(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

kk,
for me i am not allowed to eat seafood and red meat for 4 mths. duck is also red meat so cannot eat.

Taurus/ydnic,
i also very kiasi especially when very hard to know fake milk powder.

Hi ydnic

i stay in sengkang and my gal also take enfalac A+. If u can get at cheaper price, pls let me noe. I dun mind sharing the bulk purchase with u gals.

Hi Joyce

Teck Whye is too far for me. I stay in sengkang.

i think it shd be okie for her to poo only once in 2 days. Wil check with PD at next visit.

My gal wan to be carry and pat to sleep. Then she fall asleep and once i put her on the bed, she will wake up immediatley. Anyone having same prob? Any advise?

B'cos of this, she sleep v little in the day. I am getting v tired cos need to carry her most of the time and cant get any sleep during the day as she is not sleeping.

She is now in wk 6.

Do ur give ur bb pacifier? Round or flat type better? Or which brand is better? Currently using pigeon but she always cant suck successfully and will throw temper. Think need to have patience to guide her along.

Ivy
Think that is normal... bf more watery...

Annie
I always thought no honey at all till 3. My no 1 is 2 and I have not given him honey as it contains some stuff that causes poisoning of a chemical nature. Not food poisoning. My MIL and SIL also told me the same thing.

Similac
How much does a tin cost?

Annie
did a search and found what my sil means by not giving babies honey

From babycentre

Honey sometimes contains a spore of the bacterium Clostridium Botulinum. This can cause a rare form of food poisoning (botulism) in babies and, very occasionally, in adults. Babies under six months are most vulnerable. The symptoms of botulism appear around eight to 36 hours after consuming the honey or other contaminated food. Symptoms may include constipation, listlessness and lack of appetite. If you suspect your baby may be affected, seek medical help straight away. Although cases of botulism in babies are very rare, it is recommended that you don't give your baby honey until after his first birthday.

Another reason not to add honey or sugar to your baby's foods and drinks is because they can harm his teeth and may also give him a 'sweet tooth'. If, however, you do choose to add something sweet, then fruit juice, pured fruit, mashed banana or dried fruit make good alternative sweeteners.

Babe99,

my boy is in week 6 too and seldom slp in the day. But i found out that he like new environment...been trying out for the past few days, either he will slp in the new place or he will be having fun there and when come home, slp well cos he was too tired...

tmrw gog back to work liao, hopefully i can get some sense back! My life is now bb, milk and slp...haha..

Hi joyce,
my friend's wife told me no seafood for 4mths, tats wat she d since she was on natural delivery. E saying is that the wound wont recover well, ie yr womb initally swollen n take time to get back in shape.

taurus,

regarding the pheumococcal prevention jab, i checked with my moh friend, such jab together with rotavirus prevention jab still under testing. Didnt noe got any side effects after 5 yrs. ( they had the tests 2 years). nOt to scare you, but i wonder d yr pd mention 2 u or not? My pd did tell me this. Wondering whether to take the rotavirus jab or not cos keane love to suck his fist.

Ivy,
i thought bf is ok n easier for bb to poo few times a day.

Babe,

I still get that problem at times although bb in 2 mths 1 wk already. Especially at nite when she gets quite grumpy
But on the whole i would say she is rather cooperative liao. Depends on her mood lah heee..

Pacifier.. i bought avent and my bb ok with it.. but we only let her suck 3-4 times before, now no more. She want to suck something, we feed her water.

gabby's mum,

Didn't know there is so much on honey. My mum also asked me to feed bb with honey before. But i said no because honey causes phlegm in bb and my bb was still in her 1st mth and having lots of phlegm in the throat. Now she is better liao, not much phlegm. So till now not feeding her anything else other than milk and water to be on the safe side

gabby's mum
Thanks for yr infor. i got the pure honey, keane is ok with it. Luckily he didnt has those symptoms. but keane is too young for fruit juices, i intend to give him when he is at 6mths old.

My mum gave me "Mie ya tang" mix with water when i was infant.
e cheapest similac i get is $28.80. I am looking for mummies here to share to buy in bulk, so that can get cheaper price. R u interested?

catherine,
how many cans u want for similac stage 1 for infants? trying to get as many qty as i could so that i can ask the shop owner to give better price. hehe.. :p

For mummies with babies with sleep problems, maybe you can try reading the book "Secrets of the Baby Whisperer" by Tracy Hogg. I found the book very useful and picked up a few tips. Will share some pointers from her book here.

1) White noise - vacuum cleaner, hair dryer, etc
Babies like white noise cos it reminds them of the womb, prob cos of blood whooshing around.
I use the hair dryer and my kitchen hood on my 5 week old Ethan. It works! He will be crying and the moment I turn on the hair dryer, he will be silenced! So I just leave it on till he's drowsy, then turn it off (trying not to rely too much on it).

2) Sshh..pat - Make Sshh sounds resembling white noise. Sometimes got to make very loud 'sshh' sounds accompanied by patting (make it resemble the heart beat in the womb).

3)Swaddle - I dunno whether swaddling is popular in Spore cos of the hot weather, but it is common here. I found that it helps my baby sleep more better cos it feels like being in the womb and the hands are swaddled together (cos they can't coordinate their hand movements and I found that Ethan always gets woken up by his hands when he stretches).

4) Pick up/Put down - This is a technique that requires patience. Put your baby down once he's asleep. If he wakes up, pat him, rock him, etc. But once he's asleep, put him down immediately. Might need to do many times. The author once did it over 100 times for a couple's baby, but there was huge improvement the next day. Only had to pick up a few times.

5) Put the baby down when drowsy or wide awake. Cos the reasoning is that when the baby falls asleep in your arms, and wakes up during his brief awakenings (which is about 10-20 minutes into his sleep cycle), he will be startled to find himself in another place and will cry. Pat him or continue sshing to aid the transition. I found that this works on Ethan, I will put him down when he's drowsy, then continue patting him until he sleeps. Sometimes I succeed, sometimes I need to start the process all together again. But i found that he is sometimes able to go to sleep on his own again during his brief awakenings. This morning i didn't even carry him, just patted him and he fell asleep. I am aiming for the stage where I don't even have to do anything and he will fall asleep. I am still very far from my goal but can see slight improvements day by day.

About carrying all the time, the book calls it 'accidental parenting'`- unintentional parenting. If u always carry ur baby to sleep, he will only learn to fall asleep that way. It might still be alright now, but it would be a different story when u have to lug a 10kg baby ard.

Abt naps, they need to take good naps (abt 45 min each) to sleep well at nite. It takes them abt 20 minutes to fall asleep. I used to be very impatient and expected my baby to fall asleep in 5 minutes. Sometimes crying is also a process of falling alseep. Ethan has to struggle and sometimes cry a bit to sleep.

There are a lot of sleep books out there. I usually borrow from the library and read it when I m breastfeeding (nothing else to do then). Another good book to read is 'No cry sleep solution'by Elizabeth Pantley. Oh, btw, the baby whisperer book has a forum where lots of parents ask for advice on sleep and feeding, etc. It's at http://www.babywhisperer.com

Hope some of the tips here might help.

CP,

Thanks for the info, its veri useful!

Annie,

My tummy is one big flabby mass n ugly with all the stretch marks
thinking of going to amore to exercise again, I still have a package w them

Babe,
I share the same problem. At nite will swaddle the bb so tat he will sleep longer. During the day, sometimes will use the sarong (not advisable) but my hubby and mil insist, i cant say no coz after ML, my MIL will be looking after the prince for me.

Hi Ivy,

Check w u, u do pumping and latch on for ur bb rite? when u say y are pumping every 3 hours, u means u are pumping 8 times per day? u wake up how many times at nite to pump huh? also how much milk per pump?

peiseh so many ??? me still pumping but not so often coz I can only pump when bb is sound asleep or during the evening so one day only managed to pump about 5 times....but still MS is very low...wonder whether its becz me just cant produce milk lor

Anyone already give pacifier to your bb?
round and long ones and cheaper can get it anywhere from normal shops? or short and flat ones from brands like avent,nuk...etc?

Hi Annie,

My FIL checked for u liao. The medical shop here sells the similac at $29.50/tin...more expensive than ur source...

Joyce,

haha, my mil wanted the sarong too, after she takes over looking after the bb in her house when i go back to work. But i say NO to her.

Ydnic,

I gave avent pacifier to my bb and she likes it. So far she only sucked 3-4 times in her 1st mth. After that we dun give her liao and now she is never on pacifier. So no reliance on pacifier then.

joyce

same here!!! Very low MS. And I try my best to express every three hour and I also latch my son on. I eat loads of fish and drink papaya fish soup but it's not helping at all. I read in another thread that I can eat Motherlove Goat's Rue. What is that?

joyce,

yes, i pump abt 7-8 times a day. Wake up at 2 am and 6 am to pump as well. Each time will have abt 80ml-100ml.
Today back to office liao, still trying to see how i can pump and at wat interval, hopefully the supply will not drop...

kk,
admire ur guts...I've said no but they insist, I dare not say anything lol

Ivy,
Woh! Me so envious... u are really veri hardworking. can wake up @ nite to pump 2...

me only wakes up to feed bb and then back to zzzz

Hi Ivy,

peiseh more qns...

how long did u take to establish ur milk flow? I'm now reaching my 2nd mth, think its a forgone situation

what pump did u use? did u massage ur breast b4 pumping? did u use fernugreek (does not help for me lei)

Hi missk,

Are u the one using PIS advance? How do u find it? me thinking of investing in one coz I read from some threads that say its beri good in stimulating milk flow...
(my hubby say me siao coz I've already got 3 pumps liao)

Can advice? Btw, u know where we can rent to try it???

ydnic,
i d give my keane pacifier, using pigeon brand for newborn till 5mths. I also brought the other two, which is for 5-8mths then 8mths +.
However, keane loves to suck his fist more than pacifier now. He doesnt rely on pacifier unless we want him to sleep.
Some people said that by giving bb pacifier, kind of hard to drop the habit in future. I believe its up to individual. My niece already dun rely on it since she is 6mths old now.

taurus,

hehe same as u, i ate practically almost everything that is a big NONO to my mum, prawn, oyster and dunno wat else..

annie,

the 28.80 similac, need how many cans to get that price? i very ks, use the voucher from my bb shower and stock up but super fast finish.

joyce,

my ms is stable fr 2nd week of delivery. Eating more fish and hot drinks. No, i din massage or take Fernugreek, just place the pump there and start expressing.

I am using Avent DUO...find that the suction is strong and good for me. Some say ameda is good too.

taurus,
i double checked with my pd just now regarding the rotavirus prevention jab n oso e pneumococcal diease.
She stated that USA had used such jabs for more than 5 years n not much side effects.
I oso took the jab for my keane, since he got a hole in e heart, i dun dare to take risk. I oso took e rotavirus jab, since he loves to suck his fists these days.

milo66,
wat kind of voucher? NTUC? or robinson? Can stock up wet wipe & diaper or dryper.
$28.80 this price is from online order from e following website. min 4 cans to get foc delivery to yr door.i had finish 2 cans already since i ordered. E expiry date is 2008, ok for me.
i m trying to find few mummies to join me so that i can buy in bulk from grocery shop or medical shop n get e boss to give cheaper price since buy more cans. Are you interested?

http://dignus.sg/index.php

hey joyce

I havent tried other pumps. So far, the pump is good at stimulating.

I am just very disappointed that my Ms is very low. I dun think that has anything to do with the pump right?

Hi Annie

Have just ordered 4 cans of Similac Stage One from the website u mentioned. They'll be delivering tonight
Not sure how many I'll need yet. How many cans to order then got special price arh?

annie,

mi juz received the 4tins of similac frm dignus. exp 2008 so ok lah. btw the guy told mi they r bringing in nepia diapers soon...

Joyce

I took fernugreek 2 weeks ago and I am glad to say that the result is quite good leh. Now I can also get 80 - 100ml/3hrs (used to be 30-40ml) How long did you it for? My MS drop when I first took and I freak out too, then went back to the pharmacy and the sales said to continue taking, MS came back gradually, I didnt latch my bb on also.

Missk

Think pump dont play a part bah? I tried Medela Mini Electic and Avent manual, still prefer the manual...althouth very tiring lah!

Hi pearlyn,

have taken the pills for about 1 week plus...took 4 tablets per day.. MS dropped also..

Will continue taking.... hopefully the result will be as sama sama like u ;)

Anybody give up on BM?

Btw, the supplier quoted me $28 for the old formula.Think she is not so reliable.Better get from Annie her price is $28.70 if self collect.At least she give us her handphone num which shows she is credible.

Joyce

Yeh! Dont give up, keep trying!

twinkle-starry

I started taking when I am in week 6. MS dropped a great deal after down with fever. So I tried the supplement to restore if possible. I not greedy lah, as long as can go back to my usual volumn I happy liao! Result not too bad leh, finishing my first bottle soon, going for the next definitely

Hi Pearllyn,

Thanks! How many tablets did u take? My bottle recommended 6 per day but me scared to take so much due to some medical history.

Btw, I only have another month to try coz going back to work end July. If MS still so low will have to give up on BM
so demoralised was initially veri determined to provide the best for Rayne, but failed

How old is ur bb now?

Formulae
I was told that some of the medical halls selling cheaper formulae brought them in from malaysia, and it is different from those sold in NTUC / Cold Storage, which are imported overseas. Hence the difference in price.

lorraine wang,
not true! Ntuc sell control price cos under govt. cold storage sometimes sell more x. if u r able to get lobang that some clinic do sell formula milk cheaper but u need to buy in carton. My colleague gets Pedisure $4 cheaper each tin fr one clinic.

haha ...ivy, how often do you express? Is there enuff? Today, I feel so discouraged at expressing. I am going to see a lactation consultant later but I havent booked an appt yet. She is not there to pick up the fone. Do you supplement?

Those whose menses back, how long does the first one last?? Wow, can be pretty heavy ya.. but still manageable. got to run toilet often, else will stain panty.