(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hey ladies,
do we need to use anything special (like antiseptic?) to wash our privates? or just use water isit? if cannot use water from the tap... then how?

Oh no...the nurse just stood there n watch u wash?U r naked?OMG...paisay leh...

Anyway, i read on the website that if we give birth that day we dun need to vote. Giving birth is already a very good reason.But for subsequent votes...down the road think we have to pay $5 to re-register our names...etc...not sure...but its not an offence not to vote lor...

Wow, congrats to fates!! Looking forward to more sharing of mummy experiences here

ydnic,

u mean for my case?? haha, i dun really care that time liao.. that was the first time i stood up and watch. i was using loop pad.. the blood flowed everywhere. I was sooo weak.. wound pain.. uterus contraction pain etc etc. i can't really be bothered.. just get it over and done with haha.

This is what i extract from the internet:

Voting is Compulsory

Voting at Singapores presidential election or parliamentary election is compulsory for all eligible citizens. It is part of the responsibility of being an adult Singapore citizen.
So, if the presidential election or the parliamentary election in your constituency is contested, and you are eligible to vote, you must present yourself as a voter at your assigned polling station on Polling Day and cast your vote.

What if I do not vote at an election?

Can I get my name back on the register of electors for my constituency?

What would be regarded as a valid and sufficient reason for not voting?

What if I do not vote at an election?
At the end of the election, the Returning Officer will put your name, together with all others who did not vote at the election, in the list of non-voters and pass that to the Registration Officer. The Registration Officer will then remove your name from the certified register of electors.

This means that you cannot vote at any subsequent presidential or parliamentary election, and you are disqualified from being a candidate at any subsequent presidential or parliamentary election.

Can I get my name back on the register of electors for my constituency?
You can do so anytime by applying to the Registration Officer with an explanation as to why you did not vote. You can find out how to do this at Check Register of Electors. However, a penalty is imposed if you do not have valid and sufficient reason for not voting. You must pay $5 to restore your name to the register of electors if you do not give valid and sufficient reason.

Please apply early to restore your name to the register of electors after any election. Law prohibits the Registration Officer from restoring your name to the register of electors for your constituency if any writ of election is issued for that constituency. The Registration Officer can do so only after the election for that constituency is over. In the meantime you will not be allowed to vote at any poll or stand as a candidate in that constituency.

What would be regarded as a valid and sufficient reason for not voting?
The following explanations have been accepted as valid and sufficient reason for not voting :

a) working overseas (including being on a business trip) at the time of the poll
b) studying overseas at the time of the poll
c) living with your spouse who is working or studying overseas
d) overseas vacation which was planned before the poll
e) illness, or delivering a baby

You need to substantiate your explanation when applying to restore your name to the register of electors. For example, those who claim to be overseas to work or study, or to be living with a spouse who is working or studying overseas, the passport plus an employer's letter or educational institution's letter, and marriage certificate would be required. For those who were on an overseas vacation or business trip, the passport plus documents showing that the trip had been planned before Nomination Day should be produced, such as receipts from travel agencies, air tickets, hotel booking receipts, or a suitable letter from your employer. Those who did not vote for health reasons should produce a medical certificate, hospital bill or the child's birth certificate.

piglet,

Heee, i think the nurses are all very kind. want to see whether we can handle or not. But actually for my case, i appreciate her presence because i was too weak then. She gave me that kind of moral support.

gummie,

yah loh, me and fates were both mar 05 brides, her edd is later than mine but her bb is out liao! So envious! Now hoping my xavier will be out soon too...haha...

kk,
I think they're just worried that if anything happen to us in the toilet, they'll be held responsible. I rather wash myself even if wound pain.

girls,

lots of 20% disc ard. Metro, Seiyu and OG. I have got lotsa of things from metro. The nursing and infant stuff are all direct 20% off. And also stock up on my cleanser and comestics cos next month cannot go out durng the GSS...hee..

Annie,
Ask the nurse to give us the baby bath tub in advance so we can use
? If bring pail there, will the rest of the mummies there find us kiasu
?

ivy,
do u know if fates has a name for her boy yet? ya loh... we gotta tell our boys that it's very competitive out here, everyone's looking to 'Jump Queue'
he's gotta JIA YOU!!!

gummie,
Hahaha.. jump queue! My girl no urgency at all, still sleeping and playing in the vomb. Don't know her daddy and mummy so anxious already.

hey kk,
how do u store yr EBM? in milk bags as well? ooops i haven't bought any of these, was thinking of gettin my husband to buy them as n when i need, maybe i should not wait till then huh...?

piglet,
i coax my boy so many times but dunno whether he heard me. i still bearing hopes of popping next week or week after leh... i mus be dreamin...

piglet,
not engaged during my las visit
my next checkup is coming tuesday, hope i get some good news then!
i even told my husb i dun care if i pop before he comes home... that will be his regret not mine
see how desperate i am?

gummie,
Mine also not engaged during my last checkup. Going to 40 week already
. Your hubby not in Singapore? Maybe your boy is waiting for him to come home

Gummie,

haha, so far i am not that productive yet. I express and store in milk bottle. Then dump the whole milk bottle in the fridge. BB will wake up later and we will warm it up for her. That bottle always clear before i put the next one in the fridge. So no need to use milk bags yet as the bottles will never run out

I heard can take the glass bottles from the nurse. Why not use the glass bottle first since we're all not sure whether we're productive or not. If really not enough, then buy the milk bag? heehee.. Who knows bb big eater?

Fate,
Wah! super Gong Xi!

Everytime, you still laugh me that i will be the 2nd one that will pop up. Hahah.. my boy still afraid to come out to meet his parents. hhehe..
Waiting for your story. Take care!

Piglet,
Oh! but that one is for baby to shower, dont know will it be dirty after we used to clean our private part. KK mentioned that she was so weak n those nurses only stand and watch. Very terrible.

Annie,
Oh yah hoh, got lochia, looks disgusting also. But I already have bath tub for baby. So the MT A one is extra

for your info.

Ways to Turn a Breech Baby

There are many ways to try to encourage a breech baby to turn. The following is a list of non-invasive, non-painful, benign suggestions. It does not hurt to try - not trying and winding up with a Cesarean Section will hurt!

1. Knee to Chest Position
In one study of 71 breech babies, 65 turned when their mother adopted the knee-chest position. To do this, kneel with your hips flexed at slightly more than 90 degrees (but do not let your thigh press against your abdomen) and try to keep your head, shoulders, and upper chest flat on your mattress. Maintain the position for 15 minutes every two waking hours for five consecutive days. By positioning your body so your head is lower, gravity encourages the baby's head to "float" toward your fundus, flex her chin onto her chest and start to turn under. As pressure builds on the back of the back of the baby's head, she gradually rotates first into transverse, then all the way to vertex.

2. Breech Tilts
Do when you have an empty stomach and times when the baby is active. Concentrate on the baby, avoid tensing the body (especially the abdomen). Lie on your back with your hips elevated 12" (use pillows) and your hips and knees flexed. Gently roll through 180 degrees from side to side for 15 minutes and repeat this maneuver three times a day.

3. Pelvic Rocking
To do pelvic rocking get down on your hands and knees and gently tilt your pelvis as you arch your back, then return your back to a flat position and relax your pelvis. Do thirty to forty of these 3 times every day.

4. Ironing Board
Elevate the pelvis by laying on a board or ironing board that has been propped up onto the edge of a couch - MAKE SURE IT IS STABLE! This position should be assumed for 8 to 10 minutes daily. This position has been shown to be as successful as an external version in some studies.

5. Massage with External Stimulation
Give the mom a full rocking massage - it relaxes the whole body and is essential for the mom to feel the space for the baby to turn. Then, place pillows under her knees, tilt her slightly with a rolled up towel on the right side. Touch the baby (mom's belly, talk to the baby and rotate hands in the direction that they want to go). Have total faith and it will turn.

6. Cat Stretch with Light & Music Stimulation
First, get in a "cat-stretch" position: on all fours, head lower than rear end. You can use pillows to kneel on. Take a flashlight, turn it on, and put the light against your lower abdomen directly the skin - the lower, the better. At the same time, use a walkman or portable CD player's headset against the lowest part of your belly, with music turned on (but not blasting-loud). The fetus will hear the music and see the light, both encouraging him/her to turn toward it, i.e., your pelvis. Try for 30-45 minutes. You may need to do deep breathing - the baby will be MOVING!

7. Moxibustion
A form of acupuncture which is currently the subject of a research study to see if it could help turn breech babies. Some therapists claim an 80% success rate, but before trying it, seek advice from a qualified acupuncturist

8. Webster's Technique
A technique used by specially trained and certified chiropractors to align the pelvis to let the baby turn.

9. Visualization
A way to enlist your mental powers to help turn the baby. Combine visualization with other exercises. You can silently picture what you want to happen. Say to yourself, or have your partner say the following or something similar: "As I lie here in a tilt, I take long breaths and relax my body. Your head presses toward my chest. The pressure of your head makes you wiggle. Come on baby! Come around. Move your head, move your body to take the pressure off. Turn around, tuck your chin and come toward my cervix. My cervix and vagina are your opening to the world. Come close, so you will be all ready to come out when the time is right and Ill be ready to welcome you. Turn around...turn around. I'm relaxing my body to give you more room to turn around, to get ready to be born."

10. External Cephalic Version (ECV)
MUST BE DONE BY A DOCTOR OR MIDWIFE!!! Should not be done on women who are rhesus negative, have experienced bleeding already, or whose placenta is situated low in the uterus. Risks associated with ECV including the possibility of causing distress to the baby and a chance of bleeding or premature rupture of the membranes. Baby is turned externally with strong guided pressure, which can be very painful. Success rates are about 65% in studies.

11. Change Doctors!
Your next best option is to search for a doctor in your area who has experience delivering vaginal breech babies. The doctor would assess the size of your baby and your pelvic size and then make a decision concerning allowing the baby to be born vaginally.

hey ladies,

those who have experience before.. i am filling up the birth registration form now.. what should i put in the informant column?? Need informant meh? Who should the person be?

KK
Informant is the person who registering for your BB.. Eg if u ask your father to help register, then he's the informant lor.. He also will sign ur BB's BC hor..

At NUH, the nurse will stand next to you in the cubicle when u do biz. Good also, just in case u pengsan in the toilet. They are there to guide u on how to relief the pain wen peeing and how to clean urself.

When I had m/c last year, the nurse even clean it after me.. Just cover face with pillow, can already.

teenoyl,

Yes, we are using pampers premium now
We used the leftovers from TMC, then i think 2 days ago open up a new pack. I am not using newborn because my bb over 3 kg. So we are currently using small sized
One day need around 10 pieces i think.

teenoyl,

not so many as 10... it depends on the bb. if she poo poo more, then change more heee.. sometimes she uses only 8.

I got to see this new pack of pampers, how long will it last. Then i let u know

milo,

the clips are those for potato chips bag kind? I bought the milk bags cos its cheap, 100 pcs for 16.90 before 20% discount.
I am thinking if i cannot get the clips, can just use tapes?
Bought it cos i i also did not buy a lot of milk bottles, find that the bags are more convienent.

Dunno Fates' boy name yet...think she is resting now.

teenoyl,

TMC provided me with new born.. can fit.. dun worry
i think u have to stock up on small sized too! But i read from other mummies that nepia cutting pretty huge, so the ones u stock up shouldn't be a problem

If u totally use diapers, can use up pretty fast lor
No harm stocking up more
Especially if there are offers around
I regret not stocking up more. I only stock up 1 pack pampers and 1 pack mamy poko that time when they were on offer at ntuc.

kk,

you are not using cloth diapers? I am thinking of using cloth diapers for day and disposable for nite.
Mmm..with fates so early, make me kan cheong liao. Hubby been asking me to pack my bag nicely, but i always tell him wait lah...Think i better go home and prepare everything tonight...Maybe xavier like labour day as his birthday? haha... ( but the bills will have surcharges..)

teenoly...me too bought two packs of NB nepia already... somemore my bb quite huge....oh no...maybe got to call Nepia up and asked if can change the size of unopened packs...hehe

ivy,

yup.. i got the a bottle from avent and it comes with the clip, look exactly the same as those clip potato chip one. i tried one the other day, not bad leh, jus that the bag may need some support, cant stand straight on its own.

haha fates is making me kan cheong also.. we are counting down to popping our boy tog on msn as we are having the same edd and so fast her is out loh. wish i can experience some symptoms too :p

How much total weight have you gals put on as we approach these last few weeks of pregnancy? I have put on 13kg as at 37 weeks. My OB/GYN says I did a good job having my weight under control, but I think she was comparing me to all the big-sized angmos here. I am worried that I have put on too much for Asian size, and will have difficulty getting it off.

Btw, here is something light-heartening taken from America's Funniest Home Video to share.See it if you have the time, it will sure cheer you up and make you all the more eager to see our own bundle of joy.
http://advancing.blogs.com/advancing/2006/03/laughing_quadru_1.html

Hi CP,

In total, i gained 15 kg and my gynae kept saying at every visit that i was overweight haha.. it should be based on my build. After my delivery, i managed to slim down by 8 kg
And my tummy seems to get smaller these few days. Hopefully i can get back to my original build eventually

Hey Ladies,

It would be May in two days time!! Anxious for u all! And looking forward to more popping sound and we can share more experiences here
And give one another moral support at times when we are down

Hi Ivy,

We are not using cloth diapers at all although we have a lot of hands-me-down for that. Imagine, one day change a lot of set of bb clothes, use a lot of handkerchiefs, etc etc.. there is already a lot of washing to do hahaa.. in fact i am glad that my MIL takes the idea of using pampers on the bb in the day. At least she has more time for herself and better time management

My mil say if wanna use cloth diapers, use later. Dun use now. Because the bb poo very often hahaha.. most practical thing to do is to use pampers and then throw.