(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Gummie
I got check up @ SGH tomorrow. Also hoping bb will pop on Vesak Day coz hubby going away the following week!
Anyway, keep in touch if we pop ya? Maybe can meet at the ward?
All the best!

Hi kk

I think my baby has a lot of wind too, giving her gripe water as well as the brown powder from Chinese medical hall. but she still cries out in pain like nobodies' business! And i realli do not noe wat to do sometimes.

Twinkle,

I have the same prob too... i feed her and she does not sleep. Eyes wide and open for 1 to 2 hours, and sometimes cry for no reason (not hungry, no wet diaper.... sigh,.... prob colic again) and the worse thing is she dun sleep, and the next thing she wants is a feed... very siong on breastfeeding... Went back for my post natal gynae appt, the nurse says that breast milk is more diluted than Formula, thus baby will get hungry more often - within 1 to 2 hours... Formula can last 3 hours... but too much formula can lead to obesity - she said... My husband say prob my breast milk not nutritious enuff, that's why she is not full...

Wah, every mum seems to eye on Vesak Day to pop. I also wish for that day, seems like a gd religious day la. But i have 2 full mth birthdays to attend to on Vesak Day, so let's see if i can make it to the parties...hehe

U gals can still do housework ah. I am so very lazy now that i dont really do housework :p I only know how to lie down n rot when i am at home. Even walking out for lunch also sian :p Guess i am too heavy and huge to move around. Everyone is saying to me why you are still working/walking....i must have looked like a duck when i walked.

Will try to check out JL tonight, got a $5 voucher so wanna make use of it :p

gummie,
My labour was 4 and 1/2 hour but I was put on drip to speed up the process. Don't worry, bb not engaged might not end up long labour.

piglet,

Besides using wipes, we can also use wet handkerchief or cloth to wipe the buttocks. It will further help prevent rashes

Yvonne,

Haha, no lah, dun think it is the nutrition problem. BM is like tat, very fast hungry.

My bb girl has to burp for very long time before she feel comfortable.

By the way, did u check ur teats whether the milk flow is too strong for bb? Recently discovered my NUK teats not suitable for bb. Now using pigeon bottles instead.

ss1,
yeah let's keep in touch... who knows we might deliver on the same day! i'll let u know when i 'pop'...

piglet,
thanks, i certainly hope i will end up like u too
4.5 hrs is considered short isn't it?

hi kk

i now have pigeon teats and avent teats... think pigeon is better, cos avent is like very huge, and my baby seems to have difficulty drinking the last 20ml, unless i tilt the bottle by a lot...

At least that makes mi feel better, cos tot am not eating nutritous enuff for baby....

woah this thread's really moving today.

kiddy palace, NTUC and cold storage sells pigeon stuffs.

my gal also let off gas but it's not smelly. even her poo2 is not that smelly too. might get enfalco colic drops for her.

seems like more of you are considering the 5-in-1 jabs instead. my concern too is that 6-in-1 is relatively new and so there might be some form of "risk" there.

hi twinkle,

thanks! called her liao...so must ask her for discount issit? i asked her to quote for the pigeon sterilizer...w/o asking her for discount. later i shall call her again. hee

hi kk,
oic...so it's the weather...no wonder i still feel sticky after bathing. i hate the feeling of stickiness on my hair...feels very oily...so i will definitely wash my hair. at nite, the weather is ok...but i will switch on the fan (after putting on socks).

how did u noe that NUK is not suitable for your bb? for me, i tot NUK is very good for my gal lei...doesn't look like she got any problems.

as for my gal's rashes, tink i will stop bundling her body. will wrap her up from her buttock downwards to cover her legs (look like mermaid...kekeke).

aiyo...today my gal's poo poo so stink...a bit watery too...i can smell it from the outside w/o checking lei. my gal quite a fussy pot...the moment got a little poo poo, she will cry and cry. got sticky discharge from her eyes...also cry and cry...but then i still find her cute ;-P
The joy of parenthood!! yeah!

Yvonne/kk,

i think hor mine is different case, initially i use pigeon teat and my boy dun like it , the flow too slow and he suck until struggling. Now i switch to avent and he is drinking well, although he still sucks impatiently but can see his face happier.

Now i know why he reject my breast. today i noticed he likes to play w the teat, using his tongue pushing in and out play play , swirl round the teat etc... nipple cannot mah. sigh!

hi fairysnowberry,

hee hee...vesak day is a "hot date"!. i was trying to psycho my gal to come out on that day too but she wants to be early...

the salt bath will sting the wound a bit only...but most importantly must eat painkiller. ;-). try to put one teaspoon of salt into the water first and try try (coz the doc recommended 2 teaspoons). if the pain bearable, then slowly increase the amt. gotta soak twice a day.

the float is solely for sitting on. very comfy...but only inflate a bit...dun need to inflate fully.

hi ino,

call winnie to ask for discount and try to bargain. Although her selling price is cheaper than outside but i know she can still give discount. if u need additional wet wipes, bb pdt must well order together and they can deliver to you. upon delivery then pay $... not bad hor

hey ino/fairysnowberry,

For me i dun find the salt bath painful at all. Infact i love it! At 1st i also very scared of the pain (salt on raw wound mah!)..but then i just heck it and sit on it. SHIOK! Must use warm water hor, if not the salt cannot dissolve. Also, my gynae gave me a anti-disinfectant solution..evertime after pee gotta dab dab the v there. My wound healed by itself after a week.

Hi SS1, thomas loves his little bro very much, always sayang him n will b sad if baby cries. How's Zach and does he know he is going to hv a sibling soon? Your turn soon ya? heee.. jia yu!

gummie, i think gripe water is same as colic drops. My boy has wind too, n PD gave colic drops on the 2nd day after he was born.

milo, my boy is now 2wks old n he drinks 90ml of FM. As for BM i can only pump out max 60ml, so I usually follow with another 60ml of similac. If latch on, really dunno how much he drinks, sometimes suckle for less than half an hr then fall asleep liao

Amie,

My girl also like tat leh. I always let her suckle on my right first. And sometimes she suckle for 15 min she automatically stop and sleep liao. She doesn't even want the left anymore. So i dun really know how much she suckle too.

INo,

Aiyoh, u know what i am doing now?? Rocking my girl on my lap while typing on the keyboard haha... can't seem to please her today. She wants company everyday now!!! *faint* So tiring.

Oh, if used NUK teats on her, she will choke easily leh.. and can see her struggling to cope with every flow. Too heavy flow for her already. If used pigeon teat, we can see her suckling slowly.. no choking easily. i am surprised why NUK teats fail on her too. because i change medium teats to small ones liao, but still cannot

My girl fussy too. Today my mil use cloth nappies on her. Then once wet, she will cry and cry. Aiyoh end up we dunno what she wants. Want milk she also cry, want to change nappy she also cry. So i rather use pampers.

hi sponge,
woah! u enjoy the salt bath ah? for me, it stinges a bit lei... i also got the antiseptic lotion. now i find pee-ing a bit painful...dunnoe whether got infection or becoz of the catheter that was put on me previously...;-(

hi kk,
same for my gal. she will suckle one breast for 20 mins and fall asleep. so i wait lor...till she cry again then give her the other breast. if i force it on her, she just clamps up her mouth and gives me pouty lips.

Mums who just "popped",

Anastasia,
Have a smooth delivery!

Hazel, CP, Yasmin and Ivy,
My edd date is on 22nd, also no "show" sign yet. I can't do squat cos my ankle very swollen liao, maybe I can try doing the squat motion while lying on my back. anyway, now is our 38wks, think can tahan till 39wk when baby more developed.

Hi Raccoon,
My EDD same as yours. I think my baby lying very low now. My perineal area feels so sore sometimes, especially when I just get out of bed, it's like gravity is pulling my V down. No "show" yet too. Sometimes, while walking feel as if there is something in between the V. I think I might come before EDD. Tomorrow is my next checkup, will see what the doctor says.

hei hei ino...do share how much winnie will quote you on the pigeon steriliser ok? it's quite impossible but normally it's $116 then sale of 20% makes it $87...and few weeks ago, when metro had members' sale-20%...they had 20% on the $87! woah!

indeed, this basin thingy...we buy ourselves har? soak for how long, esp since we must be kinda 'zhan ma bu' (half squatting), right????

what do you mean by tear? is that to say gyne didn't do epis for you early enough n you tore...how did u know??? machiam painful man....

yes, fairysnowberry...will definitely keep in touch to see if we can meet in hosp. will be fun - at least take our minds off the whole whirlpool. haha...

Hey all! wow so many posts to read...I start slowly ok :p

ino, anastasia ~ congrats!

Hi amie,
Yalor...my son really knows how to choose date to come out..are you really still at East Shore on the 28th April? Aiyah....should hv sms u! I have difficulty latching on my son in the 1st few days...he is so groggy after my epidural injections. Remember Fonnie? She is really kind huh! Helping us with the latching stuff, but I kind of forgot all the steps when I reach home

Hey sponge,
You feeding Ariel TBM? or supplement with FM? One thing I found out is...we must burp the baby aften..if not they will have wind in their small tummy so they won't sleep well..
So difficult to burp them!

hi chris,
woah! 20% on $87!!!! shucks! can't believe i missed it! i dun tink winnie can match it. ;-P will call her to check. hopefully tmr, there's sale becoz it's vesak day....will check out tmr's Straits Times.

As for the basin, it's a sitz basin. My gynae ordered it for me. I can bring it back tho i dun really noe how much she charged. It shouldn't cost more than $10. Dun need to zhan ma bu. Just put the basin on the toilet bowl and sit on it (yups, it fits!)

As for the epi, gynae probably didn't see the need to cut so just let it tear naturally. From what my colleague say, natural tear is easier to heal. Not painful during the process coz i'm on epidural. But now i feel some pain lor.

hi every1

i have delivered my bb gal on 7 may @ TMC. my gal was 36 weeks plus only. she is weighs 2.77kg. went thru c-sec and had a terrible experience. just discharged on wed and trying hard to pump more milk for my bb gal.

congrats Pooh! Did u hv GA or Epidural c-sec? I wouldn't want to go thru another epi c sec as I find the whole process scary, though i recovered alot faster compared to GA.

Fates, yes i was still at ESH then, discharged on Sat 29th after hving lunch there. Had c sec so need to stay 3 nites there lor. Ya, Fonnie is really nice n friendly, i had problem latching baby on too, but after some practise at home, i finally can do it. I attended her class on 29th morning b4 checking out. She even got an electric pump for me to start pumping milk during my stay in ESH, to get the milk supply coming in

hi pooh,
congrats! my gal share the same birthday as yours! if only i knew, then can visit u too. ;-) Was staying at ward 508. what about u?

Do rest well, yeah? I'm still recuperating...feeling very very tired and breathless.

Pooh,

Congrats!! Rest well and wish u a fast recovery

Ino,

Haha, me too! Breathless when i wake up in the morning. Dunno why.. maybe i sleep on my back the whole nite without turning on my sides.

Very tired too.. feel like sleeping now.. plus weather so hot... and haven't bathe yet.. feel like dying...

Amie,

Why is recovery for epi c sec faster than GA c sec? Sigh, i should opt for epi c sec then

Mummies who have gone thru c sec,

How's recovery? I notice the tummy area around the wound still pain when i press on it, although walking and bending no problem. Wound is ok already, no pain. Anyone of u experiencing this now?

kk,

Can;t really comment much as u r in advance stage as compared to me. currently i can only remove my plaster myself next week. but few days ago i went to change my dressing and gynae press on the wound and its surrounding no pain leh.

Maybe you want to put some lotin on the surround area as it might be sore due to the plaster?

hey fates,

I'm feeding my girl BM and FM. She's like drinking 50-60ml every hourly! OMG.. ya i agree..very difficult to burp her.. always felt like a failure when i cant burp her, then when my CL takes over, girlgirl will burp..

By the way, Anna sms me that she's in labour ward liao. She's 2cm dilated when she got admitted to hospital. Her baby should be out by night time. Lets pray and jia you for her!

kk,
Ya been drinking the tea (long an + dates + don't know what herb. MIL get from Medicine Hall one). My bb sucking too strong liao so now using pump... managed to get 10 ml out... but bb already drinking 60 ml of FM... how to balance....

Wah Sponge, I thought Anna pop already leh... :p

Anna, jia you jia you!

Amie
I hope Zach will sayang the sibling (I still dunno B or G!) too! So far he seems quite gentle in front of my cousins' new borns. Hopefully he behaves that way when the time comes. But he's very cranky nowadays. Sigh...

Gummie
My gynae said I'm 2 cm dilated during check up. D-day can be anytime now! U hoping for Vesak Day baby right? That's tomorrow, good luck to both of us!

Sindy,

BB sucking too strong? U still coping ok?

If 10 ml, then just feed 10 ml of BM to bb, supplement with another 50 ml of FM then

kk, i also dunno y this time i recover alot faster than my 1st time when i used GA. After GA i developed a bad cough. This time i can walk without pain even when i'm still in hospital, n i do not need painkiller in my hand drip too. Had the epidural on till the 2nd day morning, then was on synflex till i discharge from hospital. Experienced lesser pain this time but the epidural was terrible. Hv u removed ur plaster? I'll hv to remove mine by myself tmr, gynae already removed the stitches few days ago. For me no pain around the wound when pressed.

kk,

i also dun like ginger. mum didnt add much ginger into cooking, mostly is sesame oil cos she afraid ginger too 'hot' for my wound.

me falling sick liao. now sore throat thus has stop on the longan red date tea. feel so sleepy everyday. now really miss bb inside my tummy..keke

Hulloe ladies,

I am back!!! Had alot of problems with my internet n just couldnt log into singaporemotherhood... 8(...dunnoe why.

Had given birth on 26 April 2006 .... check-in to Mt Alverniva at midnight of 26 April to induce labor but crevix dilation too slow.... took a gd 20 hrs to reach full dialtion of 10 cm and was so happy but after 1 full hr of pushing.... BB's crown still stuck at viginal area and couldnt come out.... everybody so exhausted and finally gyane feels tt BB might be too big for me and suggested c-sect.... so poor me... after going thru that 20 hrs and just a few pushes away..... I had to go for c-sect.... almost breakdown when I heard tt but gyane says tt I have tried my best n c-sect is the wisest choice at tt moment..also dun wanna to put my BB at risk... was on epidural c-sect...so was aware of the whoel ops process n was smiling so happily when i heard my boy's first cry..... all the pain n suiffering is all worth it..... 8)...

ss1,
wow... yrs will pop anytime? goodie
... i think my boy will not come out by tomoro leh... but i wish for your wish come true anyway!

must enjoy yr last few hours ah... before your bb comes (eat yr fav ice-cream or cold drink, that's wat i'll do, hehe), but most importantly, have a smooooth delivery!

twinkle,

I have backache too, when i bend down 90 degrees to change my bb diapers that day. other than that, still ok.

Stand too long?? Why u stand so long??

Hi Milo,

I feel that i am getting heaty too. I think due to confinement food. I tell my hubby chinese are crazy, eat so heaty food during confinement and some really very fattening. No wonder all end up with high cholesterol when old.

And dunno why.. these few days my skin itch terribly at times. I dunno whether it is due to hot weather, or due to allergy to some confinement food, or due to heatiness, or dunno what. SIGH! Confinement faster over leh!!!

starry/twinkle,

me also backache when i bend down to change bb diapers. walk also abit slouching. dunno is it really wound pain or subconciously.

Gummie
I can't enjoy now leh... rushing my work actually. But of course pop by here once in a while to see who else has pop and who's online lah... sigh, so much of concentrating on my work. :p

Amie and twinkle,

Hmmm, I realised something.. when i press on the right tummy area near wound, not pain. But when i slowly rub my hands to and fro, can feel the discomfort. Skin too tight ah?? But today seems ok leh..

i removed stitches last tuesday and removed plaster myself last friday. After that put on adhesive gel plaster. Supposed to reduce scar and mend the wound.

milo,

Haha, i have been slouching for many many days liao.. for me, i think it is psychology :p Actually nothing wrong with the wound liao. I can walk faster now. But sometimes still feel that there is something heavy "hanging" there at tummy area, dunno whether it is psychology problem again.