(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi Milo,
I dun think he is really hungry, more of the biological clock kenna stuck. U can still try feeding water 4 a few more days n see, he might decide that it is not worth getting up for n will sleep thru. Or u can give him a pacifier.

Read abt another method to cure habitual wakings: An hour or so b4 he is supposed to wake up, go into his room, pick him up, rub his toes, back, etc to bring him into a state of semi-consciousness then put him back (hopefully he won't wake up completely). This will disrupt his bio clock. It says to do for abt 3 days.

If he is really hungry, then like what Raccoon suggested, feed him abt 10/11pm, right b4 u sleep. But no need to wake him. There is this method in this book 'the baby whisperer' called dreamfeed. Basically u dun wake him up, dun even take him up fr the bed. just stick a bottle in his mouth n he might take it. then no need to burp cos he is so relaxed dat he doesn't take much air. For breastfeeding, a bit harder cos must take him out of bed n he must open mouth wide enough to suck. But it works for my boy Ethan. When I put my breast against his mouth, he will instinctively open n suck, but he is still deep asleep. When he's done i just put him back. He's never awake. It's like magic! For some reason,he eats the best during his dreamfeeds. But alas, he can only last till at most 4am, then he is really hungry again. Still hoping he will learn to stretch it out in due time. Let me know if any methods work for you.

anastasia: the injections were 2 on left upper thigh and 1 on left. they're ok now. i put cold towel on them. but she becomes fussy and has mild fever. gave panadol already. i hope by tomorrow she's ok.

annie: she was shaved when she was 5-wks-old. she's now 9-wks-old.

yo yo!
my name's Seth

watch me play the guitar and sing to my favourite tune of "one little, two little, three little indians..."

469747.jpg

my_dodo77,

really works leh!
just dilute 1 teaspoonful of gripewater into 1-2oz of water so ur baby will not resist its taste. it's v effective on wayne when he had 3 days of constipation. started pooing after 3~4hrs after gripewater feed. now, i make him poo everyday by fixing a time to "ge sia". it become a routine for him so no need to drink gripewater everyday.

gummie,
seth looks cute with his nimbling fingers. looks like most of u have removed mitten for ur bb liao. i just removed wayne's 2 days ago. can't help admiring his fingers.

annie,
no worries. colic will go away for most bbies by the 3th mth. my mil think wayne could be having stomach wind so ask me to apply ruyi oil. it works sometime :p

gunnie
Seth looks so super cute and musically inclined!!!

kk
Your baby is so cute too!!

haha ... once said that i will have only 2 now looking at all the cute babies, may have more!!! hahah lol

CP / raccoon,

sigh...last night after his 8 pm feed, i left the lights on so as to create a day time feel and hoping that he will wake up 3 hrs later for feed which he really did!!! i put him to slp after that and hopping that he will wake up 7 hrs later but guess wat??? he wakes up at 3 am again
haha really dunno wat to say ah..

now hoping that he can slowly stretch the hrs..

milo,

how old is your bb now? My bb now have his last feed at 11pm(bm) then will wake up at 4.30am(FM) and then 8am(bm). Think this is very good already as he used to wake up at 1am, 4am, then 7am.
But i did not train him at all, think its natural to bbs, to slowly be able to stretch the hrs as they grow older. Maybe you try to be more patient and let him stretch out the hours on his own.

Hi, My bb keep scratching her ears till red and seems dry.Need to c a doc?Her neck also have a lot of rashes.Rashes are on and off.If she gets hot her rashes will show if not it will subside.
Pls advice.

Ydnic,
d yr caretake used wet warm cloth to wipe his neck after each feeding?
my keane love to scratch his right hair scrap till red n oso pull e hair around it.. think its common..

Can anyone help me to solve the following problems? mY keane only wakes up 1s nightly on friday,sat n sun but he loves to wake up twice nightly on Mon to thurs.. He oso shows sad face every morning when we send him 2 my sis hse for her maid to take care. He will sleep when we hand him over to the maid. We know that he isnt happy but no choice, both of us have to work.

My baby's rashes also comes on and off, but it can suddenly appear within a few min, and gone in the next. If its milk rash, does changing of milk powder brand helps?

Any mums tried OTO slim belt before? Any good comments from friends? I am keen to try but dunno if its the 'right' time (abt 10 wks now).

annie. wow.. u really provide very informative info.. tks for your info on kidslink. i have brought my bb for the rotavirus jab.. so far so good..

any tip to extend bb's nite feeds? He always wakes up every 3 hrs or earlier for feeds and sometimes in between cries for no reason.. i only got 1 mth time b4 going back to wk.. scare if this continues, i will be so tired at wk.. my son is now 7wk+.. tks

PENG,
yr bb so small.. dun rush him. My keane is at week 11+ wakes up 1s nightly before i come back to work, these days, he wakes up twice nightly. No choice but to tahan. Will wean him when he reachs 4 mths..

oic... got to wait so long.. hee hee... so my panda eyes got to stay on for some time.. but these nite feeds r really very tiring.. sigh..

Wow everyone discussing about training baby to sleep through the night eh? My son had his last feed last night at 11pm, and slept till 5.15am! Guess it's only last night....

I am so sad.

Down with very bad flu, and these few days can't even talk to my baby at close distance

He will forget me..

raccoon,
yeah, iluv to look at bb fingers too, they are so tiny and cute compared to ours kekeke...

gabby's mum,
actually all babies are cute in their own ways... come on, you shd take the lead and go for a third one

fates,
dun feel sad... y dun u consider puttin on a face mask (sponge wld advise u the same i think hee)? tt way, u can still hold, carry n talk to yr boy, even breastfeed. even if he cannot 'see' yr face, at least he'll still rem yr smell...jus make sure yr hands are thoroughly clean before that..
n i guess no need to worry yr boy will forget you. i thot so too at one point when my helper came and took over some of my tasks like bathing n feeding (sometimes) bb, but it seems to me tt my boy knows i'm his mummy... bbies these days are v smart leh, they will know who is dearest to them

hi Eve,
my boy had v bad milk rash too a week ago. we took him to see PD and spent $70

the PD gave us some lotion to clean his face and a cream to apply. very effective! now my boy's cheeks are cleared of the rash...

the PD did not prescribe anything special, just some Sebamed Baby Bubble Bath and Canestan HC cream which i believe u can get off the shelves. maybe u wan to give it a try...

anyone of your bb starts to suckle his fingers frequently? My bb started yesterday and made really loud suckling sounds! When we tried to stop him, he will cry loudly. Even pacificer dun work, he prefer his fingers than the dummy...

haha...it looks cute but i dun want it to become a habit..

Ivy,

mine too and the way he 'eat' his KFC like very 'gain'(hokk). no way he will want pacificer. Tried many times liao still unsuccessful.

gummie

I am currently using sebamed baby bath for my girl. I can get canestan hc cream from pharmacy? will check it out. thks.

btw, if u wanna get cheap sebamed bubble bath, check out ocean at ppl's park. I bought the smaller one at $7.50, outside selling abt $12.50. The biggest bot at 1000ml is only $29 in ocean.

ivy,

haha mine too! at first tot he hungry but no leh. think its jus a passing phase jus like that time, he like to stick out his tongue

Eve,

good, then u dun have to buy... i was told to wash bb face using the baby bath (add a drop to some water) with cotton ball, then rinse off by cleaning using a fresh cotton ball. after that than apply the cream. yes, the cream is from Bayer, i think can get from pharmacy.

thanks, i'm thinkin of continuing to use the Sebamed baby bath cos it smells really good!

ivy,
Yo, gong xi lar..yr xavier is on e next growing step that whats pd stated. Dun stop him.. just clean more often, like me, i used wet warm towel to clean his fingers.
Hee..hee. you are consider lucky cos he stays at yr mum's place. I have to face keane every nights and e sucking noise is so loud that will wake you up..

Keane loves to suck the fingers or fists then paint on his chins.. faint!

hi ivy, same here, my gal keep sucking her hands/fingers until got "choot choot" sounds and went i stop her, she will cry wor.

wayne oso just started to suck his fingers but at the end of the day, he still like his pacifier better. when his pacifier drops, he will cry loudly even in the middle of the night. i think finger sucking noise is more tolerable. :p

CP,
Ya still let him latch on at night, but not these few nights because I'm scared I'll pass my virus to him cos' of the close contact.

My fever come and go. So worrying. I am so desperate to get well because going back to work next week, and really want to play with baby now..

gummie,
Really can play, hold and cuddle him if i wear face mask? Now he seems to prefer my MIL now....sighs..

Take care fates... did you see a doc? but gota tell bb that you r bfing...

Re:sucking fingers
yup yup! my gal sucks the whole fist...

She likes to grap things now, especially her hair... hmmmmm, whenever i remove her mittens, she will start admiring her hands... then i will give her a spoon to grab, and sometimes alternate with a hanky, so that she touches different texture... heheheh

Btw, has any of your bb sit up yet? When do they start to sit up without their heads falling in all directions?

fates,
hope you're feeling better today... i happen to start work next week like you too, so i understand how much you want to spend time with yr boy...
i guess if you've seen a doc and it's nothing too serious, wearing face mask cld be a good precautionary measure (at least i wld do that). i believe if yr bb had a choice, he'd choose to have a mummy's TLC more than anything else ya? then again, if really want to play safe and dun want to have any physical contact, then with a face mask you can still talk to him at close distance ma...
at least i think my boy responds to me now not bcos i carry him v often, but rather bcos i talk and play with him more than anyone else...

did any one of you noticed a 'curd-like' consistency in yr babies' stools? i noticed that in my boy's. also, his poo can have such an erratic pattern... sometimes he doesn't poo in a few days, n on some days he poo a few times?

yvonne,
wah, yr gal can grab things oredi? how many weeks is she?

my boy also sucks his fist .. but heng not yet know how to suck thumb .. was trying to stop him (by beating his hand) but he dun seems to be scared and never cry. will try to pretend pretend put his fist beside his face den suck again lol.. but whenever pull his hand down he will smile abit ..

Re: sleep thru the night

mine sleep thru for abt 2weeks liao ... hope can maintain.. but im the one who can't zzz till 2-3am heehee ...

My boy boy also learn to suck his fist few weeks back and also make really loud noise ... though look very cute but we r very persistent coz now he starts to grab things liao ... and whenever he put his fist near his mouth ... I will look staight into his eyes and tell him sternly "No" ... he will keep trying ... and I have to keep repeating myself ... and if he try his luck ... I will beat his hand lightly ..and after a few rounds... he will look at me when he fist is near is mouth and when I say NO ... he will look frustrated n make some noise but dun dare to put in ...kekeke .... my mum even restort to hide his hands inside his pants and the side ....hahaha... and he will struggle to break free... hahah... so after a few weeks of training ... my boy dun suck his fist anymore ... phew ... recently his is learning to turn liao ... so gotta be very watchful ...

our infant suits order have been acknowledged, waiting for the Aust side to calculate total costs...will advise you when i have updates.

<font color="0000ff">Taurus</font>

u great discipline mistress leh...

<font color="0000ff">Yvonne</font>
my bb hv not sit up yet and his head is still not firm yet

<font color="0077aa">Mummies</font>
Do u encourage or teach yr bb to flip or just let them do on its own? Anyway when they shld flip?

<font color="ff6000">Childcare Leave</font>

Are we entitle to 2 days Childcare leave this year?? Childcare leave is by p.a right?

hi twinkle-starry,

i will put my son on his side and he can move his lower body to lie flat but still cannot adjust his hand and head to flip totally. i will stand at one side and coax him to turn towards me. after a few minutes, he will get frustrated then i help him to flip over.

when we put him in bed on his tummy, he can turn his head from side to side though.

not sure about the childcare leave. i think it is only recommended by mom and not all companies extend to their staff.

my son is also starting to put fingers into his mouth. he also like to watch and imitate our mouth movements like smacking lips. another bad habit is playing with his saliva. can see tiny bubbles in between his lips.

hi anastasia,

my son dun like to sleep on tummy. only recently after he slept then i position him on tummy in the afternoon bcos NDP rehearsal going on and he get frighten often. once he is awake he will cry lor.

Childcare leave not sure entitle 1 or 2 day since the birth of the child is midway of the yr liao. Nxt week then i ask HR lor since he is busy tis wk.

Hey Yvonne,
Ya...told the doc I am BF-ing already, and she gave me antibiotics &amp; medicines which are safe...It's been almost a week already and I'm still not my normal self. Quite disappointing.

Gummie,
Thanks for your concern. I let my son latch on last night, with me putting on TWO face mask! Hopefully the germs won't spread to him.

twinkle starry,
dun stress yr boy lar.. all bb growth are individual. let them take time. your bb will flip himself if his spine is strong n neck oso v firm strong. Usually, for a bb, flip 1/2 way is on the 4th mth.

Annie,
tks for the confirmation.

I dun stress my boy leh. i think i too lenient liao. i let him do what he want hee.... just need to know which mth is for wat so if there is anything to worry at least i m aware lor.

twinkle-starry,
maybe you make him to do some exercises daily like what i currently do for keane. Make him do tummy exercise, lay him on bed on tummy for a short while.This way, he can practise his neck, by lifting up.Help to strengthen spine n neck. Keane cried when we first attempt. Now, he smiles to me when he lifts his head. I found that he burps out more often even without any feeding.
Move his legs in cycling position to let his intestines move, help to pass bowel easier. (Little nana taught me).

Ya still down with flu..

My Medela Mini broke down! No suction at all....can anyone tell me where can I send it for repair?

fates,

i also had the same problem with my Medela mini previously, later realised there is no suction because there's a crack on the funnel...

did u check yrs? if same prob, only need to replace the funnel, no need to send for repair, unless the fault is due to motor.

Yo gummie,

Which part of the funnel? Was pumping halfway when this happens. Can't be the motor because there's still sound??!
Do you know who can I call for help?

fates, you can call the agent stated in the warranty card, i believe there is a contact number there. if yours is still under warranty, you perhaps can get a part replacement from them. if its not a problem with yr funnel can also send back to them i think.
i didn't send in my warranty card so borrowed the funnel from a friend. the funnel i think costs abt $13.50 (if not wrong), can get at mums n babes...