(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

twinkle,

Heee my bb never wear tummy binder at all although bought 2 pieces for her.

U can try "hui ji bu yao jing". It is sold at ntuc recently at $39. Medicine halls may sell it cheaper at $38. I got 2 big bottles from my students' parents and another big bottle from my brother. So far i finished 1.5 bottles liao
I find it quite effective. I drank 2 small cups (provided) per day - morning and nite. My hubby drinks too

kk,
tks ok me go get tmr. my boy is too heavy for me to carry him long hours if he is SUPER cranky. I still drink chix essence now een i hate it.

twinkle,

Heee me too, still taking chicken essence, my love! Drinking new ones, as well as clearing old stock :p

Wow, u carry ur boy to shopping ah? Whenever we want to go ntuc marketing, will always leave girl at mil place.

kk,
yup, everywhere we go we bring him along. no one look after and my mum stay the other end of Spore while i m at this end. normally we go out only 2-3 hr then come back liao. I also need to hv breathing space mah so go eat out and grocery shopping lor.

Hello mummies! Long time no chat~

Hazel,

Yes. Mine is a natural birth and had done my pap smear already

Felt abit uncomfortable...but overall still okie

Annie,

Why is Keane so violent? Hee hee..
Maybe he just wants attention la...poor baby...cuddle him?

mi juz bought annum milk powder for breastfeeding mums. duno whether it helps to produce more milk. ani1 tried??

my gal is 6 wks old now...but she's still eating 60-70ml (based on FM and EBM)...not increasing her feed lei...is it normal? i tot she shld be eating about 90ml alreadi?

btw, my gal also have loads of hair...end up having sweat smell on her hair...any nice shampoo to recommend to get rid of the sweat smell? tried kodomo but it doesn't work lei.

hi kk,
i'm confused wif this 5-in-1 and 6-in-1 thingy...coz the nurse told me that the diff is the hep b element in the 6-in-1...? anyway, it's definitely cheaper to take the 6-in-1 as compared to 5-in-1...dun understand why u said it's more ex.

gina,

I had been drinking Enfamama from pregnancy till now

Heard it's good for breastfeeding mums so might as well drink..hehee..

ino,

Kodomo doesn't work? I am using Gerber's Grin & Giggles hair/body shampoo. Smells great!

ino,

Dunno leh.. my colleague told me 6-in-1 more expensive so she took up 5-in-1 package.. me also confused haha! Anyway will go to PD again for the next vaccination during bb's 3rd mth.

My gal also sweat by the end of the day. My arm is wet after carrying her. I use Kodomo shampoo too, but the sweet smell dun last long.

What's the feeding interval for ur bb? Babies quite strange sometimes.. mine is drinking now at 2 hrs interval, and sometimes she only drink 60 ml in one feed. Next feed she can drink more than that, right up to 120 ml. Funny. So now i dun force her to drink.. she drink anytime and any amount she like heee..

Hazel,

i find that air con can be quite dry for babies. For my girl, the peeling skin at eyebrows disappeared, but then appear again these 2 days when placed in air con to sleep. Sigh! But we can't sleep without air con. These few days so warm at nite!

hi sorry for intruding, just wanted to ask (since u all hv just given birth not long ago) what's the diff between a maternity pad and a normal pad for extra heavy flow? is it necessary to buy specific ones for maternity?

what're some of the good ones to recommend?

Hi k k

maybe u can consider to put a glass of water in the aircon room.....my friend say it helps to lessen the dryness...not sure whether it works thu...me cant use aircon these days coz bb got blocked nose

Hi Annie

you posted something about exercising after delivery, and that if lochia comes back after it ended must see gynae, oh no! cos my lochia came back after it ended, and i am still having it now! 7 weeks alreadi...

hi kk

I was also on formula for a while cos I dun have enuff milk and my son kept crying for more milk. Did you mean that you can supply 50 ml in total per day or 50 ml per feed?

yvonne Du,
Yap. Thats mean you have to stop your exercise or stop carry heavy thing like carry your bb walking around. My lochia happend to come back after i carried my son (4.78kg) walking around the house doing light household chores on one day.Up till now, my lochia is like on n off.( ie, if i carry my boy on that day, it come back on that day).
Your body indicate that the womb havent fully recover and not ready back in position. Thats why lochia still on.

ino,
my bb now is 4th week plus... had increased his feed from 80ml to 110ml .. still 3hrs interval .. but sometimes he always dun finish all ... maybe i got no patient to wait(each feed abt half hr) till he suck empty.. still will left abit. My bb also on almost FM as think no milk liao .. now think can only pump 10-20ml ?!?! duhz

just came back frm polyclinic for his Hep B 2nd dose jab ... was taking 5-in-1 as 6-in-1 the diff is only the hep B jab. eh polyclinc is cheaper right? the package is 294plus ..
kk,
how much u pay for? in package or individual?

Hi kk,

Wow your girl can support her neck already ar? Mine still can't leh?!!

Hi edksd,

Maternity pad is long and thick, so for the first two weeks, if the lochia flow is alot, maternity pad is preferred

Good ones? Kotex!

annie,
i not sure if my lochia stop .. but these few days only brown discharge or sometimes sticky discharge on pantyliner.. havn't stop wearing it

ask u guys ar .. if we keep on bfing .. isit our menses won't cm till we stop bf ar?

edksd,
actually i mixed maternity pad (as already bought in advance) n normal pad as i changed new piece each visit to toilet. Think coming to 3rd weeks onwards i changed to panty liner liao as not much flow though.. a bit waste to use normal type leh ..

hazel,
shd b e other way round, if u cont. to bf, menses will resume faster.
same here, i oso have those sticky discharge, kind of colourless. so still putting on pantyliner.

Ino,
6 in 1 taken at private clinic is more expensive compare to 5 in 1. cos 6 in 1 means less one jab. the injection will take place on bb 2nd mth, 4th mth, 6th mth. While, taking at polyclinic will be 3rd, 4th, 5th & 6th mth.
As for hep B, 1st dose will be at birth, 2nd dose will be at 1st mth (but if 6 in 1, will be taken at 2nd mth).& 3rd dose at 3rd mth.
Polyclinic is charging at $292 for 5 in 1 which hep b is not counted in. (1 jab for hep b is $18, 2 jabs at $28).

hi fate, kotex is it tt one in pink color packaging? kotex only has one type of maternity pad right?

i find tt other brands has normal pads which are longer than kotex maternity pad like 34 or 35cm long ones. they're supposed to be v heavy flow and overnight use eg. sofy.

hi edksd,
i prefer the normal pads for extra heavy flow (overnite type) to those maternity pads. Coz those normal pads, i can buy the ultra thin ones but maternity ones are quite thick...which i dun like.

hi ino, can the normal pads tahan the postnatal flow? if can, i'd oso prefer to use normal types. which brand are u using? ive been using whisper since i started menstration and hv never changed brand before.

edksd,

I used up 2 packs of mdm pureen maternity pads. But from what i see, actually can use normal pads. I am using whisper too. Also sofy. Without wings is fine

For me, the flow not very heavy. Heavy on the first 3 days only.

missk,

Heeee my MS dropped drastically and 50 ml is for per DAY :p

fates,

No lah, my bb neck not stiff yet.. head still cannot support by itself
I guess need 3 mths? She is only 2 mths tomorrow.

Hi all mummies!

My bb is 7 weeks old and she has difficulty passing motion. She did not pass motion for 5 days already and her fart is really smelly! Of course she is in great discomfort too. I am feeding her EBM in the day and FM at night. Is she constipated? Any bbs with the same problem?

hi kk, where can we get pureen maternity pads?

is it tt we must get those cottony soft type of pads? coz whisper is more like dry net kind.

pearllyn,
my daughter used to have the same problem, and we brought her to the GP after 3 days, and he prescribe a stool softener and when she din pass motion the 4th day, he used a mild enema (something inserted thru the anus) to help eliminate the waste. I suggest you bring her to a GP.

Hi Lorraine

Thanks for the prompt reply, is your gal still suffering from it now? I thought I read in the web that breastfed bbs unlikely to be constipated. Anyway, will bring her to a GP. Thanks!

hazel,
yap, i just double check from the books. menses r gd for us in one way in term of homo changes in our body. Thats y woman tends to have more illness after menses stop. Some have to take homo pill to let menses carry on.
menses oso mean our womb already recover n start to function normal.

annie,
funni leh.. now im having a few drop of red discharge on pantyliner .. dunno isit menses coming or i had been carrying bb ard feeding him while standing (shopping)

my bb had also increased 1kg+ now already 4.2+kg b4 was 2.9kg .. hungry monster also .. no patient to wait when hungry ..

edksd,
sure can tahan the flow.. as u will need to drink lotsa fluid so u will intend to visit toilet more often.. and each visit i will change to a new pad .. so for me even the pad kena little bit of flow .. i will still changed for hygience purpose as got wound mah

kk,
my bb kena milk rashes, quite bad though ... already seen doc .. aiyooo i tot is just heat rashes.. as my bb kept on rubbing his face against the cloth while zzz on his tummy and cause peeling on his rashes and make it more worse.

hazel,

Ur lochia over? I do get red discharge coming up that time when i thought my lochia over. Now my lochia really over liao. SO happy!! No longer wearing pads liao. Imagine, i had pads on for 7 weeks!! When lochia over, u shouldn't see any discharge coming back already. Unless u having menses, which i dun think return so fast. Perhaps check with twinkle, she has that problem too, but hers very heavy flow. Urs?

Wow, ur bb also gain weight very fast hor? Mine was 3.0 kg on discharge to 4.4 kg on her first vaccination at PD. I am so curious to know how much she weigh now. Length - we can measure ourselves using measuring tape :p

edksd,

For me, mine is c-sec so it is ok for me to use any kind of pad. Perhaps check with mummies here who had natural delivery and see whether net type can or not, will hurt wound or not.

I bought mdm pureen pads at kiddy palace. A pack of 20 is around $7.50 if i did not remember wrongly.

pearllyn,

you can try feeding your baby a bit of the baby gripe water (half teaspoon of gripe water diluted with 10-20ml water). my confinement nanny taught me this when my baby did not poo for 4 days and she finally poo-ed after taking the gripe water.

another method would be giving baby a bit of honey water (GP's method).. but i have not tried this.

kk

I totally understand what you are talking abt. Dun give up. That's what many people tell me. Just keep getting the child to latch on. We can get them to latch on before giving them the formula. Hope it helps.

hi hazel

my bb was experiencing the same symtoms as ur bb... rashes on cheeks esp, and terrible peeling, and its itcht, so she keep rubbing her face on watever surface she can find... nothing i do helps...end up its eczema, so frm milk powder to bath gel have to be hypoallergenic... so perhaps check with ur pd at the next visit...

my lochia flow is over and suppose to have my pap smear check-up on fri..but my menses came on thurs nite!!

wonder y will have menses since i breastfeed??

hazel,
all bbs r e same, keane can cry like tearing e wall down.
same s yrs, my mense havent come yet, but if i carry keane while standing, some pink colour discharge 2, somemore, he already 4.78kg, like carry a bag of rice. keane wants 2 b carry upstraight, make my arm so arching n painful.

pooh,
bf promte mense 2 come back asap.

pearllyn chia,
think yr bb has wind inside tummy ta cos constipatn. My son had it 1st wk after birth. u can try 2 mic bb oil with ru yi oil (1 or 2 small drops) then rub on yr bb tummy. from chest 2 abdomen (front side) from shoulder to buttock clockwise direction). few xs a day b4 poo

Annie,
You are right, my gal has lotsa wind in the tummy, even though I burp her after every feed. I was told that bbs swallow air when sleeping also so I let her sleep on her tummy during the day but unfortunately non of the method works. Was wondering if it is because I am drinking cold drinks all along that causes the wind...I had tried the massage you mentioned but a bit difficult cause my gal hates to be naked! She scream on top of her lungs until the whole face turn purple liao! See already so heartpain so I stop. If she doesnt poo by today will bring her to see doc tomorrow lor.

kk,
dunno is it over a not leh as on off got some yellowish to brown discharge den sometime got a bit red discharge but after wiping liao no more leh .. funni ..

cookiemz,
eh the gripe water need to dilute wif water ar? opps i just gave him half teasp then drink water..

yvonne,
sorry .. but what is eczema? now her rashes had dry up .. so think need to wait for the skin to peel off itself lor ..

annie,
if bfing promote menses to come back .. but for those no bfing one leh? menses wont come back meh? or slower?
diff from what i heard leh ... i heard is that those bfing one .. menses wont come unless u stop bfing .. so who is right who is wrong? alamakz