(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi twinkle-starry,
u r rite. i've a fren whose newborn was 4.3kg. Her gynae asked her to go for c-section as it is too big.

for her 2nd one, the daughter was 3.6kg and she delivered naturally...BUT she recovered slower as her cut is quite big which requires more stitches...

hi Ino,

u pointed out my fear too, it is true that the cut got to be quite big if the baby is too big for the mummy . heehee

Twinkle-starry,
u can go for massage less than 5 days after labour n get back yr old figure faster if you for natural delivery..
if you go for c-section, massage can only start at least 6 weeks after your labour,then hip bones already hard to close back by that time..
stitches the opening will close n heal within 2 weeks.. (for natural) somemore at yr private part, not that obvious compare to hip widen up..

tats what most gals told me the pro n corn.. i oso afraid of the long hour contaction pain n oso worry that during the induce, bb might die inside becos of lack of oxygen n oso risk of brain damage.. if the bb is trap inside, the gynea might use the vaccum to suck out the baby, baby head will be ugly... all these are the disadv.. for natural delivery.. i oso figuring which one to choose..

heheh.. still got time to think..dun worry..

enjoy the valentine day..

hi annie,
don't need to think so much lar...coz the gynae will advice you accordingly...ultimately, the mode of delivery will need to be safe for both mother and bb...other considerations are realli secondary. ;-)

hi twinkle-starry,
tat's why i'm scared too but i leave it to the safe hands of my gynae...what to do? hehehhe

hi chris/fairysnowberry,

Nice to meet up with you gals during the class! at least we can now attach a face to our nicks! Now i know where Zoe Tay stays in TMC. So posh wor! My hubby was so impressed with the room and facilities...but the price is realli very expensive. If only my coy covers the bill, then i will surely opt for it...heheheh

Ino
Were you the one who went for physiotherapy for backache before? Do you still go there for follow-up? I'm having really bad backache, am looking at some options to hopefully relieve it soon. Can share with me what are the treatments like and the charges? Thanks!

Hi Ladies!

When are we having our next gathering?
Though I'm having backache nowadays, still can meet lah...

BTW, Anyone of you interested in this talk? I'll be going. Maybe if some of you are also interested, we can meet for lunch after the talk or something?

Topic: Birthing Naturally - a look at undisturbed births

Venue: MIM
For: Expectant Parents
Facilitators: Ms Pat Chong, BirthRight

Pat is a childbirth educator taking her GraduateDiploma in Childbirth Education from Birth
International, Australia, the first and only accredited qualification for childbirth educators in
the world. She has presented workshops for Joyful Parenting on Gentle Birth and the Biology of Babies. She has supported births in Singapore and is herself, the mother of five.

Synopsis:
What does it mean to have a natural,undisturbed birth? With so much reliance on technology and medicine in birth today, is an undisturbed naturalbirth a thing of the past? How can a woman birthwithout interventions, drugs or episiotomies? What are
the rewards of an undisturbed birth? In today's labour wards, what can a labouring woman and her partner do to facilitate an undisturbed birth?

Join childbirth educator Pat Chong and other mothers
or mothers-to-be for a morning chat on this subject.

To register, please send email to <[email protected]>

enjoy yr v. day eve.. special day.. for those whose is the first time mtb... next time, dun have a chance through..

hi zach's mum,

Nope...coz my back pain is now manageable. The pain on my right bum is very slight now...so not too bad. The physio also taught me some exercises to do to prevent or lessen the pain...so it's ok now.

The treatment includes massaging the back, using ultrasound (for heat treatment) and current. Charges for first-time consultation is $60, i tink. Subsequent visits are at $50.

My gynae is fine with me seeing the physiotherapist as long as they do not do anything to the tummy. U may wish to check with your gynae before going. ;-)

Hi Ino
Thanks for the useful info. The treatment sounds "comfy", and if it's $60, it's almost like those pre-natal massage pricing right? I went for one at RN, didn't help relieve, and the backache became worse!! I'll check with gynae during my check up this Thurs.

Annie,
Sorry, I cut and paste the event announcement straight from the website http://www.ebizmoms.net/index.html. Here're the info:

Date: 25 Feb (Saturday)
Time: 11.00am
Venue: 40 Jln Pemimpin #04-10C, Tat Ann Building, Singapore 577185
(Jalan Pemimpin Industrial Area: Near Bishan, Off Shunfu / Thomson Area)

How to Get There :
From Bishan:
a) BUS: Take Green Plate Bus 410 from Bishan Interchange to Bishan St 21
(alight at the Raffles Junior College bus-stop)
b) TAXI: ~S$2.80 from Bishan MRT Station

From Marymount Road:
Alight at bus-stop just outside Shunfu HDB estate, and walk into Jalan Pemimpin

The nearest MRT is Bishan, so maybe we can have lunch at Bishan Junction 8?

Hihi Ino,

Yup yup. Now at least we see familiar faces at every class :=)

Yeah i'm impressed with the rooms! Even the single and the super deluxe looks v nice. Are the rooms newly renovated? Cos my friend stayed in the 1-bedder last year when she gave birth and i dont remember the rooms looking so nice and new!

fairysnowberry and ino,

yah, the newly renovated single and deluxe rooms are nice. But the 4 bedder is very ordinary, just stayed there last week, but i think i will stick with the 4 bedder when come delivery cos the prices are really big difference!

But the food there is also not too bad, esp the soup! One more thing, the nurse at the wards are all auntie age ones...haha....

hi fairysnowberry,

coz some of the rooms are renovated, some aren't...hence it depends on our luck on the day of admission coz we can't choose. hehhehe...

hey, now our Medisave limit goes up from $300 to $400 per day for hospital stay...so it covers our 1-bedder room rate liao...

hi ivy,

if the 4-bedder is fully occupied on the day of admission, they might even upgrade u to 2-bedder at no additional charges! so must keep your fingers crossed. ;-)

hi zach's mum,
no problem. back pain can be quite bad...in the meantime, if want to relieve a bit of the pain, go to the pharmacy and get a heat pad. put the heat pad on for about 15-20 mins every day. It realli works! I tink it's betta than those deep heat creams...

Thanks Ino!
I've been avoiding any kind of medication, just tried to bear with the pain. But lately cannot tahan liao, started using deep heat cream and it does relieve a bit. Will talk to the gynae and see what they say.

ino,
actually more fun to stay with more ppl cos i very scare of the hospital stays...
But if free upgrade, then i dun mind! hee...

hi ivy,

how much did it cost per day for a 4-bedder in TMC? is the room cramped? i am thinking of booking a 2-bedder instead of hoping for a free upgrade. cos i dun want to be stuck with 3 other mothers who have many visitors.

the sonographer told me that the hospital will be fully renovated by CNY when i went for detailed scan in early jan. perhaps the renovation is delayed but i believe all the rooms will be ready before may.

Ino &amp; ivy,
Yap, true, my sis was upgrade to 2 bedded when the 4 bedded rooms are fully occupied..
Even through the mediasave can cover up the expenses for the 1 or 2 bedded but u still need to top up at $ 1 -2k for natural n $3k for 1 bedded for c-section..

zaach's mum
i just saved the ticker under one of my folder name.
From there, i upload attachment using the "Upload attachment" browse from my folder n then "ok'..
U try

hi ivy,
agree that it's good to have more coy. but i want hubby to stay with me, together with the baby...Heard tt for one bedder, bb can bunk in with mummy. ;-) Also, there's more privacy as there will be visitors. ;-)

hi annie,
true about the top-up portion. my gynae package itself is already $1.5K. gonna be an expensive affair.

hi anastasia,
woah! that's good news! all of us will get new rms!

hi Ino,
r u under tmc? then maybe for 1 bedded, bb can bunk in with mummy cos i understand tat mt A.. dont..even for 1 bedded..
my colleague n friends were there for their babies delivery.. oso 1 bedded.. bb has to go back to the bb room.. only push back to u upon u request when there are visitors..
i m still thinking whether to take 1 or 2 bedded... my hubby already told his boss that he wants 1 full mth leave to accompany me...
However, i dun feel good if my hubby stay over nite at the hospital with me.. cos the bed is meant for "sick patient" to sleep.. if he sleep on the sofa, i doubt he can sleep well.

Hello! Happy Valentine's Day to all!
371759.gif

Yup so when are we meeting up girls?

SS1, the talk sounds interesting! I will consider!

Last night is torturing for me.....leg cramps.

Hi Annie,

Yup, am under TMC. Woah...your hubby is soooo sweet to you. For TMC, we have to pay additional charges for companion to bunk in with us.(these charges include a bed and all his meals). You still got plenty of time to decide on your room choice... ;-)

By the way, Happy valentine's day to all mummies too!

anastasia,

the rate is $160 per day for the 4 bedded. I think its over $400 for a single room, i have the chart at home.

Ino,
i think the reno is not for all the wards. Yes, if you wan hubby to stay over, then you have to get a 1 bedded. But they charge another extra fee for hubby to stay over. So i conclude that i will let hubby go home to slp when i am going to slp then he come again the next morning. At least, he will have a nice bed and shower. The hospital beds are very stiff! One more thing, they dun chase ppl away, cos when i was there, my hubby was with me till almost midnite then go home. Also, the 4 bedder is quite big room, so no problems with full crowd of visitors.

For the BB, the cot will be with you the whole day and back to the nursery at 8.30pm. If you BF, then they will bring back the BB to you at nite as well.

So i guess, i will save money this time round, in case i am still game for BB no 2!

hey girls,
i found the bill chart...

VIP Suite: $728 (3000)
Super Delux Single: $488 (2500)
Single Room: $350 (1000)
2 bedded with balcony: $226 (800)
2 bedded without balcony: $206 (800)
4 Bedded: $160 (600)

Cash deposit is required even if you are a medisave patient. I have put the amount in brackets. They will refund the balance when you check out and deducted from medisave.

And if BB is requiring Paeds during the stay, the amount varies by the room you stay too. The average range, highest is $1200 and lowest is $450.

dear ino and fairysnowberry, (as well as ivy)
hei hei. so 'jealous' of u guys now that we toured tmc...well, no choice - my gyne dun deliver anywhere else...sigh. well, it was definitely good to have gotten to know the two of u. Won't see u this week tho cos hubby can't make sat. Managed to get provision to attend sun noon class instead - whew...
in anycase, my view on bedder-issue is that...after all that we will be going through, esp unnerving for first-time mums, i think we deserve single bedder..no need the wah-lau-luxurious vip suite...but the deluxe looks really good. sigh. my sister- mother of two - also thinks just for 1st delivery, take single bedder, then if 2nd - can tahan - take double...so, that's my 5 cents worth. end of the day - it's personal comfort level lah. cheers. happy v day to all too.

seems like to tmc is quite expensive compare to mt a. .. dun understand y need to pay so much deposit..for even 4 bedded.. MT A only required $1000 cash for 1 bedded, others only requires $450 cash.. ie can use credit card to sign the outstanding amount..(can earn credit card point) :p

I just received my v.day gift, a small pillow.. good for me, can support my back else v painful especially sleeping ... funny part is that my hubby told me to give away the chocolate to my colleagues cos he said too sweet for me..
, of cos, my favourite flower as usual.. maybe, next time i hint for something costly..

Happy Valentine Day..

Annie
Your hubby is so sweet! Very hard to find leh... u lucky girl!

Mommies
Do celebrate V-Day if you're still thinking whether to go for it, coz true, once baby arrives, it's a 3-person V-Day!! Haha! how to be romantic when u have to bring along milk bottles and diapers, etc, etc??

HAPPY Valentines Day!!!

Zach's mum
Fully agreed.. how to be romantic anymore.. can you imagine the whole half year, you do all the breastfeeding, squeezing e milk, change diaper in front of yr hubby..
you will turn to yr bb whenever he or she cry even if you both are having initimate moment..
Thanks for your compliment.. i dun think my hubby is sweet.. how i wish i have more pratical gift like watch, money, shares or whatever got value.. not diamond..lost in value once you buy it..
Well, most of us here, i think same as me, hoping and pray hard that our hubby will be beside us when the big day is here..
So scary to be there alone, rite..

Hi Ino,

I'm not delivering at TMC cos my gynae only delivers at Mount A or Gleneagles and i think i will end up choosing Glen for delivery. But the newly renovated rooms in TMC are so nice!

Chris, have you gone for the Glen's hospital tour? Do you think the new rooms at TMC are nicer than the ones at Glen? I think they are! ;p

Btw, any comments on whether shd choose Mount A or Gleneagles for delivery anyone? Cos im still in a dilemma though my gynae's nurse encouraged me to choose Gleneagles since he is based there.

fairysnowberry,

i think its a good idea to choose Glens since your gynae is based there. He will be able to pop by and see you easier.

Hi girls
Have you registered at the hospitals and paid the deposits? So soon? Opps I have not done it yet!!! Think will opt for single room then my hubby can keep me company!

hi ivy,

thanks for posting the rates. i agree with annie about the high deposit rates.

hey annie,

i think husband and wife should make time for each other even after baby is here, unless you dun have any babysitting help. to me, V-day is too commercialised and we have stopped celebrating for years. i think anniversary days are more important.

hi yasmin,

have you gone to any maid agency? i confirmed a filipino maid last week. she should reach singapore soon and start work by end of this month. keeping my fingers crossed that she will be a good maid.

anastasia,
yap..fully agreed.. i dun really celebrate V day.. only my hubby will send the flowers as usual.. he d tat on my birthday oso.. think follow his dad's character..
for me, i celebrate chinese V day which is called the 7th day of the 7th mth.. (quite old fashion, rite) haha..

currently, still figure to get a maid or find a nanny..frankly speaking, both cant be reliable...all rely on yr luck whether to find a good one or not.. some nanny can play majong n feed the bb with her toes ( 1 of the nannies stay near my mil's hse, old neighbour).. I oso duno anyone from Sengkang..

any knows how much the different bedded wards is Mount A charging since Annie mentioned that TMC is pricer than Mount A.

BTW, Happy Valentine's day gals.

hi snowberry,
i checked with my 2 colleague, 1 female n 1 guy (his wife).. had their two babies each at mt. A, stated that the service is not bad.. food wise oso good.. nurse wise, depend, not all old ...

As for glens, my gf had her bb there just, on jan 14.. stated the nurse a bit harsh but overall ok..

for parking, mt a is easier to park.. glens alway car park full.. i think all depend on the season..

May is a hot session for labour.. my female colleagues had both babies in may, 3 years apart.. stated that hosp is pack with bb

gabby's mum
dont need to pay deposit so early! for me, MT A only required the deposit on the day u admit in..(for natural) and oso c-section (yr gynea will call up the hosp to book for you)then bring along yr nric, marriage cert, all the bills for the pre-natal check up for claiming &amp; the form that Mt A send to you..

Sponge,
I have attached two copies of excel with the price charging on tmc &amp; mt A..

E major difference is the deposit part, where TMC require higher cash deposit.

As for the specialist fees refer to your gynea charge u on operation on you..

like my gynea bill $500 for natural and $1200 for c-section.. this will bill together with the hosp bill.. (my gynea will get $$ from the hosp)..

Diff gynea bill differently. My sis had her gynea under TMC, she oso stayed at TMC, her gynea charged her $1k for natural and $2k for c-section. My sis had natural, so her hosp bill add $1k on specialist fee.. (only required to pay outstanding amount after deduct mediasave + $450 prenatal delivery check up + deposit).

mime_msexcel.gif

MT A.xls (18.9 k)</td></tr></table></center> Mt A
mime_msexcel.gif

TMC.xls (17.4 k)</td></tr></table></center> TMc

sponge,
i duno anyone check with yr friends or not.. but my these 2 colleagues.. put it this way, A (secretary) n B (engineer's wife) delivered two babies each at MT A, A is few mths earlier than B.
Both have difference gynea. (currently, I am with the same gynea as A). A stayed at 1 bedded for her 2 babies.. c-section: her bill included gynea charge : $5.3k in total, after deduction, she still have to pay $2.4k... (4 days 3 nites).
B stayed at 2 bedded for her 2 babies.. natural: his bill included gynea charge: $4.2k in total, after deduction, he still have to pay $1.8k (3 days 2 nites).
Surprisingly rite, B gynea charge higher n oso natural delivery cannot claim up to $2.6k mediasave..
Quite scarely with the pricing, thats y till now, i am still havent make decision..

As for TMC, my gynea has agreement with them too.. but after my sis's incident, i dun dare to think of switching..

My sis had natural delivery in dec 05. On tat day, she was induced at 9.45am.. at around, 10.30am, she told the nurse that her viginal already opened big.. the nurse said that my sis can still read novel and not in pain.. ignored her completely.. by 11.20am, my sis sensed that something wrong, she got her hubby to call the nurse, after so many calls n pursue the nurse to come to take a look, 1 of the nurse actually came, but with a "dont believe" attitude and checked on my sis. Still naggy on my sis for being so anxious, later then found out, my sis viginal hole already opened 8.5cm..

The nurse then hurried to call my sis gynea.. the funny part, gynea is having her lunch, insisted that dun push my sis into the delivery room before she came.

My sis is left along the corridor with only 1 blanket cover her.. she is nude inside.. with surgey dress on her.. when she was pushed in finally, she said that the nurses have not get really all e equipment for her delivery.. She delivered her baby shortly at 12.50am.

although my sis had a free upgrade (4 bedded to 2 bedded).. she was in panic that she might deliver her bb at the corridor..

My sis is 1st timer, doesnt imply that she has to be in great pain AND has to go through long hour of contraction.. All womans are individual..

sponge,

Well, as for my sis case, its my personal opinion after my sis's incident..
i feel natural delivery is most cruical cos everyone has difference contaction time. However, what make me annoy is that TMC has particular room for delivery, yet the room is not really.. if my own sis is suffer in pain n the bb is abt to come out, yet things havent get really.. who will b responsible for anything happen, rite?
My sis's colleague had a still born bb cos her stupid gynea insisted that she has natural delivery for a baby weight 4.2kg already.. trapped inside just few cm before reaching out the virginal path.. bb died becos lack of oxygen..
personally, i feel that getting experienced gynea is most impt than any.. other rely on luck.

Good Morning All,
Wow, some of your babies are so big already leh, passed the 1kg mark.

This evening is my medical appt. Will know then how big is mine. I too hope to have a big big gal.

I found the detail explaination of amino fluid.. for your reference : )

amniotic fluid
The clear straw-coloured liquid in the amniotic sac in which the fetus grows. It cushions the baby against pressure and knocks, allows the baby to move around and grow without restriction, helps the lungs develop, keeps the baby at a constant temperature, and provides a barrier against infection.

I read from a book, if you have reach week 27, your baby can now open &amp; close his eyes, sleeps and wakes at regular intervals. he starts to breathe in the amino fluid even through his lung isnt mature enough..

If your reach week 28, your baby can even dream...

Read that we need to buy diapers for new borns as the hospital will provide us with oni one pack which will not be enough.Which brand you girls recommend?

Hi ydnic,

You also delivering in TMC right? According to TMC, we no need to bring anything for the BB .. all are provided ... I dun think they restrict to just one pkt per BB ... was there last sunday and notice that they are using pampers for newborn ... I also stock up a couple of pkts of pampers for my BB ... anyway, there is a pharmacy in TMC ... so if really need to buy ... quite convenient .... so dun worry too much abt it

Ydnic,

Hosp will bill u that one packet of diaper. Do you have a confinement lady during your confinement? if so, can use the tradition type, the cloth type, just let the confinement lady wash.. Cheaper and bb dun get rashes... but the major prob, have to keep changing if bb urine, u can oso buy the protector shield - think layer that put on the cloth..so that u just throw away and use a new one..

As for me, i brought dryper - thinner than diaper, cheaper for daytime.. cos newborn bb needs to change 8 -9 times on the day time.. (i did do research with those experienced mums).. and use diaper at nite (thicker, can hold more urine).. i have no choice, cos i didnt get confinement lady and my mum are not helping me during confinement mth..

i brought dryer WEE WEE, not the cheapest brand..cos u need to calculate 8-9 pcs a day, one pack if 64 pcs only last 8 days.. already $12.90 (offer cheapest price).. normally, sell at $16.90..