(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hey taurus

Wow ..you son can sleep through 8 hours!!!! That's amazing! I can't wait for my son to be able to do that. He wakes up every 2 - 3 hours. Then this morning, he has been awake since 4 am. My poor nanny carried him for one hour and a half before handing the bb back to me. I really pity her. Thank God for my nanny. During the afternoon, he sleeps like a log. He's getting confused between day and night. What can I do about it?

my bb was farting the whole nite long, and was fussing a lot during the night feeds last nite... super a lot of gas in her tummy... my mil says could b the food i eat, cos i bf... issit true? u all noe any food i should avoid?

Yvonne,

Haha, my bb yesterday super cranky too, because of too much gas in tummy. I am not BF. Is it the first time ur bb like tat?? Mine ocasionally will like tat. Sigh. I feed her warm water in the evening cos i see her gek sai until so pitiful. At nite then she poo poo. After tat ok liao. She sleep through the nite from 1230 am until now

kk,

can understand. me also start my 1st meal of the day at 12 - 2 pm. meals with bb also troublesome, he always chose those timing when we are eating to start crying for milk..sigh..been eating with 1 hand liao.

last night my bb also super cranky, keep asking for milk but only drink 30ml then dun wan. is that a cause for concern?

btw, do all ur bb sleep after each feed? if not then wat they do? mine will sort of play by himself but always after awhile will start crying.

hazel
i just asked my gf on bb full mth celebration. Hmm.. i think up to individual. heehhe..

Milo66,
i think yr boy has wind inside his tummy. maybe u should try to burp him and only let go after hearing he burps out few times. keane will cry but some bb can tahan and don't cry when little wind still trap inside their tummys.
keane doesnt sleep after each feed during daytime. Most of the time, he plays himself a while and make noise. If he hears no response from you, he will cry. He oso cannot leave alone for a while.after few minutes, he will cry for carry. he already 5kg and so heavy to carry him upright (his like). Its more like carry a bag of rice. sigh!

Wow kk/taurus,
Your babies very super leh! Can sleep thru' the nite....is it because they were fed with FM? My little boy still like an alarm clock. Will wake up every 3 hours for milk

Yvonne,
You are not alone. Me and hubby went shopping and movies on a few occasions, and everytime I am wondering what is he doing at home. I keep calling home to check on him too! Alamak! LOL...

yvonne du,
oh! u r still bf? then shd avoid garlic, onion n other foods that can cause lot of gas like bean n oso the drink and soup that u drink.

hi taurus,
i called up the breastfeeding support grp. they said not to worry. BF babies can dun poo for a few days...which means that the BM are all digested...so no waste (unlike FM). yesterday, she poo a little bit...but hor, she's been farting a lot too...she always seem to gek whenever she wants to pass gas...

hi kk,
woah...your gal can drink so much milk ah?! mine recently increased her feed to 90 to 100ml...3 hrs interval...i scared i cannot produce enuff milk for her.

my bb also sleepin for about 5 hrs straight during nite time...which means i get 5 hrs of sleep...effectively she only wakes up once during the nite...so it's quite manageable...unlike earlier...whereby she can wake up twice or thrice.

hi milo,
is california bb products good? me thinking of getting gaia products.

milo,

When my bb get super cranky, she will also want to drink little milk at close intervals. So recently i feed her water instead of milk heee.. and she take it. At least she won't vomit milk out lah because she is not overfed.

After first feed of the day, normally my bb dun sleep. Will play on her own if she is guaiguai. Else she want to play with us. And i will put moisturiser on her, stretch her legs, take photos, etc etc heee... actually she is the sweetest in the morning. Then she get progressively grumpy until nite. Sigh.

Ur bb start crying because gets bored liao heeee... so u need to carry, walk around, change the environment from one room to another room. It helps for mine

Ino,

Yah lor, my girl drink so much and i can't produce milk enough for her sigh.

Annie,
Menses will start early if you're not breastfeeding. Mine started last Friday. I heard some mummies use breastfeeding as a form of conception. So that means when you're breastfeeding, you might not even ovulate.

kk,
So xian mu, at least you can still continue your maternity leave after Jun holiday till end of July. This is the last week for me, I'm going back to work next week, like Ivy, not enough manpower at work. Will slowly consume the rest of the maternity leave if there's a chance

piglet,

How long ur menses took to come? Is it a lot?? I scared it come as a gush and it will be uncomfortable when i start teaching in school.

Initially i wanted to go back when school reopen and take maternity leave other time. But on second thought, the school environment so busy, dunno when can take the balance. And worse still, if take such leave, got to see VP's face. So better dun.

kk,
It was the 6th week plus after delivery. First 2 days A LOT, not like it was used to be. I thought lochia came back after it ended since Week 4, but it don't looks like as the flow reduced a lot yesterday and I did see the transparent mucus discharge after lochia ended (ovulation). My cycle is like 16 days after ovulation, menses will start.

kk,
Oops, forgot to add on, i stained alot of my panties during the 1st 2 days because too heavy.

I'm worried I might not have the time to consume the leftovers too. Yah, I think you better take all since the relief teacher is already there. For me no relief engineer, my boss's neck very long already, anxiously waiting for me to come back cos alot of outstanding issues and project for me to clear

piglet,

Hey, recently these few days i also see transparent discharge, like what i normally see before my menses start. Meaning my menses is coming back soon also lor? I am now in my 9th week after delivery. My lochia only ended in week 7.

Aiyoh.. even heavy flow pads cannot support??

kk,
Heavy flow pad can support, but have to change very regularly. Initially I don't know it'll be that heavy, that's why never change so regularly. I stained 3 panties on Day 1 already. The sticky sticky transparent discharge which looks like the one from the nose? If it is, yah, maybe coming in another 2 weeks? This sticky sticky transparent will lasts for 2 to 3 days for younger woman and reduced to even half a day as we grow older. I used this method to concieve, one time hit jackpot.

piglet,
if this way, then fr day 1, i nvb bf, cos keane didnt latch on. Only ebm, my lochia ends only 2 days b4,sticky discharge only end today..
gynea said oni bf can make e womb back in place faster than non bf (which take 3mths). if womb didnt get back in place, how 2 have menses?

hey galz can i check .. do ur bb have tou pi xie? how to get rid ar? is it normally after full month will appear ar? i haven't shave my bb hair yet ..

hazel,

My girl no dandruff at all
Err, i thought i saw somewhere one mummy recommend a shampoo for bb? She say kodomo shampoo too dry for bb head.

piglet,

HMmm, then i think i got to run the toilet very often to clear the menses haha else wash so many panties a day. Normally i place a layer of toilet paper on top of the pad to absorb more blood before changing the pad.

Heeee i think that time when i conceive, i also had that transparent thing. Ya, i do have that for several days before menses really come.

gals,
what shampoo u using for ur bb ar.. do u guys use those non-rinse bath .. i din use shampoo
i just use kodomo bath leh.. isit a need to use shampoo as well?

hazel,

me using kodomo shampoo and J&J bath. Wahh, my girl's hair can be very smelly leh, because she will spit milk and it will flow all the way to the neck, ear and hair. So best to wash for her every morning.

Sign... my boy go haywire again last nite..wakes up at 4am screaming for milk....8( .... and now he is sleeping like a log .... i guess its becoz he slept too long yestersday afternoon ... from 12.30 pm - 6-30 pm and we have to wake him up fro his milk .. 8( ... cannot let him sleep too long in the day...otherwise he will have problem sleeping at nite again....

Hi missK,

For me, we will off the lights ... lower our voices .... play music for him when its time for him to sleep .... a change of the setting to tell him that its bedtime already and i think he understands ... coz in the day ... he will play with himself for a while and if he sees no response from anyone...he will scream for attention and wans to be carried ard .... but when nites comes .... we put off the lights ... kiss him gd nite and on the music ... he will play for awhile and then sleep on his own .... and when he wakes up in the morning.... we will greet him cheerily to tell him that its morning and time to play ....

Hi milo,

Dun worry .... its healthy that your bb dun sleep after feed .... tts the correct way ... coz its not gd to let bb sleep while feeding or immediately after feed .... the right way is to feed ... waketime and then naptime .... the waketime shoule be approximately 1 - 1.1/2 hrs...depending on how long ur bb takes to finish his feed ... for mine ...he usually finished his feed in 20 mins ... we will burp him and then play with him for 1 hr ... then let him nap for 1 - 1.1/2 hrs before he wakes up for the next feed ....

Hazel,

Her head was soft so the older folks dun dare to shave her hair heee.. and dunno who can shave for her.. so now we only cut a bit of hair for her every mth, till 4th mth then we shave her bald.

U intend to shave ur bb hair? I heard if dun shave, next time bb hair not nice.. as she grow up, her hair will still grow like baby hair.

Hi hazel,

I dun think tt its danduff ... my boy also has it when he is a few weeks old .... but it will slowly drop off .... now mine already clear .... maybe u can try to rub it off gently when u shower his hair ...

I am using the Avent hair & body bath for my BB ...n if i not wrong most brand is for duo purposes... hair & body .... so need not get shampoo as i think bb scalp still sensitive at the moment ...so better dun use too strong shampoo..... I also havent shave my BB's hair yet .... we intend to shave when he is 4 mth old ...

HI ivy,

I oso useing avent teats for my boy.... but now we are still using the no.1 teats .... already bought the no.2 teats but have yet to let my boy try .... what makes u change the teats?? I tot no 1 is for 1 mth ...no.2 is for 2 mths and no. 3 is for 3 months and above ....

hi taurus
I am also using avent hair and body bath. Like the smell, but dun last.

by the way, when shld we remove the mittens. My bb is 6 weeks liao and she is stillw earing the mittens and botties.

Also anyone bought a sling which is alkready fixed..hmmm the one Mums in mind had , we have to tie it, too troublemsome. Wanted to bring bb out but pram can be a hassle if u are alone and difficult to bf. anyone using one?

bookworm,

Have u trimmed ur bb's nails? I trimmed mine in week 6 and she is without mittens and botties already. She loves it too, as she can learn to grab things on her own

I have MIM sling too, but haven't used yet :p Pushed a pram out last sunday. Dun really like it because a bit troublesome. Maybe we haven't got used to it yet.

445608.jpg

i also did not shave bb hair yet. still thinking leh bcos he dun hv much hair so i worry leh later grow even lesser how, aiyo so young so bald leh 8(

Taurus,
Wow you trains your son well eh! He can play by himself and sleep at night? *clap*
HOw long does it takes you to achieve that? What do you feed him? EBM or FM?

RE: SHAVING HAIR
I don't intend to shave my boy's hair too..botak very ugly eh

Hi bookworm,

The purposes of mitten is to prevent BB from scratching themselves... so long as u trim their nails...i think its ok for them to go without.... in fact better so that they can learn to develop their grabbing skills earlier ... for myself ... i still let my BB wear mitten and booties at nite to keep his hands and feet warm .... in the day time .... i try to let him go without ....

I oso thinking of getting the MIM sling .... coz really troublesome to bring the pram out especially to shopping mall ....

Hi fates,

I feed my boy FM ... EBM only for 1st month ... coz not enuff milk flow ... so now only on FM ... we did not really train him ... just that we try to play with him ... sing song .... and tok to him during his wake time ... and usually after ard 1 hr .... he will start to feel restless and i will put him down for nap .... and for his last night feed ... we usually clean him .... changed him followed by his feed .... then we will leave him in his BB cot ... off the lights....he will usually look ard ... makes some noises like toking and then go to sleep ... if he is a little cranky ... we will then give pacifer ... usually after a few suckles ...he will fall asleep and i will take out the pacifer ... didnt want him to relay too much on pacifier to go to sleep ..... my boy just sleep thru at 6 weeks ... we didnt do much to train him ... but he does wakes up occassionally .... we just try to pat him a bit or give him some water ...he will go back to sleep pretty fast again ... sometimes... they wake up not becoz they are hungry but its more like a habit ... so if u keep feeding them each time they wake up ... they will continue to wake up at 3 hrs interval ... so maybe can try to give abit of water to try.... if they r really hungry ... then give milk ... have to judge for urself ..... i think its pretty safe to start at 6 wks but not earlier ... coz i think before 6 wks ...they still will need they midnight feed .....

Anyonr bought baby carrier or sling?

Taurus,

The one in Mums in mind, have to tie ourselves right? I find it quite troublesome. Thinking of getting one so can bf when outside, Baby carrier cannot bf leh. I wonder if the marker sells those already fix up sling? U have any idea

kk, thanks, then will let her go without her mittens and booties.

taurus,

how do u play with ur boy? when u put him to sleep at night initially, does he make noise? u attend to him or jus leave him alone?

kk,

haha i trimmed my boy's nail too and yesterday tried letting him do without his mittens but think he super violent when hungry, his face kana one long scratch.

445679.jpg

hi bookworm,

i bought the sling and find that though useful but troublesome cos gotta keep adjusting after taking bb out to feed / change. got the carrier as well but haven start using, gotta wait for his neck to be more firm first.

taurus,

check with u hor. daytime u put bb in cot also or in the living room with u? my boy refuse to sleep in the cot in the daytime..sigh..headache. i tried feeding him water when he wakes up at night too, ended up he will keep screaming till he got his milk, also dunno whether is he hungry or wat. sometime wish to jus ignore him and let him cry but abot cruel leh

Taurus

Yah .. I think you have trained your child very well. My son always falls asleep during feeding. And that's not very good. Btw, how old is your son?

milo,

I think at nite should feed him only milk?? If not they will scream like hell leh. Daytime still ok.. if they make noise we can handle. but Nite time better dun play play haha..

My girl sleep on only mattress on the floor now. At nite she is willing.. daytime no way. Either on sofa, or on my bed.

My girl also scratched her face 2nd day mittens removed. Luckily the line disappear after i apply hazeline haha.. then she no more such actions liao. Now is like KFC, suck her hands and fingers :p

Taurus,

i think ur boy really guaiguai leh.. he dun demand that much.

gals,
can we apply bb lotion on bb face? becoz my bb rashes is getting better liao.. but the skin v dry n start peeling liao .. any solution?

Hi milo,

We got a toking teddy bear as a gift for BB's full month and we have been playing it every morning till now .... the toking teddy has got button on both hands... feet .... nose n tummy ... once u press the buttons ... there will be sound followed by song .... fo eg ... i press the feet ... the teddy bear will say " this is my feet .... tickle me ... if you happy n u noe it step ur feet ....." we will sing together n move BB's leg .... if u press the nose...the teddy will say..."this is my nose... kiss me...." i will kiss BB's nose .... etc etc ... now whenever BB is cranky ... we will play the toking teddy n he will calm down n listen ... 8) .... I will also sing twinkle twinkle little stars and i will blink my hands like stars n BB will keep staring at my hands ....

hi missk,

my boy will be 8 wks tmr ... he also likes to fall asleep during feeding ... we will change our feeding positions.... smoother his legs ....or even put him down on the bed to wake him ....

Hi KK,

My boy not guai lah ... he can be very demanding also but he always cries for a reason ... hungry...wet diaper.... cannot poo or fart....too warm.... i just trial n error and also learn from friends... books ... on how they train their BBs ... though he can sleep thru 8 hrs but also not everyday ... we are still trying to stabilise his schedule ...sometimes he will still wakes up for milk...water ...or diaper change ....

Hi milo,

Initially we always carry our boy to sleep..coz we very scared tt he will cry if we put him down when awake ... but then we can carry him for hrs which is very tiring ... so we tried to put him down when he looks alittle drowsy .... suprisingly ... he just open his eyes .... blink blink blink and fall asleep on his own ... of course not evertime will be so guai ... if he gets cranky...we will give him pacificer to suckle .... and if this dun works ... i will carry him for a while n put him down again ....i tired to let him cry without carrying him but i find he will have more difficulty falling asleep if he crys for too long .... so i choose to carry him for a while n put him down again ... but individual BBs got different temperament .... so u need to try n find out the best methods for ur son ....

Hi milo,

In the daytime, we will let him sleep on the mattress or inside the playpen in the living room ... but recently my boy starts to kick in his sleep and he falls out of the mattress a couple of times which is very dangerous ...so we try to put him inside the playpen now ..... he only sleeps in his cot at night ... so maybe this is also gd way of telling him that its bed time when we put him inside his cot ....

taurus,

Hmmm, it doesn't work for my girl. In her first mth, daytime we put her on our bed. At nite we put her in playpen. But she just refuse to sleep in her playpen. Maybe ur method works because one is living room, one is bedroom. Environment totally different

kk,
Haha.. maybe yours won't be heavy?

fates,
Can support but not 100%. But we can hold her armpit alone, her head won't go soft. Now my girl stands when pooing.. new trick ever since she have the strength to stand (of course we need to support her armpit)

piglet,

Yooo i scared i kena menstrual cramp leh.. everytime menses i will have cramps leh.. unless i take chicken essence at the onset of menses.

U mean when ur girl want to poo, u will make her stand? That's interesting haha..

hey, that's very fast leh.. when supported armpit, my girl's head can stand, but will go soft soon.

sorri for the late reply, was tied up with other things...I tried both ru yi oil and the grip water to make her poo. But hor, I give her alot of grip water leh, 2teaspoons with 60ml of water and I made her finish that! And I massage her anus a bit when I change her diaper. End up she pooed lor! Its true that BF bbs can go up to 5 days without pooing but I think thats a bit too long lah, my bb get very fustruated and the gas she passes is out of this world! Will be monitoring her to see how many days she takes for the next poo.

taurus,

Wah, you so lucky! My gal also coming to 8 weeks but she wake up like 2.5 to 3 hrs every night for milk, and the worst part is she only takes a little, sometimes as little as 30ml then she sleeps! Check with PD, she say nothing much can be done since she is a small eater so must feed more regular lor. Can die, dont know when she will sleep longer, havent been sleeping well for 2 months liao!

any1 keen to get bayb sling? the black color range and the silk range is now 50% off and while stock last..

the black range is $68 before 50% and the silk range is $128 before 50%

any1 keen?? i'm buying the black wif evening rose

445807.jpg

445808.jpg

445809.jpg

445810.jpg

hi forget to add

for the black color range :
100% cotton
Carries up to 18kg
PSB Tested
Fully padded with Embriodered pockets

this is very comfortable coz it is fully padded !!