(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hey gals,

for those who decided to go back to work and take the balance as off day, u know lah our maternity leave includes weekends, so the bal leave to also include wkend?

my new boss has requested me to go back to work in 2 wks time. i m still trying to see how to fit in bb schedule since i hv not got a nanny and infantcare if i start after 1st there is no subsidy.

447641.jpg

bookworm,

Same here.. only bring bb to both mum's place. Didn't bring to other places liao.

And seems like my girl dun like to sit in the pram. Dunno why leh. Cramped meh?

gabby's mum,

WOW.. so u taking unpaid leave ya?

Hi Yvonne,

my breast super saggy and painful coz of the constant pumping

hee...think ur bb taking more milk than mine.. mine is 7 weeks now. taking 90ml every 3 hours inclus of waking up 2 times per nite...dunno how to train him to sleep thru the nite, his timing like alarm clock...on the dot one

Hi bookworm,
I'm also interested in teh sling. can let me know if u are successful? thanks!

bookworm, joyce,taurus,
im getting the sling tomorrow.. u can contact florence at 9128 3264. She is the one to liaise with.

thanks hazel.

Looks good. I wonder if it is easy to use, i find the MIM one quite troublesome. Maybe you test out and let us know, if it it cool , then i order on Monday. By the way, the carrier looks kind of easy to use too. I wonder if we purchase the carrier, is it necessary to buy the sling.

Hazel, any delivery charges?

Hi bookworm,

I ordered from this for my relatives and friends http://www.sweetsurprise.com.sg/fullmonth.htm

they did a postcard for me. veri nice, cant load it coz file too big.

for my colleagues, I ordered biscuits from a lady who baked them at home. she customised and put my bb's name on the biscuits...I'll see if I can load the pics in tonite (actually need my hubby's help on this coz me not IT savvy)

Hi Hazel,

Do they deliver or u go and collect? Can let me know whether it is user friendly? I've actually got 2 as gifts but find them not nice.. so...

bookworm, joyce,
will be going to her house to collect i think .. as she just gave mi her address?? i thought is meet at tiong bahru mrt ..

hi sori ladies

ya. call florence for the sling

basically the sling is very gd coz its 100% cotton and there is padding...other brand dont have..i love the sling...

hi sori ladies

ya. call florence for the sling

basically the sling is very gd coz its 100% cotton and there is padding...other brand dont have..i love the sling...

kk,
i went robinson sales & taka. quite attractive sales going on. Through its friday but still a lot of shoppers around.
I left keane at my mum's place. I doubt i have hands to buy things and bringing him along especially orchard area is alway crowded.

Annie,

So did u buy any bb stuff?? Taka fair is until July. Perhaps i will drop by someday

Ya i agree. Whenever we go ntuc marketing, we can't bring bb along because basically we dun have extra pair of hands to carry things anymore.

You can buy maternity pads with the stick ons... dont need to buy so many as the flow will not be so heavy after a few days... can use normal pads for nightflow... good as its longer.

edksd,

dun need to buy loop unless u intend to use it at home. In hopsital, they will use the loop type on us and the nurse will help to tie the string to the loop. When discharge i already use the stick on maternity pad and i find it more comfortable.

hi all!

Wah long time never post liao..

Ivy, wah ur boy really sick of home eh? hahah.. must bring him out more often la.. next time if he dun want to slp put him at my plc!Cfm can eat,slp and poo! *wink* lets wait for anna to be back so that we can plan more gatherings!

twinkle, Kevan enjoys the aircon in NTUC hor.. i dun dare to bring Ariel out yet! I'm a kiasi mummy..scared she'll fall sick. Maybe after her 5-in-1 jab then i'll dare to bring her to public areas. ;P

Ystd my girl slept at 11+pm (earliest so far!) and she woke up at 5.30am. Drank milk and slept all the way til 10am! She sleep i also sleep.. so now i'm full of energy! ha!

Re: Sling

The MIM sling really troublesome leh.. i tried to carry my girl in that sling..she screammmm!
Maybe i dunno how to carry her properly la.. but its tough when she keeps struggling. And she likes to be carried in an upright position. So the sling doesnt really work for me..

edksd,

Agreed its more advisable to buy the stick-on pads. Even when i was using the loop pads in hosp, the midwives didnt actually loop it ard my undies (think its too troublesome). They just put 2 pads one on top of the another to prevent leakage. The only good thing abt loop pads is that they are much cheaper then the stick-ons.

edksd,

Yes, what sponge has shared is really useful!! When i was in TMC, they provided such maternity pads with loops (kotex brand) and aiyoh, as i got out of bed to walk, my lochia gushed and the whole floor kena!! My hubby saw already so scared hahaha quickly called nurse :p

Got leftovers when i discharged but i didn't bring home lah.. what for?

Use stick-on pads as per normal..

kk and twinkle,

how come TMC give you loop one? I was given stick on ones leh...
Is it C-sect and Natural is diff?

Sponge,
yes, i think Xavier is sick of home. Now slping well at my mum house...haha..

hi annie,

the website u given mi to order similac, i tot u say muz order 4tins den they send?? i juz ordered 2tins but they still indicate delivery will b sent to mi in 2-5daes time leh...

so is there any min amt b4 delivery?? n oso is the expiry date long??

Hello gals...
Will you gals mind if I join you? I am in June 06 MTB thread.
I am deciding between 5-in-1 and 6-in-1 jab for my boy... I am quite confused on how many jabs are there in 5-in-1 and 6-in-1. Can anyone enlighten me??? Thanks in advance.

Have you gals tried breastfeeding while outside?? Got any suggestions how to do it??

gina,
yes, min 4 tins else they charge you delivery charge. I think e gal will call u n inform u.
all the 4 cans expire in dec 2008, so ok for me, cos keane finishs 1 can within a wk times.

twinkle-starry,
4get to tell u, i saw shampoo for e ...cap thing on yr son's head.. but i didnt buy.

had few arguements with my hubby regarding keane's cry. I told him that unless bb crys for change of dryper or for milk, else dun carry him. He isnt happy and said that cannot allow bb to cry too long since he got a small hole in e heart and belly pop up.
I told him that the hole will close by itself and no way we can do anything for it, same goes to e belly; have to wait.
Shouldnt becos of the above matters then pamper him like that. Keane is v smart, he alway wants to be carried and especially evening time and weekend when my hubby is around.
Of cos,i do carry him if he crys long n non stop or when he got hiccup. However, i found that keane seems to know that using crying to threaten us.
Hence, these two days, i start not to carry him when he crys for carry. Of cos, he wont stop crying n his volume will shot up.
wat do u think? should i just carry him when he crys for carry or not? i dun want keane to have such habit to use cry to threaten us and get whats he want.
Even my brother warned me not to pamper baby at such young age else he will learn to threaten by crying when he grows old.

Annie,

Haha, guess wat.. my hubby also loves to carry the bb. Then now bb very smart. When i am alone at home with bb, she is ok with everything - sitting in rocker, lying on bed and if carried, will be for a while only. BUT when she SEE my hubby on weekends and weekday nites, she will get super GRUMPY and want to be carried!! And true enough, my hubby will carry her and walk around the whole house.. terok rite?

There.. just now the bb cried sooooo loudly after her milk feed.. we thought she hungry.. but actually not, she want to be carried. The daddy carry her walk around, she sleep quietly liao. SIgh!

twinkle-starry,

i found this info. hope to help u

It looks like my baby has dandruff. Is it cradle cap?
Probably. Cradle cap is very common. If your baby's scalp has flaky, dry skin that looks like dandruff, or even thick, oily, yellowish scaling or crusting patches, it's most likely cradle cap. Cradle cap isn't pretty, but it's harmless. Most often it shows up in the first few months of life, and it usually clears up on its own after several months X six or seven at the most X although some babies have it until they near their first birthday.

You might notice the same condition around your baby's ears or eyebrows, or even in his armpits and other creases. When it's not on his scalp, it's called seborrheic dermatitis.

What causes it?
We don't know. For some time, experts believed that the hormones your baby received from you at the end of pregnancy overstimulated your baby's oil-producing (seborrheic) glands, resulting in cradle cap. But with further research there seems to be less agreement about the culprit. What we do know is that it's not caused by poor hygiene or allergies. It's not contagious, and it probably doesn't bother your baby at all, although if it gets severe it might itch.

How should I treat my baby's flaky scalp?
You don't really need to do anything, but if it bothers you, try more frequent shampooing and gently brushing your baby's scalp with a soft brush or a terrycloth towel. Some parents find a vegetable oil remedy helpful, especially to loosen any dry flakes. If you want to give it a try, rub just a small amount of vegetable oil (such as olive oil) on your baby's scalp, and leave it on for about 15 minutes. Then comb out the flakes with a fine-tooth comb or brush them with a soft brush. Make sure you follow up by washing your baby's scalp with a gentle baby shampoo X the last thing you want to do is leave oil (which can cause the flakes to stick) on his head. You might try leaving the shampoo on for a few minutes before rinsing, to help cut the oil.

Should I take my baby to the doctor?
Talk with your baby's doctor if your baby's cradle cap persists beyond age 6 months, is severe, or spreads beyond his scalp. She may suggest an over-the-counter or prescription seborrhea shampoo, or, for an inflamed scalp, a cortisone cream.

Can I stop it from coming back?
Once your baby's cradle cap is completely gone, it's unlikely to return, but to help remove dead skin while it's waning, you might want to give your baby more frequent shampooing. Don't overdo it, though, or you can further stimulate his oil-producing glands. A cleansing two or three times a week with a mild shampoo should be plenty.

lyn,
i extact this following from 1 of May mum. hope to help u

To simplify things ... the only different bet 5-in-1 & 6-in-1 is the Hep B ... if u take the 5-in-1 ..the hep B jabs are given separately at 1st mth & 6 mths and the 5-in-1 jabs will be taken at 3, 4 & 5 mths .... so all in all ur bb will have to take total of 5 jabs ... 2 hep B & 3 5-in-1 ..... whereas the 6-in-1, the Hep B is incorporated into the 5-in-1 so it becomes 6-in-1 ... and only need to take at 1.5 - 2 mths, 3 mths & 5 mths ....so total only need 3 jabs .... but for those mum who got Hep B ...

like to check with anyone interest to buy this? any mummy had brought for your 1st bb? Is it good? any other place that sell this? quite expensive and only use only short period of time

Bumbo Baby Sitter
Bumbo Baby Sitter sits baby upright with proper orthopedic-support?designed seat. Made from soft durable foam material ensuring comfort for baby and flexibility such that it does not hamper babys movements. Babys body weight automatically suctions?seat in place. Suitable from 3 months.

Awards

?National Parenting Seal of Approval 2005 USA
?Best New Product 2003 Awards UK
?Best Product 2003 Netherlands
?Top Brand 2005 Korea
?Innovation and Sustainability Awards 2004 SA
?Parents a choisi France ?security, innovative and practicality 2005
?TTT Toy Tips Tested Mark of Excellence USA 2004
?iParenting Hot Awards 2003 in the USA
?Top 10 Coolest Products 2005 ?Chicago Sun Times
?Recognising Brilliant Ideas- Financial Mail 2004
?Dti Business Excellence Awards
?Design for Export Advantage Design Institute Award 2005
and more...

http://www.kidzloft.com/shopping/pgm-more_information.php?id=300&=SID#MOREINFO

ivy,
i did put keane at my mum's hse for few hours when i went shopping on friday. My mum called after an hour to ask me to bring back Keane asap. cos she can't tahan that he didnt sleep & she cant do anything.
This is oso part of the reason that i don't want to carry him anymore beside feeding him and changes his dryper.
By the way, i just go through the avent products small booklet. Stated that you can change the teat for xavier, if he is ready to move onto a faster flow rate. he will suck harder to get the milk more quickly and oso signs of tiredness or frustration during feeding. The age indications are approximate as bbs develop at different rates.
I still stick to teat No.1 as keane seems to waste a lot of milk if i use teat No.2. I have brought teat No.3, No. 4 @ robinson since there is a 20% discount.

hi annie

i bought the bumbo chair for my elder gal amlst 3 yrs ago. my gal love to sit in..veri convenient to use esp when feeding time. i just put her into the bumbo and then feed her.

if mummies who wants to do flashcards for your bbs, bumbo chair also very gd to use..just put bb in bumbo and u can start flashing..without the bumbo, u need some1 to carry ur bb and watch u flashing the cards..

HI Annie,
Thank you very much for the information
Probably I will look through the past postings bvy taurus also... You all having a discussion on this last week ah?
I have a very different view about carrying baby at a very young age... I got brainwashed by the books I have been reading already :p. I read that babies cry for a reason. Sometimes, it's for security and love. If it's for security and love, gotta carry and talk to baby...

pooh,
At which month did you start your baby on flashcards? Which month can baby start sitting on bumbo seat?

Annie,

tks 4 the info. guess wat i rub baby oil on his head in circular motion and the skin peel off as i rub, dun even need comb i think it is drying up. now he look better. hee...

Pooh,
before bb know how to sit by themselves, can use bumbo chair ? 3rd mth their head shld able to hold on it own, when do they learn to sit?

twinkle,

What is bumbo chair?? I realise my girl likes to be in upright position now and somehow these 2 days she is trying so hard to push herself up. My mum say she want to fly before she learn to walk haha..

Hazel,

Cut ur bb nails after 1st mth, then no need wear mittens and booties liao. Mine removed both in around week 6 or 7. But the fingernails grow very fast, so must trim every week lor. When she sleep or go out, she still wear them

Pooh,

Where to get bumbo ah?? When can use bumbo?? I love to get one too

i think in this forum, some1 is organising a bulk purchase of the bumbo chair..but dont know whether its a gd bargain coz many months back, i went to kidzloft warehse and the bumbo chair is very cheap $79 only instead of usual $99 coz i know many places like kiddy palace selling it at $99 nett now. when it was first launch, i bought it at less than $99 (cannt remember the exact amt)

as for the sitting, the instruction actuali said that bb aged 3 mths and above can use liao ..but i didnt let my elder gal sit on it till she is abt 6 mths old even thou she can hold her head well at sitting position at the age of 3 mths coz i feel that its too young for them to hold their head then..

as for flash cards, i start flashcard on white, black and red cards when she is two mths old ...i let my elder gal sit on the bouncer chair and i flash to her..but bb at 2 mths old have very short attention span and therefore every session is only like 3 to 5 mins..another way to stimulate ur bb, u can buy those black, white and red cloth-like bumber cot and tie it at the bb cot and when she's awake, she can look and see..there is another one musical hanging toy by kids II which is gd also..the toys are all white, red and black..but its abit expensive..

Pooh,

Where is kidzloft warehouse? Do they have any other bargains compared to outside?

Where can i get flashcards?? My bb 2 mths old dun seem to be interested in anything haha.. she only loves to talk and play with us.

hi Kk

u can get the black white red flashcards at kiddy palace.

u can visit www.kidzloft.com.sg ...the warehse is at tagore lane. sometimes, kidzloft have sale at their warehse. last yr , they have sale on almst everything...dont know abt this yr leh..they have those toys made or wood..

mayb when i free tml, i take some pics of the flashcards and let u see

pooh,

ok thanks! Just now i went to marketplace and saw BP for bumbo chair. So i was led to kidzloft website too. Lots of items there

pooh,
Yap, kidzloft is selling bumbo baby sitter @$79 (sales price). Mind to ask you, is it able to adjust e shape?
Moreover, up to how many mths your gal sat on it? My keane has a pig thight, scare that his legs can squeeze in.
Oso, i find that there isnt a support for the back, really wonder can bb at 3th mth sits on it without falling?

Hi Annie,

Facing the same prob...but if me do not carry Rayne, he will start screaming until his face purple and his belly will pop up
so usually I'll give in n carry him

Btw, anyone with this problem? Rayne has been vomitting quite frequently after feed. This is despite us burping him after the feed. Sometimes he drinks one oz and pukes like merlion...so heartpain when I see him suffer like tat

Hi missk,

Re massage. Went for the class yestd. Only learnt some simple massage coz the 1st lesson only one hr. Tried the massage for him today. He seems to sleep more today as compared to usual but cant confirm...need to observe longer
btw, I bought the avent massage oil after the class but its really expensive! Cost about $30 per bottle....