(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

milo66,
y yr mil gave him that? Old folks tend to feed ..u wait for another day to see how. massage really help.
4 me, i would apply 1 or 2 drops of ru yi oil with bb oil then massage on his tummy n his back.4 his back, do massage circle massage up till his hips. This method help him 2 ease e wind inside his tummy n oso ease constipation. At times, if bb has wind inside e massage, such method bb will cry. dun worry.

ivy,
u can get yr mum to train yr xavier not to sleep after 5pm at his 4th mth. He then will sleep through e whole night. really work.

sponge,
pros n corns to let bb taken care by nanny, infant care centre or own people. However, i would choose infant care center, e nurses or the main caretakers are basically trained to take care bbs.
bb might tend to fall sick if there is other bbs who fall sick n pass around.However, i feel it is best that bb get more immune and stronger as times go by. Anyway, bb will oso fall sick if next time put him in child care center or pre school class..

hi ivy,
i think i put my mind at ease if you say different caregivers mean a sociable baby. haha.
u drive oso rite? u know wat, everytime i go mum's place, so scare of carpark ladies, i have to put several coupons to make sure i don't get caught....each time i stay about 3-4hrs, parking coupons buy alot...

hi milo66,
i know "jin feng san" is cooling one, coz my gal had it oso, to reduce heatiness but shd be ok one. For constipation, why don't u try the colic medicine, can help to ease the poos.

hi annie,

u mean don't let bb sleep after 5pm? my gal now take few afternoon naps, like 1/2 to 1hr each, she plays but gets tired easily and want to sleep. At night she sleep at 11pm...but wakes up at 7am, then nap abit here and there.
She is going to 4mths....

lee / annie / eve,

thks for the advise on the jin feng san. feel better liao

starry,

how u train ur boy to sleep through? any special ways or jus natural huh?

scotts

i do understand coz working mums have stress also and after work still got to do hsework which can be super tiring...

infant care is firstly expensive and also the ratio is like every 1:5 (if i remember correctly). but one thing for sure is that infant care centre will nt abuse ur bb (hope so)and their are experience nanny and nurses there. but when ur bb is sick, u got to take leave to bring ur bb home and take care of him or her till recover..which is a minus point if bb go to infant care centre.

hey milo

if u are trying the massage method, pls massage tummy clockwise hor. a chinese physican teach me and it works..the physican say dont massage anti-clockwise..

me went to the bb massage class by johnson baby and they also teach hoe to massage to release 'wind' from bb tummy. me tried and works. my bb fart alot while i massgae her ..hehe

milo,

i use differentiate day/nite method taught by one of the mummies in one of the thread.

first after his last feed, i change him into his nite clothes, can be PJ or long sleeves etc.. something different fm his normal daywear. then on musical mobile or rock to sleep w lights off or dim. How to determine last feed? it is up to u, if u think 10pm, or midnight is the last feed, u hv to ensure the timing is the same everyday and change him immediately after that. Of cuz w a gd nite kiss

this will not happen overnite, bb will sleep longer each few days and finally sleep thru. it took me 2 wks to see him sleep thru w us. Mine initially wake up every 3hrs. with this mthd it slower increase to 4hr, 5hr and so on.

some ple say last feed give more but it is hard bcos my boy will drink everything and vomit while burp. i m afraid later he got phobia of bedtime so i give the same amt lor.

u can give a try , its work for me lah.

starry,

for me hor, normally he will be sleepy at abt 7-8 pm. will feed in the room with dim lights, after which wrap him up in cloth. used to wake up at 1am then 5 am but eversince he is back from my mil, he wakes up at 12, 3 and 6, very xiong ah

so for the last feed, say i fix it at 8pm, does it means that even if he doesnt cry for milk, i shld feed?

have u encountered where u done all the routine and when u leave the room, he cry, wat will u do then?

thks heaps!

hey Scott,

i believe we're both in a similar situation n dilemma bcos we share the same set of concerns.

my husband also thinks like yours, that with a maid around, we can be relieved of the household chores which leaves us more time to spend with baby. also leaving the bb at infantcare means we have to pick up the bb on time which may pose a problem on some occasions. also, like what pooh mentioned, i also considered the fact that i may need to keep the baby at home if he's sick and have to take leave when that happens...

for your case, since yr maid has a bad record, why don't you consider getting a replacement? as it is, i don't think she can be trusted, even though you may be happy with her babysitting. i guess trustworthiness is very important here. i consider my maid relatively good. she cooks well, is efficient with housework (in fact, she has been sittin in the living room watching over my baby who's sleepin and reading the magazine since 2pm) and good at handling my boy... by right i shouldn't have any complaints, but i cannot overlook the fact that she lied to me once (about having done some task when she did not)... the lie could be about something minor, but the trust has been betrayed... it will take much more for her to gain that trust from me again.

of cos the other reason why i dun feel like keepin her is purely a selfish one. i'm afraid my son will grow to like her more than me (and clearly he prefers her now) in time to come...

hope we can both get out of this dilemma soon...

gummie,
yr boy will noe that she is a maid n u r the mother. u have to be more patient, that day sure come in no time.
no choice for us, we have to work. unless we quit and b full time hse wife to look after our own babies.
this is only a short period that our bbs need some1 to take care. of cos, nothing is perfect or up to our expection in whichever we choose. Infant care, nanny, maids, own pp all have their pros n corns.
your maid is mostly afraid that u scold her. So long she is clean, didnt steal yr $$, take care of your bb well n even its a bonus for her to cook well.. i think, personally its more than enough.
the most important how to bring up our own babies are more important. Tats e main reason that i dun like to have own pp 2 take care keane. V hard to guide or coach him if he is spoilt. He would turn to "own pp" to avoid punishments and others..

twinkle starry,
i read from one article, pd advise to start on the 4th mth. Its consider another stage for bb. Mostly colic bbs will stop at 4th mths as the tummy get mature enough, no more colic. Weaning is intro slowly in this mth.
sleeping is a important factor for bb to grow; one main reason that pd advise to start on e 4th mth.
However, i believe up to individual. Will let keane slowly start at 4th mth. My niece created problems when she was 2.5mths, she wanted my sis to play with her till 2 or 3 am.Thats the main reason that my sis changed her sleeping habits even she was only 2.5mths old.
keane will cry to wake us up n then goes to sleep again. he is mostly to make fun on his poor mummy..He stares at the ceiling most of the time when we try to make him sleep at nites. Its ok for me, as long as he wont cry..i m ok.. hahah

Milo,

babies are babies of cus he does not want to follow schedules lah. if he is very awake then i will play w him in his cot lor, then he will get tired. if he cry and not very loud , i will pat him in his cot otherwise carry and rock lor if he is sleepy lah.

his last feed is 11pm and i will wake him if he is sleeping . so far he will be awake for his last feed, tis greedy boy know his food timing.

lee,
my boy is 2mth and 2wks now. i start training him since wk6 and managed to sleep thru 7hr only wk8. i had no choice as i take care of him all on my own and i really tired and need some rest. Also it helps to disturb daddy less too.

annie,

i cannot wait till 4th mth. so tired doing everything myself. me now WAHM with him together got to train early so i can hv some breathing space.

starry..

agree its very tiring..sigh..tot i almost there liao since he can slp from 7pm to 1am. a trip to batam now gotta restarts everything again

thks for ur help! will try it out tonight. hopefully it works

milo,

yr bb miss u mah , since u r almost there, it will be faster this round. u can use back yr old method and try first. he may already used to it just need tune back.

Hi Twinkle-starry,

Me so envious..my bb now wakes up 3 times per nite..so tiring, tried all methods like feed him more at the last feed, end up he vomit everything, change his clothes to PJ, ignore him until he "gei" etc etc...but he still wakes up..mabbe its becoz he is a small eater hence have to wake up more often...

dunno how I'm going to cope next week when I go back to work coz got to feed him plus pumping

I'm new in the tread... Give birth to twin boys on 9May06 in TMC..

Ivy, would like to order the wetsuit...

Pls see below:

1) Nick: Ivy
Size: 0 (6-12M)
Color: Berry or Ocean
Quantity:1

2) Nick: Annie
Color: Ocean or Coral

3) Nick: Twinkle-starry
Size:0.5(10-18M)
Color: Ocean
Quantity: 1

4) Nick: Yvonne Du
Color: Berry or Apple

5) Nick: Little_nana
Size:0(6-12M)
Color: Berry or coral

6) Nick: Gummie
Color: Ocean or Berry

7) Nick: gina_seow
Quzntity: 1

8)Nick: Taurus
Size:0.5(10-18M)

8)Nick: kissbb
Size:0(6-12M)---> Will confirm tonight again the size
Color: Ocean or Apple

how was the meet-up that dae? A pity i couldn't turn up... still haven met any of you guys before...

started work at my new place... have been knocking off realli late... and when i reach home, bb is asleep or about to fall asleep... if asleep, i will talk to her in her sleep, realized how much i realli miss her, and how rarely she sees mummy on weekdays... cos she sleeps all the way to morning, at about 7pm to 8pm... I wake up at 6am every morning to express... prob i can catch her a couple minutes in the morning, and i am then rushing off to work...

People sae that i am lucky to have my mil help me luk after, and actuali i do appreciate her effort, but i can't help but feel that bb is getting close to her... and perhaps also she is getting possessive over bb... my hubby is on morning shift this week... he came home early... i just knocked off... it was bb's last feeding time of the day... my hubby was feeding her, and i was playing with her... my mil went out for not more than 30 minutes, and came back, and without washing hands and everything, got my hubby to pass bb to her, and she continue feeding her... when bb has been facing her the entire day from morning till now... i was frustrated... think my hubby sensed sumthing and asked mi if i want to feed bb, i said dun want... cos u dun need 3 pple to feed bb?!

Well, i guess, it just have to be this way...

Hmmmm... its tough going back to work after 3 mths... still trying to get back the momentum...

twinkle starry,
can understand leh. so envy u, at can work at home. current job dont allow, unless i find one that work at home.
frankly speaking, its going to be tough if i m back to work next wednesday. my hb dun 1 a maid, said that having a stranger isnt safe.
So, i have fetch my keane after work, cook dinner and wash dishes after tat. Moreover, i still have to wake up to feed keane at around 3 to 4am only if keane sleeps last feeding at around mid nite.
Weekend will has to clean e house, ironing clothes.. cant imagine.. work like mad crow..

dun expect hb to help, he sure will show black face.. pity my life..hhahah

hi annie,
u fetch your bb everyday home after work? vis public transport or?
im very keen to fetch my gal home from my mum's place everyday but im driving, not really safe if im alone wif her only.

lee,
depend, if my hb works late, then i will have to take bus. Althrough my sis stays v near to my place but no direct bus. Have to transfer.
Y not safe to fetch yr gal home? dun listen 2 yr auntie lar. Ivy oso fetch her xavier home on friday.
tell u wat, bb loves to sleep on e ride. keane is v cracky bb, loves to cry lot, but 1s u put him on e car seat, start e engineer, he fall asleep fast. All bbs loves car ride.
tell yr mum n auntie, if not safe, how come u still driving daily.

Just another viewpt to share. Babies thrive under the loving care of caregivers, no matter who they are. So it's better to hsve a maid, or mil who genuinely loves ur baby n can show him/her that tender, loving care as opposed to a grumpy maid (babies can sense that too).
Being on our own here in the States, my baby misses out on that love fr someone else other than mummy n daddy (eg. parents-in-law) since they thrive better with more love fr more pple. So whenever we have gatherings, i m glad to let our friends carry him and he seems to enjoy the attention too. Hope this is a small consolation when u r sad thar ur baby doesn't bond with u as much as u expected.

cp,
i totally agreed of what you said. keane loves me to praise him instead of scolding him. He would smile or show "shy' face if i praise him n would bend his lip when i scold him.
These days, my hb n i try to give him neck exercise, by tummy on e bed, keane will try to lift his head up, he always use his legs to help which of cos the wrong way. We praised him everytime after he did it right.
still can remember that he cried initially we made him to do this exercise. He was so scared cos his head face down on e mattress.hahah

Catherine
Sigh... My maid does not want to bond with my son at all... at least your maid loves your child. I am so worried that my maid will abuse my children if I am not around!!

Annie
Can tryo to get a neighbour/friend to cook for you? My gf did that after she gave birth, not so stressful.

A thousand apologies
I missed the gathering. Was too busy feeding baby that I missed the outing... Sorry

Welcome kiss
Hey twins?? do share on how you cope!

lee,

yah, i drive too..everyday playing games with the carpark aunties...hahaha...trying to save some $$ here and there..So far quite lucky.

As for driving bb home, maybe you want to get those rear facing carset so that bb can sit infront with you? For me, i am using the normal carsear, so bb is at the back seat...no problem so far with me driving alone with bb...

Annie,

why must do everything? Now u hv baby and he already been u busy liao, just leave some hsework till weekend or dun work daily lor. dun forget by the time u come back w keane already so late and tired after a day work.

For me although i work fm home but it is even longer hours than average employees. I already decided hsework leave it to wkends except laundry. me dun work dinner evryday the most is twice or thrice a week and depend on my schedule. i already told hubby and he has to agreed that we hv to close 1 eye now cannot do everything like we used to do. Alternative get a part-time maid who comes in once a week? me still exploring with this idea.

Hi gummie,

One of my friend did install a video camera to monitor her maid n kids at home .... its not a pinhole camera .... noe really sure how she do it ...can help u to check ...

Its actually gd to start training ur bb to sleep thru early instead of waiting till 4 mths ... my boy start to sleep thru at 6 wks ... but not very constant and we slowly adjust his schedule and now we usually fix his last feed at ard 9-9.30 pm and his next feed will usually be ard 7am the next morning .... its acheivable ... and not necessary to give them more on the last feed ... from wat i noe ...when they are sleeping ...they dun really feel hungry ...

taurus, milo and starry,

can i assume that your bbs are slping thru becos they are on FM? My bb is on bm and is waking up at 1am and 5.30am ( which then we feed fm)...then 8am for bm. Guess when bb is bm, its hard to slp thru cos they get hungry easily.

Hi Ivy,

My friend's BB is on total BM and also able to sleep thru at 8wks ....

I think the problems usually lies with us that we keep worrying tt our BB will be hungry ... so once we see them wake up we quickly feed them milk ...so it become more of an habit than needs ... important is to monitor if your bb waks up at exactly the same time every nite ... coz I read from book ...if same time every nite ... its mostly an habit n not tt they are hungry ...

Ivy,

i dun think so lor. u can check Apr mum thread some bbs on BM also sleep thru and some on FM also wake up for 2 feeds in the night.

Hi Annie,

Have u considered ordering tingkut dinner? Some caterers are ok, then u do not have to cook at nite...veri tiring one lei...alternatively mabbe u can ask ur sis's maid to cook ur share n u give some $$ to ur sis for the food?

Have to ask ur hubby to share the workload ma, cant be u the only one who takes care of bb and cleans the house and still have to work..if u fall sick then worse...

Hi Taurus,
eeeee if I dun feed the little prince at nite, he sure will scream the house down n wakes up his daddy...

Hi Missk,

Would like to check w u....when u using the PIS Advanced, do u have to keep on switching on n off the machine? I have to coz I dun have any let-down feeling and the second phase, does not work for me lei... u how huh? how much do u managed to pump per time?

hey Taurus,
i understand that normal video camera will be visible to the maid, which may defeat the purpose? anyway, if it's not too much trouble, can you help me check with your friend? thanks so much...

and, how do you train your baby to sleep through to begin with? dun give them milk when they wake up n cry for it in the middle of the night? my boy is feeding up to max of 150ml now... we have a problem whenever he refuses to finish his milk for his last feed... then he'll wake up at a v short interval and his whole timing is messed up from then... do your babies feed the same amount every time?

hi ih_jyc,

How old is ur boy now?? Dun worry ... before my boi sleep thru ... every feeding time .. he not only scream the house down .... I think his scream can scream a few blocks down ...ahahha... me n hubby keep telling BB ...daddy n mummy will have to cover our face to go out now .... if not ppl will not this is the parents of tt screaming bb .... hahahah....

By the way , have u received ur clothing from CCT?? Any comments on the size n quality??

Hi Taurus,

He is 2 months n 10 days now... he huh, sometimes me feel like throttling him, he never cry but screams, when I look after him, he is a terror but whenever my mil comes, he is an angel....(ie he sleeps thru the afternoon n refuses to sleep in the nite when I'm looking after him @ nite. haiz....

Nope have not received my clothes from CCT. think she has not ordered yet. will let u know the quality n size once I receive them.

Btw, will try to go shopping tomolo if can find someone to look after bb. As have to be chop chop, got any recommendations on which shops/place I can go? Me still flabby flabby

ohh...more stupid qns

For the mothers who are breastfeeding, how often u pump in the office ? How to sterilise the pumps? Also how to achieve let-down effects?

peiseh, me super blurz one....

Hi gummie,

Well ... i think the purpose of the video camera is not to spy on our maid ... but just to monitor and make sure tt everything is ok at home ... since u say tt ur maid dotes on ur bb ... so I dun think she will do anything to harm the bb .... and its also gd to let them noe... so thye noe tt u can see them even when u r not at home n thye will be more cautious and careful ... and u can ask ur mil to drop in to spot check once in a while lor .... and I think its impt to tell them tt the video cam is to enable u to see ur bb from work place otherwise thye might not feel comfy like u wanna spy on them.... dun worry ...i will check with my firend n let u noe ...

Initially I schedule the last feed at ard 12 am ..... and when my boy wakes up at ard 3 am .... we try to give water instead of milk ... sometimes he will suckle the water and go back to sleep ...sometimes he will get angry n scream for milk ... and we will give him milk ... and after a few nites ... instead of waking up at 3 am .. he wakes up at 4 -5 am ... and slowly 6am ... sometimes he can even wake up at 8.30am ... but now he usually wakes up at 7am ... and we also slowly move his last feeding time from 12am to 11 pm to 10 pm and now 9-9.30 pm .... alot of time u have to use ur own judgement whether to give milk or not when he wakes up ... but if you keep giving everytime he wakes up ... he will keep waking up to ask for milk ...

Hi lh_jyc,

Luckily my bb quite cooperative ... whenever my mum looks after him ... he will seems to take longer to fall asleep and sometimes will wake up in the middle of the nite ... but when i look after him ... he is quite an easy bb .. me usually get 8 hrs of gd nite sleep ...kekek

But i think coz my mum more lenient with him but for me if I see tt he sleeps quite alot in the late morning or afternoon ... I will try to keep him awake in the evening ... so he easier to sleep at nite ... and I usually change his diaper before his last feed so tt after feeding he will falls asleep easier then change after the last feed ... for my mum ... she always feel very wasteful for the pampers and will try not to change unless she feels is quite wet ... but for me .. wet or not ... i just change before the last feed ... coz i feel that its easy to fall alseep with a clean pampers and also the chances of him waking up at nite to change pampers decreases .... I also avoid playign with him at nite ... which sometimes my hubby n mum does when they see him not sleepy yet ... but i will stop them ...coz the more they tok ...the more awake will be the bb ... have to let him noe tt its sleeping time ... I will just leave him in the cot to sleep himself ...

Ivy

Once the baby gains enough weight and bulk, they should be able to sleep through. Sien sleeps thrmost of the time... just bear with it

ivy,

no leh, my boy not considered as sleeping through the night even though he is on FM
last night he slept at 7.30, woke up at 1 and 6 am, i already super happy.

taurus,

shall try ur method on feeding water but u reckon if my boy last week is at 7.30 - 8.00, when he wakes up at 1, most prob is hungry?

Hi milo,

Yah ... usually in such situation I will feed milk .... coz I think 7.30 - 8.00 still abit early for last feed ... so its impt to try to adjust their feeding schedule to having last feed ard 9.30 -10 pm ..... I think ur boy is on the transition period to sleeping thru ..so hang it there ... he should be able to sleep more hrs pretty soon ....

My friend's son at 2 mths plus is having his last feed at 8-8.30 pm but I more kaisu ...scare my bb hungry ..so still fix at ard 9.30 pm ... 8) ... and fyi ... my boy boy now is still drinking ard 120ml only

taurus,

how do you 'fix' yr bb's last feed at 9.30pm? is he always awake during that time? or do you wake him up to feed? if you wake him up, does he finish his milk? i ask this bcos if i wake my boy up for a feed (vs him waking up himself n crying hungry) he will most likely not finish his milk.

Hi gummie,

Currently my boy is on 3.1/2hr to 4 hrs schedule ... and his morning feed usually starts at 7am, followed by 10.30 am , 2 pm, 5.30pm and hence last feed will be usually 9 pm but I will try to drag him till 9.30 pm or even 10 pm ... unless he is screaming for milk... during the day time ... their timing may go a little out.. but if I find tt he is sleeping too long ... I will try to wake him up ... and once wake up ... he usually will be screaming for milk ...8) ... the other day his timing is alittle out ... and his last feed is suppose to be ard 10 pm ... but since he looks quite sleepy (coz he didnt sleep much during late afternoon) ...I bring forward his feeding almost 1 hr .. fed him at 9 pm and then put him to bed .... alot of time we have to use our own judgement and not follow the schedule blindly ...8) .. on and off my boy do wake up at nite and sometimes I also give him milk if I think he looks hungry

taurus,

i agree cleaning diaper is easy for bb to sleep. Like change clothes, diapers shiok shiok liao can Zzzz. i also always change after last feed waste never mind lah sleep also must be comfort mah.

u so fast last feed is 9plus liao. i hv not train him to drink so early. mine still at 11pm.

1h_jyc,
my keane oso like that. v cracky n dun sleep even daytime at home. However, v guai at other's pp place.
some pp said that elderly has a way to handle bb..
doubt to order tingkut dinner cos they send v early around 3 to 4pm. usually will hang on yr gate.. not safe.

hi ivy,
my gal gal is on total TBF...her last feed is usu 10 plus, 11 plus...then she will wake up at 5am plus, 8 am for her feed. i tot it's not bad liao...at least give me 5-6 hrs of sleep hee hee. sometimes, she might sleep from 8 plus onwards and wake up only at 5 plus for her feed. hee hee.

gabby's mum & those experienced mum,
recently i force keane to drink extra 40ml milk per feeding. he will have at least 4.5 to 5hrs interval for next feeding. Is it something wrong?
Using similac, so with 2.5 spoons should be 150ml, i add extra 10ml in case, he don't finish e last 20ml.