(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

gals,

have any bought car seat? I am looking for one that is not too bulky, can can be used from birth to toddler...
Can share the pricing as well?

Hi Ivy,

I'm looking for one too! Have done a bit of homework. Those that can be used from infant to toddler are termed as "convertible". Chicco shuttle is always selling at offer price of 279. Tried to get it at the last robinson sale but the saleperson say it is not available for 20%+5%. They actually kept some item even when it's supposed to be "storewide".

Another one i like is Cosco Omega Elite but it is out of stock from Kidmall, selling at 349 b4 discount. Really cool looking, can take up to 45kg child! It's also selling at first few year @379 (no discount).

Now, i'm still comtemplating if i shld get an infant carseat (0-13kg) and another bigger one (9-18kg) later instead of convertible..sigh

Thanks, Eve for your noticing abt Menotti 1 for 1...but since timing doesn't really fit, no choice lor, i suppose but i had the set lunch before and really quite value for $ so no prob i guess...

Indeed, if we are crazy enough, we can proceed to HD for ice-cream aft our brunch to satisfy ice-cream craving...haha...
this is fun.

Anybody just gave birth in Thomson Medical with the new medisave subsidy (w.e.f April 06) and did not take their 1-bedded package due to staying in deluxe or VIP suite room? Can you share your total bill?

Yo sally,

Ermmm nobody from this thread has popped yet

hi chris,

i cancel the bumwear order cos my mum who is taking care of my boy is not very supportive of cloth diapering. partly cos she dun have the habit of using WM and has to take care of my wheel-chaired bound dad so disposable is easier for her lor.

however, lynette say she has paid rita liao so guess no choice have to get it. one thing i dun understand is she haven close the order and ppl are still adding or changing. how she pay leh..

oh dear...that's too bad...guess u can still use the diapers when u take care of baby then...

well, my first BP with Lynette so dunno her style but dun wan to hurry her but she didn't say when we can collect so i went down to united sq yesterday to try my luck...of cos went home empty-handed lah...haha...well, wat to do..hey honestly, people coordinating BP like that...got benefits for themselves or not har?
hee.

another question for you mummies,
when should we 'reserve' our malay massage ladies??? I suppose should do so alrdy...anyone knows someone that we should swear by...i noted down all the names of those posted before...but my question is...what if we e-c-sect then our arrangements all screwed up right??? so, how far in advance should we book our massage??

hi chris,

I booked mine (Mdm Rohaya) back in January...but if i have c-section (*touch wood*) , then will have to cancel (altho some might still do it 3-5 wks later) coz the wounds will take a longer time to heal...dun want to take any chances. i tink c-section wounds will take at least 2 mths to heal lor.

Hmmm...as for benefits for the organiser of BP, it realli depends on the integrity of the organiser...oh well...even if they have benefits, i guess they deserve it lor coz it's not easy to co-ordinate..imagine got to arrange for payment/collection from both seller and buyer...quite ley chey. ;-P (just my opinion lar)

hi milo,
wat's WM?

chris,

that y lor. i ask her upon payment when can collect, she didnt give me a definite ans also. dun feel comfortable that the order seems to keep on going and going like never close leh. anyway will transfer the payment to her morrow and if really no use, see can sell off or not lor.

as for benefit wise, the only one i could think of was to have more ppl sharing the shipping cost with me that time for the gym order. as for her, since she is not buying herself, wonder y she wants to go through all the trouble.

ino,

oh WM is washing machine..my mum prefer to hand wash all the clothes

Mommies planning to deliver at TMC, did your gynae help you with the pre-admission. I was curious how come i have not received any letter though i am in week 36+ already. He say no need wor. Just bring myself and tummy can already.

After the incident, I have been psyching myself that baby will arrive earlier. But my gynae said normally, first baby seldom earlier, normally later than EDD. Baby's presentation is head down but have not engaged. Ayoh, whole body ache, dunno how to tahan for another month

Milo, your mom will take care of baby full time? Maybe use the BW when baby is at your home?

I suspect, there is more than i person manning the 'lynette' identity. I see some discrepancies in the info thru mobile sms, Forum thread, e-mail. Now , its even more complicated with the yahoo broaadcast thingy.
Last sunday morning, for example, she was supposed to be in church service, but yet i see her posting in the thread.

This is not the first time i join her BP. But this time, she is definitely more sluggish. I see a change in style lo.

hi sook,
i got to do my own pre-admission lei. My gynae did not do it for me. She just helped me book the room, that's all. Thomson actually sent me a pre-admission form and said i need to make a deposit. Anyway, going for my appt next wk, cld check out further.

hi milo,
same here...my parents also prefer to handwash her clothes

ino,
Two appts ago, gynae asked me where i want to deliver, i said TMC. But after 2 weeks still no letter, asked gynae again. He say no need to pre-book. I dun even have to confirm the type of room leh.
You have to pay deposit before the actual day? What room you are booking? SSVIP??

Have you booked your pediatrician? I musn't forget to ask my gynae next visit.

My boy is born!! He is born on 07 April 2006 via C-section. Cos contractions non-stop after 2 days and a failed induced labour for natural birth.

Oh..He is 2.88kg at 36 weeks when he is born.

Finally home yesterday...sigh..confinement....

Congratulations Ray!!!
Take care of yourself.

Think I will pop early too!!! Feel baby pressing down on pelvic area and going thr false contractions! Hope that she can stay in me at till at least 36 weeks when her lungs are ready, but my no 1 popped at 38 so hoping that no 2 will not pop too early too

Wow Ray,

Congrats! Is this your first? He is really early...

Raccoon,

I am thinking of a infant to toddler one cos i will need to ferry bb to my mum house every morning after confinement...

hi Ray,

Congrats!!!!! wow...first mummy to pop! so did u go thru' epi c-section or GA c-section?

hi sook,
must double-check with the TMC staff next Sat on the deposit thingy. tink can wait till admission to place the deposit. but i wanted to do so earlier to capitalise on some promotion by Maybank (trying to hit $2K by 30 April to enjoy their special promo offer...kekeke).

woah SSVIP...dream long long ah...i opting for 1-bedder niah.

As for PD, i've not booked but i'm quite keen on Dr Ong Eng Keow from SBCC or Dr Ang Poon Liat...have not decided yet.

hi gabby,
wat's false contractions?

Wah.. our first MAY baby is out!! Congrats Ray!

sook,

yup my mum will be taking care of my bb full time. trying to see if i can sell off the BW first lor
the BP thing is getting confusing. still see ppl adding now and then. once u got news can collect, let me know as well hor

Congrats Ray!

Your baby is at good weight at 36 wks. Hope you are coping well with your confinement and your new role as mum.
Pls share with us on more details on motherhood when you have the time. Also post some pics of your baby leh. Take care!

Qoosan,
Sorry for the late reply, e letter contain the gynea clinic stamp chopped and letter head and oso he sign on it.
letter stated that I am in e stage of labour / contraction already start, ps arrange for admission, give her the following, eg: monitor ultra sound ... & e epi. jab (with patient agreement).

Hi Ray

Congratulations on your baby boy! It must be such a relief for you now, unlike all of us here, still have to carry the big weight around.

I am experiencing lots of backache esp when i was in bed. Walking also siong, wanna shop but have to rest after half an hr...

UPDATE!!!

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="0000ff">MAY 2006 MTBs</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby's Gender (name)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>18-Apr-2006</TD><TD>TMC / "C-Sect"</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Boy (Elgin) </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>1-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lim T C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>amie</TD><TD>2-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>sponge</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Girl (Ariel Lim) </TD></TR><TR><TD>sallykoo</TD><TD>4-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Boy (Benson) </TD></TR><TR><TD>matsu</TD><TD>4-May-2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sook</TD><TD>5-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle-starry</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_Nana</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>Portland Hospital , UK</TD><TD>Dr Patrick O'brien</TD><TD>Girl (Kaelyn) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie Quah</TD><TD>8-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sindy Lee</TD><TD>9-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Phua Soo Mear </TD><TD>Girl (Sherry) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mei Feng</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y.C Goh </TD><TD>Boy (Joshua) </TD></TR><TR><TD>paradox</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Thong PW</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>lee</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve Lim</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lorraine Wang</TD><TD>16-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Han H C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>anastasia</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>bookworm</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>milo66</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Boy (Kaeden Cheng) </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy Yeo</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy (Xavier) </TD></TR><TR><TD>yasmin</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl (Isabel) </TD></TR><TR><TD>QooSan</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>gummie</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eswallow</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairysnowberry</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>ino</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl (Natalie) </TD></TR><TR><TD>may2006baby</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce Loh</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>teenoyl</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Dr James Lee</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>CP/pierogies</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Raccoon</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>chris</TD><TD>23-May-2006</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>fates</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>SS1</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Tan Hak Koon</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feng</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>bijin</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joceyline Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gabby's mum</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Chiew</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelsy</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mae Lim</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Margaret Heng</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>matched gal</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fairarina</TD><TD>31-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Wong</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

We Are Born!
401110.gif

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>Baby's Gender</TD><TD>Baby's Name</TD><TD>Baby's Weight</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>mandyray</TD><TD>7-Apr-2006</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>2.88kg</TD><TD>KKH / "C-Sect" </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

False contractions also known as braxton hicks.
it happens at the lower abd. I get it like once for 20 secs a day sometimes a few times. Since its not regular, I will not run to my obs yet...

Real labour pain is consistent. It radiates to the lower back. then you press the panic button.

For my no 1, i got the pain consistently, however, the pain was bearable. Then mucus plug came off. Thank God water bag did not burst yet, then I fled to the hospital. In less than 4 hours my darling arrived!!!

The only problem now is that I have NOT PACKED!!! Even though I think she will come early. Taking things for granted!! hehe

Anyway, anyone signed up to store baby's cord blood yet??

ivy,
i got e basket type for car seat. only for infant till 13kgs (1 years old)cost $179 at robinson. Made in Itay. Brand: has to check..

You can buy infant up to 4 years old (as govt law instructed) cost $399.

You oso can buy for infant till abt 2 years old, cos if infant can seat, they love to view outside the window while you were driving.. then change to those "top Up seater"

have ur gynae gave "instruction" to u already? mine gave me a short note on how to differentiate between the real thing and false alarm. got one part state that we shld admit ourself into the delivery ward, dun have to contact the gynae, after mid wife examine us liao the will update gynae. normal?

Hi Milo,

Hmmm why you wanna sell your BW away? Your baby won't be with your mum 24X7 right? If you want, you can still use when the baby is with you

Actually the bulk purchase is close already....just some people keeping editing their orders that's why

Ivy,

For the carseat, Maxi Cosi Cabrio is good as you can use from birth to about 13kg. For me I didn't buy as I'll be getting a hand-me-down from my SIL. I bought the Maxi Cosi Priori XP instead as I can use from 9mths up to 4 years old

I am also trying to pack my bag, but not finished yet :p

ytd night, i suddenly got the urge to poo in the middle of the night. So scared its baby coming out, cos the feeling is like that. But no contractions so i tot cannot be. Luckily i really got poo :p cos now only 34wks+, still early.

hi fates,

ic.. keke didnt know it was close liao. guess will give it a try bah

have u all got the disposable undies ready? that day dunno wat came over me, took out one and try, ended up cant even pull up past my butt
heng i tried else later at the hosp no undies to wear.

hi gabby,

oic. my colleague was telling me that braxton hicks occurs at the top/middle of the tummy...now i'm confused.

Btw, tinking of signing up with StemCord...cheaper than Cordlife...but do u noe what's the difference between the both of them besides the price?

hi eve,

hahahha...so farnie...i also experienced stomach pain over the weekend...praying it's not the bb coming out ;-P

i tried to pack my bag too but realised i can't put in quite a few things.

btw, is anyone wearing disposables during the hospital stay? is it advisable?

hi ivy,
seems like these 2 PDs are good. My bro , my cousins all went under Dr Ang PL. As for Dr Ong, my colleague recommended him. Remembered hearing him giving a talk during our last session of the antenatal class. Looks and sounds gentle and assuring. ;-)

haha ino..i agree that Dr Ong sounding quite nice. I would choose him if I have the choice/luxury.

Recommendation for you ladies...to buy the watson's cotton disposable undies...it's about $3 for 5/6? and definitely more comfortable...anything to make us feel better after birth isn't it...
yes...wearing disposables for sure during hosp (but since milo tried n can' fit...i prob bring normal maternity panties, jus in case...haha)..cos i heard the blood flow's irritatingly heavy n if stain and all, might as well just throw away...there u go. my 5 cents worth again...

congrats to Ray too. Can't wait to hear your birth story..is baby home yet?

anyone experience pressure at prviate area? very uncomfortable and a bit painful when the pressure sits on it.

yes, will be wearing disposables. Can get the cotton ones from watsons or sorella, I grab a mth's supply during the sale. Paper ones a bit flimsy, later here torn there torn :p Anyway I am also using disposables for the whole mth, cos we cannot wash our undies during confinement, min. contact with water if possible. And not so nice to get my mum, who is helping me, to wash la.

I still havent found any nice dress with front opening i can wear when i am in the hospital....sigh

I oso bought the disposable cotton panties from watson ... now wat milo said makes me worried...better go home n try first ... otherwise will faint if have to go without panties at the hospital...hahaha... tks milo for reminiding us ... never tot tt it will not fit ...

Yestersday was trying to poo but having real bad constipation and I think i have over-exerted and feel sudden stomach pain tt gave me a shock .... quickly lie down on bed and do deep breathing ....

Hi twinkle-starry,

I experience the pressure at the private area few weeks back n I did check with gynae... she say its normal ...

Congrats Ray ... wow ... first may mummy to pop ... cant wait to see your BB pics ...

Birth story..very long...

02 Apr 06
Contractions started, 15 mins per contractions... Tried to sleep, cos no water bag burst and no "SHOW"

03 Apr 06
COntractions still carry on... still no water bag and no "SHOW". Took urgent leave to stay home, decided to go hospital at 9pm (after dinner and shower)

Gynae decided to let me stay in hospital to monitor, cos contractions 10 mins apart, cervice still closed, no water bag burst, no "SHOW".

04 - 07 Apr 06
Still monitoring, contractions never stopped despite medications. Still cervice remain closed, no water bag burst and no "SHOW". Contractions 10 mins apart.

Decided to induce labour, since baby of good weight and active.

Labour induced at 6pm, with first "tablet" insert into vagina to open up the cervice.

08 Apr 06
Pain goes on till 6am. Took an injection to numb pain and fell asleep...contractions at 5 mins apart, cervice open only 0.5cm, no water bag burst, no "SHOW".

Decided for C-section at 8am, cos gynae said cannot insert 2nd "tablet" for induce birth. Contractions too closed at 5 mins interval and will caused hypertension to baby.

2pm- went into surgery, half body anaestahia (dun rem the spelling)...
2.47pm- baby "Nicholas" is born.

After the c-section, the gyane informed me that I tested positive for "GBS". In another point of view, c-section is good for the baby. The bacteria which could be passed to baby if I went thru natural birth.

long long story...

chris/taurus,

keke.. glad to be of some help.. my hubby was practically rolling on the floor when i showed him the pathetic undies. he tried to help me pull up ended up hear the tearing sound so i think getting the cotton one is better. will go watson to have a look

fates,
See! ray oso dun have 'show". heheh..its really up to individual.

twinkle starry,
Oh! yes, had it, my gynea told me my baby weight actually heavier the nerves surround that area include yr p.part.
I get the uncomfortable feeling n pain after i go swimming.. maybe soak yrself in a warm bath tub..

I got my cotton maternity Disposable undies from Metro. The brand is Delux and they do hv big sizes and this is sure fit for those who hv huge tummy.

Congrat Ray! post us yr baby photo soon

Thanks Ray for sharing! Ermm are the contractions painful? Did you go through epidural during the induction? Btw what is GBS? Didn't the gynae detect this in the routinal checkup?

Oh ya...you girls reminded me on the disposable panties thingy! Must go and buy.

Yo Annie,
Different mummies different symptoms mah..hehehe...yours got 'show; already, so it's soooner or later..sonner i guess

AND you still go swimming!

Ray,
lucky u choose 2 go for c-section. My gf's sis didnt, had 2 go through 19 hrs for contraction n worst her water bag only burst 1 hr b4 her actual labour..
She said that her p. part is so painful for more than 2 weeks when i visited her..

fates,
hhehe.. i pray hard my boy wont come out so early.. better for him to stick to e date or later than that. ( old folks said overdue baby is more intelligent, duno true or not).. Hahah.. i want to enjoy life first. Through, its tough to carry a heavy tummy and swollen foots to walk around,but at least, got time for my hubby and myself alone.. haha :p

Oh! yes, i think becos i used e cleanser to clean my private part after each swim thats why i wont get infection.. i think so..

sad news, i ate pizza last nite. These days, eating cold desserts everytime when i dine out to cool down my body.. and eating ice cream at home.. jialat, how to slim down.

You better buy more disposable panties.. best for a mth supply.

fates,
hope this information helps:

What is Group B Streptococcus?
Group B Streptococcus, or GBS, is one of many different bacteria that normally live in our bodies. Approximately one third of adults 'carry' GBS in their intestines and a quarter of women have it in their vagina. Most don't know it's there, as the bacteria don't usually cause problems or symptoms. However, in rare cases, GBS can cause serious illness and even death in newborn babies.

How do I know if I carry GBS? If you do carry GBS, you won't necessarily know as there aren't usually any ill effects. There is a simple test available for GBS, but this isn't done routinely in pregnancy and, according to the charity Group B Strep Support
, it only picks up around 50 per cent of carriers, anyway. For this reason it's important for pregnant women and their carers to know when babies are most likely to develop a GBS infection and what the signs of GBS infection in babies are.

Now I'm pregnant, what should I know about GBS?
Most babies who are exposed to GBS before or during birth suffer no ill effects. However, around one in 1,000 babies in the UK develops a GBS infection: that's 700 babies a year. Sadly, around 100 of these babies will die.

Why some babies develop an infection while others don't isn't clear. What is clear is that most GBS infection in newborn babies can be prevented by giving women in higher-risk situations (see Is my baby at risk of getting a GBS infection?, below) intravenous antibiotics either from the start of labour or from when their waters break (whichever comes first) until their baby is born.

Caesareans are not recommended to prevent GBS infection in babies as they don't eliminate the risk of GBS to the baby.

Very occasionally GBS causes infection of the womb or urinary tract in new mothers.

Is my baby at risk of developing GBS infection?
Your baby is more likely to develop a GBS infection if:

you go into labour prematurely (before 37 weeks of pregnancy)

your waters break prematurely (before 37 weeks) with or without other signs of labour

your waters break more than 18 to 24 hours before you have your baby

you have a raised temperature (37.8C or higher) during labour

you have been found to carry GBS during your current pregnancy

GBS has been found in your urine during this pregnancy (this should be treated when diagnosed, but even if you have been treated, extra precautions should still be taken during labour, see How should my labour be managed?, below)

you have previously had a baby infected with GBS.

How can my baby be kept safe from GBS?
If you don't fall into one of the higher-risk groups, above, your baby is highly unlikely to develop a GBS infection.

If you are higher-risk, research shows that having intravenous antibiotics from the start of your labour or from when your waters break (whichever comes first) until your baby is born can prevent most GBS infections in newborn babies. Ideally, you should have intravenous antibiotics for at least four hours before your baby is born.

If your baby is at higher risk of developing a GBS infection, once he is born:

he should be examined by a paediatrician immediately

if both you and he are completely healthy, and you have had at least four hours intravenous antibiotics, he should not be given intravenous antibiotics

if both you and he are healthy, but you have not received four hours of intravenous antibiotics, he should be started on intravenous antibiotics until he's given the all clear

if you or he shows signs of GBS infection, he should be started on intravenous antibiotics immediately.

What are the signs of GBS infection in a baby?
Approximately 60 per cent of GBS infections in babies are apparent at birth and 90 per cent within the first two days. This is known as 'early-onset' GBS. It can usually be successfully treated with intravenous antibiotics, although even with the best possible care the infection can be fatal in around one in eight infected babies.

Typical signs of early-onset GBS infection include:

grunting

poor feeding

lethargy

low blood pressure

irritability

abnormally high or low temperature, heart rate and/or breathing rate.

Around 10 per cent of GBS infections develop after the baby is two days old ('late-onset' GBS), usually as meningitis with septicaemia. Most babies survive with treatment, although approximately 30 per cent will be left with long-term problems.

The warning signs of late-onset GBS infection may include:

fever

poor feeding and/or vomiting

drowsiness.

Signs of meningitis in babies may include, as well as any of the signs listed above:

shrill or moaning cry or whimpering

dislike of being handled, fretful

tense or bulging fontanelle (soft spot on head)

involuntary body stiffening/jerking movements

floppy body

blank, staring or trance-like expression

low or high breathing rate

turns away from bright lights

pale and-or blotchy skin.

Early diagnosis and treatment are vital in late-onset GBS infection or meningitis so, if your baby shows any of the signs above, call your GP immediately. If your GP isn't available, go straight to casualty. The risk of your baby developing GBS decreases with age GBS infections in babies are rare after one month of age and virtually unknown after three months.

I'm carrying GBS -- what now?
If you have been affected by GBS in a previous pregnancy, or you are found to be carrying it in your current pregnancy, talk to your midwife or obstetrician and agree a pregnancy/birth plan that will protect your baby from the infection. In the vast majority of cases pregnancy can be managed so your baby is protected and born healthy and free from GBS. For more information about GBS, talk to your midwife or doctor or contact Group B Strep Support.