had severe adverse reaction last time.

CP,
That's a scary experience!! Luckily I don't use handheld blender as I'm very clumsy too.

Separation Anxiety
It's normal for baby to feel this way at this age. Plus their memory is not very good now, so when we're out of sight, usually they will forget our 'existence', till we show up again

Jarrett is the same! Cling to me like a koala bear whenever he sees me

hiyo ladies, buried my head in piles of work, manage to stretch my neck abit.

CP - i break out cold sweat for you when i read along, pls be careful ya, hope you have a speedy recovery. & yes, your post serve as a warning to mummies to be careful at kitchen, i almost slice my finger off when i was cutting the fish slices last weekend while my eyes are darting ard for jen.

about Separation Anxiety, i agree dat nowadays jen clingy, clip onto me when she sees me or cry out loud when im out of sight, guess this is part of growing up bah.

hmm...so this clingy and 'super glue' syndrome is common. my mum just commented that she does not understand why Axl is so clingy to me, although i only bring him home for weekends.

Thanks all for your concern. Finger is healing very well, much better than what I expected for the injury.

I have always been a very clumsy person from young, even more so when I am in a rush for time. Sigh... my hubby said that with a child now, we might anticipate visits to the ER, but he never expected that it would be for me!

i remembered some of you wanted to switch milk powder to Gain IQ. has anyone done so for your child? any feedback on the transition?

Hi Anastasia

Same same, my gal's a real superglue, and my mum also thinks it's wierd cos she sees me only on weekends - only in the morning on weekdays.

hi Yvonne,
guess it must be the natural bond between mother & child. just that it can be frustrating when i am getting ready to leave the house and he does not want anyone else to be with him.

Amber's a week past 1 year old but till now I've not started her on Gain IQ. She's not tasted formula since she was around 4-5 mths old so I am not sure if she can adjust well. I do intend

I am not sure about the titration method but my plan is to introduce a formula night feed in the hope that she'll sleep through the night. She still waking up 3-5 times every night. Hiazzz...

Hi gabby
I m praying for bb Ashley and mommy Angel!
Let's keep them in prayers!!

Hi Shawny
My boy too wakes about 3-4x every night to nurse. I intend to introduce formula when he self-weans or when he turns 2. I'm very tired out but I'm holding on. Hopefully I can tahan for another year :p I kena mastitis few wks ago - the 3rd attack in one year! Sigh. I pray it will be smooth sailing in year 2.

yes bello & gabby, I really hope that both Ashley and Angel will get through this difficult period with God's grace.

bello, good for you especially since you are still working. It's really not easy for working mothers to continue breastfeeding. I haven't suffered mastitis for Amber but I am now nursing a bad blister (2nd time around) caused by Amber's sharp teeth....ouch!!!

Btw, Ash managed to sleep through the night when she was ard 2 years old.

Hi Shawny,

Does drinking formula night feed helps our little ones to sleep through the night? Not for my case...
I'm introducing more FM feeds for my son at nite, as MS cannot meet the demand, but huh.....he still wakes up <u>at least</u> once.

Hi fates

I read that formula doesn't really help bbs sleep thru the night. It depends on individual baby's development. It's recommended to let baby get to that stage on his/her own.

For mine, 2 out of 4x, I think he wakes for comfort sucking as he doesn't really empty the breast then.

Altho I'm really tired out (lack of sleep), I treasure the times bfdg him at night 'coz my boy has refused to latch on when he's awake during the day. I was quite sad at first. So I'll be selling off all my nursing wear when I find time to sort them out.

Hi shawny, ya, it's tough.. especially when I have to 'tahan' for my pumping sessions at work due to long meetings
And ya, afew times I was bitten by my boy and ouch!!! It was really painful!

Hi mummies, sorry to intrude, im from d July thread. Just wondering if anyone of u who has used 1st bday party decor for girls? If u dun wish to keep i would like to buy from u at 50% of original price...thanks for ur help!

Hi fates

I agree that FM does not help to put the baby to sleep. Sien could sleep thr the night from 3 month onwards and she was on TBF then. Our little babies have to set theit own timing it seems. Let's hope that we'll all be able to sleep through the night...

about sleeping through the night, i suggested to my mum to dilute the formula slowly and to give less. but she said since we are already up to make the milk, just give the feeding as per normal. ask me not to 'torture' my boy and let him drink as much as he can.

so now only hope he will be tired out and sleep through, when he can walk and play hard.

it's true...don't think that forumula will help much but still willing to give it a try since Amber's waking up on average of 4 times every night. That's like every 2 hours, she needs to suckle. I am not hoping for a sleep-thru but I'll settle for a reduced amout of maybe 2 times.

<font color="0000ff">Sleeping through
My boy is also waking up every 2 hrs each night. It seems worse now with the separation anxiety as it can be hourly. I'm really very tired this morning and have to strain to open my eyes.

I've e-mailed Dr Jack Newman regarding this as I'm still breastfeeding him. According to him, the baby wakes NOT because of inefficient nursing. They wake for company not food.

I agree with gabby we'll have to let them set their own timings.</font>

i usually give me gal slightly more FM for last feed (9pm).She'll wakes up between 3-5am for another feed and wakes up for bfast ard 7-8+.

Btw, can i chk what do your give your bb for bfast?I think my gal is sick of cereal with blue berries liao.Wonder what can i replace it with.Also feeding her these days is a pain in the ass! She likes to keep food in her mouth and take super long time to finish her food.Any remedy?

hi littletot,
my boy will spit out food or stick his finger into his mouth if he wants to stop eating. sometimes,he will gag on purpose if we try to make him eat more.

he has FM for breakfast. he does not like cereal at all, except for quaker oats. my mother gives him this for tea sometimes. you may want to try that for your girl.

seems like alot of us having the same problem! our lil ones wake up in the middle of the nite for milk!! my gal has been waking up at abt 4am for milk for the past one WEEK plus !! so tiring man. lucky she now starts to hold her bottle.so i jst make her milk and let her lie on the pillow and she 'self-service' her milk milk...and this sleepy mummy go back to bed .kkekeke.

re: breakfast
My gal takes her breakfast abt one hr after her FM. usually i give cereal,spinach bread, whipped potatoes, steam pumpkin, bun, egg bread toast. have to alternate these coz if she eats the same food everyday, she will feel sianz..

My boy has been waking up 2x only the past few nights.. hooray! That's great cos he used to wake 4x! Hope this will maintain! Hee.

Re breakfast, I'm trying to find alternatives for him too. Currently, he drinks his EBM and eats some bread. Any mommies have recipes to share?

pooh,
can your baby chew her food already? Mine still like her food in gravy form.Even porridge.A bit grainy also can choke!

HOw much FM does she take every morning?1 HR ltr can still have bfast..Im so impressed! Mine will have 4 scoops of cereal with 120fm and the next meal will be lunch.

littletot,
my gal loves to chew...currently her lunch will be porridge and dinner, will steam fish & veg and a soup for her to go with her rice. i use slow cooker to cook her rice (softer and easy digest).

as for her milk, i gave 180ml for every feed. i try to keep every meals 'small' as i prefer her to eat more meals than alot at one go

her daily routine:

4am - 180ml milk
8.15am - 180ml milk
9.30am- breakfast
10.30am - nap
12.15 - lunch
3.00pm - 180ml milk
3.30pm - nap
if wakes up at 5.00pm- snack + fruits
if wakes up after 5.30pm- dinner
9.00 pm - 180ml

pooh,
my gal 4th tooth just came out.She doesnt take much at 1 go.

her routine:
3am- 150ml or less
8+ -120ml + 4scoops cereal
in between sometimes yogurt
12+ lunch
3pm- 150ml
6pm- 150ml
in between sometimes fruits
9pm- 180ml or less

Can you share with me what snack/fruits you give your gal?I haven't start her on snacks cos she cant chew yet and fruits has to be blended.Therefore quite limited lor.

pooh & littletot,

my ah K feeding schedule:

8 am - 180ml milk
9.30 am - 4 scoops cereal + fruits
12.00+ - 1 bowl of porridge / pasta
3.00 pm - 180 ml ml
6.00 pm - 1 bowl of rice with soup + yogurt
7.30 pm - 180 ml milk

in between, he will eat his biscuits, drink his juice and sometime watever we are eating.

life as a baby very good hor.. eat and sleep :p

here's my boy's feeding schedule:

12+am - latch -on (sometimes, esp. if his last feed was early around 9+pm)
2+am - latch-on
4+am - latch-on
6+am - latch-on (sometimes)
8.30am - 6oz EBM + bread or bb biscuit
10+-am - nap (abt 1/2 hr)
11.10am - lunch (porridge)
1.30pm - 6oz EBM
2+pm - nap (abt 2 hrs)
4+pm - 5-6oz EBM
6.30pm - dinner (porridge/ abit of rice & soup)
7+pm - fruit
9.30-10pm - 7oz EBM (last feed)

Wud like to give him diff. food for dinner ... but not sure what else since he also can't chew very well.

pooh,milo & bello,
after looking at what your babies are having, seems like mine eating/drinking very little.Sigh...

Anyone here feeding your babies yu yan seng si sen with brown rice? Do you cook it with just water or can cook with milk instead?

Share wf u my boy's daily schedule:

10am- 180ml milk
12pm- lunch-1 full bowl of porridge(vegy+meat)
1pm-nap
3pm- 180ml milk...fruit/biscult
6pm-dinner-1 full bowl of porridge(vegy+meat)
in between sometime fruit/soup/bread (a small amount)
10pm-150ml milk
5am-150ml milk