(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

gals,
got this info from Mind your body (strait time, yesterday).

Cordlife. has 1 April, 6 May : sat: 10-11.30Am
19 April, 17 may: wed: 7-8.30pm.
can join e session if you are interest to have a cord bank open for your baby..
call: 6238 1828 to register or log on to www.cordlife.com

teenoyl,
Thanks for your detail explaination.. like that i cant go to choose a public hospital since my gynea has his own private clinic..

Yes, coconut cause wind. However, up to you to believe or not, hmm.. cause might affect when you are old.. cos wind is v hard to get rid out of the body..according to the spa that i went b4 pregant.

I duno abt e black pill name, my sis brought from e malay massage lady when she got her to do the massage during the confinement mth. My sis told me that the malay lady insist she to take it since my sis told her she had coconut drink 1s a week 1 mth before she labour.. the black pill is suppose to help her to ease the wind.

gummie, milo66 & gabby's mum,

hhehe.. i can vote on coconut does have e effect to "cleanse" the baby.. cos my niece n my gf's son are gd example..hahah..

banana(long skinny type, green in colour) is forbidden by old folks. stated that eating it will cause baby to have "yang tien fong" (kind of illness that e patent will tend to shake n crawl inward n might bite their tongue off accidentally if the attack happen). same goes to if you mutton.

Old folk oso stated that by eating seven purple worms alive(sell v.expensive) if baby have this illness and will cure for life.

However, all depend whether do you want to believe or not? For me, I do n still take banana but yellow ripen type.

I did read from Zaobao on a report on the fruits that most pregant woman avoid to eat and explain is it true or false.

Banana is one of them. Beside that, pineapple will cause miscarriage also a myth. Ancient china bad woman tend to use pineapple with a chinese herbs (di xiang) mix with it and make the pregant woman to eat it. Of cos, sure will miscarriage, not because of the pineapple, its the di xiang thats casue it. Nowsaday, singapore has a v stric control on this medicine. di xiang oso v common used for those medicine paste, medicial oil. By smelling of the pure di xiang can also cause miscarriage.

Pineapple is high in sugar level but rich in vitamin C. I do eat that sometime.

teenoyl,
miss out your last part, great! tats indicate you didnt suffer any major pain..

my sis had her labour within 2.5hrs almost same as you... she dun feel any pain n no ep. jab oso..
she only starts to drink 1s a week 1 mth before her labour.. think i will follow her.. cause i m scare that "wind" thing..

I have these fingers joint pain.. gynea stated will only recover 3-6 mths after labour. If not, operation will have to take place..

my mother in law oso have joint pain. All her fingers curl and cannot be straight.. of cos, she suffer more serious than me, she has to take daily medicine to ease part of the pain n even go to hospital for mthly checkup n extract out e water found in the joint area.. Old folks and e chinese doc stated that its the wind that she got it during her confinement and cause her to suffer at the age of 53

I dun intend to scare anyone and no bad intention. Just stated that becos i see it.
i tend to be more extra careful cos i m afraid to be like her when i m old..

Hey Ivy, yes will update Jusmaine's details in our chart shortly. Juzmaine will have our first baby from May thread! So exciting!

Hey gummie, do check out PerfectMum's nursing bra.....I heard it's not bad and I'd bought three for myself

One thing about nursing bra is...you must be able to put two or three fingers in the cup to give allowance for 1) engorgement; 2) nursing pad..etc.

Have fun shopping!

Hi gummie,

I also just bought my nursing bra from PerfectMum's last nite... they are currently having some promotion.... the salesgal told me that the usual price for the nursing bra is S$39.90 but now they are selling 3 for S$69.90 ... so maybe you can go n check it out .... 8)

i gave birth on 14th Feb but got no more milk after 2wks. selling the following...
Medela twin pump (bought at $280 ++), comes with 2 medela bottles.still under warranty
6 medela bottles ($60)
2 packs medela breast milk bags ($53)
15 glass bottles that i took from Gleneagles
15 caps for the bottles ($15)
all selling at at $300. (paid $408 for everything)self collect
interested pls email [email protected]
or drop a post.

fates,

those you bought from PerfectMum's... does it come in black and biege colour? i was looking at maternity bras some time back and they recommended one type to me, but i can't recall if this also acts as a nursing bra. i rem it was made of cotton or t-shirt like kind of material?

i rem i did not buy eventually cos it was kind of expensive, and i noticed the cotton material on the bra they let me try was a bit 'qi mao' (hehe, dunno if u understand wat i'm tryin to say)...

i'm jus wondering if it's the same as the one you bought?

wah, u all looking at PerfectMum's nursing bras... hmmm... maybe i shd go back and check it out

thanks taurus! i shd take the chance to catch the sale...

Hi gummie, hmmmm it's not made of cotton leh *blur* It's bra kindof material....

Those they hung for trying are for demo...always ask for new ones

Wow Taurus you bought the same one as me I think!

Ino, Natalie sounds so sweet and girly! Nice

Hei Ivy,
no...not taking ML early if can help me. Will have pop before school hols begin anyway...

Hey gals...where's Perfect Mum??? cheers.

Hi fates,

Yah... i think we both got the same one ... but if i remember the one on promo is without the underwire ... but the salesgal let me mix 2 w/o underwire and 1 with. Not sure if she offer tt to you as well....

Hi Chris, the addresses for Perfectmum as below :-
1. 10 Anson Road, International Plaza #02-81/81A
2. Blk 1 Tanjong Pagar Rd, Tanjong Pagar Plaza #02-17
3. Collyer Quay, The Arcade #03-16
4. Blk 205, Hougang St21, Heartland Mall #02-32

I bought all three without underwire

It's more comfortable this way while we are nursing at home.

Oh ya not forgetting the branch at <font color="ff0000">SUNTEC CITY</font>!

chris,

heartland mall have Perfect Mum. let me know if there is good bargains if you gog to check it out there.

Fates,
Where is Suntec? Maybe i go tmrw to "bio".

If you have DBS card, FOX is having 25% discount from 24-26 Mar!!! Any idea which is the biggest outlet with most BB clothes choice? I heard the BB clothes there are nice. Maybe i can go and get some to keep ( those 6-12mths kind)...hee...

Hi ladies...

Has anyone experience sharp tingling pain @ vagina? Wonder if it is cervix preparing to dilate or ???? Just started to feel this @ my 33wks.. Anyone???

little Nana,
Its common.. just watch out whether got bleeding or not.. according to my gynea, its just that HB contraction getting stronger, you might experience pain oso.. i had it since week 29.. in fact, my gynea told me to watch out these two weeks, critial time

fates &amp; taurus,

I brought the exactly same offer as you gals brought. Thanks for telling me the branch address, went to Kovan branch..
the gal told me 1 pc cost $39.90 then 3 pcs cost $68.90. she said if i buy 4th pc will be $15.90 additional on top of $68.90 for the 1st timer.. i didnt buy, thinking 3 pcs are just enough like my hubby stated.

Good Morning!

I have menses like cramps which is accompanied by backache. Sometimes together with sharp pain in vagina and annus too.....everyday got this kind of pain. Now in my 32 wks. Will be seeing my gynae next wk tues.

gals,
For those who choose TMC and geneagle hospital, do remember to ask for glass milk bottle 1 or 2, given foc.
If you have to keep your breast milk in the fridge after you express out. By adding hot warm in a glass of container and by putting the glass milk bottle with the cold milk, fasten the speed to warm up the milk.

haha...ivy...i am going suntec today...so maybe will see u there...

on fox babies...i think it's expensive and not so pretty...was at the Wing Tai Carpark sale over the weekend...managed to buy two tops for baby but honestly, nothing to scream about.

Thanks Taurus for all the addresses of Perfect Mum...girlfriend did buy me a dress fr the Heartland Mall one...

On nursing bras...advice I receive is not to pre-buy, ie. not until u are breast-feeding...cos they say cannot predict size....also, my sis swears by Mothercare...and she's not spendthrift kind so for her to say that quality's value for money...i suppose it is...i bought one fr Bangkok when I was there in Dec...now a bit regret cos afraid might be too small...
Tho i must say $69.90 for 3 sounds like a great deal.

Cheers, girls...

chris,

yah, colleague just tell me that the Fox clothes expand easily after a few wash ( by hand!)...
So i may not want to get them after all...

any experience to share?

hi ivy,

me a crazy fan of fox bb.. so far hubby has got a few pcs of fox clothing, so far so good though at first touch, the material feel like those will expand type.

i wash all my bb clothings which i got from fox for 0-3 mths using WM. price is at $6.00 per pc which i find quite reasonable at that time. so far still ok.

hope this info helps.

yasmin,
oh yes, its common.. its part of the other pains together... i had it since week 29..

Y not go for a swim? i do it twice or thrice a week, force myself to do so, help to ease the pain, backache n even HB contraction.. my gynea alway encourage me to go swimming till delivery.. help to build stronger pelvis floor and oso muscle around yr thights, buttock n your P. part.. cos u can practice " pelvis exerice while you are swimming..

Chris,
the gal will advise you the size after you try on the usual bra size that you alway wear. put 2 or 3 fingers to check got room or not..
cos you have to leave space to put the disposable pad liner..

for me, my usual size is 80 but just fit.. so have to take 85.. the gal also let me try 85..

Wow Annie, you damn fast huh!!

Ivy, Hmmm it's at the third floor Tower 2.....you know that new area with lots of kiddy stuffs? Pretty easy to find

Annie: do u find it hard to swim ? i cant really move much in the water, cuz the tummy is blocking me ! haahaaa
what stroke do you swim ??

Chris,

I also bought my nursing bras in BKK! hehee.. i think abit tight leh.. jialat liao.. even put extensions also feel the tightness.. maybe will go down to Perfect Mum to get new bras liao~

yasmin,
I experienced backaches too, accompanied by tummy hardening.. wonder if this is what they call the BH contractions? Am seeing my gynae next tues too.. Cant wait to see my girl!

any fox branches in Suntec city? I only know of the Taka one.
Will be getting the nursing bra from mothercare, i heard good comments abt it, The ones at perfect mom not so lasting.

bookworm,
Suntec has a Fox branch at the ground level, beside U2.As well as Marina Sq. Ground floor.

i'm having water retention now. Ankles swelling..like pig trotters now..

Hei mummies,
I am glad I didn't buy the Perfect Mum ones then...was at suntect branch yesterday - salesgirl immediately pushed me a semi-cup padded can-be-strapless one for $59.90...says 1st n 2nd one nett price, 3rd one 50%! I was like - what??!! Then, I asked about the 3 for 69.90 and I guess I am not surprised...well....think I am sticking to mothercare, esp if we might hv a second child...*fingers crossed - if big brother gives mummy lots of problems during delivery...might put mummy off...haha*...

My indulgence yesterday was 2 pieces of clothes from Spring Maternity! Hee...felt really bad buying at this late stage of pregnancy but well...never mind the excuses...hee..their stuff's prettiest after comparing with the rest. actually, set out to buy a denim skirt...really wanted one...Thyme had a very pretty one for $79.90 but I just couldn't bring myself to part with that cash...and service was like ai-lai-mai-sua *hokkien*...wah lau...so, Spring was not bad...haha.

But having said that, it is value for money that 3 nursing bras going for 69.90. If possible, will try to catch the mothercare adhoc sales on odd sizes...can go as low as $39 or so from $70/80....so, please don't misunderstand me...the bras are fine.

The nursing bras from PerfectMum really not good huh? Hahaha actually it's up to individual's preference lah....also depends on how you take care of it?

sponge, oh dear...did you drink lots of water? It's actually good for water retention..take care babe

Hi fates,

i bought nursing bras from perfect mum and in fact wearing them for mths already heee.. i find them very comfy and stretchable
I find them value for money. I have not looked at the prices elsewhere though.

hey fates,

Water seem to have lost all appeal to me..hahha~ so i'm drinking alot of milk and ribena these days. :p Will these help in my water retention??

Started to wash all the bedsheets &amp; bumper for baby today..reality is finally setting in (at least for me la).. We are going to be upgraded to Mummies soon!!

hey chris,

i was at perfect mum suntec branch yesterday also. like u, the sales person keep pushing me to buy the strapless bra which in the end, i bought one. felt that they are super pushy, keep asking me to try this and that till i was rather pissed off.

sponge,

ur feet swelling? sigh...mine also leh. if i sit for too long and attempt to walk, machiam will lose balance like that. very uncomfortable

the weather is really killing me. cannot tahan liao. the worse thing is my hubby can tell me he feel cold when i switch on the car aircon to full blast during the hot afternoon sun

Sponge..

Drink more fluid to prevent water retention ya. Think the heat making water retention worse.. Drink more hor. Hey think we reali twins... kekeke i've started washing bedsheets this wk and setting up bb's travel cot too..kekeke Tell u more in MSN Messenger..
Take care ya!

Milo

I have been feeling hot too. The weather in London is abt 14degrees and i'm onli wearing two pcs and my HB is wearing three pcs (shirt, wool and trenchcoat) with scarf. I can imagine that heat is reali killing.. Drink more fluid and wear light ;)

Little_nana

Maybe can try the nursing bra from spring. found them to be quite comfortable. think its about $30 each..

honestly, dun really like things from perfectmum as they are not lasting and their material not so comfortable...I spent about $500 there when I found that I'm preg coz the salegirl super pushy but now dun wear them anymore

Sponge
Hi, err... I thought ribena stains teeth in the long run?? I think with its high sugar content, we better avoid this drink.

need to get some advice from u gals.Its abt breastfeeding.
Lets say we BF our bb, however, we need to go back to the workforce after 3 months. Then when is the best time for baby to switch to bottle. (using express milk,) Should we train them after first month or second month?

bookworm
I bf my no 1 for 6 months. What I did was to introduce the bottle 2 weeks before I went back to work. At first, when he could smell my breast, he refused to drink and went on a milk strike unless i latch him on!!! So, I got my hubby to feed him ebm from a bottle then, he started to drink slowly. My friend had an easier time. I suppose it depends on your baby. Hope that I helped.

morn!

its a rainy day today loh.. been so xian to come to work recently

anyone of you started setting up the baby cot / playpen? i finished with all my washing and buying last weekend. suntec was super crowded ah

Hey Ino,

Natalie is a v nice name
I have a niece whose name is Natalie too and she is very pretty!

Chris, do you know when is the next Mothercare sales? Cos i am also considering their nursing bras and you are right, more worth it to get them during sales.

Cheers.

K Ong,
I use frog style to swim, just ignore the tummy.. mostly, i found that surrounding people look at me as if i am alien.. hahah..
Remember stop swimming 2 weeks before EDD.

Joyce,
Same as me, you do drink Ribena, but buy the "Low Sugar" content, usually, i add water on not so sweet. Ribena is just an alternative for Vitamin C. I take more orange between the meals..

Milo 66,
Yes, the sale gal @ prefectMum is v pushy type.. e offer sales for the 3 pcs nursing bra for $69.90 oso not made in japan.. but think of it, use only short term so ok..

My foot become so swollen last friday, mostly look like pig leg.. think due to the water retention... sigh...

Today is a black Monday for me.. my bunny just passed away last 9.. oUt of sudden..
1 min he was playing with my hubby hide and seek. the next min, he was choked by eating the pellet food that my hubby gave him.. he ate too fast.. we tried to save but no use..
Life is so unpredicable.. nvb knows what going on the next min.. sigh .. :~(

Just found a cheap lobang for nursing bra last weekend .... kekek... Metro is selling at S$9.90 each ... I think its under felancy .... but not too sure of the quality ... its looks alright to me but since I already got my nursing bra from perfectmum... I will just use them for the time being ... hmm .... the salesgal who serve me at perfectmum at kovan is very nice ley ... not pushy at all ... maybe city branch salesgal more aggressive ... kekek

Last week went to visit my friend at the hosipital who just delivered ....her BB so cute n handsome .... really can wait to see my own little angel ... just couldnt visualize how he will look ... also keep thinking how I would react at the first sight ... kekek ...