(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

teenoyl, hahaha did not think abt it. 040506 does look nice.
4th May happens to be my SIL's B'day. She died 6 yrs back, she is my fav SIL. Think if I pop on her B'day it will be really wonderful.

Sponge,

Aidoi, how to relax muscles during VE? Hahha.. sometimes cannot treat as though nothing is happening leh :p

So i was wondering whether my gynae is "opening up" my cervix like wat yasmin has said.

Fates,

Wah sai, then my smallest niece asked me to show her my armpit last week. She commented how come my armpit black black.. and i noticed that too previously. Last sat then my gynae saw and commented that the black patches will take 3-4 mths to go off. i didn't know that is part of pregnancy too.

Teenoyl,

Haha u are so cute. It has been a long time since my gynae do poke poke.. until the VE.

KK,
I thought have to drink more water to reduce water retention. Hmm.. I try to drink more barely these days but not much help. Maybe, like what my gynea stated, my boy's head isnt down enough. (sigh!)

Everyone in the company keep laughing at my pig trotter foots. (even sing the song "Humpy Dumpy sit on e wall... have a great fall). Worst, i walk limping since my boy's head sling 2ward right side and sit on my nerves.

Oh! yes, i cant even cross my leg on bed too. We are same.. haha..

Juzmaine,
Yappee, so envy you. Do well for your confinement.

Annie,

Not too sure leh.. another colleague say she doesn't have water retention problem too because she drink little water haha.. she say she drink all kinds of drink except water. Water is just too plain for her when she had her boy.

Yas
Sorry to hear abt ur SIL.. But really hor, its a nice date!! Lets see if any of us hit jackpot on that day!

Annie
Mayb can try massaging and sweet talk ur bb to lie properly??

KK
The only time kana poke is during 1st appt, PapS. Then no more.. Told him the next time he poke is when I felt I am in labour to check how many cm dilate..

Teenoly,

My first experience of being poked is when i had spotting in my 7th week then the gynae checked and removed blood clot for me. Second experience was when he did another V-probe on 2nd appt. After that no more liao.

I heard that we will be poked many many times during labour to check dilation of cervix. And it is painful, unless epidural taken.

kk,
Wahhh never knew our armpit will become darker?

Must go back and inspect it later...

RE: Can't drink water during confinement
HOW CAN?????
Like that how to have BM huh?
I can't survive having to stop drinking plain water leh....

kk,
juzmaine's edd is actually another 2 more weeks but she choose elective c-sec to end the agony faster cos her tummy is really HUGE!

Fates,
Join my gang! I am also going to continue with my plain water intake, cannot do without it man.

Just came back fr gynae visit today.
BB is only 2.4kg at weeek 36, and doc say why your BB is not fat one? haha...
I think i gave up force feeding myself, put on so much weight and yet so little goes to BB. I suppose i will try to slp more to see if absorption rate will be better for him.

Good news is that BB's head have turned down and gynae say that it is unlikely he will be up again. He will prob try to get himself engaged from now. Since i no high blood, no water retention, no complications, gynae say BB will have to decide when he wants to come out.

I think i will start to nag at him everyday to come out liao...haha...

fates and teenoyl,

ya, the old beliefs is that cannot drink PLAIN water, no matter cold or hot...only can drink the red dates thingy and milo or ginger water for the whole month!
i am not gog to follow that though...will be a bigger nitemare than not being able to shower!

Ivy,

Probably the gynae also doesn't want Juzmaine's bb to get any bigger liao. Anyway her bb already crossed the 3 kg mark! if drag longer, the bb will be even bigger!

Haha, tell ur bb there is more fun outside the tummy, so get him to get out fast!

congrats, Juzmaine!

i have not been feeling well these 2 days. i have a burning sensation at the top of my ribcage if i sit for too long. not sure if this is heartburn. woke up at around 4am today with some cramps or maybe they were BH contractions. how do you ladies differentiate them?

Ivy,

i also think my baby is quite small but all i can think of is giving birth asap.

Ivy! Yes I must must must drink water!
Like what you'd mentioned, NOT logical at all leh...those caucasians...or other races, no red dates, what they drink huh? Felt that as long as we don't drink ice cold water....should be ok?

My boy weighs 2.35kg at week35...almost the same as Xavier?

kk and anastasia,

Ya, my gynae say my BB will be small when deliver plus my mum say its okie, can fatten him up when he is out. So i will start to tell BB that inside not so fun, better come out soon and i will buy more toys and clothes for him! haha...

does your gynae check on yr baby's weight during every visit? and can that be only done through a detailed scan?
i dun think i will get any progressive update on my baby's weight from now on, cos i won't be going for another detailed scan i suppose?
how then can my gynae know whether my baby is of reasonable size to be delivered, i wonder?

Ivy,
Ya it's ok if baby is small........it doesn't mean they're unhealthy :p
As a matter of fact, my gynae says easier to give birth this way

gummie,
Ermmm yes....my gynae checks on my boy's weight during every checkup

gummie,

the weight can be estimated using the size of the head...the diff is about 200g lesser than at the detailed scan.

Fates,
yes, thats why i tot too, maybe if small i will have a easier time. But then, the head is now abt 9cm in diameter, seems big hor?

teenoyl,
Yap, migraine attrack. can't tahan, when my boy will come. No, i took 2 panadols not even the extra.
My hubby told my boy not to come out next week cause he will be busy with his work. Hopefully, my boy won't listen to him.

Ivy,
Gong Xi Gong Xi, yr xavier has head down. Great!

Is it old beliefs abt the plain water? My mil and mum didnt mention abt it. Only my mum forbidden me to take shower but my mil said that i should take shower everyday. Anyway, i brought 20 paxs of herbal so that i can take shower.

Fates & teenoyl,

As for me, I will drink hot plain water beside the ginger drink n red date drink and those herbal soups. I have to drink abt 2.5Lite of water. i believe that water also required for producing milk, rite?

I am not sure how true is it, everytime, you try to slim down, those spa saloon will advise you to drink more water to help the body to cleanse inner system and oso ease water retention during the slimming process...

Red date drink n ginger drink will help you to sweat out so that you can get rid of water retention and wind.

Gummie,

i only managed to find out twice about my girl's weight, through detailed scan. if normal scan, the gynae never tell me the weight.

But my colleague mentioned through normal scan, the gynae is able to tell us the weight. It is done in a scientific way by measuring the length, computing the volume, through the density, then find mass of bb, from there u know the weight. Heeee....

The gynae has chart that states the range of weight that goes with number of weeks. From there they are able to tell whether the bb is of a reasonable size or not

i don't think my gynae ever measured the size of the head. my last checkup this Monday i asked her how big is baby now, she only say 'AVERAGE', about 2kg. i have a feeling she is giving me the national standard, not referring to my baby specifically... sianz... now i have no idea how much my boy weighs.

gummie,

ya, it is true most of the time they will tell u the weight is average. Because they can't really tell u in exact, u see.

But my gynae always measure the size of head.

Yasmin,
my bb also ard 2.2kg at wk 34, think she's on the small side but gynae say ok leh... i'm hoping she can come out earlier cos getting very tired and heavy already. Also experiencing menses kinda cramp since last two weeks. Today in wk 36 liao so let's c wat Dr Ong says on my visit next Mon.

gummie, my gynae tells me estimated bb weight during every visit leh despite w/o detailed scan.

Ivy, wah ur baby head already 9cm! Think we can open up to abt 10cm only so baby head must be less than that for natural delivery.

I think the weight is just a rough estimate ... all these while gynae also keep commenting tt BB is average size ...and my last check up indicates BB weight ard 2.5 Kg ... but last evening ... the 1st measurement gynae took shows BB weight as 2.9 kg and then she measures again and say its ard 2.6 kg ....

Now tt the date has been set ... I feel more at ease ... at least dun have to keep guessing when BB is gonna come out ... I think the next to pop will be KK ...follow by sponge then me ... kekeke ... cant wait to see all the BB photos ...

kk/ cindy,
me too, only had baby's weight measured twice. so i guess it's normal huh? maybe an experienced gynae will be able to estimate fairly well how big the baby is simply by touching n feeling the mummy's tummy?

Cindy,
Think our babies are of normal size. Not too big and not too small, on the safe side. My appt is next Tuesday. Update me on your visit ok. Do you normally go Mt E or 10 mile junction clinic for your appt? I prefer Mt E cos nurses are nicer and will get mc for the day to go home and rest. Has your baby turned down? Mine turned down at 32 wks. Still not engaged though. Must ask Dr Ong if engaged on next visit.

taurus,

When is sponge popping??

So u have kind of made do with next wed?

Gummie,

Yup, i believe the gynae know a lot of things just by touching and feeling the tummy. As long as they never say anything, i guess everything is fine
Dun worry ya?

My gynae ever told me once the weight and length just by touching the tummy but I forgot! Too busy listening to the heart beat. Then now, he tot I not very interested to know! He ever checked my old record and 1st son was 3.4kg so he said my 2nd will likely be the same, 3.4kg delivered at abt 38wks..

Will ask him tomorrow when I next go for appt.

wow twinkle, all the best! Hope you have everything ready. Today went to buy some maternity pads. I have to buy diapers for baby. Think dont want to buy expensive one. Think pet pet is cheap, will get that. Not sure if CK is selling it, if not must go NTUC.

Ivy,
Ya 9cm in diameter is big

Imagine you gotta dilate at least that figure for baby to come out naturally! hee...

Wow so many mummies popping next week huh!

Those who pop early can help to take over the chart updating already.

<font size="+2">UPDATE</font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="aa00aa">MAY 2006 MTBs</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Baby's Gender (name)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>21-April-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lim T C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>amie</TD><TD>2-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>sponge</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Girl (Ariel Lim) </TD></TR><TR><TD>sallykoo</TD><TD>4-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Boy (Benson) </TD></TR><TR><TD>matsu</TD><TD>4-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>sook</TD><TD>5-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne Du</TD><TD>6-May-2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle-starry</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_Nana</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>Portland Hospital , UK</TD><TD>Dr Patrick O'brien</TD><TD>Girl (Kaelyn) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie Quah</TD><TD>8-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sindy Lee</TD><TD>9-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Phua Soo Mear </TD><TD>Girl (Sherry) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mei Feng</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y.C Goh </TD><TD>Boy (Joshua) </TD></TR><TR><TD>paradox</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Thong PW</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>lee</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve Lim</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lorraine Wang</TD><TD>16-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Han H C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>anastasia</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>bookworm</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>milo66</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Boy (Kaeden Cheng) </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy Yeo</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy (Xavier) </TD></TR><TR><TD>yasmin</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl (Isabel) </TD></TR><TR><TD>QooSan</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>gummie</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eswallow</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairysnowberry</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>ino</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl (Natalie) </TD></TR><TR><TD>may2006baby</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce Loh</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>teenoyl</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Dr James Lee</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>CP/pierogies</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Raccoon</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>chris</TD><TD>23-May-2006</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>fates</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>SS1</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Tan Hak Koon</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feng</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>bijin</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joceyline Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gabby's mum</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Chiew</TD><TD>Girl (Si'en) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelsy</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mae Lim</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Margaret Heng</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>matched gal</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fairarina</TD><TD>31-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Wong</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font size="+2">ARRIVED!</font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="aa00aa">Name</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">DOB</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Baby's Gender</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Baby's Name</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Baby's Weight</font></TD><TD><font color="aa00aa">Hospital</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mandyray</TD><TD>7-Apr-2006</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Nicholas</TD><TD>2.88kg</TD><TD>KKH / "C-Sect" </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>18-Apr-2006</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Elgin</TD><TD>3.19kg</TD><TD>TMC / "C-Sect" </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

huh when sponge popping ar? sponge also dunno leh.. hahah! But gynae says most prob this or next week.. see if my bb wants to come out by then!

Yasmin,

almost everything is ready. i guess i will only buy the FM after discharge for just in case.

now is cleaning up my house bit by bit. want to hv a nice and smell great when i come home. hahaha

kk,

dunno leh my gynae didnt specify when exactly?? hahaha.. i also hope i can join u.. best is if u, me and Taurus can pop together!

sponge,

haha, dun think taurus can pop this friday. the gynae suggested next wed liao.

ur gynae predicted u going into labour this/next week ah?

twinkle,

I drank twice then stopped. When my mum know i am going to pop this friday, she tell me to drink. So i have drank another one on sunday. And going to drink another one today or tomorrow.

I think u can still start drinking.

gals,
I just checked with my friends, for those who go for natural delivery. For TMC, you can require the midwife to let father to cut e cord. For MT A,if your hubby leave the room immediately after you labour, the gynea will cut for you automatic without asking you whether you want to let yr hubby to do the cutting.

is it annie, I thought all gynaes will give the daddys the honour to do the cutting. This is something new. Thanks for sharing.