(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

annie,

aiyo dun make things sound so frightening leh.. i dun think we care so much on the part whether our mil blame us for anything or not, the bb is ours and we carried him/her for so long. shld anything happen, i think w/o their saying anything, its enough to kill us liao.

jus my 2cents worth...

fates,
dun be pantang lah....it is OKIE to set the baby room with you around...imagine all those ang mo who did the painting and furniture stuff once they know they are expecting...

milo66,
no lar.. i dun have that intention. for me, i oso around when i took my single bed n mattress from my parents' hse, all have to depatch before move to my house. Just d that 2 weeks ago.. haha..

for other pp mil, i duno.. i oni noe that my mil already instructed me wat not to eat..so follow lor..

in case, she blames me anything in future.. except the massage.. haha

Well Ivy, I am not very pantang lah, neither is my MIL

She don't believes in all these CRAPS. It's only my mum who is more 'traditional' in thinking but she's not staying with me so it's ok.

Annie,
You are living in the 21st century and I'd told you several times liao not to listen too much to those stories leh. Up to you if you wanna scare yourself? I don't know but why all your colleagues like machiam lots of all these unfortunate incidents?

DUH!

Hi Little Nana, I am delivering in hospital. Though I've read that homebirths are quite common here, none of my friends had homebirths, so the idea didn't occur to me. I forgot, did you mention somewhere in the thread that you'll be delivering in Spore?

Hi gals, I agree with fates. We are living in the 21st century, with leap and bounds improvement in technology and medical science since our mothers' days. Dun overscare yourself with the superstitutions. Why dun we focus our attention on what we know will definitely count towards delivering a healthy baby, like exercise, nutrition etc?

Like what Ivy mentioned, the angmos here decorate and paint their nursery. I helped my hubby assemble the crib (cot) too when we got it in January. We are still decorating our nursery. Maybe I could share some pics when it is ready.

hi fates,
so u gals are buying the bumwear lar? hmm...am wondering how long will the pants last before we wash if we keep changing the inserts? another of colleague commented that it's machiam like wearing sanitary pad for the bb...kekekeke...sounds terrible...;-P

hi chris,
woah...first time i hear about the bush story...interesting...

fates,
Haha.. not to scare myself lar.. i m not pantang but my hubby is.. through we are the same age. He listens to his mum, so he controls a lot of things that what my mil instruction..
She is v open minded in a lot of things but maybe becos this is her 1st grand son..tats y..
My colleagues are not that old fashion but i duno.. marriage laid on two families.. so .. if 1 party pull e blame on it... stir e unhappiness..

i found this information.. but anyone knows where to raspberry leaf tea since MIM still out of stock?

Can raspberry leaf tea help to ease labour?

Expert: Wisty Hoyland, BA Hons MNIMH [See Biography]

Question: I've heard that raspberry leaf tea in pregnancy can help to make labour easier. If so, when should I start taking it and how much should I take?
Wisty Hoyland: In a study carried out in Sydney, Australia, 192 first-time mums were given at random either a 1.2g raspberry leaf tablet or a placebo twice a day from 32 weeks of pregnancy. The herb had no harmful effects on mother or baby, and those women who had taken raspberry leaf tablets were found to have a shorter second stage of labour and a lower rate of forceps delivery (19.3% versus 30.4%). However, far more research is needed to confirm these results.

It is very important not to use raspberry leaves until the last two months of pregnancy because of their stimulating effect on the uterus. Start with one cup of tea a day or one tablet and build up gradually to a maximum of four cups of tea or tablets daily. The tea can be sipped freely during labour, too.

You can buy raspberry leaf tablets from health food stores. However many women prefer to make a tea from the dried herb, which is available from some health shops and from herbal suppliers, such as Neal's Yard Remedies. It can also be obtained from a herbalist. To find a registered herbalist near you, contact the National Institute of Medical Herbalists. The tea, or infusion, can be made as follows: put 25g/1oz of the dried herb in a pot and pour on 600ml/1 pint of boiling water. Cover and infuse for 15 minutes. Alternatively, add 1 teaspoonful of the dried herb to a cup of boiling water.

Another herbal remedy that can be used in conjunction with raspberry leaves is squaw vine. Like raspberry leaves, it has traditionally been considered a useful aid to labour and childbirth. As its name suggests, North American Indian women regularly took it in the weeks leading up to childbirth. Like raspberry leaves, it is a uterine tonic which helps to ease and speed up labour and birth. There is no research about the effectiveness of squaw vine.

Squaw vine can be obtained from a herbalist in the form of a tincture. She will advise you of how much to take and how often. It should not be taken until the last few weeks of pregnancy.

Reviewed February 2005

2nd time mummies,

how long was the blood flow after delivery? Was reading the Apr thred, i tink a couple of them have flow for 4-5 weeks! So sian...

Hi Ivy,
We have migrated here, so will be here for good. Will go back to Spore for visit in Jan/Feb next year (to collect angbaos!)

CP / Little nana,

can i check with you gals how do u adjust to life in a foreign country huh?

my hubby might be posted to france for 2 years and i will be following him there. the prob is if confirm, he will have to leave in june which may be jus after my confinement. still got the hse, car, dogs and bb to settle, cant help but feel abit disturbed by it

Hi milo,
I love the life here. Took me one whole year to adjust fully. Hubby was already here for 2 yrs before I joined him, so things were pretty established already. We have a church that we are very involved in, and making friends do make a huge difference in helping to settle in.
I'm not sure about the conditions in France. Will you be working, or be a SAHM? If you are a SAHM, can make friends with other mums. There's a lot of SAHMs here, and they make friends by bringing their children to the parks. Personally, I think it's a great idea to experience life elsewhere for a short while. Besides, 2 yrs is a short time. I've been here for almost 3 yrs, and I must say time flies.

Hi CP,

i will be a SAHM.. somehow feel that france is a very foreign place since most ppl do not speak english.

how do u get use to life there? the food wise? when u first went over, got take along some sauces or medication? was thinking that since that is a new place, not sure on the type of milk powder etc that they have, need to bring over? sorry for my silly question but i feel so lost

Hi ino,

Ya some of us here had put up our Bumwear order already. If you're interested, do order soon as it will close on Sunday..

Actually the inserts are super absorbent so no need to change very often (lah). It's also dependent on how often your baby urine and poo

Wooo my chest-of-drawers for baby will come tomorrow! Can't wait to put in all the things I'd bought for my boy!!!

hi milo,
which part of France will you be living in? will you have all your accommodation sorted out before you arrive? if not, you may want to consider joining your husband, say, a month later... as i know the initial settling down can be quite 'chaotic' (esp if you have to go apartment hunting, run ard to get basic necessities etc.) and may not so conducive for you or baby. if your husband can go earlier and have all these things sorted out before you arrive, that might be better? at the same time, that may give you more time to settle your things here?

CP is right, 2 years is not a very long time. by the time u've settled down completely, 4-6 mths might have passed
dun worry so much. if you have time, can pick up a few simple french words or phrases to help you get by... take this as an opportunity for you to experience a different culture and way of living...
i guess with a baby, you prob need to do some homework and check out if you might need to make some adjustments. for eg. i understand from a relative living in the US that infant formula is not readily available or is very costly; breastfeeding is like a norm and babies actually drink the same milk adults get off the supermarket shelves, and they drink it cold too!

with a little prep n homework, you shd do fine
most important is, your family will be together!

gummie,

thks for the ecouragement! i really appreciate it! as much as i dream of living life overseas, never has it occured to me that it would be so sudden esp not long after bb is born.

most prob hubby will be leaving before me and housing wise will be provided. details are still not discussed yet as its not a confirm thingy. cant help worrying cos time is running out so i try to be mentally prepared first for jus in case situation.

u're welcome milo!

for now... jus concentrate on delivering a healthy, strong baby! the rest worry later la...
but hor... i have to warn you ah, initially you may feel homesick wan hor... but once u overcome that, you'll be enjoying your new life there

Ivy
Re blood flow, I think it depends on individual. Mine was quite short, 2 weeks maybe?

Milo
About posting overseas, can u join your hubby a bit later once you're more used to taking care of the baby and settle the house/car/dog/etc issue? I may be facing this issue too, but not so soon.
I know of someone from this forum who just came back from France coz of hubby's posting there too. Maybe can introduce u to her if you're interested? BTW, u stay on the west is it? Which part? I'm at Clementi.

milo66,
wah! so good.. but better let yr hubby find the house to settle down before you and baby move there..
Hows are you going to settle your 2 dogs? Is it JR? Hmm.. if so, v hyperactive.. can bring them along?

Like to check with this thing : milk dispenser (hopefully, spell correctly this time). Anyone has any idea that got electronic type, thats you can set the time, once set, the thing will automatic pour e fix amount of milk powder into the milk powder with warm water added in. Any idea how much is it?

gummie,
i heard from one of my ex colleage stated so.. i only know this milk dispenser from one those novel gift broucher... but not electronic type... got few levels, then each time u press, only despatch out the fix amount of milk power..do you know where to buy it?

i only saw the normal type, e container.. u have to scoop e amount that u need.

annie,
if it's not the electronic/automatic measuring type (i assume you'll still have to measure and scoop?), then wat's the difference between this and the normal 3/4-layered milk dispenser container?
sorry leh, i havent come across anything of this description. but you think it will be of practical use?

gummie,

so paisay to say, now haven confirm going hor, but the tot of leaving my mum, i already feel very sad liao :p think i will look forward to finally experiencing diff seasons in a year.

zach's mum,

i most prob will join him when bb is abt 2-3 mths old. already tot of the housing and car issues but still, dun think can settle overnight lor.. ur hubby also posting overseas?

sure if he is confirm going, would like to know that mummy too, at least understand some things there, easier to prepare.

annie,

yup, both my dogs are JRT. will definitely bring them along with us but if the cost is too high, most prob bring milo over first as i guess the initial stage will need quite abit of money to tide over the transition stage.

Ivy

Thanks for replying on me behalf
I've been waking up late ya.

Hi CP
I'll be delivering in hospital too. But not in the NHS as I've heard many scary stories. And as a first time mum, I wouldn't dare to try Home birth too.

Hi Milo

Which part of France will u be gng? My HB's cousin is in Southern France, I can intro her to u if you wanna know more pple there
If you are staying in Paris, getting chinese food is not a problem. If I'm not wrong their Chinatown is in the 11th district and the whole stretch of street is selling asian food stuff. I missed the authentic Viet beef noodles.

As for me it took me quite a while to adjust the life in London. Getting to know pple around you is important. I got to know my HB's colleagues and their partners. Occassionally I'll go to their place and hve a little gathering. But hor most of the time i'll stay home as I dun enjoy gng out alone during the wkdays.

You will certainly miss home, food, frds for few months... Somehow you'll get over it and carry on with your life. Dun worry too much ya. After settling, i'm sure you'll enjoy the weather, scenary, lifestyle.

If possible Get support from your parents ask if your mum wanna join u for a month or two to help you settle down. Think that will make you more confidence with them around...

During tt time, relocation was also a rush decision for us too. The company gave us one mth notice and i've gotta pack all my stuff within a wk. Anyhow with the help of the relocation company, they'll help you to pack most of the stuff from the cupboard. kekeke... and they'll do wrap,label and pack nicely. We're using santa fe and we split our shipment into air (2wks arrival) and sea (1month arrival). They're quite good..

Annie
I remember seeing some posting about this type of dispenser at this forum. Very bad feedback leh... Can't find that posting now, sorry.

Annie,

the dispenser is super expensive. There is a demo set at TMC level 1 if you are interested. Basically its just a useless technology tool. Dun understand why ppl cannot just scoop and make milk....haha

gals,

I just saw this magazine, Motherhood in the petrol kisok, $4.50 per copy. This month issue looks good, with labour myths and preparation...Can't wait to go home and read it!

ivy,
Oh! sure, i will go and have a look. Thinking to get one for my blur hubby n e maid to use.. scare that they anyhow extra milk powder for baby..

Thanks.. yap.. basically, for lazy people hahah

milo,
dun need to feel paiseh la... hehehe... nothin is ever 100% confirmed until the day you hold the ticket to board the flight to your destination. my husband has also been telling me that his next project will be in China, we also been planning for that to happen but until now there's no confirmation. anyway if it happens, i believe it will happen with v short notice, like yr husband's case... its never too early to start 'planning'!

May i know who bought their bb cot from BB Kingdom? Their shipment was delayed...haiz so sad n they din say they will compensate me...i have to ask for it but they will check with their management.So angry.

Milo,
Ya,, I agree that going sometime later after your hubby is a good idea. Let him worry about the housing, and settling stuff, then join him when things are not so chaotic. Also, you have to watch out for post-natal blues. Dealing with 2 big changes (baby and moving) is going to be tough. Postnatal blues might set in even several months after birth, and sometimes it's even season dependent. I dun know abt the season in France when you move, but if it's autumn or winter, it's going to impact how u feel.

I will definitely pack my favorite sauces, etc. And several cans of formula, at least until I can find something equivalent there. I brought loads of food over when I came, but in the end found out that I could get most stuff from the Chinese stores here. But those were good to tide me over the transition period.

Can I join? I'm also May's MTB and have been following the thread actively and picking up pointers from you all.

My details as below:
EDD = 22nd May
Baby Gender = Boy
Gynae = Dr Adrian Woodsworth
Hospital = TMC

Forget who is the one who drink can coconut juice.. saw this advertisement that NTUC is selling $2 for 3 Cans real coconut juice. Brand :Yeo. Maximum can buy up to 6 cans per person. Wonder if u r interested or not?

Robinson and JL are having 20% discount for those who received letter..

Think i m going to buy 1 more water container flask so that can store hot water mainly use to make milk for my son.. E one that i m having now is pooh bear carton... hahah.. i m a crazy fan of pooh bear.. my pillow, carpets, soft toys are all pooh bear...hahah..

fates & little nana & ivy,
Oh! yes, the thing i m asking are for lazy mum.. i will see the price 1st.. if too expensive, i will give up buying.. not for me to use.. for my blur hubby hahah..

Welcome to the thread Raccoon! Hows your prep for the arrival of your baby boy?

Annie,
Hmm when is the 20% sales again?

UPDATE!!

mae ~ when is your EDD eh??
matsu ~ more details??

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="ff0000">MAY 2006 MTBs</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">EDD</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby's Gender (name)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>18-Apr-2006</TD><TD>TMC / "C-Sect"</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Boy (Elgin) </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>1-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lim T C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>sponge</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Girl (Ariel Lim) </TD></TR><TR><TD>sallykoo</TD><TD>4-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Boy (Benson) </TD></TR><TR><TD>mandyray</TD><TD>4-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Chris Ng</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>matsu</TD><TD>4-May-2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sook</TD><TD>5-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle-starry</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_Nana</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>Portland Hospital , UK</TD><TD>Dr Patrick O'brien</TD><TD>Girl (Kaelyn) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie Quah</TD><TD>8-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sindy Lee</TD><TD>9-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Phua Soo Mear </TD><TD>Girl (Sherry) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mei Feng</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y.C Goh </TD><TD>Boy (Joshua) </TD></TR><TR><TD>paradox</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Thong PW</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>lee</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve Lim</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lorraine Wang</TD><TD>16-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Han H C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>anastasia</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>amie</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>bookworm</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>milo66</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Boy (Kaeden Cheng) </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy Yeo</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy (Xavier) </TD></TR><TR><TD>yasmin</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl (Isabel) </TD></TR><TR><TD>QooSan</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>gummie</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eswallow</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairysnowberry</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>ino</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl (Natalie) </TD></TR><TR><TD>may2006baby</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce Loh</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>teenoyl</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Dr James Lee</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>CP/pierogies</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Raccoon</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>chris</TD><TD>23-May-2006</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>fates</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>SS1</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Tan Hak Koon</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feng</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>bijin</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joceyline Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gabby's mum</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Chiew</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelsy</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Margaret Heng</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>matched gal</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fairarina</TD><TD>31-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Kenneth Wong</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mae Lim</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD></TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi fates,

I just went for my 32th wks checkup this morning and gynae told me baby's has turned downwards. It's an awakening call to start washing bb's stuffs which i've put off for quite a while.

Just heard from my colleague this JL sale last from 31st mar till 2nd apr. I din get the letter too.