(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

twinkle starry,
oh! yes, you should drink now since yr edd is closer. Dont need to drink so many times cos coconut v "Han" and create lots of wind. NTUC is selling 1 for $1.00, Giant is selling 1 for $1.10 (all thailand young coconut). Best to drink when freeze.. My love :p

yasmin,
Yap. my gf's hubby went out after she laboured then her gynea just cut for her without asking. (think all doctors are busy, they just want to complete the work faster).

twinkle,

yup, i started to drink coconut last week as well. So refreshing! NTUC sell the small little Thai type, sweet and cooling. Since we are so heaty these days, it shld be okie to drink once every week! haha...gog to get more this weekend!

ivy,
you have to choose those bottom white colour without spotting if you intend to buy few to keep.
My hubby told me that spotting is those ageing. We oso buy few to keep in the fridge and i have 1s at a week plus sour plum .. v tasty..

kk,
you are so lucky, got some1 to buy for you.haha.. shd drink more since yr baby is coming out on 21.

kk,
dun tell me your mil pluck for you huh? haha....

Annie,

i dun keep one. Will fight over it with my hubby cos we both love the drink! Once bought, super fast finish!

Ivy,

Haha, i think the coconut is free, because my hubby's auntie who stayed in malaysia say the coconut is specially plucked from plantations hahahahaha... really look like those plucked by monkeys :p

KK,
so good, foc somemore. yr mil is so nice to you huh..

ivy,
oh! i see! i m luckier, my hubby would let me eat. Especially after pregnant, he will let me have more food, more meats when we dine out.

Annie,

yah, my hubby also feed me with a lot of food ever since pregnant. He can buy 4 bread + 2 big pancakes + 4 small pancakes for breakfast. Oh Gosh! I asked him how am i going to finish hahahaahha...

kk,
Wah! yr hubby adores you much leh! these days, my hubby will follow whatever i crave for. Last yesterday, I wanted to eat Pizza so he just bring me there. Yappee..
Just that i still forbiddent 2 eat durian..

How i wish i can eat... my favourite... same goes for the crab. (sian)

annie,

my hubby not particular about food. So whatever i eat, he eat. And if i can't finish eating, he will finish up for me.. hahaa.. so i told him by the time my tummy goes back to normal, his will remain round haha!

Both of us dun fancy crabs and other seafood because troublesome to break open haha.. same goes for durians.

jus back from my gynae visit.. me so sad
kaeden still in breech position.. gynae say unlikely he will turn but will see again next week.. sigh.. now i getting scare liao, never expect to be under the knife leh

hey milo,
dun worry so much ya, it's really difficult to predict... some babies do turn at the last minute. maybe your boy still hasn't had enough 'fun' to want to settle in a position yet?

my boy also head slightly turned down only, and not ready to engage yet. of cos natural birth is best, but c-sec v common these days too

let's keep our fingers crossed n pray hard our boys 'cooperate' in the next 2 weeks!

Whoa, suddenly so many Mommies popping earlier.
So envious.

Yasmin, I didn't know gynae can open-up cervix. If can, i 'll ask my gynae to open for me. Ha ha, sounds like opening a can of coke.

Gummie,
I had routine detailed scan at TMC (week 20) and an emergency detaied scan at SGH (week25). Surprisingly, the service at SGH was better than TMC!!! The doc/scanner there patiently addressed our silly concerns, count the fingers, toes, checked whether baby got cleft lips or not...
While the one at TMC, when i asked for the gender, she rudely say, "i don't see any penis, its a girl".
What i don't like is that there is no special maternity ward. Have to share with patients of different ailment/operation.

I get U/S at every gynae visit. And he'll measure the Abdominal Circumference (AC) and Femur Length (FL) to predict baby's weight.

My hubby is wierd. In my 1st tri, when i had MS and my taste bud went haywire,he developed food cravings. I feel nauseus, he vomitted for no reason. Now i feel body aching all over, he has flu like symptoms, body ache too...
Can't imagine when i'm in labour or when i breast feed. What will he feel.. hhmmm...

milo, can use the normal clith napkin to swaddle baby. Dun have to bur special swaddle cloth. Supposed to help baby feel secure ( same effect as bean sprout husk pillow) cos baby is used to confined space in our womb.

eve, TMC does not provide bath tub. However, they provide clothing for baby, so that baby will be branded TMC from head to toe when discharged from hospital.

hi milo,

dun worry. i've a colleague whose bb was in breech position at wk 38 but the bb kuai kuai turned down at wk 39. keep coaxing your bb!!! hehehe.

understand how u feel. i was tokking to my gynae about c-section. coz she told me that my bb is quite big size. so i told her about my concern about delivering big sized bb and whether there's a chance that i might have to do a c-section...but she assured me that there's no need to. she has delivered babies as big as 4.5kg! (but i forgot to ask her whether is it ang mo or local. ;-p) as far as possible, it seems she encourages normal v-birth rather than c-section.

hi kk,
woah! yr hubby realli pampers you. my hubby pampers me by bringing me to places to eat whenever i've got food craving...but hor, he will kinda of remind me not to eat too much. hahaha.

tokking about crab...my parents said it's good for haemoglobin?!?!? dunnoe whether true anot...but my dad is buying flower crab for me to eat during the weekend (tho i dun really fancy crab coz it's high cholesterol). ;-)

Hi yasmin,
yap, my gal has turned down at 32 wks too but not engaged yet.
I go Mt E, and will always take MC for the day too
Btw, my GBS result is out. Phew, no infection! But nurse say my B12 a bit low, have asked me to increase my iron pills dosage to 2 per day.

Good Morning!
Cindy, we sama sama. The nurses did not call me regarding my results leh. Will wait....

Sook, yah lor can open up leh. But will be quite painful.

Milo, dun worry. My boy eve of B'day still side ways. Gynae never thought I will deliver so soon. The next day water bag broke and he was descending down to be born to this world. So dont worry.

gals,
Tell you a joke, yesterday went for my regular swimming, the coach went up to my hubby and asked him some questions. Guess what he asked? " Are you with her? Will you look after her"
i have been a regular customer there ever since 3 mths back. Usually, the coachs will look after me since i m the only pregnant woman there. hahha..
Guess everyone has a common mistake that swollen leg mean going to labour soon. Should be another way round, when swollen leg back to normal, then that's the time.
I oso find that my show decrease, these days only 1 or 2 drop of pink bloody discharge.

sook,
your hubby sounds like the one going thru' pregnancy, hehehe... maybe it's some kind of telepathy

dunno leh, my experience with all my visits there has never been really good. i guess it also depends on which sonographer gets assigned to us ya... but good to hear some positive feedback from you though!

ydnic,
i've also been thinkin about whether or not to shower in the hospital... but if we do, using herbs will be quite impossible right? also, it seems that we need to use that with water that has been boiled, how will the hospital be able to supply us with that i wonder?

ydnic,
i also dunno, and cannot imagine not bathing. but i guess it's a matter of what you choose to believe in. but if i decide to shower in the hospital, i'll prob not use herbs... and it probably also doesnt make sense for me to use herbs when i go back home, cos i have already showered without them. i heard from my confinement lady and well-meaning aunties n frens that we shd not use water from the tap to shower... and i also asked them how not to? cannot imagine hor...

see how... if cannot tahan just do what makes us happy

ydnic,
i already pack my shower gel. I thought of taking shower after labour unless c-section.
However, i checked my colleague n gfs who laboured at MT A, stated that nurse wont allow you to take shower.
Now, i am thinking to bring the big pail there so that i can on the heater to collect the hot water and add the herbal in.

ydnic,
Forget to tell you, the nurse will clean yr bottom part with e cleanser liquid. You wont sweat at all, cos the labour room is fully air con and v cold. (thats wat my gfs told me).

Sook

U mean no maternity ward at SGH???

Hei, my HB too u noe!! I dun suffer MS.. But for him, its hell.. He will vomit, body ache and everything pregnant women suffers. My gynae always said he's the best cos he took away all my sufferings. His food craving is the worst. He would think of all weird food..

Me too wonder if he will feel my labour pain and BF later on..
.. Lagi best if he can take away those pain!!

Annie, u so cute. How much things do you intend to bring along. U sound as though going for holiday.

Normally aft delivery, for natural, you will be too tired to even walk let alone stand and take shower. You might want to bring along a towel to wipe all over not shower. I did not shower, went back home to do that on the day of discharge. Also, we will not be sweating too much, thanks to the aircon. Only the joints, armpit, neck will feel sticky. But other than that its quite alright.

We might want to wash our pte part cos of the bleeding but than again some of us might feel pain to even dap that part with water. For me I used a basin to seat and cleansed the wound. Towel bath myself and used quite abit of powder and sprayed perfume. So I din smell awful instead whole room smelled great bcos of me. hahahahaha.........

Annie

My past experience at NUH was that, immediately after u transferred to ward, they don't allow u to get up or go toilet for 5-6hrs.. When time's up, the nurse will come and assist u to the toilet to urinate and teach u how to clean urslf. Yup, they will go in the cubicle wif u and if normal delivery, they will pass u towel to bathe and refresh.

Gals, last night was a real torture. Cldnt sleep and felt whole stomach so hard that I cant even turn from one side to another. I had to sleep on 3 pillows, can imagine how my spine posture wld have been. Also have been feeling nauseous since yesterday. Not sure if its the aftermath of Monday but I dont feel too good today. Also cant seem to poo. Me so siong, either got diarrhoea if not got constipation. Now feel that whole body draining out of blood, like want to faint. Dont know whats wrong. Sometimes feel that baby come out faster better but want my baby to stay inside till May and be big at least over 2.5kg during delivery.

yasmin,

Last nite a real torture for me too. Heartpain the whole nite! I wonder why! And when i burp, can smell hor fun which i ate for dinner! How come never digested yet??

And never mind, somemore the whole tummy cramp the whole nite. I dunno is it contractions or not. It is really like 5-10 min that kind of contractions. But i woke up at one point to pass motion. After that more soothing liao.

End up never sleep properly whole nite. Slept until 930am this morning. Lucky on MC this week, else dunno how to go to work.

Yasmin

How big is the basin? Where to place? Sounds ok, I want to try leh! But eeiii the water in the basin will be all bloody!!

Remembered my first wee-wee... squeezed the nurse's fingers then scared to dap-dap after that.. Nurse got to help!!

kk, must be the food din digest. Thats why can still smell when burp. Me too felt the same way but cant poo leh. Lucky you got MC, I dont have. How many days of MC have you taking so far this year?

teenoyl, the basin is placed on top of the toilet bowl. Its good. I intend to ask my HB to bring it to hospital on the day aft I have given birth to wash up before I am discharged. I dont intend to pack it with my hospital bag, too bulky. Yes, the basin will be bloody but only abit red leh. Cos I did not bleed so terribly aft birth. Also since I had used epidural for pain control, I was using the catheter to pass out my urine. once the catheter came off, I had terrible pain during peeing. It was like the worst urine tract infection you can get kind of feeling. But when I used the basin, I will also pee inside the basin, the basin has holes on the top sides. If too much of water will flow out to the toilet bowl, so not messy at all. When i pee that way, there is minimal pain leh. Not bad. Thats how I coped with my peeing problem. I did mention to my gynae, she advised me to take painkiller but in the end did not even take 1 aft delivery.

Yasmin,
Oh! for me, i hate the sweaty feeling. I agreed leh! i havent complete my packing, yet already have a lot of things to bring. Think i am too kiasu.

For Mt A, the nurse will clean our pte part ( heard from those stay there b4).
kind of shy to let pp clean for me.hahah..
I brought a cleanse liquid type for cleaning our pte part after labour and can be used for c-section.

yasmin,

Hmm,i have taken around 7 days MC this year i think. My colleague who just discovered pregnant has been absent from school pretty often. i think i am not so bad already hahaha... i was so fit running around until recently too heavy to even walk haha...

hi annie
You are so cute, bring a big pail to hospital. Think maybe you no need to bring bag, just put all ya barang barang into the pail.
Why not jus use towel and wash with herbal packet with s small small basin? The hospital will provide you with a big bottle of antiseptic solution to clean ya private areas after you wash it with the sprayer.

Can't bath from tap water? Is it some old wives tales from China again

I thought if the water hearter is on, the water will get heated up so it's ok to bath, or rather, wipe our body with..

Annie,
You SOOO funny! Wanna bring pail.....don't torture your hubby leh

Milo,
Don't worry ok? Kaeden will engage eventually

kk
Hmm you are in good shape compared to me... have you taken your ML? I have to finish marking papers then I can take ML, but I think Si'en will come before that. Ha.

Fall
Sigh cant believe it but I fell during the weekend. Have a bad sprain but thank God baby is fine!!! Rest on bed for 4 days, now whole body hurts!!

gabby's mum,

Yooo, do take care of urself!

When is ur EDD? Yup, i have applied for ML before i left school on Monday. I passed my MCs and ML form all at one go to the admin staff haha..

fates
My sis said that in the past in China, the bath room is outside the house. So they need to walk a distance before they can reach their room. So with modern technology, I suppose its okay to shower with hot water. Anyway, its not good not to bath. Anyway, my friend got this shampoo that formulated for confinement! Yeah now can wash hair and bath in the hospital. Anyway, do keep yourself dry after a shower, its important.

kk
MY EDD is 26 May! Last day of school. DO you need to mark the exam papers? I do!!! so sad, but never mind I will live through it!

gabby's mum,

i have relief teacher to cover me phew! managed to find him thru recommendation from a contract teacher that was with us last year.

This yr my school exam starts very early! It will start tomorrow till 10 may only. My papers are on the 2 may and 8 may. So definitely i escape marking! Haha.

Yas
Holes on the top side? U mean there's a special basin for us to sit in? Yah.. at NUH they told me to spray water same time when peeing. Guess ur method works same way but more syiok leh.. Soak bum & pte part in the basin.

Annie
Paiseh hor.. but sometimes have to put that aside lor.. When I hospitalised, I normally would bring some small gifts and a "thank you" card for the nurses that took care of me in the ward! I'll pass to them before I leave for home.

Yasmin,
Oh! is it if you used epidural for pain control, then must have to use the catheter to pass out urine? Hmm.. thats v uncomfortable rite? I nvb use that b4... But is it v ugly? cos, vistors will see the tube that with urine inside.

Fates,
Those few days, we will stay inside the air con room leh.. so of cos can take shower since got water heater. The nurse wont allow you to take shower after labour, i guess they afraid that you might faint inside the bathroom. haha.

i oso pack whole set of my facial items, so that i can clean my face and apply those lotions.

i would like to torture my hubby if i have the chance since he thinks that with my 42.5inch tummy is "light" weight. Still tell my boy to wait for another 2 weeks just becos he is busy next week.(cant tahan).

Will be taking my ML starying tomorrow .... yipee ... finally can have a good rest and wait for BB to pop...

KK,

You going for induced labour tmr issit??? How r u feeling??/ Must be very excited right ??? All the best and have a smooth delivery ... do update us and post ur BB photos here once you have settle down ok ....

Annie,

i dun think you are having "show"...cos show is not like on and off kind. Its the mucus plug that will drop when you are going into labour.....

taurus,

Am feeling very SCARED now!! Dunno what to do.. i whole day in a daze till now.

Why not go on MC first?? ML starts tomorrow, lugi leh because u haven't go deliver yet :p

ino, bingo thats the one. Very shiok like tennoyl says.....

Its kinda cheap lol..... i thought it was ex.

Annie, yes we have to use catheter bcos epidural will make us numb frm hip down. We will have no sensation to want to pee so have to use it. The catheter will be removed when we are in normal ward or sometimes even when we are labour ward right after delivery for some. I remember nurse asking me to take deep breath when she was pulling out the catheter. When inserting catheter no pain cos on epi, when pulling out sure got pain. The nurse who attended to me also very cheeky....I told her I want to pee bcos I felt heavy down there and she said sure or not, ok I give you bed pan see if you can pee...then no pee come out she then explained and inserted the catheter in. Then 1 whole bag of urine was passed out. Immediately gave me bag no. 2. Even though I was not taking in any fluid, since I was on drips, oxytoxin, to hasten the contractions I had quite abit of urine to pass out.