(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Gabby's mum

My baby had been obediently in position since 29 weeks.. Last week check-up shows the same.. Gynae worried that at last minute, he changed his mind and turn.. So arrange for scan at 38 weeks..

But gynae doubt baby can tahan for next 4 weeks, may pop out sooner than expected!! Next week appt, gynae will discuss what we should do if baby decided to come out in the taxi... SCARRY!

gabby's mum and teenoyl,

hope your BBs are good! Mine is naughty, giving me headache after yesterday's scan! haha...

Update again after the visit...

ivy,
yap, mom stated so. that's why i demand for to clear 10 weeks in one shot and 2 weeks balance to clear within 6 mths.
My boss don't allow, secetary even stated that mom has a regulation that up to employer's decision since employer allows to have 12 weeks maternity leave.. so sian..

gals,
i extact this information from the MOM. Able to help me to argue with my boss with any valid reason?

Employer side (my boss)

How do I structure the extended 4 weeks of maternity leave if it is taken flexibly?

You can work out any form of flexible arrangement with your employer / employee that best suits the needs of both parties. For example, the employee could, after 8 weeks of maternity leave,

(a) return to work on a half-day scheme;
(b) be on a shortened workweek of 3 days

until the flexed leave equivalent to the number of working days in 4 weeks is exhausted.

Whichever form it takes, both the employer and employee must mutually agree to the arrangement

Annie,

Since your boss dun allow, then bo bian liao loh...Just take the 12 weeks straight off to rest lah. Anyway, as your HR say, you still have so many days of leave to clear if need to bring BB for check ups.

Annie

In the end, its still up to the company to decide. MOM only lay the outlined.

Ya Annie...and if yours is c-sect, your wound will take longer to heal so might as well stay at home to recuperate.

Thanks Taurus! I'll check out mothercare, metro tampines and blush one of these days

Ivy,
The problem is that my boss so cute, he allows me to take 11 weeks at one shot, then leave 1 week to clear within 6 mths (while i propose for 2 weeks to clear within 6 mths)..
Seems no choice but have to follow.. so sian..

gals,
Even my director asked me to go on diet. He stated that i am so fat now.
So sian, my proposal ML not approved then everyone in the company thought that i am going to labour soon.
Still fighting to attend this coming gathering. So you gals can be my judge. Maybe, i am short and having 12kg now seems a lot.. : (

Hi Annie,

Dun worry .. u r not alone ... me only 1.52 m and I already put on 13 kg since my last visit 2 weeks ago ... dun dare to stand on the weighing scale tonight ...kekek ... so if I am able to make it for this sat gathering .... yous gals dun be surprise to see a short round walking potato .... kekekek

Oh ya the gathering!

Gathering, 15th Apr Sat, 11am Menotti
1) Fates
2) Ivy
3) Scott
4) Ceepeetee
5) Zach's mum
6) ino (might drop by to say 'HI!')
7) Taurus (tbc)
8) milo (tbc)

Any more?

I hate to look at myself in the mirror now.....face so round. Yeeeeeee..

haha my wt shld be no 1 liao..keke i have already hit 72kg, looking myself in the mirror takes big courage :p

hey gals,

to the showering topic for BBs. My sister just learn from her colleagues that for the 1st 2 weeks, we can bath BBs with Guiness Stout. It will ensure that BB have smooth skin and no rash! haha...is it true? Anyone heard or tried?
P.S: they are all teachers, cannot believe that they also follow these tales.

Sigh, mention bout weight gain, i sure champion one. Gained 20-21kg already. Ht only 157cm. My knee and pelvic joint really kena abused for the extra weight. Sigh...3 more weeks to go...

Today, in office, i suddenly felt like crying. Hope its not depression setting in.

I gained 11kg so far at 34 weeks. Feel progressively worse day by day. Nausea coming back, Braxton Hicks contractions, frequent urination, cannot find a comfortable sitting position, cannot bend down, backache etc... Still have 6 more weeks to go, dunno whether can tahan or not. No wonder pple say the 2nd trimester is the honeymoon period. Sigh...

I have an opened packet of Pet Pet diapers (Size S) for sale. The cutting is suitable for new born babies (below 5kg ) There are 44 pcs remaining so I would like to sell it at $6.50 (bought it from Jl at 8.90 for 46 pcs).

In addition, I have 2 pairs of Mothermates hydrogel discs for sale cos I bought two much. Willing to sell it at $17.50 each. More info can be found at http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/mothermates.html

They are really good for sore and cracked nipples.

Interested buyers please contact me at [email protected]

Yesterday was my appt. It went on well. Baby has gained weight and is healthy.
Thanks to all you gals' prayers!
God Bless.

Me too feeling nausea these days. Especially during mornings when I brush my teeth.......
CP, your condition just like mine. I can understand how you feel.

Talking abt weight gain, I have gained 15kg. On Monday my colleague mentioned that I got water retention. sianz......

Sook

Same-same here.. I always maintain my weight at 43-45kg MAX..I 157cm wif additional 20kg now! But not surprising cos my first one, I put on total 23kg. I now felt so big, heavy and breathless all the time.

But Annie, what ur director said to you was so mean!! My colleagues sometime teased me wen I tompang their car. They said we shld spread out or car tilt one side (of course to my side lah!)

I always tell myself, I put on more now, ok, as long baby healthy. After birth, den can worry how to lose weight!

The 1st one, I start dieting immediately after confinement. I loose all the extra kilos by the time I start work - all thxs to the bread-only diet and climbing up stairs exercise!

hello Annie,

i think when your baby is born, you will be happy that you get to spend more time with him before returning to work. that is what many mothers tell me..that i will miss my baby if i were to leave him for a few hours.

hi teenoyl,

bread only diet helps to reduce weight? i thought bread is high in carbo, especially those enriched white bread like gardenia and sunshine?

i have gained 14kg at week 34. baby is now about 2.2 - 2.3kg. to my relief, his head has turned down during scan last night.

Warning

My diet plan is not recommended by dietitian!! So everyone please don't follow my example!!
nono.gif

Except for the exercise part.

Anastasia
I chose wholemeal bread cos it makes me feel full and not so hungry and they contain same carbo, like rice! Dat's why I can afford to skip normal meal without feeling lethargic..

Ya boy,my gynae keeps on telling me i am overweight. Put on 14 kg and i am week 34 also.
Sigh, now control my diet like mad

yasmin,
gd to hear that Isabel is growing well...

I had my appt yesterday as well. My weight has sort of maintained since i controlled my diet due to glucose problem. But yesterday, my weight increased by 1.4kg and only abt 500g goes to bb.
Dr Ong was concerned that i put on so much wt.

In total i've gained abt 13kg and i'm week 35 today.

teenoyl, i've been having wholemeal bread/biscuits for breakfast and tea breaks. This is wat my dietician has advised... but can only take 2 to 3 pieces each time. But then i still feel hungry leh :p

yasmin

gd to hear that your baby is growing well.

I have also put on abt 13kg at 34wks. Thk next check up at 36 wks will be another 1-2kg. I hope not to exceed 16kg this round, like my 1st child. Her weight is gd for a gal, at 3.33kg, 50cm, born at 40 wks.

Obs said most likely i will carry my 2nd child to full term like the 1st one, not likely to give birth early.

In terms of food wise, i just eat whatever i like :p had a tuna puff and muffin this morning for breakfast, and char keoy teow for lunch ytd...sinful :p but i thk i better eat now, cos after birth i really must slim down. Taking the stairs sounds gd, but thk i have to do it 1 mth after deliver, otherwise the epitosomy will still hurt.

Hey gals, no worries lah...I am also 14kg at 34th week. sigh. I am quite a bread person too. haha-convenient and keeps one full.

hey ivy, take things with a pinch of salt yah...teacher or no teachers, your sister's colleagues also heard fr others...never heard of bathing baby with stout...funniest joke for the longest time. hee.

however, did anyone read the latest issue of Young Parents' BABY-the quarterly issue March 06? I read about the episotomy and its 'real' necessity....but how to tell gyne who seems to be a routine person when it comes to epi? It's quite a good issue - at least for 1st time mummies, so do go buy/read it-lots of info on postnatal/breastfeeding/childcare....$6/6.50....
cheers.

Cindy
U mean now? Hah!! No.no.no.. I mean after giving birth I ate bread.. Now? I swallow anything edible dats lay infront of me!! My gynae did comment on my "growing sidewayness". But dat's another story!

cindy,

did u really follow on a strict diet for ur glucose prob? i have been monitoring once a week at hm and realise that even after eating sweet stuff, my glucose level still pass thus i sort of 'never follow strictly'. last visit, gynae took a tube of blood from me to see how well i monitor for the past 6 weeks, hopefully can pass

Hi Ladies!

Have not been dropping by this thread often.

Wow, all the talk on weight.. I too have gained around 14 kg at week 35. This is my week 36. BB weighs 2.9 kg. Head is down, but dunno will turn up or not heee...

hi bookworm & Cindy,

i think gaining 13 - 14 kg is normal, if you were not overweight before pregnancy. or are you both petite so the gained weight looks like a lot on your small frames? my gynae has never commented that i gained too much weight. i was a 'M' size and my height is about 1.6m.

chris,
i finished reading the Young Parents' BABY. agree that it is a very informative issue for new mothers-to-be like us.

milo,
my gynae wanted me to monitor on one weekend every week, n i always fail for my dinner cos got family dinner, that's when my mum cook my favourite fd so i tend to eat a bit more.. hehe

weekdays i will try to take fish soup or porridge for dinner so still ok. Wah it's gd that u still pass after eating sweet stuff. Sometimes i will pamper myself wif kfc or mcdonalds and when i take the soft drink i will fail my test

Hi Anastasia,

Sigh, my gynae always comment that i am overweight
He say i should gain only around 7 kg but i gained 14 kg instead

Can't be helped.. sometimes i eat soo much.. cannot control heee...

cindy,

u try walking more after eating sweet stuff, seems to help for me. the 1st few weeks i was super guai, keeping to healthy meal then dunno wat happen, cannot resist eating ice-cream
took one then tested my blood after 2 hrs, still within the range that gynae set for me, after that haywire liao. but think i better control abit, so scare of injecting insulin.

hi kk,

sure or not? 7kg? your baby is almost 3kg so that means you can only put on 4kg? you do not have high glucose problem, right?

Anastasia,

Nope, no glucose problem *touchwood* haha..

The gynae even used measuring tape to measure my tummy and commented how come my tummy so big, look like those at 40 weeks. So he scan for me as he suspect there is too much water inside.

But it turns out fine and he say probably due to lax abdomen muscle, that's why my tummy so big.

At the rate i am eating, how can i gain only 7 kg?? I eat basically anything. I eat whenever i feel hungry. I won't restrain myself too much as long as it is healthy food.

wow kk, your baby very gd wt at almost 3kg.

Cindy and bookworm, both of you put on 1 kg lesser than me and yet Dr Ong can say you need to watch your diet? So far he has not said anything abt my wt gain... maybe becos I already so fat. With my big built, standing at 1.64m, I really look like a 2-legged elephant.
Have you gals done the swap? I just did mine yesterday. Dont know when can get result.

Just now felt sharp pain right aft I got up frm toilet bowl aft peeing. Then the pain shifted to my anus. Till now got pain and pressure at anus. Hope its not a sign of my baby engaging.

Chris

I just read finish the YP BABY. Yeah its very informative not only for new MTBs but also already-a-mummy like me...

Me also interested abt the epi topic. Intend to discuss this a bit more wif my gynae at next visit, next week.

Yasmin,

Now i have all kind of feelings at abdomen and other areas. Tightening of tummy, sudden pain, etc. Now sitting down and coming up from toilet bowl is not an easy task too *sigh*

Just went for gynae visit last night and today on half day leave coz cannot wake up n keep feeling very tired ...kekek

I have gained 14 kg at wk 37 and BB only 2.5 kgs .... compare to some of yous ... my BB seems alittle on the small side but everyone also commented tt I got a super big tummy ...gynae side my BB is average size ... not big not small ... and he is already engaged ... whcih means to say that I will most likely be going for natural delivery ....

Gaynae will do a virginal check next week to see if crevix starts to open .... most probably will delivers in the next 2 weeks .... so gan cheong now ....

Hi Yasmin,

I orlady did the swap n tested positive of GBS ...8( ... it usually takes ard 3 days for the results ...

Hi teenoyl,
The swap is a virginal swap which gyane will take from your virginal using a cotton bud and sent to lab to test fro a bacteria call the GBS ... if tested positive ...will have to take antibotics and also jab during delivery to make sure that BB didnt pick up the bcacteria during birth ...

taurus,

When did u have the swap test? I didn't have any yet.

Hmm, so u are doing the vaginal check at week 38? i am in my week 36, that means will have it soon too...

Hi KK,

I did the swap during my wk 36 .... and yes, will be doing the vaginal check at wk 38 .... if my crevix is opening up .... then mostly likely will deliver next week .... gosh getting all panick now ... 8)

Anastasia/Yasmin,
me not those petite kind, i'm ard 1.62m. Think Dr Ong is worried abt me taking too much carbo and sugar resulting in the wt gain. Not so much that i'm overweight...

yasmin, me did the swap test yesterday too. Hopefully everything ok else got another thing to worry besides my glucose level, will peng san.

milo,
me too, took ice cream last week.. hehe
did u take the sugary stuff wif meal or in between meals? ok, will try to walk ard more. Normally will just sit and relax on the bed after dinner cos by then my feet will be swollen.

cindy,

dunno whether this is consider cheating but i will take ice-cream tog after dinner. from my last bite onwards will start counting the 2 hrs. during the wait, other than plain water will not take any thing else. and normally hubby will make me walk n walk after meals cos he say no good to keep sitting down lor even though my feet so swollen

me also jus took my swap test last week. bb still in breech position. praying hard that eveything will be fine, cannot take another blow, will peng san also

Taurus, thanks for the explanation.

Cindy, think he is concerned bcos of the glucose level. Me too have swollen feet but will only get it if I am in office. If I am at home, my feet is ok. Hahahaha....maybe my body and baby want me to stay at home.

wow..taurus,

u must be really gan cheong now.Gosh, can u believe i am still looking for my nursing bra and pyjamas. Haha, yet to bought cotton panties also. haha

KK,
Only 14kg, its normal dear for asian woman. According to Fetal Programming - By Dumex (got this book from TMC).

The breakdown is as follows:
Baby :3.18 to 3.85kg
Amniotic Fluid : 0.914kg
Placenta: 0.91 - 1.13 kg
Increased in blood volume : 1.81 - 2.27kg
Tissue Fluid: 1.36 - 2.27kg
Increased weight of uterus: 0.91kg
Body changes for breastfeeding: 0.45 - 1.81kg
Mother reserves( extra fats n protein to be uased as energy source n cell formation / replair during pregnacy, labour and delivery n assist the production of milk after birth) : 1.81-2.72kg

So, by adding those up: 11 -16kg (if yr pre pregnacy weight is normal).

so dun worry.

Anastasia / teenoyl,

I am kind of workaholic person, i prefer to go to work then to stay at home. Heard some gals said they would like to quit the job to look after baby after their babies are borned. I am not sure whether i am sure person or not. However, 1 thing for sure, i don't like to be "yellow face woman"

I think i eat too much pizza, ice cream, cold dessert these days which i dont eat before pregnacy.

What a day, i have migraine attrack since 4 am this morning. End up, i have 2 take m.c.
luckily, my hubby takes urgent leave to take care of me. Else, with the non stop puking and serve pain.. i doubt i can tahan, sure knock my head on the wall since strong medicine cannot take in late stage. :~(